[Game] Hamlet's Quest [3.1.0] [hamlets_quest]

User avatar
Hamlet
Member
Posts: 746
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2017 21:09
IRC: H4mlet
In-game: Hamlet
Location: Lombardy, Italy

Re: [Game] Hamlet's Quest [1.0.0] [hamlets_quest]

by Hamlet » Post

azekill_DIABLO wrote:Great work hamlet, it looks like a complete subgame!
Thanks! It still lacks some things, but I'm slowly getting there.
My repositories: Codeberg.org | My ContentDB's page | I'm on PureOS with XFCE

User avatar
Hamlet
Member
Posts: 746
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2017 21:09
IRC: H4mlet
In-game: Hamlet
Location: Lombardy, Italy

Re: [Game] Hamlet's Quest [1.0.0] [hamlets_quest]

by Hamlet » Post

Update:

I've created a new branch in the GitHub repository: development.
That is where the next version gets developed; consider it almost stable: if a new module or a change lands there, it is very likely to be in the new version - however don't take this for granted.

First post edited accordingly.
My repositories: Codeberg.org | My ContentDB's page | I'm on PureOS with XFCE

User avatar
Hamlet
Member
Posts: 746
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2017 21:09
IRC: H4mlet
In-game: Hamlet
Location: Lombardy, Italy

Re: [Game] Hamlet's Quest [1.0.0] [hamlets_quest]

by Hamlet » Post

v. 1.1.0-dev (2017-09-15)

- Added ../documents/changelog.txt.
- Edited README.txt to match Minetest Game's versioning.
- Disabled Thirsty's tier 4+ components.
- Added Stonebrick Dungeons v. 0.1.0.
- Added NSSPF remover v. 0.1.0.
- Added Loot
My repositories: Codeberg.org | My ContentDB's page | I'm on PureOS with XFCE

User avatar
Hamlet
Member
Posts: 746
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2017 21:09
IRC: H4mlet
In-game: Hamlet
Location: Lombardy, Italy

Re: [Game] Hamlet's Quest [1.0.0] [hamlets_quest]

by Hamlet » Post

v. 1.1.1-dev (2017-09-16)
-------------------------

- Disabled Mobs Goblins' glowing cobblestone.
- Added Castle Storage support to Loot.
- Other minor tweaks and fixes.


Notes if upgrading from 1.0.0:

NSSPF (Not So Simple Plants and Fungi) has been dropped from v1.1, and I've added to the mods' folder "nsspf_remover": a mod that removes the resulting unknown nodes.

The job is done using LBMs, which will scan the loaded map block once and replace the unknown nodes with air or dirt depending on the former node's nature.

This is not required when starting new worlds. You can safely delete "nsspf_remover" from the subgame's mods directory.

Unknown inventory items can't be dealt with in the same manner: you'll have to either get rid of them in Creative Mode (strongly suggested) or by manually editing (backup it before doing this) the character's sheet in ../minetest/worlds/world_name/players/player_name.

Editing example:

"Item nsspf:mushroom_name number_of_items" replace with "Empty"


I'm missing that mod, but it isn't enough craptop friendly for my subgame.
My repositories: Codeberg.org | My ContentDB's page | I'm on PureOS with XFCE

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
Posts: 7494
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO
Location: OMICRON
Contact:

Re: [Game] Hamlet's Quest [1.0.0] [hamlets_quest]

by azekill_DIABLO » Post

Hamlet wrote:
azekill_DIABLO wrote:Great work hamlet, it looks like a complete subgame!
Thanks! It still lacks some things, but I'm slowly getting there.
you did better than me with voxellar. And this is a recent subgame compared to mine.

User avatar
Hamlet
Member
Posts: 746
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2017 21:09
IRC: H4mlet
In-game: Hamlet
Location: Lombardy, Italy

Re: [Game] Hamlet's Quest [1.0.0] [hamlets_quest]

by Hamlet » Post

Stix wrote:i think it would look nicer if the layout was like this: leftside: bottom: healthbar, middle: armorbar, top: suffocationbar.
rightside: bottom: hungerbar, middle: thirstbar, top: sprintbar.
EDIT: it would also be nice if you made the armorbar always shown even when you have no armor on, it would just say 0%.
I've modified it, not exactly like you said but I think it looks good enough:

Breath ... Stamina
Satiation ... Hydration
Health ... Armor

Breath and Stamina are displayed only when suffocating or srpinting, while the other ones are always visible.

