[Game] Wasteland [0.5 beta]

spillz
Member
 
Posts: 138
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2014 05:11

Re: [Game] Wasteland [0.2.2]

by spillz » Sun Apr 27, 2014 03:18

Krock wrote:@spillz
Any error log or just a crash?


Nothing of interest in the log, just a crash.

EDIT: I tried removing everything but default, made a new world, and still get a hard crash after a few seconds. maybe something in the mod's mapgen?
 

User avatar
HeroOfTheWinds
Member
 
Posts: 470
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 23:16
Location: Hawaii
GitHub: HeroOfTheWinds
IRC: WindHero

Re: [Game] Wasteland [0.2.2]

by HeroOfTheWinds » Sun Apr 27, 2014 05:20

Looks interesting. Have you considered randomly placing bones here and there to increase the eeriness?
Nam ex spatio, omnes res venire possunt.
Why let the ground limit you when you can reach for the sky?
Back to college now, yay for sophomore year schedules. :P
 

User avatar
BlockMen
Developer
 
Posts: 768
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 17:24
Location: Germany
GitHub: BlockMen

Re: [Game] Wasteland [0.2.2]

by BlockMen » Sun Apr 27, 2014 11:11

spillz wrote:
Krock wrote:@spillz
Any error log or just a crash?


Nothing of interest in the log, just a crash.

EDIT: I tried removing everything but default, made a new world, and still get a hard crash after a few seconds. maybe something in the mod's mapgen?

If you cant provide more informations i cant help you, sorry.

HeroOfTheWinds wrote:Looks interesting. Have you considered randomly placing bones here and there to increase the eeriness?

README.txt wrote:If you die there will be a grave with your stuff, also there are very (!) rarely spawning graves with stuff.
 

ken
New member
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 03:37

Re: [Game] Wasteland [0.2.2]

by ken » Thu May 15, 2014 05:55

I like the game, thanks for developing it.

I am fairly new to Minetest and not entirely clear on the "farming" aspect. According to the wiki, I am supposed to be able to use a tool to "mine" the wheat, but this does not seem to work in Wastelands. You can't mine the wheat directly but must mine the block underneath it. Is this by design? Or am I missing something? I'm using the latest 0.4.9-dev version.
 

User avatar
Jordach
Member
 
Posts: 4521
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
Location: Blender Scene
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach

Re: [Game] Wasteland [0.2.2]

by Jordach » Thu May 15, 2014 06:00

ken wrote:I like the game, thanks for developing it.

I am fairly new to Minetest and not entirely clear on the "farming" aspect. According to the wiki, I am supposed to be able to use a tool to "mine" the wheat, but this does not seem to work in Wastelands. You can't mine the wheat directly but must mine the block underneath it. Is this by design? Or am I missing something? I'm using the latest 0.4.9-dev version.

Put a 2x2 square of wheat in the crafting grid, which will make flour; then pur that in a furnace.

To harvest wheat, wait until it turns golden and has large tips on top, you will know; it will drop seeds and wheat.

Dig the plant with a sword or your fists or other tools.
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=19056 Solar Plains Dev Server
 

Mikerhinos
Member
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2014 08:17

Re: [Game] Wasteland [0.2.2]

by Mikerhinos » Fri May 16, 2014 05:18

I have random crashes after a few seconds too.
Debug log has a few :
Code: Select all
07:14:01: ACTION[ServerThread]: stack traceback:
07:14:01: ACTION[ServerThread]:    [C]: in function 'hud_add'
07:14:01: ACTION[ServerThread]:    ...e/mikerhinos/.minetest/games/Wasteland/mods/hud/init.lua:54: in function 'costum_hud'
07:14:01: ACTION[ServerThread]:    ...e/mikerhinos/.minetest/games/Wasteland/mods/hud/init.lua:204: in function 'func'
07:14:01: ACTION[ServerThread]:    /usr/share/minetest/builtin/game/misc.lua:17: in function </usr/share/minetest/builtin/game/misc.lua:9>
07:14:01: ACTION[ServerThread]:    /usr/share/minetest/builtin/game/register.lua:348: in function </usr/share/minetest/builtin/game/register.lua:336>
07:14:01: ACTION[ServerThread]: Deprecated usage of statbar without size!


Terminal displays a segmentation error message on crash.
I run on latest daily.
 

ken
New member
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 03:37

Re: [Game] Wasteland [0.2.2]

by ken » Fri May 16, 2014 07:12

Jordach wrote:Put a 2x2 square of wheat in the crafting grid, which will make flour; then pur that in a furnace.

To harvest wheat, wait until it turns golden and has large tips on top, you will know; it will drop seeds and wheat.

Dig the plant with a sword or your fists or other tools.

I can harvest wheat normally in the default minetest_game, but this does not work in Wastelands. See attached videos, one of minetest_game farming, and one of Wastelands farming.
Attachments
example videos.zip
(5.93 MiB) Downloaded 81 times
 

User avatar
Krock
Developer
 
Posts: 4224
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
Location: Switzerland
GitHub: SmallJoker

Re: [Game] Wasteland [0.2.2]

by Krock » Fri May 16, 2014 12:52

ken wrote:I can harvest wheat normally in the default minetest_game, but this does not work in Wastelands. See attached videos, one of minetest_game farming, and one of Wastelands farming.

Yes, seems like a
Code: Select all
groups = {oddly_breakable_by_hand = 1},

is missing there.
>> Mod Search Engine << - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>
 

User avatar
BlockMen
Developer
 
Posts: 768
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 17:24
Location: Germany
GitHub: BlockMen

Re: [Game] Wasteland [0.2.2]

by BlockMen » Fri May 16, 2014 13:25

ken wrote:I can harvest wheat normally in the default minetest_game, but this does not work in Wastelands. See attached videos, one of minetest_game farming, and one of Wastelands farming.


Yes, i forgot to change the values for wheat aswell when switiching to new tool system this version. It will be fixed next release, or if you don't like waiting add:
Code: Select all
dig=default.dig.instant
here https://github.com/BlockMen/Wasteland/b ... t.lua#L356


Mikerhinos wrote:I have random crashes after a few seconds too.
Debug log has a few :
Code: Select all
07:14:01: ACTION[ServerThread]: stack traceback:
07:14:01: ACTION[ServerThread]:    [C]: in function 'hud_add'
07:14:01: ACTION[ServerThread]:    ...e/mikerhinos/.minetest/games/Wasteland/mods/hud/init.lua:54: in function 'costum_hud'
07:14:01: ACTION[ServerThread]:    ...e/mikerhinos/.minetest/games/Wasteland/mods/hud/init.lua:204: in function 'func'
07:14:01: ACTION[ServerThread]:    /usr/share/minetest/builtin/game/misc.lua:17: in function </usr/share/minetest/builtin/game/misc.lua:9>
07:14:01: ACTION[ServerThread]:    /usr/share/minetest/builtin/game/register.lua:348: in function </usr/share/minetest/builtin/game/register.lua:336>
07:14:01: ACTION[ServerThread]: Deprecated usage of statbar without size!


Terminal displays a segmentation error message on crash.
I run on latest daily.

Umm...what? I will take a look.
 

User avatar
Wuzzy
Member
 
Posts: 3371
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 15:01
GitHub: Wuzzy2
IRC: Wuzzy
In-game: Wuzzy

Re: [Game] Wasteland [0.2.2]

by Wuzzy » Fri Jun 13, 2014 22:17

Hi! When I attempt to craft a bronze sword, a bronze pickaxe, bronze axe or a bronze shovel, it just yields me an unknown item.

The bronze hoe works, however.

PS: I am looking forward to see monsters in this subgame. :-)
 

Mella
Member
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 14:58

Re: [Game] Wasteland [0.2.2]

by Mella » Sat Jun 21, 2014 15:16

I've got problems, too.
The error I get (also after a few seconds) is:
"minetest-0.4.9/bin [...] /games/Wasteland/mods/default/player.lua:144: attempt to call method "set local animation" (a nil value)
I'm also rather new to minetest. :(
 

User avatar
Krock
Developer
 
Posts: 4224
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
Location: Switzerland
GitHub: SmallJoker

Re: [Game] Wasteland [0.2.2]

by Krock » Sat Jun 21, 2014 16:15

Mella wrote:I've got problems, too.
The error I get (also after a few seconds) is:
"minetest-0.4.9/bin [...] /games/Wasteland/mods/default/player.lua:144: attempt to call method "set local animation" (a nil value)
I'm also rather new to minetest. :(


Try to get a in-developement build from the forums (you can find them in "General Discussion") and see if this problem still exist.
>> Mod Search Engine << - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>
 

Mella
Member
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 14:58

Re: [Game] Wasteland [0.2.2]

by Mella » Sat Jun 21, 2014 17:01

Krock wrote:
Mella wrote:I've got problems, too.
The error I get (also after a few seconds) is:
"minetest-0.4.9/bin [...] /games/Wasteland/mods/default/player.lua:144: attempt to call method "set local animation" (a nil value)
I'm also rather new to minetest. :(


Try to get a in-developement build from the forums (you can find them in "General Discussion") and see if this problem still exist.


Yeah, thanks!!! - Everything's alright now :)
 

Mella
Member
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 14:58

Re: [Game] Wasteland [0.2.2]

by Mella » Sat Jun 21, 2014 21:15

Well, I'm almost starving, but this game is brilliant ;)
 

User avatar
meldrian
Member
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2013 14:02
Location: Germany
GitHub: meldrian
IRC: meldrian
In-game: meldrian

Re: [Game] Wasteland [0.2.2]

by meldrian » Fri Jul 11, 2014 00:13

Nice idea, even if got some similarities to another mod of another game which I did not like to mention here.
The real deal might it in Multiplayer-mode. I did not play with others so far but thinking of bring back nature to a total wasteland with friends sounds awesome in my head.

Question: I handled it to grow some wheat but I'am not able to farm it when it's grown. Bare hands or tools, I just can't mine it. It's like clicking at Stone with bare hands.
EDIT: Nevermind, i just read the information above and now I know the answer.

Using 0.2.2 of your mod and minetest 0.4.10
might there be problems with the new farming-api?

everything else: Great mod :)
thx
 

skyion
New member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2014 03:30
In-game: skyion

Re:

by skyion » Sat Jul 12, 2014 22:13

BlockMen wrote:
Annahstas wrote:Dumb person question- I downloaded it and extracted. How do I get it to play? Also you can play with other people right?


Add the "wasteland" folder to ~/games/ in your minetest folder.

And yes, you can play this with other ppl (like every other game here) if someone hosts it.


anyone able to help me i have the latest minetest i added the folder to /games (which i had to go into root for which was a pain in the butt) but it wont show up when i start the program im at a bit of a loss
 

User avatar
LionsDen
Member
 
Posts: 530
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2013 03:19

Re: [Game] Wasteland [0.2.2]

by LionsDen » Sat Jul 12, 2014 23:04

There are icons on the bottom of the minetest menu. Each icon represents a different game for minetest. Also, you can click the new button and enter your world name and then choose whichever game type from the box below where you enter your world name.
 

skyion
New member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2014 03:30
In-game: skyion

Re: [Game] Wasteland [0.2.2] (was just "stubborn")

by skyion » Mon Jul 14, 2014 01:13

i looked thats what i meant by it wont show up i added one for zombies it shows up but this one wont appear in the menues but thanks for making sure i knew that part - i dumped the file reinstalled minetest reinstalled the mode and now for some reason it works i dunno what went wrong or where but yay thanks for putting thought into my problem whoever thought about it your awesome for it
 

User avatar
LionsDen
Member
 
Posts: 530
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2013 03:19

Re: [Game] Wasteland [0.2.2]

by LionsDen » Mon Jul 14, 2014 04:32

You're welcome. Sometimes computers just make a mistake and you can never find the reason why something did or didn't work. It's happened to me numerous times and I expect it will happen numerous more.
 

User avatar
meldrian
Member
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2013 14:02
Location: Germany
GitHub: meldrian
IRC: meldrian
In-game: meldrian

Re: [Game] Wasteland [0.2.2]

by meldrian » Sun Jul 20, 2014 16:33

Hey Blockmen,

don't know the effort which is necessary but maybe it's a nice idea to add toxic water (green water, poison) and a red burning sky instead of the normal one to the game.
Toxic Water: Player shouldn't go in there for healthy reasons but there might be some treasure or rare material underneath or in it. A "no risk no fun" or "no pain no gain" thing.
Red Sky: Just an optical tweak, fits into the "wasteland" setting (the blue sky is much to happy for the Post-Apocalypse ;) )
 

Dragonop
Member
 
Posts: 1178
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2012 12:59
Location: Argentina
GitHub: Dragonop
IRC: Dragonop
In-game: Dragonop

Re: [Game] Wasteland [0.2.2]

by Dragonop » Fri Jul 25, 2014 04:27

BlockMen you can add the finite liquids mod so the water will be more rare; and if you find two buckets of water you CANT make a infinite water source
 

Dragonop
Member
 
Posts: 1178
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2012 12:59
Location: Argentina
GitHub: Dragonop
IRC: Dragonop
In-game: Dragonop
 

User avatar
LionsDen
Member
 
Posts: 530
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2013 03:19

Re: [Game] Wasteland [0.2.2]

by LionsDen » Sun Jul 27, 2014 08:25

Like you would a chest, just right-click it.
 

User avatar
BlockMen
Developer
 
Posts: 768
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 17:24
Location: Germany
GitHub: BlockMen

Re: [Game] Wasteland [0.2.2]

by BlockMen » Sun Jul 27, 2014 15:59

meldrian wrote:Hey Blockmen,

don't know the effort which is necessary but maybe it's a nice idea to add toxic water (green water, poison) and a red burning sky instead of the normal one to the game.
Toxic Water: Player shouldn't go in there for healthy reasons but there might be some treasure or rare material underneath or in it. A "no risk no fun" or "no pain no gain" thing.
Red Sky: Just an optical tweak, fits into the "wasteland" setting (the blue sky is much to happy for the Post-Apocalypse ;) )


The red sky does not exactly fit in the direction of this game, since why would you be able to "regrow" the earth while the atmosphere is still destroyed (or why red?). Also i would think grey fits better than red in this setting.
The toxic water might be an idea, aswell something to clean it.

Dragonop wrote:BlockMen you can add the finite liquids mod so the water will be more rare; and if you find two buckets of water you CANT make a infinite water source

Since i was never a fan of finite liquids i guess i woubt add that. But toxic water (like mentioned before) or something similar will make getting water also harder.
 

Dragonop
Member
 
Posts: 1178
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2012 12:59
Location: Argentina
GitHub: Dragonop
IRC: Dragonop
In-game: Dragonop

Re: [Game] Wasteland [0.2.2]

by Dragonop » Mon Jul 28, 2014 01:48

ken wrote:I like the game, thanks for developing it.

I am fairly new to Minetest and not entirely clear on the "farming" aspect. According to the wiki, I am supposed to be able to use a tool to "mine" the wheat, but this does not seem to work in Wastelands. You can't mine the wheat directly but must mine the block underneath it. Is this by design? Or am I missing something? I'm using the latest 0.4.9-dev version.

That is not the latest version: Try This One
 

PreviousNext

Return to Game Releases



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests