Minetest 0.4.13

User avatar
BlockMen
Developer
 
Posts: 768
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 17:24
Location: Germany
GitHub: BlockMen

Minetest 0.4.13

by BlockMen » Thu Aug 20, 2015 19:20

Minetest 0.4.13 is out!

Changelog: http://dev.minetest.net/Changelog#0.4.12_.E2.86.92_0.4.13
Source code: https://github.com/minetest/minetest/tree/0.4.13

Download:

MSVC builds: (recommended)
MinGW builds:

Note: Android builds are going to be released Soon™ aswell.
Last edited by BlockMen on Fri Aug 21, 2015 11:37, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
 
Posts: 4877
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
Location: United Kingdom
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy

Re: Minetest 0.4.13

by rubenwardy » Thu Aug 20, 2015 19:59

I only did the changelog for the Minetest engine, the Minetest game is not included in the changelog yet. Just as a note.

As a summary:
Snow biomes with pine trees
Arcadia trees
Mushrooms and spores
Fire improvements
 

User avatar
benrob0329
Member
 
Posts: 1221
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 22:39
GitHub: Benrob0329
In-game: benrob03

Re: Minetest 0.4.13

by benrob0329 » Thu Aug 20, 2015 20:16

I though that there were TNT improvements too...it doesnt seem to spread as easily as it did before....

I noticed that Tree, Grass, Dirt, and Snow all have bumpmaps now! :-P

There is a brighter grass texture now to. Dry Grass, Beds, and Meselamps have all been aded to default.

Ores have new and updated textures, as well as Jungle Trees.

Oh, and its now Minetest, not minetest_game.

...and who could forget the new Minimap and Cinimatic mode!

This is awesome, thanks to all the MT devs!
 

DoyleChris
Member
 
Posts: 181
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2015 19:54
In-game: DoyleChris

Re: Minetest 0.4.13

by DoyleChris » Thu Aug 20, 2015 20:24

I am playing a game on 0.4.12 and was wondering how i can bring it to 0.4.13 to play.
 

User avatar
Lizzy
Member
 
Posts: 125
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2014 08:36
Location: Montréal

Re: Minetest 0.4.13

by Lizzy » Fri Aug 21, 2015 02:19

I'm back on Minetest. Minetest is better than Minecraft. Minecraft had never crashed before on Windows 10 while Minetest works perfectly. Minecraft became a crap.

But not now for a private server and I prefer to wait a little more for this. I want to try this version in solo but in multiplayer not for the moment.

Minetest can now beat Minecraft with this big update. ^^
 

User avatar
Gael de Sailly
Member
 
Posts: 505
Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2014 17:01
Location: Lyon, France
GitHub: Gael-de-Sailly
IRC: Gael-de-Sailly
In-game: Gael-de-Sailly

Re: Minetest 0.4.13

by Gael de Sailly » Fri Aug 21, 2015 12:56

Many important changes have been made on minetest_game between 0.4.12 and 0.4.13. They don't appear in the Changelog.
I'm back. (July 9th 2017)
 

User avatar
AccidentallyRhine
Member
 
Posts: 181
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2015 05:43

Re: Minetest 0.4.13

by AccidentallyRhine » Fri Aug 21, 2015 15:10

Ah, thanks for this list. I saw only the Minetest.net changelog and was led to believe we focused on bug fixes this time around. I'm glad to see the core subgame get a proper name.
 

User avatar
Silwncer
Member
 
Posts: 89
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2015 14:45

Re: Minetest 0.4.13

by Silwncer » Fri Aug 21, 2015 19:30

How about torches and weather ? How can i import my world in 0.4.13 ?
 

User avatar
benrob0329
Member
 
Posts: 1221
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 22:39
GitHub: Benrob0329
In-game: benrob03

Re: Minetest 0.4.13

by benrob0329 » Fri Aug 21, 2015 20:04

If your on Windows, you can just copy your world folder into the new MT worlds folder, same with mods.
 

User avatar
Silwncer
Member
 
Posts: 89
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2015 14:45

Re: Minetest 0.4.13

by Silwncer » Fri Aug 21, 2015 20:13

Ok,thanks :) Is there any stable weather mod ?
 

User avatar
benrob0329
Member
 
Posts: 1221
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 22:39
GitHub: Benrob0329
In-game: benrob03

Re: Minetest 0.4.13

by benrob0329 » Fri Aug 21, 2015 20:19

I don't use one myself, the snow mod worked pretty good before snow bioms were in default.
 

User avatar
Silwncer
Member
 
Posts: 89
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2015 14:45

Re: Minetest 0.4.13

by Silwncer » Fri Aug 21, 2015 20:22

I would like to see weather by default built-in game.
 

User avatar
benrob0329
Member
 
Posts: 1221
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 22:39
GitHub: Benrob0329
In-game: benrob03

Re: Minetest 0.4.13

by benrob0329 » Fri Aug 21, 2015 20:25

Having weather would be nice, probably as part of the Lua API and mapgen, so as not to slow things down to much.
 

User avatar
Silwncer
Member
 
Posts: 89
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2015 14:45
 

Thermal_Shock
Member
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2013 09:10

Re: Minetest 0.4.13

by Thermal_Shock » Sat Aug 22, 2015 11:11

Gael de Sailly wrote:Many important changes have been made on minetest_game between 0.4.12 and 0.4.13. They don't appear in the Changelog.

Yeah the new biomes really do look great. I notice some good texture changes as well. As much as I love to see what changes and improvements the engine gets. It's nice to see the basic game get a little love.
 

User avatar
Wuzzy
Member
 
Posts: 2841
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 15:01
GitHub: Wuzzy2
IRC: Wuzzy
In-game: Wuzzy

Re: Minetest 0.4.13

by Wuzzy » Mon Aug 24, 2015 14:20

Oh, and its now Minetest, not minetest_game.

I thought we have agreed to rename it to “Minetest Game”, but sadly, nothing has been done to actually rename the subgame. :-(

Since the changelog has not shown the changes for Minetest Game, I post a few of its updates here.
Check out the wiki, I have updated most of the block pages for 0.4.13, but not everything's perfect. A lot of images are still missing, however, because I have no idea how to create those block images for the wiki.

New blocks:

Also, a lot of blocks which were previously unused / not generated are now generated by default (i.e. snow).
 

User avatar
Kpenguin
Member
 
Posts: 212
Joined: Fri Jul 24, 2015 16:19
Location: Ashland, Ohio USA
IRC: Kpenguin
In-game: Kpenguin

Re: Minetest 0.4.13

by Kpenguin » Mon Aug 24, 2015 18:26

Lizzy wrote:I'm back on Minetest. Minetest is better than Minecraft. Minecraft had never crashed before on Windows 10 while Minetest works perfectly. Minecraft became a crap.

But not now for a private server and I prefer to wait a little more for this. I want to try this version in solo but in multiplayer not for the moment.

Minetest can now beat Minecraft with this big update. ^^

I wouldn't go that far, but it does make minetest an even better alternative! :D
supertuxkart.net

"Profanity is one language all computer users know" - Murphy's 50th Law of Computers
Players will always find the hidden flaw in your master plan; If there's no hidden flaw, it's against the rules; If it isn't against the rules, one player will convince the others it is. - Murphy's 2nd Law of Gaming

All things are possible except skiing through a revolving door.
 

paramat
Developer
 
Posts: 3005
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
Location: UK
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat

Re: Minetest 0.4.13

by paramat » Mon Aug 24, 2015 18:39

River water is for future mapgens, and can be used by mods. It is non-renewable to hold it's shape on river slopes.
 

User avatar
Wuzzy
Member
 
Posts: 2841
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 15:01
GitHub: Wuzzy2
IRC: Wuzzy
In-game: Wuzzy

Re: Minetest 0.4.13

by Wuzzy » Mon Aug 24, 2015 19:13

I have now also added the new biomes into the wiki:
http://wiki.minetest.net/Biomes#Biome_types

New biomes are coniferous forests, snowy lands, glaciers and savannahs.
 

User avatar
benrob0329
Member
 
Posts: 1221
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 22:39
GitHub: Benrob0329
In-game: benrob03

Re: Minetest 0.4.13

by benrob0329 » Mon Aug 24, 2015 19:25

I didn't know some of those exsisted! Minetest has come a long way...
 

paramat
Developer
 
Posts: 3005
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
Location: UK
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat

Re: Minetest 0.4.13

by paramat » Mon Aug 24, 2015 23:40

Biomes 0.4.13


Mgv6

Mgv6 now has snow biomes (taiga and tundra) enabled by default when you start a new world. Jungles are larger, and biomes are moved around to their correct locations determined by mgv6 'biome' (heat) and 'humidity' noises. The classic biome system locates biomes in a way that does not make complete sense if 'biome' noise is considered to be heat.

To disable this new 5-biome system and use the classic biome system add ..
Code: Select all
mgv6_spflags = nosnowbiomes

.. to minetest.conf when you start a new world.
Existing worlds that use the classic biome system will continue to use it because the 'mg_flags' for the world does not contain the 'snowbiomes' flag.

The new 5-biome system first uses 'biome' (heat) noise to divide the world into cold, temperate and hot areas.
Then, 'humidity' noise divides hot areas into desert and jungle, and divides cold areas into tundra (dry) and taiga.

Arranged vertically from cold to hot, and horizontally from dry to wet:

Desert ... Jungle
'Normal' (randomly divided into grassland and deciduous forest)
Tundra ... Taiga


Mgv5
Mgv7
Fractal (future mapgen)

For 0.4.13 a full biome system has been added using the biome API. The biome system is independant of the base terrain mapgen chosen and will be usable with future mapgens also, it cannot be used with mgv6 which has it's own hardcoded biome systems.
'Heat' and 'humidity' noises are used to locate 10 biomes, a new biome blend method is used that has it's own noises ('heat blend' and 'humidity blend') so can be customised or disabled by editing the noise parameters.

Arranged vertically from cold to hot, and horizontally from dry to wet:

Desert ... Savanna ... Rainforest
Sandstone grassland .. Deciduous forest
Stone grassland ... Coniferous forest
Tundra ... Taiga
Glacier

Sandstone and desert stone contain no ores and extend down to y = -112, below this there is the 'underground' biome which uses 'default:stone' throughout the world.
 

User avatar
benrob0329
Member
 
Posts: 1221
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 22:39
GitHub: Benrob0329
In-game: benrob03

Re: Minetest 0.4.13

by benrob0329 » Tue Aug 25, 2015 03:44

Sadly the new bioms are only in mapgen v7...

So most servers and worlds can't see them. ;-(
 

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
 
Posts: 2094
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: Minetest 0.4.13

by TenPlus1 » Tue Aug 25, 2015 06:29

0.4.13 is random crashing a lot more than usual which is interfering with server play as inventory items and chest items are disappearing after crash, no specific error messages apart from segfaults... Any ideas devs ?

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=9172&p=188323#p188323
 

User avatar
Linuxdirk
Member
 
Posts: 1083
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 11:21
Location: Germany
GitHub: 4w
In-game: Linuxdirk

Re: Minetest 0.4.13

by Linuxdirk » Tue Aug 25, 2015 21:21

I couldn't try it yet but I saw something about UTF-8 support in the changelog

Does that mean that we can finally type umlauts and other special characters in the chat and will we have an actually working (gettext based) translation feature for all strings (core and mods) in the foreseeable future?
 

est31
Developer
 
Posts: 173
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2014 01:49

Re: Minetest 0.4.13

by est31 » Wed Aug 26, 2015 02:29

@Linuxdirk: There has been a bug on linux where you couldn't enter umlauts etc. into the "t" console, or other text input fields (except the f10 console). This bug, which is an irrlicht pre-1.9 bug, has been fixed in minetest 0.4.13, by using a patched version of the text entry on irrlicht < 1.9. Its already fixed by irrlicht 1.9, so there we use the normal text entry again. Very unfortunate that irrlicht devs don't like to release very often.

There were also some UTF-8 changes, yes, but most of them should be "hidden".

The modding community has already provided translation functionality for mods (take a look at intllib). Nothing has changed however regarding the feature to translate to different languages the same time, e.g. allow clients with different languages to play on the same server.

One translation aspect has changed for the core, we now have a weblate (again) to make translating easier for non-technical users.
 

Next

Return to News



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: hoodedice and 1 guest