Image

If anyone wishes to arrange them this way:

edit ../minetest/games/hamlets_quest/minetest.conf adding:

Code: Select all

hbarmor_autohide = false
hudbars_sorting = health=0, armor=1, satiation=2, thirst=3, breath=4, stamina=5
Big thanks to Wuzzy for designing it to easily rearrange them with a string.
Attachments
screenshot.png
(182.76 KiB) Not downloaded yet
My repositories: Codeberg.org | My ContentDB's page | I'm on PureOS with XFCE

User avatar
Stix
Member
Posts: 1385
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2017 14:19
IRC: nil
In-game: Stix [+alts]
Location: USA

Re: [Game] Hamlet's Quest [1.0.0] [hamlets_quest]

by Stix » Post

i like it but i think in the current layout you should swap the hunger and armor bars places for best results.
Hey, what can i say? I'm the bad guy.

User avatar
Hamlet
Member
Posts: 746
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2017 21:09
IRC: H4mlet
In-game: Hamlet
Location: Lombardy, Italy

Re: [Game] Hamlet's Quest [1.0.0] [hamlets_quest]

by Hamlet » Post

Stix wrote:i like it but i think in the current layout you should swap the hunger and armor bars places for best results.
Columns instead of rows, so it will be.
My repositories: Codeberg.org | My ContentDB's page | I'm on PureOS with XFCE

User avatar
Napiophelios
Member
Posts: 1017
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2014 01:14
GitHub: Napiophelios
IRC: Nappi
In-game: Nappi

Re: [Game] Hamlet's Quest [1.0.0] [hamlets_quest]

by Napiophelios » Post

Man that is a wacked out copy of darkage mod you are using.
Anyway, why don't you register darkage mod material for PKarcs?

Code: Select all

--------------------------
--Register Simple Arcs
--------------------------
if minetest.get_modpath("pkarcs") then
  pkarcs.register_node("darkage:basalt")
  pkarcs.register_node("darkage:chalk")
  pkarcs.register_node("darkage:gneiss")
  pkarcs.register_node("darkage:marble")
  pkarcs.register_node("darkage:ors")
  pkarcs.register_node("darkage:serpentine")
  pkarcs.register_node("darkage:shale")
  pkarcs.register_node("darkage:schist")
  pkarcs.register_node("darkage:slate")
end


Hudbars are misaligned too (Hamlet's Quest stable release)
how do I fix that?
Image
screenshot_20170917_004701.png
(7.74 KiB) Not downloaded yet

User avatar
Hamlet
Member
Posts: 746
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2017 21:09
IRC: H4mlet
In-game: Hamlet
Location: Lombardy, Italy

Re: [Game] Hamlet's Quest [1.0.0] [hamlets_quest]

by Hamlet » Post

Napiophelios wrote:Man that is a wacked out copy of darkage mod you are using.
I didn't even know about the existence of Darkage - improved, thanks for the tip: I'm testing it hoping to merge it in the next dev-update.

---EDIT
Testing it resulted in multiple compatibility issues with the original Darkage version, which created a domino effect on my fallen_nodes, smaller_steps and killer_nodes modules. Moreover, the improved version lacks stained glasses which I consider essential for this subgame.

FAIL
Image
Napiophelios wrote: Anyway, why don't you register darkage mod material for PKarcs?
Good idea, that's another addition for the next dev-update. Thanks for the code!
Napiophelios wrote: Hudbars are misaligned too (Hamlet's Quest stable release)
how do I fix that?
I've checked on Wuzzy's Hudbars' topic, bad news: it's a known bug and without fix.
Attachments
screenshot_20170917_121020.png
(267 KiB) Not downloaded yet
My repositories: Codeberg.org | My ContentDB's page | I'm on PureOS with XFCE

User avatar
Napiophelios
Member
Posts: 1017
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2014 01:14
GitHub: Napiophelios
IRC: Nappi
In-game: Nappi

Re: [Game] Hamlet's Quest [1.0.0] [hamlets_quest]

by Napiophelios » Post

Hamlet wrote:
Napiophelios wrote:Man that is a wacked out copy of darkage mod you are using.
I didn't even know about the existence of Darkage - improved, thanks for the tip: I'm testing it hoping to merge it in the next dev-update.

---EDIT
Testing it resulted in multiple compatibility issues with the original Darkage version, which created a domino effect on my fallen_nodes, smaller_steps and killer_nodes modules. Moreover, the improved version lacks stained glasses which I consider essential for this subgame.
Then you definitely wouldn't be interested in the original darkage mod by MasterGollum.

parasite
Member
Posts: 164
Joined: Sat May 06, 2017 17:45
GitHub: Parasitoid

Re: [Game] Hamlet's Quest [1.0.0] [hamlets_quest]

by parasite » Post

I have noticed two problems ("stable" version):

1. After some time in creative mode, I could not back to survival anymore. No matter what I choose in main menu, game always load with creative inventory!

2. Hudbars (the same as Napiophelios`s issue):

Image
Attachments
screenshot_20170917_164707.jpg
(131.14 KiB) Not downloaded yet

User avatar
Hamlet
Member
Posts: 746
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2017 21:09
IRC: H4mlet
In-game: Hamlet
Location: Lombardy, Italy

Re: [Game] Hamlet's Quest [1.0.0] [hamlets_quest]

by Hamlet » Post

Napiophelios wrote: Then you definitely wouldn't be interested in the original darkage mod by MasterGollum.
Given that it lacks these improvements, why should I switch to it?
My repositories: Codeberg.org | My ContentDB's page | I'm on PureOS with XFCE

User avatar
Hamlet
Member
Posts: 746
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2017 21:09
IRC: H4mlet
In-game: Hamlet
Location: Lombardy, Italy

Re: [Game] Hamlet's Quest [1.0.0] [hamlets_quest]

by Hamlet » Post

parasite wrote:I have noticed two problems ("stable" version):
1. After some time in creative mode, I could not back to survival anymore. No matter what I choose in main menu, game always load with creative inventory!
Situation "A":

Have you used the "/grantme all" command? If you did, then edit your character's privs this way:

Method 1:
/revoke singleplayer all

Method 2:
open ../minetest/worlds/your_worlds_name/auth.txt

line #1: singleplayer:kuy04y5wieuhfweto876ro23... and so on

look at the end of the line, there will be words that you can understand, replace them with:

Code: Select all

:interact,shout,basic_privs:
Situation "B"

open these files with a text editor and check for

Code: Select all

creative_mode = false
#1 ../minetest/minetest.conf
#2 ../minetest/worlds/your_world_name/world.mt

If none of the above works, then might be an issue related to Minetest Game 0.4.17-dev you should report it on their topic.
parasite wrote: 2. Hudbars (the same as Napiophelios`s issue):
Unfortunately there is no fix for that issue: see the Hudbars' thread about it.
Last edited by Hamlet on Mon Sep 18, 2017 18:48, edited 1 time in total.
My repositories: Codeberg.org | My ContentDB's page | I'm on PureOS with XFCE

User avatar
Napiophelios
Member
Posts: 1017
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2014 01:14
GitHub: Napiophelios
IRC: Nappi
In-game: Nappi

Re: [Game] Hamlet's Quest [1.0.0] [hamlets_quest]

by Napiophelios » Post

Hamlet wrote:
Napiophelios wrote: Then you definitely wouldn't be interested in the original darkage mod by MasterGollum.
Given that it lacks these improvements, why should I switch to it?
I didn't suggest that you should switch to it.
pretty sure I said you would not be interested in it.

It was just my way of letting you know that what you refer
to as the original is actually a fork.

User avatar
Hamlet
Member
Posts: 746
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2017 21:09
IRC: H4mlet
In-game: Hamlet
Location: Lombardy, Italy

Re: [Game] Hamlet's Quest [1.0.0] [hamlets_quest]

by Hamlet » Post

Napiophelios wrote:It was just my way of letting you know that what you refer
to as the original is actually a fork.
My apologies for giving that impression, it was not my intention.
I have edited my previous posts stating clearly that it's Addi's version.
My repositories: Codeberg.org | My ContentDB's page | I'm on PureOS with XFCE

User avatar
Hamlet
Member
Posts: 746
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2017 21:09
IRC: H4mlet
In-game: Hamlet
Location: Lombardy, Italy

Re: [Game] Hamlet's Quest [1.0.0] [hamlets_quest]

by Hamlet » Post

To those who might be interested:

Wuzzy has released HUD Bars v1.10.0:

Changes:
- Bugfix: The progress bar was displaced for some people

You can download it from the HUDBars' thread first post, unzip it and rename the folder to "hudbars", move it into ..minetest/games/hamlets_quest/mods - choose Yes when asked to replace the older files.
My repositories: Codeberg.org | My ContentDB's page | I'm on PureOS with XFCE

User avatar
Hamlet
Member
Posts: 746
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2017 21:09
IRC: H4mlet
In-game: Hamlet
Location: Lombardy, Italy

Re: [Game] Hamlet's Quest [1.0.0] [hamlets_quest]

by Hamlet » Post

v. 1.1.2-dev (2017-09-18)
-------------------------

- Updated Minetest Game's modules to 0.4.17-dev (2017-09-17)
- All the other modules have been updated to their latest versions.
- Mobs' difficulty set to "2", it was "1".
- Mobs out of viewing range are now disabled.
- HUDBars' order rearranged.
- Added a new main menu's background image.
- Main menu's background images resized and compressed via pngcrush.
- Fixed errors in README.txt.
My repositories: Codeberg.org | My ContentDB's page | I'm on PureOS with XFCE

User avatar
Hamlet
Member
Posts: 746
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2017 21:09
IRC: H4mlet
In-game: Hamlet
Location: Lombardy, Italy

Re: [Game] Hamlet's Quest [1.1.0] [hamlets_quest]

by Hamlet » Post

Released v. 1.1.0 (Stable Branch)

If you are updating from v.1.0.0 then:

Settings -> Advanced Settings -> Games -> Hamlet's Quest - > NSSPF Remover
Enable it to clean the unknown nodes.

I hope you'll enjoy this version.
My repositories: Codeberg.org | My ContentDB's page | I'm on PureOS with XFCE

User avatar
Hamlet
Member
Posts: 746
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2017 21:09
IRC: H4mlet
In-game: Hamlet
Location: Lombardy, Italy

Re: [Subgame] Hamlet's Quest [1.1.2] [hamlets_quest]

by Hamlet » Post

Released versions 1.1.2 (stable) and 1.2.3-dev (development)

These are to tailor the subgame on the user's Minetest Engine; stable are for 0.4.16 and 0.4.17-dev, development is for 0.4.17-dev.

Modules have been updated.
My repositories: Codeberg.org | My ContentDB's page | I'm on PureOS with XFCE

User avatar
Hamlet
Member
Posts: 746
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2017 21:09
IRC: H4mlet
In-game: Hamlet
Location: Lombardy, Italy

Re: [Subgame] Hamlet's Quest [1.1.2] [hamlets_quest]

by Hamlet » Post

frankenmine wrote:can u add shakspere quotes:)
hahaha I think that it could be possible by adding arsdragonfly's RandomMessages; and Wikiquote has a good number of quotes to choose from.

I think that I will add this feature, thanks for the hint!
My repositories: Codeberg.org | My ContentDB's page | I'm on PureOS with XFCE

User avatar
Hamlet
Member
Posts: 746
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2017 21:09
IRC: H4mlet
In-game: Hamlet
Location: Lombardy, Italy

Re: [Subgame] Hamlet's Quest [1.1.2] [hamlets_quest]

by Hamlet » Post

To those who might be interested: I've resumed this subgame's development; an updated release will be available in a few days.
My repositories: Codeberg.org | My ContentDB's page | I'm on PureOS with XFCE

User avatar
Hamlet
Member
Posts: 746
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2017 21:09
IRC: H4mlet
In-game: Hamlet
Location: Lombardy, Italy

Re: [Subgame] Hamlet's Quest [2.0.0] [hamlets_quest]

by Hamlet » Post

Version 2.0.0 released

Based on Minetest Game 0.4.16, thus breaks compatibility with 1.x versions based on 0.4.17-dev

- Switched to Minetest Game v0.4.16 as base
- Switched to R-0ne's mobs_water module
- Added library module by v-rob
- Added Simple Arcs module by PEAK
extended it to support Darkage's nodes, thanks to Napiophelios
- Added Arctic Life module by Nathan.S
- Added Desert Life module by Nathan.S
- Added All Walls module by v-rob
- Added ../bash_tools/clean_and_rename.sh
- Removed nsspf_remover module
- All the modules have been updated to their latest versions
My repositories: Codeberg.org | My ContentDB's page | I'm on PureOS with XFCE

User avatar
Hamlet
Member
Posts: 746
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2017 21:09
IRC: H4mlet
In-game: Hamlet
Location: Lombardy, Italy

Re: [Game] Hamlet's Quest [2.1.0] [hamlets_quest]

by Hamlet » Post

Version 2.1.0 released (milestone)

This is how the game is meant to be, check the following changelog AND the first post to get an idea of how the gameplay has changed.

- Disabled cacti and wooden made armors and shields. They were active by mistake.
- Improved chains and chandeliers' look.
- Added charcoal, crafted by cooking tree nodes.
- Added in-game documentation, i.e. encyclopedia and node inspector tool.
- Added Real Trees' nodes to Fallen Trees.
- Added Hard Trees Redo, that disables digging tree nodes by bare hands; disables wooden pick and axe; adds rocks to dirt nodes; adds sticks to leaves nodes; changes stone tools recipes: you need rocks instead of stone, you can also use flints.
- Cacti now do damage; floor torches have been tweaked to damage only if you are standing very close to them or right over them.
- Dungeons' chests now use the default Minetest Game's chests.
- Dungeons are now made of brighter bricks, the old ones were way too dark.
- Balrog mob added; very hard to see one, almost impossible to defeat.
- Wooden bucket readded, it was removed by mistake.
- Lava buckets removed for realism's sake.
- Almost all of the game tweaks have been moved to hq_tweaks.
- Night skip while sleeping has been re-enabled for realism's sake.
- TNT module added to allow Dungeon Masters fireballs' explosions.
- Coal powder - to light torches - now can be crafted by using charcoal also.
- ../bash_tools/ files have been updated as needed.
- All the modules have been updated to their latest versions.
My repositories: Codeberg.org | My ContentDB's page | I'm on PureOS with XFCE

User avatar
Hamlet
Member
Posts: 746
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2017 21:09
IRC: H4mlet
In-game: Hamlet
Location: Lombardy, Italy

Re: [Game] Hamlet's Quest [2.2.0] [hamlets_quest]

by Hamlet » Post

Released v. 2.2.0

- Added SFInv Buttons by Wuzzy, check the inventory's "More" tab.
- Cavern spawn: Settings/Advanced Settings/Games/Hamlet's Quest
- Added Under Sky by Shara Redcat.
- Added charcoal block.
- Real Minerals' ingots and Default's ingots now can be swapped.
- Real Minerals' metal blocks now can be converted into ingots.
- Day lenght set to one hour.
- Real Torches set to last for 30min max.
- 20 hydration pts now last for 30min.
- Steel canteen and bronze canteen's capacity: 20, 30 (was 40, 60).
- Leaves set to phantom, climbable.
- Stone arrows' recipe modified to use rocks or flints, output = 3.
- Some DFCaverns' flora nodes now glow.
- DFCaverns' "bloodthorns" now hurt.
- Cut the number of spawned goblins.
- Swords' damage increased of 2pts.
- Crocodiles' spawn restricted to river water.
- Added Fort Spikes by xeranas.
- Added Extra armors for 3d_armor (v0.2) by davidthecreator
My repositories: Codeberg.org | My ContentDB's page | I'm on PureOS with XFCE

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests