[Game] LegendofMinetest [v2]

User avatar
D00Med
Member
 
Posts: 808
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 22:49
Location: Australia...somewhere
GitHub: D00Med

Re: [Game] LegendofMinetest [v1]

by D00Med » Tue Jan 03, 2017 06:38

I have no idea about that, but I'll remove the links anyway, because they are out of date.
Unless you wanted an older one for a specific reason?
Edit: nevermind I forgot that I didn't put a github link.
Try the link now
Look! I have a signature :]
My subgame: https://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=14051#p207242
dmobs2 is coming...
 

Daud
New member
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 02:02

Re: [Game] LegendofMinetest [v1]

by Daud » Tue Jan 03, 2017 08:19

is there an easy way to find dungeons.

I spent about 3 hours searching and only found 1 that had an empty chest :(
 

User avatar
D00Med
Member
 
Posts: 808
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 22:49
Location: Australia...somewhere
GitHub: D00Med

Re: [Game] LegendofMinetest [v1]

by D00Med » Tue Jan 03, 2017 08:51

No there isn't, I might try to make a way to do it though.
Look! I have a signature :]
My subgame: https://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=14051#p207242
dmobs2 is coming...
 

User avatar
TumeniNodes
Member
 
Posts: 2020
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 19:49
Location: in the dark recesses of the mind
GitHub: TumeniNodes
IRC: tumeninodes

Re: [Game] LegendofMinetest [v1]

by TumeniNodes » Tue Jan 03, 2017 12:17

D00Med wrote:I have no idea about that, but I'll remove the links anyway, because they are out of date.
Unless you wanted an older one for a specific reason?
Edit: nevermind I forgot that I didn't put a github link.
Try the link now


Thank you. Looks awesome, I love the magic trees and volcanic biome..., really cool
"You can't petition the Lord..., with prayer!"

Toshiba Satellite C55 / Linux Mint 18.1 Cinnamon 3.2.7 64-bit / Kernel 4.4.0-53-generic
AMD A8-6410 APU with AMD Radeon R5 Graphics x 4 / 4 GB ram / Minetest 0.4.16 (stable)
 

User avatar
D00Med
Member
 
Posts: 808
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 22:49
Location: Australia...somewhere
GitHub: D00Med

Re: [Game] LegendofMinetest [v1]

by D00Med » Tue Jan 03, 2017 19:58

Thanks. The newer version will hopefully look even better.
Look! I have a signature :]
My subgame: https://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=14051#p207242
dmobs2 is coming...
 

User avatar
Caerulean
Member
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2015 16:20
In-game: Caerulean

Re: [Game] LegendofMinetest [v1]

by Caerulean » Fri Jan 20, 2017 09:28

Just wanted to share:
Here's my first video of this subgame, recorded last month.

I already downloaded your latest version. :) (Don't know when I can make more videos though.)
 

User avatar
D00Med
Member
 
Posts: 808
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 22:49
Location: Australia...somewhere
GitHub: D00Med

Re: [Game] LegendofMinetest [v1]

by D00Med » Fri Jan 20, 2017 20:19

Oh ok, thanks for the link.
Look! I have a signature :]
My subgame: https://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=14051#p207242
dmobs2 is coming...
 

Robsoie
Member
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2016 16:22

Re: [Game] LegendofMinetest [v1]

by Robsoie » Fri Jan 20, 2017 20:33

Hello, been trying a bit the "unstable" version from the Caerulean video comments :
https://github.com/D00Med/LegendofMinet ... update.zip

And noticed while i was in a desert that snow was falling :
http://i.imgur.com/3J6ab5g.jpg

Could it be possible to have the snow script avoid this kind of biome ?

Out of this slightly out of immersion moment, it was very interesting to explore a bit, as unlike in Minetest Game, there are things to find with exploration, i ran into an odd village on some kind of hill
http://i.imgur.com/2qkM2iC.jpg
The place was a bit creepy as it seemed deserted, except for a house that was owned by a trader that seemed a bit like a man that lost his sanity long time ago.
http://i.imgur.com/YpXLwGj.jpg
I was expecting to find a bloody axe and many barrels filled of the villager remains in the backrooms as the atmosphere in that village was more coming from some horror movie than a peaceful happy cartoon :D

I'm not very familiar with the Zelda universe, but i find this mod very well done, the colors fit the cartoony atmosphere very nicely.
 

User avatar
D00Med
Member
 
Posts: 808
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 22:49
Location: Australia...somewhere
GitHub: D00Med

Re: [Game] LegendofMinetest [v1]

by D00Med » Fri Jan 20, 2017 21:55

That is a beach not a desert, but still that'd be good. I will try to add it.
There will be more people in the villages soon, I just need to make some new skins for them.
I see what you mean about the shopkeeper. He is from Ocarina of Time:
https://celofans.mx/wp-content/uploads/ ... bazaar.jpg
Thankyou :)
Look! I have a signature :]
My subgame: https://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=14051#p207242
dmobs2 is coming...
 

User avatar
Caerulean
Member
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2015 16:20
In-game: Caerulean

Re: [Game] LegendofMinetest [v1]

by Caerulean » Tue Jan 24, 2017 11:07

Uh, does the unstable build have to be played on Minetest's latest test version? (Wow, so many 'tests' in there.) I tried it on the latest Minetest release and I couldn't get in the game because of 'Failed to load and run script' errors.
 

User avatar
D00Med
Member
 
Posts: 808
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 22:49
Location: Australia...somewhere
GitHub: D00Med

Re: [Game] LegendofMinetest [v1]

by D00Med » Tue Jan 24, 2017 19:48

It should be fine with 0.4.15
It won't work with earlier versions.
Look! I have a signature :]
My subgame: https://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=14051#p207242
dmobs2 is coming...
 

Robsoie
Member
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2016 16:22

Re: [Game] LegendofMinetest [v1]

by Robsoie » Tue Jan 24, 2017 20:52

It's always possible that Minetest mod security is what prevent the game to load in your minetest :
viewtopic.php?f=18&t=12471

That while designed to avoid problems with some possibly system damaging scripting functions may also be preventing some mods to run correctly if they're not build in the new mod security guidelines.

## Security
# Prevent mods from doing insecure things like running shell commands.
# type: bool
# secure.enable_security = true

If you have it turned to true in your current build of Minetest, to turn it off, you may want to add
secure.enable_security = false
to your minetest.conf, this should allow you to load mods that aren't loaded

That said, when playing i noticed a problem that occurs not 100% but easily 80% of the time i did it :
- create a new world
- after spawning, use the village spawner somewhere
- enter a house in which there are chairs
- right click on a chair to sit on it
- get out of the chair by right clicking again on it
- most of the time you'll notice you can't go through the door anymore

Switching to external view show the character slightly floating above the ground (you can't jump/sneak anymore).

Some people have reported a chair bug happening in xdecor too by example , maybe it's linked, though i never tried that mod :
viewtopic.php?f=11&t=12534&hilit=sit&start=250#p247959
 

User avatar
D00Med
Member
 
Posts: 808
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 22:49
Location: Australia...somewhere
GitHub: D00Med

Re: [Game] LegendofMinetest [v1]

by D00Med » Tue Jan 24, 2017 21:10

Those chairs have a lot of problems. I don't know why it's started doing this, it used to make the player be able to walk around whilst sitting.
Edit: I might have fixed it, not sure :/ Also the chairs are in xdecor which is part of the subgame
Last edited by D00Med on Tue Jan 24, 2017 21:17, edited 1 time in total.
Look! I have a signature :]
My subgame: https://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=14051#p207242
dmobs2 is coming...
 

Robsoie
Member
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2016 16:22

Re: [Game] LegendofMinetest [v1]

by Robsoie » Tue Jan 24, 2017 21:13

Maybe it's some change in the minetest engine itself.
When the problem happens to me, only trying to sit again and using the jump key, that sometime allow to jump out of the sitting position, seems to re-enable me to correctly walk (jump and sneak too)
 

User avatar
D00Med
Member
 
Posts: 808
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 22:49
Location: Australia...somewhere
GitHub: D00Med

Re: [Game] LegendofMinetest [v2]

by D00Med » Tue Jan 31, 2017 22:36

hmm ok, I might try to fix those chairs again.
Also the game has been updated, details in the first post.
Look! I have a signature :]
My subgame: https://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=14051#p207242
dmobs2 is coming...
 

User avatar
Wuzzy
Member
 
Posts: 2558
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 15:01
GitHub: Wuzzy2
IRC: Wuzzy
In-game: Wuzzy

Re: [Game] LegendofMinetest [v2]

by Wuzzy » Fri Feb 03, 2017 16:36

Minetest 0.4.15 crashed with a memory access violation:

2017-02-03 17:34:18: WARNING[Emerge-0]: Undeclared global variable "random" accessed at ...est/games/LegendofMinetest/mods/hyrule_mapgen/mapgen.lua:1861
Speicherzugriffsfehler (Speicherabzug geschrieben)


Commit ID: ff16aeaf497f83eae0c30b6dd978bf6ca670e704

Another bug: If you place a sword in the master sword stone slab, then remove it again, it is fully repaired.

EDIT: And it crashed again:
2017-02-03 17:36:52: WARNING[Server]: Undeclared global variable "physics_overriden" accessed at ....minetest/games/LegendofMinetest/mods/sprint/esprint.lua:121
2017-02-03 17:36:53: WARNING[Server]: Undeclared global variable "physics_overriden" accessed at ....minetest/games/LegendofMinetest/mods/3d_armor/armor.lua:220
2017-02-03 17:36:55: WARNING[Emerge-0]: Undeclared global variable "random" accessed at ...est/games/LegendofMinetest/mods/hyrule_mapgen/mapgen.lua:1861
Speicherzugriffsfehler (Speicherabzug geschrieben)



EDIT 2:

- Many crafting recipes are broken, making apparently important items unobtainable.
- Many items have ugly names / poor spelling.

This game needs some serious quality assurance. It's not really ready for prime time IMO. If you would have said it is in beta stage, that would be OK, but I see this game is now in version 2 and in Subgame Releases. :-(
Have you tried [qa_block]?

EDIT 3:
- When you're paralyzed, you keep your momentum at the moment when you're paralyzed. Meaning, if you walked when you got paralyzed, you don't stand still, but move at a constant speed for a while. Very odd.
I'm creating MineClone 2, a Minecraft clone for Minetest.
I made the Help modpack, adding in-game help to Minetest.
 

User avatar
D00Med
Member
 
Posts: 808
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 22:49
Location: Australia...somewhere
GitHub: D00Med

Re: [Game] LegendofMinetest [v2]

by D00Med » Fri Feb 03, 2017 20:06

These errors caused crashes or did they just show up as errors? That first error is from rotating a schematic. according to the minetest api:
'`rotation` can equal `"0"`, `"90"`, `"180"`, `"270"`, or `"random"`'

But 'random' is causing the error.
The second one I can fix.

I didn't know there were any crafting recipes broken. There are a few deliberately missing, and I know that there is a problem with crafting green dye.
Yes that's very annoying, it's possible to actually stop the player moving just by setting the player speed to 0 :[
I'm going to have to make a better way of paralyzing the player.

Edit: Is it possible to make the sprint mod work with playereffects?
Edit2: I fixed all of the undeclared variable errors, except in the hunger mod
Look! I have a signature :]
My subgame: https://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=14051#p207242
dmobs2 is coming...
 

User avatar
Wuzzy
Member
 
Posts: 2558
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 15:01
GitHub: Wuzzy2
IRC: Wuzzy
In-game: Wuzzy

Re: [Game] LegendofMinetest [v2]

by Wuzzy » Fri Feb 03, 2017 22:45

Thanks for fixing things. Those crashes can really ruin an otherwise good subgames.

Only the errors where I said it crashes do cause crashes. The other errors do not cause crashes.

Well, for checking crafting recipes, you can either click through EVERYTHING in the crafting guide (you will find uncraftable items and unknown items), or you use qa_check for automatic checks. Checking crafting recipes is very important especially for content-heavy subgames like yours, you won't believe how common it is that crafting recipes are incorrect.

Edit: Is it possible to make the sprint mod work with playereffects?

Maybe. I haven't touched playereffects since ages, to be honest, so you are mostly on your own. I think you have to change the way how sprinting is activated. Sprinting should fist check the existance of any speed effects such as paralyzed and it should only work if no such effect is active. I hope my mod has a wa
This is probably not the best solution.

(As changing player physics is a VERY common use case with playereffects, I might update the mod to include some predefined effect types to have at least some standardization and less chaos. This mod is in serious need of updating anyway. But I really, really don't like to, I have postponed this forever. Maybe, just maybe, this mod will see some updates when I need a better framework for MineClone 2.)

I haven't really given my opinion of this subgame yet. I really should write one. Well, I already promised to write reviews for other subgames *shame*.

I read this subgame has music, but I never heard any. Another bug?

By the way: What is the official name of this subgame? “LegendofMinetest” or “The Legend of Minetest”?
I'm creating MineClone 2, a Minecraft clone for Minetest.
I made the Help modpack, adding in-game help to Minetest.
 

User avatar
D00Med
Member
 
Posts: 808
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 22:49
Location: Australia...somewhere
GitHub: D00Med

Re: [Game] LegendofMinetest [v2]

by D00Med » Fri Feb 03, 2017 23:57

Oh ok, thanks.
Hmm ok, well I fixed the sprinting anyway. I thought I'd have to get rid of the physics_overriden variable to stop the error, but I didn't have to. That sounds like a good idea. I'll keep an eye out for any updates.
The music should be working, I just made it uncommon so that it didn't get to annoying.
It's just Legend of Minetest.
Look! I have a signature :]
My subgame: https://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=14051#p207242
dmobs2 is coming...
 

lightseer
Member
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2017 16:18

Re: [Game] LegendofMinetest [v2]

by lightseer » Mon Feb 13, 2017 14:27

Could you show me the best set of mods to put in for this subgame? I have a bug report in here, and I want to get this working. I have a feeling it has something to do with the set of mods or some basic setting in the mintest.conf. I must have some setting wrong.
 

lightseer
Member
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2017 16:18
 

User avatar
ClaudiusMinimus
Member
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2016 17:46
Location: Rocky Mountiains in the Western USA
GitHub: ClaudiusMinimus
IRC: ClaudiusMinimus
In-game: ClaudiusMinimus

Re: [Game] LegendofMinetest [v2]

by ClaudiusMinimus » Mon Feb 13, 2017 17:14

I have created several worlds in singleplayer and have not been able to find any village. I am trying to setup a family server, but would like to have villages. I see lots of npcs, but no structures except for dungeons. Is there a flag that must be set for villages to spawn?
ClaudiusMinimus

Follow my blog at: ClaudiusMinimus' Universe
Visit me at the incredible Illuna Universe
 

User avatar
toby109tt
Member
 
Posts: 459
Joined: Sun May 29, 2016 23:42
Location: Belgium menen
GitHub: tobyplowy
In-game: Toby109tt

Re: [Game] LegendofMinetest [v2]

by toby109tt » Mon Feb 13, 2017 19:28

ClaudiusMinimus wrote:I have created several worlds in singleplayer and have not been able to find any village. I am trying to setup a family server, but would like to have villages. I see lots of npcs, but no structures except for dungeons. Is there a flag that must be set for villages to spawn?
if you first start in the world you should have an item called village spawner you have to use that to well spawn the village I hope that helpes
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) S I M P L E T E X T ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
 

User avatar
D00Med
Member
 
Posts: 808
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 22:49
Location: Australia...somewhere
GitHub: D00Med

Re: [Game] LegendofMinetest [v2]

by D00Med » Mon Feb 13, 2017 20:16

villages do spawn in conifer forests and savannas too, but they should be pretty rare.
Look! I have a signature :]
My subgame: https://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=14051#p207242
dmobs2 is coming...
 

User avatar
ClaudiusMinimus
Member
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2016 17:46
Location: Rocky Mountiains in the Western USA
GitHub: ClaudiusMinimus
IRC: ClaudiusMinimus
In-game: ClaudiusMinimus

Re: [Game] LegendofMinetest [v2]

by ClaudiusMinimus » Tue Feb 14, 2017 16:03

toby109tt wrote:
ClaudiusMinimus wrote:I have created several worlds in singleplayer and have not been able to find any village. I am trying to setup a family server, but would like to have villages. I see lots of npcs, but no structures except for dungeons. Is there a flag that must be set for villages to spawn?
if you first start in the world you should have an item called village spawner you have to use that to well spawn the village I hope that helpes


@toby109tt, thank you for your suggestions. I have made several worlds and none have the spawner. Do you know the name of the spawner so I can get it via the /giveme command? I searched using grep for "spawn" and "village" but have not found anything in the code.
ClaudiusMinimus

Follow my blog at: ClaudiusMinimus' Universe
Visit me at the incredible Illuna Universe
 

PreviousNext

Return to Subgame Releases



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest