[Game] Adventuretest

User avatar
BrandonReese
Member
 
Posts: 839
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2012 00:44
Location: USA
GitHub: bremaweb
IRC: BrandonReese
In-game: BrandonReese

Re: [Game] Adventuretest [Alpha]

by BrandonReese » Mon Dec 07, 2015 03:49

I don't think I'll integrate pmobs, but I do have plans for guard npcs and stuff like that.

I'm still trying to decide where I'm going exactly. I think I want to make a whole game with some kind of story. I have ideas for more quests, some procedural quests, some procedural competitions (e.g. first one to make a certain number of items and sell them to a certain villager wins), PVP arena.

So I have lots of ideas but not as much time as I would like to spend on it.

You can use the Adventuretest Client be able to assign hot keys to chat commands. So you can assign like the F key to /cast heal or Z to /cast thunder (FYI when setting up the hot keys leave off the / ). The Adventuretest Client also has ambient sounds.

https://github.com/bremaweb/adventuretest-client

Did you play CubeWorld? I thought it looked really interesting and that is where I got a little bit of inspiration even though I haven't played it. Some people are saying it's dead but other people are saying the developer is still working on it.
 

User avatar
TheReaperKing
Member
 
Posts: 529
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 21:36

Re: [Game] Adventuretest [Alpha]

by TheReaperKing » Mon Dec 07, 2015 04:02

I would be happy to bounce ideas around with you and I am actually considering using minetest to make a commercial game I've had in the works. I'm not sure I'd use adventuretest since it has some differences from what I want but I'm certainly finding it very inspiring and fun as heck. If I do use it anything I would certainly want to send some donations your way.

I'll have to check out the client, thanks!!

I have played and do own Cubeworld. He has not updated it since 2013 and I think even then it was only one update ever. A pretty huge waste of $20. He has been updating his twitter a bit recently but still no game updates. It was quite fun but also quite unfinished. People are pretty up and arms about it because he made it available as an alpha that was supposed to get regular updates and 2+ years is not exactly what most people think as regular. Hopefully he comes through some year!

Take care and have a great night!
-Mike
Resources on happiness and life management - http://MikesHappyPlace.com
Project Lead of the Doom 3 Mod Last Man Standing - http://Doom3Coop.com
Project Lead of Platinum Arts Sandbox Free 3D Game Maker - http://SandboxGameMaker.com
Youtube Channel - https://www.youtube.com/user/PlatinumArtsKids
 

turtleman
New member
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2015 19:20
IRC: turtleman_
In-game: Traveler

Re: [Game] Adventuretest [Alpha]

by turtleman » Tue Dec 22, 2015 17:08

Is smelting supposed to be nearly impossible, even at skill level 5? I am getting frustrated because the blacksmiths cannot find the furnace and I am wasting all of my ores. I don't mind that the game is difficult, but after smelting 20 lumps (at level 5) I expect one ingot.

Also wheat is not growing for me, for some reason.

EDIT: Tried again at level 6, finally I got a copper ingot! Yay! :)

EDIT: Wheat needs water to grow, apparently.

However I keep destroying iron ingots so I cannot make a bucket :(

EDIT: Smelting is getting better. And now I am growing lots of wheat.

Unrelated note: bow and arrow is overpowered, for both the player and npcs.
 

twoelk
Member
 
Posts: 1253
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2013 16:19
Location: northern Germany
GitHub: twoelk
IRC: twoelk
In-game: twoelk

Re: [Game] Adventuretest [Alpha]

by twoelk » Mon Dec 28, 2015 01:55

I tried to let a villager smith smelt some iron and got disconnected from the server with this message:

2015-12-28 02:34:34: ERROR[main]: Access denied. Reason: This server has experienced an internal error. You will now be disconnected.

I seem to be in some loop now and get kicked as soon as I connect
 

twoelk
Member
 
Posts: 1253
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2013 16:19
Location: northern Germany
GitHub: twoelk
IRC: twoelk
In-game: twoelk

Re: [Game] Adventuretest [Alpha]

by twoelk » Mon Dec 28, 2015 09:54

ok some time later I spawned 0,0,0 - uhm not helpfull as I didn't have a pick :-(
but after two or three tries I spawned in a village . :-D
I did not dare to visit that certain smith again so I don't know what became of my lump of iron
 

User avatar
BrandonReese
Member
 
Posts: 839
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2012 00:44
Location: USA
GitHub: bremaweb
IRC: BrandonReese
In-game: BrandonReese

Re: [Game] Adventuretest [Alpha]

by BrandonReese » Mon Dec 28, 2015 16:31

That crashing bug should be fixed. It looks like it had to do with a player putting something in the furnace and going offline.
 

twoelk
Member
 
Posts: 1253
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2013 16:19
Location: northern Germany
GitHub: twoelk
IRC: twoelk
In-game: twoelk

Re: [Game] Adventuretest [Alpha]

by twoelk » Sun Jan 03, 2016 23:25

uhm, it seems difficult to craft a "small bundle of sticks" without getting "Wooden Planks", so a "Fancy Fire" seems impossible.
 

Sokomine
Member
 
Posts: 3616
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine

Re: [Game] Adventuretest [Alpha]

by Sokomine » Sat Jan 23, 2016 04:27

BrandonReese wrote:The goblins spawning on land is from an above ground dungeon (like in a mountain) being destroyed by the villages mapgen. I think the mapgen goes in this order. mgv7 (the base terrain mapgen), villages mapgen, mapgen to populate dungeons. Dungeon is created, dungeon is destroyed, the mapgen to populate the dungeon doesn't know it's been destroyed so it goes nuts spawning goblins, then they fall to the ground. There is a bug where the chest in a dungeon might be empty so that's part of what you are seeing. If the dungeon is above ground I may just need to check to see if it's an area with a village and not populate it if it is.

That sounds about right. The villages mapgen part takes the generated map and modifies it so that the village can be placed. Perhaps these goblins just wanted to have a village of their own :-)

turtleman wrote:Is smelting supposed to be nearly impossible, even at skill level 5? I am getting frustrated because the blacksmiths cannot find the furnace and I am wasting all of my ores. I don't mind that the game is difficult, but after smelting 20 lumps (at level 5) I expect one ingot.

You really need a blacksmith to do that for you. They sometimes have trouble locating a furnace even if one is very close to them. I've bought a plot in a village on the last map that was up, placed a furnace in front of a nearby blacksmith (on the same hight level) and thus was able to make him smelt my ores.
A list of my mods can be found here.
 

User avatar
BrandonReese
Member
 
Posts: 839
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2012 00:44
Location: USA
GitHub: bremaweb
IRC: BrandonReese
In-game: BrandonReese

Re: [Game] Adventuretest [Alpha]

by BrandonReese » Wed Feb 03, 2016 16:43

I am taking down the test server for now. I've been too busy with work to develop on the game right now and I'm cutting some expenses by taking the server down. If anybody wants a copy of the map let me know and I'll put up a link to download it.
 

twoelk
Member
 
Posts: 1253
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2013 16:19
Location: northern Germany
GitHub: twoelk
IRC: twoelk
In-game: twoelk
 

Sokomine
Member
 
Posts: 3616
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine

Re: [Game] Adventuretest [Alpha]

by Sokomine » Sat Mar 12, 2016 21:42

BrandonReese wrote:I am taking down the test server for now. I've been too busy with work to develop on the game right now and I'm cutting some expenses by taking the server down. If anybody wants a copy of the map let me know and I'll put up a link to download it.

That's a pity, but also understandable. Maybe someone else can host an AdventureTest server? After all it's a great (sub)game of MT that adds lots of things players seeking adventures frequently ask for.
A list of my mods can be found here.
 

User avatar
BrandonReese
Member
 
Posts: 839
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2012 00:44
Location: USA
GitHub: bremaweb
IRC: BrandonReese
In-game: BrandonReese

Re: [Game] Adventuretest [Alpha]

by BrandonReese » Mon Mar 14, 2016 16:53

I do wish I had more time to commit to developing this (sub)game. I have a pretty big vision for it but that takes time. I'm currently developing 4 or 5 new websites for clients, always developing and supporting my web based programs (this takes a lot of time), and working on a new endeavor for my business (this has been put in place of the time I used to use to develop and play Adventuretest). Plus working with a few friends on a blog and podcast. Maybe when this new endeavor is up and running I'll be able to get back to developing Adventuretest. So it is not forgotten but as is my pattern it has been put on the back burner for a while.
 

User avatar
BrandonReese
Member
 
Posts: 839
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2012 00:44
Location: USA
GitHub: bremaweb
IRC: BrandonReese
In-game: BrandonReese

Re: [Game] Adventuretest [Alpha]

by BrandonReese » Mon Mar 14, 2016 16:57

I might post a document with some of my more thought out ideas so people can contribute if they want, that way it isn't completely stagnant.
 

User avatar
Don
Member
 
Posts: 1642
Joined: Sat May 17, 2014 18:40
GitHub: DonBatman
IRC: Batman
In-game: Batman

Re: [Game] Adventuretest [Alpha]

by Don » Sun Mar 27, 2016 00:42

Post your thoughts. Maybe others could help!
Many of my mods are now a part of Minetest-mods. A place where you know they are maintained!

A list of my mods can be found here
 

User avatar
TheReaperKing
Member
 
Posts: 529
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 21:36

Re: [Game] Adventuretest [Alpha]

by TheReaperKing » Sun Apr 03, 2016 05:19

Is it crashing for anyone else? I get this message:

2016-04-03 01:17:03: ERROR[main]: ServerError: Runtime error from mod 'quests' in callback ScriptApiEnv::environment_Step(): createBlock(): pos. over limit
2016-04-03 01:17:03: ERROR[main]: stack traceback:
2016-04-03 01:17:03: ERROR[main]: [C]: in function 'read_from_map'
2016-04-03 01:17:03: ERROR[main]: ...ting\bin\..\games\adventuretest\mods\quests/treasure.lua:98: in function 'func'
2016-04-03 01:17:03: ERROR[main]: ...p\d\testinggrounds\dtesting\bin\..\builtin\game\misc.lua:18: in function 'update_timers'
2016-04-03 01:17:03: ERROR[main]: ...p\d\testinggrounds\dtesting\bin\..\builtin\game\misc.lua:50: in function <...p\d\testinggrounds\dtesting\bin\..\builtin\game\misc.lua:38>
2016-04-03 01:17:03: ERROR[main]: ...testinggrounds\dtesting\bin\..\builtin\game\register.lua:355: in function <...testinggrounds\dtesting\bin\..\builtin\game\register.lua:335>
2016-04-03 01:17:03: ACTION[main]: Saving player data...
2016-04-03 01:17:03: ACTION[main]: Writing vendor log queue to file
2016-04-03 01:17:03: ACTION[main]: Saving player affects


EDIT - I commented out that line 98 in quests/treasure.lua and it loads. What should the line be? As of now it is:

local e1, e2 = vm:read_from_map(minp, maxp)
Resources on happiness and life management - http://MikesHappyPlace.com
Project Lead of the Doom 3 Mod Last Man Standing - http://Doom3Coop.com
Project Lead of Platinum Arts Sandbox Free 3D Game Maker - http://SandboxGameMaker.com
Youtube Channel - https://www.youtube.com/user/PlatinumArtsKids
 

User avatar
BrandonReese
Member
 
Posts: 839
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2012 00:44
Location: USA
GitHub: bremaweb
IRC: BrandonReese
In-game: BrandonReese

Re: [Game] Adventuretest [Alpha]

by BrandonReese » Mon Jun 20, 2016 19:08

I have been working on Adventuretest some. You can look at the commit log on github to see some of the changes.

https://github.com/Bremaweb/adventurete ... its/master
 

Robsoie
Member
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2016 16:22

Re: [Game] Adventuretest [Alpha]

by Robsoie » Wed Jun 29, 2016 21:50

Hello

I'm completely new to Adventuretest, so sorry if this is known problem.

My first contact seems a bit buggy : my first spawn on a mapgenV7 world is somehow underground, there was some see-through view i dug up but died in the night in my quickly made dirt house in which i was planning to wait for the new day, i guess something shot me through the windows , no idea what.

I respawned then, and again it was underground, but this time i wasn't seeing anything, pure black, i guess an effect from being at night.
Unlike my first spawn, this time i had no torches, so instead of randomly digging, i simply cheated with a K and no clipped myself out of whatever dark place i was, only to see that i was as underground as before.

Anything i did wrong (just mapgen v7 and adventuretest, no additional mod

An additional question
- my first contact was odd as it seems adventuretest use some kind of friction for the character, unlike my usual minetest_game+som mods, it's rather bizarre to me after so much play hours of the normal physics.

In the adventuretest folder i saw the minetest.conf with in it
Code: Select all
#
# Physics stuff
#

movement_acceleration_default = 1.2
movement_acceleration_air = 2.1
movement_acceleration_fast = 2.4
movement_speed_walk = 4.2
movement_speed_crouch = 2.1
movement_speed_fast = 6.8
movement_speed_climb = 2.2
movement_speed_jump = 6.9
movement_speed_descend = 6
movement_liquid_fluidity = 2
movement_liquid_fluidity_smooth = 0.5
movement_liquid_sink = 15
movement_gravity = 9.75

fall_bobbing_amount = 1.0

that i guess is what define those adventuretest specific physics
Would editing them have any impact on possible errors/crashes , and can i simply remove those lines (i don't see them in the minetest_game own minetest.conf) or are they needed (and so i would have to edit them) ?
 

User avatar
BrandonReese
Member
 
Posts: 839
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2012 00:44
Location: USA
GitHub: bremaweb
IRC: BrandonReese
In-game: BrandonReese

Re: [Game] Adventuretest [Alpha]

by BrandonReese » Wed Jun 29, 2016 21:59

You can change the physics parameters in adventuretest/minetest.conf without causing a problem. You can just delete the movement lines, except for maybe movement_speed_fast if you plan on using fast moving for sprinting.

Spawning underground is an Adventuretest issue, I'm not sure if it's a Mapgen V7 issue or adventuretest specific. It's one of the bugs I need to fix but I haven't yet. I'll try to make sure that is the next thing I fix.
 

User avatar
TheReaperKing
Member
 
Posts: 529
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 21:36

Re: [Game] Adventuretest [Alpha]

by TheReaperKing » Thu Jun 30, 2016 02:43

I'm so excited to see that you are still working on this!!! I still really suggest too for improved combat, you getting a weak version of magic missile to start out with and then it levels up as you kill stuff. The combat with the "magic" is a lot smoother than with the swords because of the sometimes choppiness. Just an idea though!!
Resources on happiness and life management - http://MikesHappyPlace.com
Project Lead of the Doom 3 Mod Last Man Standing - http://Doom3Coop.com
Project Lead of Platinum Arts Sandbox Free 3D Game Maker - http://SandboxGameMaker.com
Youtube Channel - https://www.youtube.com/user/PlatinumArtsKids
 

Robsoie
Member
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2016 16:22

Re: [Game] Adventuretest [Alpha]

by Robsoie » Fri Jul 01, 2016 13:59

BrandonReese wrote:You can change the physics parameters in adventuretest/minetest.conf without causing a problem. You can just delete the movement lines, except for maybe movement_speed_fast if you plan on using fast moving for sprinting.

Spawning underground is an Adventuretest issue, I'm not sure if it's a Mapgen V7 issue or adventuretest specific. It's one of the bugs I need to fix but I haven't yet. I'll try to make sure that is the next thing I fix.


Thanks

Forgot to ask about the mapgen, i used v7 mostly because some other games were mentionning their game better played with v7

But i'm not opposed at all to other mapgen as you can obtain different world arrangement with them, so is there a mapgen that adventuretest is better played with ?
 

User avatar
TheReaperKing
Member
 
Posts: 529
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 21:36

Re: [Game] Adventuretest

by TheReaperKing » Sat Aug 27, 2016 20:29

What do I need to do to add new monsters to your experience system? I would like to combine adventuretest and this mod:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=15410

Thank you for your time!
-Mike
Resources on happiness and life management - http://MikesHappyPlace.com
Project Lead of the Doom 3 Mod Last Man Standing - http://Doom3Coop.com
Project Lead of Platinum Arts Sandbox Free 3D Game Maker - http://SandboxGameMaker.com
Youtube Channel - https://www.youtube.com/user/PlatinumArtsKids
 

User avatar
BrandonReese
Member
 
Posts: 839
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2012 00:44
Location: USA
GitHub: bremaweb
IRC: BrandonReese
In-game: BrandonReese

Re: [Game] Adventuretest

by BrandonReese » Sun Aug 28, 2016 19:25

TheReaperKing wrote:What do I need to do to add new monsters to your experience system? I would like to combine adventuretest and this mod:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=15410

Thank you for your time!
-Mike


You would need to edit the other mob code. The mob would need a exp_min and exp_max set. Then in the on_punch function for the entity you would need to add something like this bit of code for it to drop experience when it dies.

Code: Select all
if self.object:get_hp() <= 0 then
if minetest.get_modpath("skills") and minetest.get_modpath("experience") then
                  -- DROP experience
                  local distance_rating = ( ( get_distance(game_origin,pos) ) / ( skills.get_player_level(hitter:get_player_name()).level * 1000 ) )
                  local emax = math.floor( self.exp_min + ( distance_rating * self.exp_max ) )
                  local expGained = math.random(self.exp_min, emax)
                  skills.add_exp(hitter:get_player_name(),expGained)
                  local expStack = experience.exp_to_items(expGained)
                  for _,stack in pairs(expStack) do
                     default.drop_item(pos,stack)
                  end
               end
end


Or you can see how mobs are registered using Adventuretest's mob api and register the new mobs that way. The spider is a decent basic example. https://github.com/Bremaweb/adventurete ... spider.lua
 

User avatar
TheReaperKing
Member
 
Posts: 529
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 21:36

Re: [Game] Adventuretest

by TheReaperKing » Sun Aug 28, 2016 19:26

Thank you so much!
Resources on happiness and life management - http://MikesHappyPlace.com
Project Lead of the Doom 3 Mod Last Man Standing - http://Doom3Coop.com
Project Lead of Platinum Arts Sandbox Free 3D Game Maker - http://SandboxGameMaker.com
Youtube Channel - https://www.youtube.com/user/PlatinumArtsKids
 

User avatar
TheReaperKing
Member
 
Posts: 529
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 21:36

Re: [Game] Adventuretest

by TheReaperKing » Mon Mar 20, 2017 20:40

I went back to try some adventuretest and this error scrolls down the screen a lot:
Code: Select all
ERROR[Server]: Better HUD[error]: Given HUD element "armor" does not exist h����


When I used magic missile I don't think it was using mana like before.

Thanks again for this fun mod!
-Mike
Resources on happiness and life management - http://MikesHappyPlace.com
Project Lead of the Doom 3 Mod Last Man Standing - http://Doom3Coop.com
Project Lead of Platinum Arts Sandbox Free 3D Game Maker - http://SandboxGameMaker.com
Youtube Channel - https://www.youtube.com/user/PlatinumArtsKids
 

Sokomine
Member
 
Posts: 3616
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine

Re: [Game] Adventuretest

by Sokomine » Thu Apr 06, 2017 04:38

The most recent version of AdventureTest is developped on BrandonReeses server "TerraQuest". It is worth a visit and far more current than the version on Github.
A list of my mods can be found here.
 

PreviousNext

Return to Game Releases



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests