[Game] Big Freaking Dig [0.5]

User avatar
Wuzzy
Member
 
Posts: 2142
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 15:01
GitHub: Wuzzy2
IRC: Wuzzy
In-game: Wuzzy

Re: [Game] Big Freaking Dig [0.4]

by Wuzzy » Mon Sep 29, 2014 19:26

I use BFD on Minetest 0.4.10.
For some weird reason, Minetest becomes really slow over time while in the inventory menu. When I just started BFD, the effect is not noticable. But the longer the server runs, the slower everything while being in the inventory menu becomes. If I close the inventory menu, everything is fine again.
I never had this issue with any other subgame or mod. So I post this here.

Other formspecs seem to be fine, too.


Besides, I really like the approach of this subgame. Finally something which is a bit more challenging than the usual subgames.
 

User avatar
Jordach
Member
 
Posts: 4405
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
Location: Blender Scene
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach

Re: [Game] Big Freaking Dig [0.4]

by Jordach » Mon Sep 29, 2014 19:42

This is an issue I've tried to pin down - nothing is modifying the inventory, and others have confirmed this with other games, but isn't as noticable.

EDIT: The trapdoor is broken because I'm working on stuff which means doors + trapdoors will be busted for a while.

EDIT2: I'm suspicious it's xgui being the issue.

EDIT3: Make xgui's init.lua look like this:

Code: Select all
local default = "inventory.png"

local function getFormSize(formspec)
   
end

local function setFormspec(player, formspec)
   local size = getFormSize(formspec)
   player:set_inventory_formspec(formspec.."listcolors[#664620;#f9ca93;#ffffff;#c69c6a;#ffffff]".."background[-0.5,-0.65;9,8.75;"..default.."]")
end

minetest.register_on_joinplayer(function(player)
   minetest.after(0.5, function() end)
   setFormspec(player, player:get_inventory_formspec())
end)

--minetest.register_on_player_receive_fields(function(player, formname, fields)
   --minetest.after(0.5, function() end)
   --setFormspec(player, player:get_inventory_formspec())
--end)


This appears to work in survival only, except that creative is an afterthought and is only designed for those who want to build. (and things only work correctly in survival.) This can be mitigated by adding a creative formspec bg image separately.

EDIT4: Loading other formspecs do not create issues with the main inventory formspec, so perhaps it's register_on_player_recieve_fields() creating too much load, as it's having to loop through the inventory.

( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) ( ͡o ͜ʖ ͡o) [$ ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) $] ( ͡$ ͜ʖ ͡$) ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ



My image and media server is back online and is functioning as normal.
 

User avatar
TheEpicJames
Member
 
Posts: 629
Joined: Sun Dec 29, 2013 23:05
Location: Some grassy area next to: a forest, a river, and a desert.
IRC: TheEpicJames
In-game: Block_Guy

Re: [Game] Big Freaking Dig [0.4]

by TheEpicJames » Mon Sep 29, 2014 22:13

Hey Jordach, is it possible to add your blender rigs in Minetest? just asking.
I like PIE.
Pumpkin pie to be exact.
5b is a game.
 

User avatar
Evergreen
Member
 
Posts: 2131
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 01:22
Location: A forest in the midwest
GitHub: 4Evergreen4
IRC: EvergreenTree
In-game: Evergreen

Re: [Game] Big Freaking Dig [0.4]

by Evergreen » Mon Sep 29, 2014 23:00

TheEpicJames wrote:Hey Jordach, is it possible to add your blender rigs in Minetest? just asking.

Yes, but there are WAY to many vertices. Don't try it.
"Help! I searched for a mod but I couldn't find it!"
http://krock-works.16mb.com/MTstuff/modSearch.php
 

User avatar
TheEpicJames
Member
 
Posts: 629
Joined: Sun Dec 29, 2013 23:05
Location: Some grassy area next to: a forest, a river, and a desert.
IRC: TheEpicJames
In-game: Block_Guy
 

User avatar
Jordach
Member
 
Posts: 4405
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
Location: Blender Scene
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach

Re: [Game] Big Freaking Dig [0.4]

by Jordach » Tue Sep 30, 2014 06:01

Too long, didn't read.

There is blender only stuff in the models I use, which means it is impossible to export them.

( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) ( ͡o ͜ʖ ͡o) [$ ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) $] ( ͡$ ͜ʖ ͡$) ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ



My image and media server is back online and is functioning as normal.
 

User avatar
TheEpicJames
Member
 
Posts: 629
Joined: Sun Dec 29, 2013 23:05
Location: Some grassy area next to: a forest, a river, and a desert.
IRC: TheEpicJames
In-game: Block_Guy

Re: [Game] Big Freaking Dig [0.4]

by TheEpicJames » Sat Oct 04, 2014 04:09

Jordach wrote:Too long, didn't read.

???
I like PIE.
Pumpkin pie to be exact.
5b is a game.
 

paramat
Developer
 
Posts: 2651
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
Location: UK
GitHub: paramat

Re: [Game] Big Freaking Dig [0.4]

by paramat » Fri Oct 17, 2014 12:20

I like your choice of biomes. Flying around i noticed the biomes are small and sometimes form thin strips, i recommend greatly increasing (x4-x8) the 'spread' parameters of mgv7 heat and humidity noises. With many biomes these spreads need to be increased to maintain a preferred biome size.
 

User avatar
Jordach
Member
 
Posts: 4405
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
Location: Blender Scene
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach

Re: [Game] Big Freaking Dig [0.4]

by Jordach » Sat Oct 18, 2014 12:24

paramat wrote:I like your choice of biomes. Flying around i noticed the biomes are small and sometimes form thin strips, i recommend greatly increasing (x4-x8) the 'spread' parameters of mgv7 heat and humidity noises. With many biomes these spreads need to be increased to maintain a preferred biome size.

Feel free to show me where to do this then, because I haven't actually had a real source of info with MGV5/7.

( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) ( ͡o ͜ʖ ͡o) [$ ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) $] ( ͡$ ͜ʖ ͡$) ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ



My image and media server is back online and is functioning as normal.
 

paramat
Developer
 
Posts: 2651
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
Location: UK
GitHub: paramat

Re: [Game] Big Freaking Dig [0.4]

by paramat » Sat Oct 18, 2014 22:25

Code: Select all
mgv7_np_heat = 25, 50, (500, 500, 500), 35293, 1, 0
mgv7_np_humidity = 50, 31.25, (750, 750, 750), 12094, 2, 0.6

Add these lines to minetest.conf, but increase the numbers in the brackets. Looking at your biome sizes i would suggest quadrupling them to start with.
 

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
 
Posts: 2887
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

Re: [Game] Big Freaking Dig [0.4]

by Inocudom » Mon Oct 20, 2014 17:11

Your treasure chests could make good use of the new meshnode draw-type, if the prospect interests you.
 

User avatar
Evergreen
Member
 
Posts: 2131
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 01:22
Location: A forest in the midwest
GitHub: 4Evergreen4
IRC: EvergreenTree
In-game: Evergreen

Re: [Game] Big Freaking Dig [0.4]

by Evergreen » Mon Oct 20, 2014 18:50

Inocudom wrote:Your treasure chests could make good use of the new meshnode draw-type, if the prospect interests you.

Mesh nodes don't allow animation afaik. I think it is better to stick with the current setup.
"Help! I searched for a mod but I couldn't find it!"
http://krock-works.16mb.com/MTstuff/modSearch.php
 

User avatar
Jordach
Member
 
Posts: 4405
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
Location: Blender Scene
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach

Re: [Game] Big Freaking Dig [0.4]

by Jordach » Sun Nov 09, 2014 12:05

Right now, I made a very large change to BFD - I removed the mapgen lock to V7, as V5 is now in Git HEAD.

You will now have to select V5 or V7 manually if you want to be able to use BFD properly.

( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) ( ͡o ͜ʖ ͡o) [$ ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) $] ( ͡$ ͜ʖ ͡$) ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ



My image and media server is back online and is functioning as normal.
 

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
 
Posts: 2887
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

Re: [Game] Big Freaking Dig [0.4]

by Inocudom » Mon Nov 10, 2014 01:34

Code: Select all
20:21:32: ERROR[main]: ========== ERROR FROM LUA ===========
20:21:32: ERROR[main]: Failed to load and run script from
20:21:32: ERROR[main]: /home/derek/.freeminer/games/big_freaking_dig/mods/default/init.lua:
20:21:32: ERROR[main]: ...reeminer/games/big_freaking_dig/mods/default/genders.lua:136: unexpected symbol near 'then'
20:21:32: ERROR[main]: stack traceback:
20:21:32: ERROR[main]:    [C]: in function 'dofile'
20:21:32: ERROR[main]:    .../.freeminer/games/big_freaking_dig/mods/default/init.lua:17: in main chunk
20:21:32: ERROR[main]: ======= END OF ERROR FROM LUA ========
20:21:32: ERROR[main]: Server: Failed to load and run /home/derek/.freeminer/games/big_freaking_dig/mods/default/init.lua
20:21:32: ERROR[main]: ModError: ModError: Failed to load and run /home/derek/.freeminer/games/big_freaking_dig/mods/default/init.lua

I got this error.
 

User avatar
Jordach
Member
 
Posts: 4405
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
Location: Blender Scene
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach

Re: [Game] Big Freaking Dig [0.4]

by Jordach » Tue Nov 11, 2014 17:45

It's a bug with singleplayer that never occurred as I often use Advanced tab instead of singleplayer. Because custom skins.

( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) ( ͡o ͜ʖ ͡o) [$ ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) $] ( ͡$ ͜ʖ ͡$) ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ



My image and media server is back online and is functioning as normal.
 

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
 
Posts: 2887
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

Re: [Game] Big Freaking Dig [0.4]

by Inocudom » Wed Nov 12, 2014 04:50

Jordach wrote:It's a bug with singleplayer that never occurred as I often use Advanced tab instead of singleplayer. Because custom skins.

The error occurs while using the advanced (server) tab too.
 

User avatar
Jordach
Member
 
Posts: 4405
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
Location: Blender Scene
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach

Re: [Game] Big Freaking Dig [0.4]

by Jordach » Wed Nov 12, 2014 17:55

Inocudom wrote:
Jordach wrote:It's a bug with singleplayer that never occurred as I often use Advanced tab instead of singleplayer. Because custom skins.

The error occurs while using the advanced (server) tab too.

I found where it's going nuts, and if it can't find a player skin that you have, then it crashes by trying to get the aspect ratio of it, to ensure it is or isn't a 1.8 skin.

( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) ( ͡o ͜ʖ ͡o) [$ ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) $] ( ͡$ ͜ʖ ͡$) ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ



My image and media server is back online and is functioning as normal.
 

User avatar
Jordach
Member
 
Posts: 4405
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
Location: Blender Scene
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach

Re: [Game] Big Freaking Dig [0.4]

by Jordach » Thu Nov 13, 2014 21:23

Fixed the singleplayer bug as well as skins that don't exist.

Commit: https://github.com/Jordach/big_freaking ... 476d7fd42a

Hidden update: it also automatically detects ignore areas and turns them into air, not sure how it will react to ignore mapblocks.
Last edited by Jordach on Sat Jul 18, 2015 12:44, edited 1 time in total.

( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) ( ͡o ͜ʖ ͡o) [$ ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) $] ( ͡$ ͜ʖ ͡$) ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ



My image and media server is back online and is functioning as normal.
 

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
 
Posts: 2887
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

Re: [Game] Big Freaking Dig [0.4]

by Inocudom » Fri Nov 14, 2014 17:26

You have various trees and various ores in this sub-game, but you don't have much variety in crops. To this end, have you ever considered using MTDad's farming++ mod somehow? It is a very good farming mod (one of the best, in fact,) but it doesn't get used very much by the community. Below is a link to that mod:
https://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=10187
 

User avatar
Jordach
Member
 
Posts: 4405
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
Location: Blender Scene
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach

Re: [Game] Big Freaking Dig [0.4]

by Jordach » Fri Nov 14, 2014 18:07

Inocudom wrote:You have various trees and various ores in this sub-game, but you don't have much variety in crops. To this end, have you ever considered using MTDad's farming++ mod somehow? It is a very good farming mod (one of the best, in fact,) but it doesn't get used very much by the community. Below is a link to that mod:
https://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=10187

Not a fan of complex farming like that. May eventually add other types of plantable food, ala potatoes and some other seeds that could randomly drop from dirt monsters.

I'm also planning on a complete texture overhaul.

( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) ( ͡o ͜ʖ ͡o) [$ ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) $] ( ͡$ ͜ʖ ͡$) ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ



My image and media server is back online and is functioning as normal.
 

rafaholiveira
New member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2014 12:56
GitHub: RafaelOliveira

Re: [Game] Big Freaking Dig [0.4]

by rafaholiveira » Thu Dec 04, 2014 20:28

I'm receiving this error:
ERROR: Some exception: "Access violation"

I'm using Minetest 0.4.10 and windows 8.1 64bit.


Code: Select all
Irrlicht log: Irrlicht Engine version 1.8.1
Irrlicht log:  (Build 9200)
Irrlicht log: Using renderer: OpenGL 4.4.13084
Irrlicht log: AMD Radeon HD 8600M Series: ATI Technologies Inc.
Irrlicht log: OpenGL driver version is 1.2 or better.
Irrlicht log: GLSL version: 4.4
Irrlicht log: Resizing window (800 600)
[item_drop] loaded 0.1   
In trans_func.
Access violation at 00007FFA7A5E4923 write?=0 address=829762352
In trans_func.
Access violation at 00007FFA7A5E4923 write?=0 address=829762352
In trans_func.
Access violation at 00007FFA7A5E4923 write?=0 address=829762352
18:15:15: ERROR[main]: Some exception: "Access violation"
 

User avatar
Jordach
Member
 
Posts: 4405
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
Location: Blender Scene
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach

Re: [Game] Big Freaking Dig [0.4]

by Jordach » Fri Dec 05, 2014 12:45

rafaholiveira wrote:I'm receiving this error:
ERROR: Some exception: "Access violation"

I'm using Minetest 0.4.10 and windows 8.1 64bit.


Code: Select all
Irrlicht log: Irrlicht Engine version 1.8.1
Irrlicht log:  (Build 9200)
Irrlicht log: Using renderer: OpenGL 4.4.13084
Irrlicht log: AMD Radeon HD 8600M Series: ATI Technologies Inc.
Irrlicht log: OpenGL driver version is 1.2 or better.
Irrlicht log: GLSL version: 4.4
Irrlicht log: Resizing window (800 600)
[item_drop] loaded 0.1   
In trans_func.
Access violation at 00007FFA7A5E4923 write?=0 address=829762352
In trans_func.
Access violation at 00007FFA7A5E4923 write?=0 address=829762352
In trans_func.
Access violation at 00007FFA7A5E4923 write?=0 address=829762352
18:15:15: ERROR[main]: Some exception: "Access violation"

Close Minetest and restart it. This is a bug with the engine itself. (Most likely related to memory corruption seen in Linux builds of the engine.)

You can continue to keep clicking continue and start game, but it ends in an infinite loop.

( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) ( ͡o ͜ʖ ͡o) [$ ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) $] ( ͡$ ͜ʖ ͡$) ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ



My image and media server is back online and is functioning as normal.
 

Predatorian3
New member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 01:14
Location: Misery, USA
GitHub: Predatorian3
In-game: Predatorian3

Re: [Game] Big Freaking Dig [0.4]

by Predatorian3 » Mon Dec 08, 2014 14:34

Close Minetest and restart it.


How many times should I be restarting this? I'm on a Lenovo ThinkPad W540 running 64bit Windows 7.
 

User avatar
Jordach
Member
 
Posts: 4405
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
Location: Blender Scene
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach

Re: [Game] Big Freaking Dig [0.4]

by Jordach » Mon Dec 08, 2014 19:08

Predatorian3 wrote:
Close Minetest and restart it.


How many times should I be restarting this? I'm on a Lenovo ThinkPad W540 running 64bit Windows 7.

Just once. It usually isn't hardware related, as I use W7Ult and it sometimes just does it.

Did I mention the main menu isn't even safe from me fixing it texture wise
Last edited by Jordach on Sat Jul 18, 2015 12:45, edited 1 time in total.

( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) ( ͡o ͜ʖ ͡o) [$ ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) $] ( ͡$ ͜ʖ ͡$) ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ



My image and media server is back online and is functioning as normal.
 

paramat
Developer
 
Posts: 2651
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
Location: UK
GitHub: paramat

Re: [Game] Big Freaking Dig [0.4]

by paramat » Wed Dec 10, 2014 07:11

Important changes to the biome API heat and humidity noises https://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=10621&p=164110#p164110
If you update to latest 0.4.10 dev, or, when you update to 0.4.11 stable, you will need to set the old default noise parameters in minetest.conf for biome continuity in your existing mgv5 or mgv7 worlds.
 

PreviousNext

Return to Subgame Releases

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest