[Game] Wynot Subgame [whynot]

Duvalon
Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2020 00:32
Location: Canada

Re: [Game] Wynot Subgame [whynot]

by Duvalon » Post

Hi @bell07,

I wouldn't mind contributing to the game. I'm a software developer; familiar with C++ and Git. Not so much Lua, but I could get used to it. My current world has a few other mods added:
I really like the extra mobs everywhere. It adds a lot of life and variety. Night time is much more challenging, especially early on. The rabbits, cows and horses make leather armor and backpacks easier to get at the beginning, and sheep give access to wool to build a bed without having to search for a jungle for hours on end.

So far I haven't noticed any problems with the mobs. They don't seem to overwhelm the world (like in MC2) or the server but I don't advertise my server and it's only my son and I playing. They all seem to despawn when characters are far away.

Duvalon
Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2020 00:32
Location: Canada

Re: [Game] Wynot Subgame [whynot]

by Duvalon » Post

I've encountered a very strange bug that only seems to happen in Whynot instances in MT 5.3. The characters' limbs are flipped upside down while the body and head seem ok. The strangest part is it doesn't affect my character's gameplay, but my son's character walks really slow and can't jump high enough to go over a single node.

I have 6 different servers, three of which are whynot games initially created in MT 5.2, and one of those without extra mods. Only and all whynot games have it.

I've also tried a local game previously created in MT 5.2 but playing in 5.3, as well as a new game just created in 5.3. All seem to exhibit the same issue.

Both my server and client are on Ubuntu Linux 20.04 and MT 5.3 from the PPA. I'm using the latest whynot game downloaded from contentdb. My system is in French... usually that makes things backwards, not upside down /jk

Any idea where I could start to debug this?

Image
https://ibb.co/PtvzsNf

Edit:
I tried to be more disciplined about it. I removed all the mods installed from the Ubuntu repositories, I moved my .minetest directory and created a minetest.conf with only "debug_log_level = verbose". Then I started minetest, downloaded the Whynot game (and nothing else) from within the game, create a new world using the Whynot game, and got the same issue. Here is the debug.txt log: https://justpaste.it/5i6xj

Code: Select all

My minetest.conf afterwards was this:
debug_log_level = verbose
wieldview_node_tiles = false
food_sweet_use_2d = 1
wieldview_update_time = 2
maintab_LAST = local
mainmenu_last_selected_world = 1
mg_name = carpathian
screen_h = 1015
screen_w = 1920
menu_last_game = whynot
selected_world_path = /home/oli/.minetest/worlds/Whynot_test53
fixed_map_seed = 
I don't see anything particular in the logs, at least not in errors and warnings. There's one error about the awards mod but I'd be surprise that it's related. Anyone else can reproduce this?

User avatar
goats
Member
Posts: 144
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2019 05:29

Re: [Game] Wynot Subgame [whynot]

by goats » Post

Anyone else can reproduce this?
Yes, and it's positively hilarious. I also get the player head facing backward, and a lot of z-fighting with the player skin.
Any idea where I could start to debug this?
I generally start with disabling mods. Create an extra folder in the game's root folder and move mods out one at a time, start game, and check.

That said, my first suspect, multiskin_model, has something broken or in conflict with another player mod. Moving this out of the /mods directory tree eliminates the issue. To me it looks like a lot of coordinates of the player model got flipped. Could be the model itself, multiskin_model.b3d.

You'll get errors and unsatisfied dependencies but they don't really break anything as far as i can tell yet. Most can probably be eliminated by commenting out references to multiskin_model. E.g., comment out or remove the reference from /3d_armor/depends.txt, and then mods depending on 3d_armor won't have potential issues.

origin https://github.com/bell07/minetest-player_api_modpack (fetch)
* master e889673 [origin/master] backport new skin parts Thx. to @ClockGen
...
Mod: player_api_modpack/multiskin_model
...

So bell07 is the owner/maintainer of the relevant mod(s), and you are already in the right place for reporting the issue.

Duvalon
Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2020 00:32
Location: Canada

Re: [Game] Wynot Subgame [whynot]

by Duvalon » Post

Nice catch! Thanks goats. I'll keep digging...

bell07
Member
Posts: 599
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 15:15
GitHub: bell07

Re: [Game] Wynot Subgame [whynot]

by bell07 » Post

Are you sure it is not caused by playeranim mod? This is my first suspect

EDIT: please try without playeranim mod. No other mods should depends on them. Created new issue on github: https://github.com/bell07/minetest-game ... /issues/24
Last edited by bell07 on Mon Jul 20, 2020 09:02, edited 1 time in total.

bell07
Member
Posts: 599
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 15:15
GitHub: bell07

Re: [Game] Wynot Subgame [whynot]

by bell07 » Post

Duvalon wrote:
Sun Jul 19, 2020 14:56
Hi @bell07,

I wouldn't mind contributing to the game. I'm a software developer; familiar with C++ and Git. Not so much Lua, but I could get used to it. My current world has a few other mods added:
I really like the extra mobs everywhere. It adds a lot of life and variety. Night time is much more challenging, especially early on. The rabbits, cows and horses make leather armor and backpacks easier to get at the beginning, and sheep give access to wool to build a bed without having to search for a jungle for hours on end.

So far I haven't noticed any problems with the mobs. They don't seem to overwhelm the world (like in MC2) or the server but I don't advertise my server and it's only my son and I playing. They all seem to despawn when characters are far away.
I added the proposals to https://github.com/bell07/minetest-game-whynot/issues and will consider them if I find some time. Previously I tried some peacful mobs in the past, but I do not like the spawning behaviour. It is not possible to get mobs-free areas. One of the "whynot criteria" is no mod should take over the world. In comparsion to Minecraft it should be possible to get mobs free area by killing them all for example.
But I consider maybe I can set the spawning rate to smaller value so the mobs spawns rare only.

User avatar
goats
Member
Posts: 144
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2019 05:29

Re: [Game] Wynot Subgame [whynot]

by goats » Post

bell07 wrote:
Mon Jul 20, 2020 07:36
Are you sure it is not caused by playeranim mod? This is my first suspect
I am sure of nothing. I only know that removing multiskin_model "fixes" the odd display. Playeranim would have been my next test. I did not continue checking. But i could neither say what the cause is, nor why Duvalon's child has a character with movement affected.

So checking now: Indeed, restoring multiskin_model and removing playeranim fixes the issue with no warnings or side effects, so this is probably the better fix, and the location of the issue as you suspect.

bell07
Member
Posts: 599
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 15:15
GitHub: bell07

Re: [Game] Wynot Subgame [whynot]

by bell07 » Post

Quickfix for animation issue is

Code: Select all

--- a/mods/player/playeranim/init.lua
+++ b/mods/player/playeranim/init.lua
@@ -22,7 +22,7 @@ end
 
 -- stop player_api from messing stuff up (since 5.3)
 if minetest.global_exists("player_api") then
-       for _, v in pairs(player_api.registered_models["character.b3d"].animations) do
+       for _, v in pairs(player_api.registered_models["multiskin_model.b3d"].animations) do
                v.x = 0
                v.y = 0
        end
Need to check how the issue can be solved in proper way..

User avatar
goats
Member
Posts: 144
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2019 05:29

Re: [Game] Wynot Subgame [whynot]

by goats » Post

Thank you bell07, i am sure Duvalon and son will appreciate it! :)

Duvalon
Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2020 00:32
Location: Canada

Re: [Game] Wynot Subgame [whynot]

by Duvalon » Post

For sure! Thank you very much bell07, and you too goats!

On a side note, the reason why my son couldn't jump over nodes is because he created himself a brick armour. Looking at the code it slows you down and reduces your jump height. I managed to distract him towards a waffle armour instead.

User avatar
goats
Member
Posts: 144
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2019 05:29

Re: [Game] Wynot Subgame [whynot]

by goats » Post

Brick armor! :D I had seen that there were some funky possibilities for armor, but brick is highly amusing. Yes, armor has encumbrance factors, i rather imagine brick would rate highly in that regard.

+1 for brick armor, clever. :)

P.S. there is some kind of crazy waffle + nyancat armor thing...

Edit: By the way, does anyone else get a chat notification on game startup "Loading Maple" every time? I don't know why this gets logged to chat. :D

bell07
Member
Posts: 599
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 15:15
GitHub: bell07

Re: [Game] Wynot Subgame [whynot]

by bell07 » Post

Pushed the fixed version to contentdb. Just the quickfix on playeranim, till the issue is solved in proper way.

About Loading Maple: The message is caused by Maple mod and should just go to the debug.txt using minetest.log().
Do you have the qa-block enabled that redirects messages to chat or something like?

User avatar
goats
Member
Posts: 144
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2019 05:29

Re: [Game] Wynot Subgame [whynot]

by goats » Post

I do not know what the qa-block is. (Quality assurance?) I have no other active mods external to the game. Chat log level is error. (if you add 'action', to the minetest.log statement, it doesn't display in chat)

Not important if no one else experiences this, i merely find it curious.

Felim13
New member
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2020 23:14

Re: [Game] Wynot Subgame [whynot]

by Felim13 » Post

How do you get animals into the game?

There is a spawner in creative mode, but when I click it, it says it is inactive, and that I need to change the settings, which are:
mobs_animal:pumba 10 15 0 0 0

I've searched and searched and searched for info on these settings but can't find any.
So how do I get animals into WhyNot?

bell07
Member
Posts: 599
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 15:15
GitHub: bell07

Re: [Game] Wynot Subgame [whynot]

by bell07 » Post

There are no mobs mods in whynot, mosters only. The reason is if I add the mobs_animal mod to the game, the mobs take over the world. It is not possible to get mobs-free natural areas because of the permanent spawning.

Monsters are in game because it is possible to get monsters-free area by illumination.

If you like to get animals in your world, just download the mod from ContentDB and activate it in your whynot world. I recommend to do it in a test world at the first. Check if you are happy with animal spawining during some time period.

Xum Games
New member
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2020 22:50
In-game: Xum

Re: [Game] Wynot Subgame [whynot]

by Xum Games » Post

Hello, I made a Game based on Whynot, which is called Xum Game.

bell07
Member
Posts: 599
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 15:15
GitHub: bell07

Re: [Game] Wynot Subgame [whynot]

by bell07 » Post

@Xum, nice! Can you post a link to your game? What is the difference to Whynot? Do you use the buildscripts or is it just a fork of the game as of 26.08.?

Duvalon
Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2020 00:32
Location: Canada

Re: [Game] Wynot Subgame [whynot]

by Duvalon » Post

I'd just like to say thanks bell07 for all the work you've put into "why not?" lately :)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: insomniac and 3 guests