Minetest 0.4.16

nrz
Developer
 
Posts: 112
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 17:16
Location: France
GitHub: nerzhul
IRC: nrzkt
In-game: nrz

Re: Minetest 0.4.16

by nrz » Tue Jun 06, 2017 06:28

PEAK wrote:Just updated to 0.4.16.
On the whole everything performs better!

But I get following errors:

debug.txt:
Code: Select all
2017-06-05 16:15:10: WARNING[Main]: /!\ You are using old player file backend. This backend is deprecated and will be removed in next release /!\
2017-06-05 16:15:10: WARNING[Main]: Switching to SQLite3 or PostgreSQL is advised, please read http://wiki.minetest.net/Database_backends.

I don't understand this. All my world.mt files have the line
Code: Select all
backend = sqlite3



It's not an error but a warning on player files. On this release we introduced SQL backends for player files which will replace files backend in a future release. Look at the wiki page to know how to migrate your player files to sqlite3 or postgresql, it's a migration process
 

User avatar
Linuxdirk
Member
 
Posts: 1629
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 11:21
Location: Germany
In-game: Linuxdirk

Re: Minetest 0.4.16

by Linuxdirk » Tue Jun 06, 2017 07:01

PEAK wrote:On the whole everything performs better!

Unfortunately not for me. Or maybe I'm just unlucky with my world causing the game to load too much data.
 

User avatar
Andrey01
Member
 
Posts: 2156
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 15:18
Location: Russia, Moscow
GitHub: Andrey2470T
In-game: Andrey01

Re: Minetest 0.4.16

by Andrey01 » Tue Jun 06, 2017 08:53

What about to add chairs and tables? They don`t enough much on default.
DL9Eh7xVBw7DXwLAMX1lStE21bSD2XUQ
 

User avatar
PEAK
Member
 
Posts: 137
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 20:32
In-game: PEAK

Re: Minetest 0.4.16

by PEAK » Tue Jun 06, 2017 11:11

nrz wrote:It's not an error but a warning on player files. On this release we introduced SQL backends for player files which will replace files backend in a future release. Look at the wiki page to know how to migrate your player files to sqlite3 or postgresql, it's a migration process


Ok, I understand.

My problem was: I didn't notice that there is now a new line at the very end of the (long) world.mt files:
player_backend = files
so it's not about the Map backend but the Player backend!

Anyway I tried
minetestserver --migrate-players <name of new backend> --world <path to your world directory>
but there's no "minetestserver" installed. Why not?

It is possible to replace
player_backend = files
with
player_backend = sqlite3

but then the player's data are reset. For creative mode it doesn't matter.
I am okay with using the screenshots in all my posts for the website of Minetest (http://minetest.net).
 

User avatar
PEAK
Member
 
Posts: 137
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 20:32
In-game: PEAK

Re: Minetest 0.4.16

by PEAK » Tue Jun 06, 2017 11:17

Linuxdirk wrote:
PEAK wrote:On the whole everything performs better!

Unfortunately not for me. Or maybe I'm just unlucky with my world causing the game to load too much data.


hmm, maybe the start of the program takes some more time than before on my machine...

Don't let the worlds grow too big and don't use too much mods.
(But worlds evolve and need more and more stuff... I know)
I am okay with using the screenshots in all my posts for the website of Minetest (http://minetest.net).
 

User avatar
Nathan.S
Member
 
Posts: 804
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2014 17:47
Location: Bigsby Texas
GitHub: NathanSalapat
IRC: NathanS21
In-game: NathanS21

Re: Minetest 0.4.16

by Nathan.S » Tue Jun 06, 2017 12:20

v-rob wrote:
+ Umm...


Tin stairs and slabs weren't in 0.4.16. I checked compiled a fresh build as soon as the release was made and checked for them. They might be in the dev builds now, but weren't in the release.
I record Minetest videos, Mod reviews, Modding tutorials, and Lets plays.
Check out my website, and brand new Minetest Modding Course
 

User avatar
octacian
Member
 
Posts: 593
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2015 22:18
Location: BC, Canada
GitHub: octacian
IRC: octacian
In-game: octacian

Re: Minetest 0.4.16

by octacian » Tue Jun 06, 2017 17:50

PEAK wrote:Anyway I tried
minetestserver --migrate-players <name of new backend> --world <path to your world directory>
but there's no "minetestserver" installed. Why not?


You don't need minetestserver to run that command, instead just use minetest --server:
minetest --server --migrate-players <name of new backend> --world <path to your world directory>
MicroExpansion, Working Computers, All Projects - Check out my YouTube channel! (octacian)
 

User avatar
muhdnurhidayat
Member
 
Posts: 292
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2016 22:55
Location: Shah Alam, Selangor, Malaysia
GitHub: MuhdNurHidayat
IRC: muhdnurhidayat
In-game: muhdnurhidayat

Re: Minetest 0.4.16

by muhdnurhidayat » Tue Jun 06, 2017 18:57

octacian wrote:
PEAK wrote:Anyway I tried
minetestserver --migrate-players <name of new backend> --world <path to your world directory>
but there's no "minetestserver" installed. Why not?


You don't need minetestserver to run that command, instead just use minetest --server:
minetest --server --migrate-players <name of new backend> --world <path to your world directory>

because you didn't install it?

If it's a server-only binary, they might have minetestserver to run... but if it's cloned from git and compile ourselves (especially using 1-line script version), usually there's no minetestserver, instead run minetest --server ... (unless you follow the steps where it says "create minetestserver.sh" on certain server creation guide)
[ Full signature ] - UTC+8 here, contributing to Minetest Wiki. I'm muhdnurhidayat in IFS (mod), HOMETOWN & others. / Twitter / MT Offtopic ✂️- - - - - -

You just read my profile, right?
Because these few texts of signature only appear on profile page as the texts are cut in signature. xD
 

PinkCat
Member
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri May 19, 2017 11:33

Re: Minetest 0.4.16

by PinkCat » Tue Jun 06, 2017 19:49

I love it so much!!!!!!! :D

Also, my friend says this:

Why did you remove Nyan cats? also if possible could you re-add Nyan cats and peanut butter and jelly pup to default game for 0.4.17? i have some good ideas if you would like to hear them
 

User avatar
PEAK
Member
 
Posts: 137
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 20:32
In-game: PEAK

Re: Minetest 0.4.16

by PEAK » Tue Jun 06, 2017 21:03

octacian wrote:You don't need minetestserver to run that command, instead just use minetest --server:
minetest --server --migrate-players <name of new backend> --world <path to your world directory>


Ok, that worked. Thank you!

Worth to mention: I had to add
Code: Select all
player_backend = files

to world.mt manually.

And <path to your world directory> must be quoted if it contains blanks.
I am okay with using the screenshots in all my posts for the website of Minetest (http://minetest.net).
 

User avatar
PEAK
Member
 
Posts: 137
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 20:32
In-game: PEAK

Re: Minetest 0.4.16

by PEAK » Tue Jun 06, 2017 21:05

muhdnurhidayat wrote:
octacian wrote:
PEAK wrote:Anyway I tried
minetestserver --migrate-players <name of new backend> --world <path to your world directory>
but there's no "minetestserver" installed. Why not?


You don't need minetestserver to run that command, instead just use minetest --server:
minetest --server --migrate-players <name of new backend> --world <path to your world directory>

because you didn't install it?

If it's a server-only binary, they might have minetestserver to run... but if it's cloned from git and compile ourselves (especially using 1-line script version), usually there's no minetestserver, instead run minetest --server ... (unless you follow the steps where it says "create minetestserver.sh" on certain server creation guide)


Such informations should be better documented.
I am okay with using the screenshots in all my posts for the website of Minetest (http://minetest.net).
 

red-001
Member
 
Posts: 205
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 20:15
GitHub: red-001
IRC: red-001

Re: Minetest 0.4.16

by red-001 » Tue Jun 06, 2017 21:45

PinkCat wrote:I love it so much!!!!!!! :D

Also, my friend says this:

Why did you remove Nyan cats? also if possible could you re-add Nyan cats and peanut butter and jelly pup to default game for 0.4.17? i have some good ideas if you would like to hear them

Trademark issues.
 

User avatar
XtremeHacker
Member
 
Posts: 174
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2016 04:15
Location: X -0, Y -0, Z -0
GitHub: MisterXtreme
IRC: MrXtreme
In-game: MrXtreme

Re: Minetest 0.4.16

by XtremeHacker » Tue Jun 06, 2017 23:16

red-001 wrote:
PinkCat wrote:I love it so much!!!!!!! :D

Also, my friend says this:

Why did you remove Nyan cats? also if possible could you re-add Nyan cats and peanut butter and jelly pup to default game for 0.4.17? i have some good ideas if you would like to hear them

Trademark issues.

Potential trademark issues is why Nyan got booted, and PB & J just wasn't really a good replacement, too much like LEGO vs cheap chinese clones, and PB J was the knockoff (IMHO).
If you say that
Code: Select all
function.name_of_thing_to_do
is impossible, then you didn't try hard enough. :P

Mods I work on: MicroExpansion
 

zing269
Member
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2016 19:10

Re: Minetest 0.4.16

by zing269 » Tue Jun 06, 2017 23:28

nrz wrote:It's not an error but a warning on player files. On this release we introduced SQL backends for player files which will replace files backend in a future release. Look at the wiki page to know how to migrate your player files to sqlite3 or postgresql, it's a migration process


Why doesn't it create the player data in a sqlite3 db by default? I started clean, just unzipped the file into a new folder and didn't copy anything from any of my old installations, yet it creates player files rather than using the include sqlite3.
 

User avatar
v-rob
Member
 
Posts: 559
Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2016 03:19
Location: Right behind you.
GitHub: v-rob

Re: Minetest 0.4.16

by v-rob » Wed Jun 07, 2017 00:13

Nathan.S wrote:
v-rob wrote:
+ Umm...


Tin stairs and slabs weren't in 0.4.16. I checked compiled a fresh build as soon as the release was made and checked for them. They might be in the dev builds now, but weren't in the release.


That's what I meant.
 

User avatar
Punk
Member
 
Posts: 149
Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2016 06:52

Re: Minetest 0.4.16

by Punk » Wed Jun 07, 2017 02:50

ClaudiusMinimus wrote:Please tell us how to enable sneak ladders. See: viewtopic.php?f=18&t=17397


Thank you!
DON'T STEAL! The government hates competition.
 

User avatar
ratmix
Member
 
Posts: 101
Joined: Mon May 01, 2017 19:45
In-game: ratmix

Re: Minetest 0.4.16

by ratmix » Wed Jun 07, 2017 19:52

Ruggero wrote:Since the update I've got lower FPS (60 --> 40) and the whole game is more laggy.Here is my hardware:
Code: Select all
System:    Host: terminal Kernel: 4.4.0-78-generic x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 5.4.0)
           Desktop: Xfce 4.12.3 (Gtk 2.24.28) Distro: Linux Mint 18.1 Serena
Machine:   System: HP product: HP Notebook v: Type1ProductConfigId
           Mobo: HP model: 81F6 v: 66.30 Bios: Insyde v: F.17 date: 09/02/2016
CPU:       Quad core AMD A8-7410 APU with AMD Radeon R5 Graphics (-MCP-) cache: 8192 KB
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 sse4a ssse3 svm) bmips: 17566
           clock speeds: max: 2200 MHz 1: 1000 MHz 2: 1300 MHz 3: 2000 MHz
           4: 1300 MHz
Graphics:  Card-1: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Mullins [Radeon R4/R5 Graphics]
           bus-ID: 00:01.0
           Card-2: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Sun XT [Radeon HD 8670A/8670M/8690M / R5 M330]
           bus-ID: 01:00.0
           Display Server: X.Org 1.18.4 drivers: ati,radeon (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
           Resolution: 1366x768@60.00hz
           GLX Renderer: Gallium 0.4 on AMD MULLINS (DRM 2.43.0 / 4.4.0-78-generic, LLVM 3.8.0)
           GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 12.0.6 Direct Rendering: Yes
Audio:     Card-1 Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] FCH Azalia Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:14.2
           Card-2 Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Kabini HDMI/DP Audio
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:01.1
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.4.0-78-generic
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 46.2C mobo: 20.0C gpu: 46.0,N/A
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 194 Uptime: 3:01 Memory: 994.5/6920.9MB
           Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 5.4.0
           Client: Shell (bash 4.3.481) inxi: 2.2.35
Thanks

This thread probably isn't meant to be an issue tracker. You and others should post issues at Github or this stuff will get lost in all the chatter.
Mintest server ratmix.com:30000
Ratmix Chat
 

User avatar
Wuzzy
Member
 
Posts: 3232
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 15:01
GitHub: Wuzzy2
IRC: Wuzzy
In-game: Wuzzy

Re: Minetest 0.4.16

by Wuzzy » Wed Jun 07, 2017 20:12

v-rob wrote:YOU FORGOT TIN STAIRS!!!!

I have added them in my mod, Minetest Game Plus.

Your comment alone is the reason why I just made an update. :D
My creations. I gladly take any bitcoins you have lying around: 17fsUywHxeMHKG41UFfu34F1rAxZcrVoqH
 

User avatar
ForgiveAndromedalol
Member
 
Posts: 225
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2017 12:34
GitHub: ForgiveAndromedalol
IRC: Andromeda
In-game: Yam

Re: Minetest 0.4.16

by ForgiveAndromedalol » Wed Jun 07, 2017 23:54

I'm having trouble with my inventory plus plus... :(. It doesn't fit so well. I'll keep using 0.4.15 until I can fix the issue.
My MODS: Water Colors - viewtopic.php?f=9&t=18241
BTW BLOCKS - viewtopic.php?f=9&t=17654
 

User avatar
Wuzzy
Member
 
Posts: 3232
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 15:01
GitHub: Wuzzy2
IRC: Wuzzy
In-game: Wuzzy

Re: Minetest 0.4.16

by Wuzzy » Thu Jun 08, 2017 00:07

@ForgiveAndromedalol: Inventory Plus Plus is a very, very old mod and it can be considered legacy with the introduction of sfinv into Minetest Game. Try to get rid of it. Sfinv is the next generation of the Minetest Game inventory menu, it is the mod which makes the tabbed inventory menu possible and is much better than Inventory Plus Plus.

The “buttons” feature can emulated by the sfinv_buttons mod.

Just convince the modders of your favourite mods to adopt sfinv and/or sfinv_buttons.
By the way, what mods do you need for Inventory Plus Plus support?
My creations. I gladly take any bitcoins you have lying around: 17fsUywHxeMHKG41UFfu34F1rAxZcrVoqH
 

User avatar
ForgiveAndromedalol
Member
 
Posts: 225
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2017 12:34
GitHub: ForgiveAndromedalol
IRC: Andromeda
In-game: Yam

Re: Minetest 0.4.16

by ForgiveAndromedalol » Thu Jun 08, 2017 00:54

Wuzzy wrote:@ForgiveAndromedalol: Inventory Plus Plus is a very, very old mod and it can be considered legacy with the introduction of sfinv into Minetest Game. Try to get rid of it. Sfinv is the next generation of the Minetest Game inventory menu, it is the mod which makes the tabbed inventory menu possible and is much better than Inventory Plus Plus.

The “buttons” feature can emulated by the sfinv_buttons mod.

Just convince the modders of your favourite mods to adopt sfinv and/or sfinv_buttons.
By the way, what mods do you need for Inventory Plus Plus support?

Oh really. Good news n_n. I'll recover sfinv and remove inv ++, let me see how it goes. Thanks wuzzy n_n <3.
My MODS: Water Colors - viewtopic.php?f=9&t=18241
BTW BLOCKS - viewtopic.php?f=9&t=17654
 

User avatar
Linuxdirk
Member
 
Posts: 1629
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 11:21
Location: Germany
In-game: Linuxdirk

Re: Minetest 0.4.16

by Linuxdirk » Thu Jun 08, 2017 13:46

Wuzzy wrote:Sfinv is the next generation of the Minetest Game inventory menu, it is the mod which makes the tabbed inventory menu possible and is much better than Inventory Plus Plus.

Is it already capable to properly adapt to fomspecs of different sizes?
 

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
 
Posts: 5499
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
Location: United Kingdom
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy

Re: Minetest 0.4.16

by rubenwardy » Thu Jun 08, 2017 15:00

Linuxdirk wrote:
Wuzzy wrote:Sfinv is the next generation of the Minetest Game inventory menu, it is the mod which makes the tabbed inventory menu possible and is much better than Inventory Plus Plus.

Is it already capable to properly adapt to fomspecs of different sizes?


Yes, use the size parameter of make_formspec
 

nrz
Developer
 
Posts: 112
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 17:16
Location: France
GitHub: nerzhul
IRC: nrzkt
In-game: nrz

Re: Minetest 0.4.16

by nrz » Fri Jun 09, 2017 13:59

zing269 wrote:
nrz wrote:It's not an error but a warning on player files. On this release we introduced SQL backends for player files which will replace files backend in a future release. Look at the wiki page to know how to migrate your player files to sqlite3 or postgresql, it's a migration process


Why doesn't it create the player data in a sqlite3 db by default? I started clean, just unzipped the file into a new folder and didn't copy anything from any of my old installations, yet it creates player files rather than using the include sqlite3.

We discussed about making it by default for new worlds but we decided to make it as a warning in this release and report the default for next release
 

tverrbjelke
New member
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2017 16:05
GitHub: tverrbjelke
IRC: tverrbjelke
In-game: SirBrick

Migrate from 14 to 16 - fails to import existing world.

by tverrbjelke » Fri Jun 09, 2017 16:41

Migrate from 14 to 16 - fails to import existing world.

Hei, I succeeded compiling the new version 16 with this simple bash script https://github.com/tverrbjelke/compile_minetest

In my compile script I have not changed my compile flags.
Code: Select all
export BUILD_OPTS="-DRUN_IN_PLACE=TRUE -DCMAKE_BUILD_TYPE=Release -DENABLE_GETTEXT=1 \
  -DENABLE_FREETYPE=1  -DBUILD_CLIENT=1 -DBUILD_SERVER=1 -DENABLE_CURL=1  -DENABLE_GLES=1 \
  -DENABLE_LEVELDB=0 -DENABLE_SPATIAL=1 -DENABLE_LUAJIT=1 -DENABLE_SYSTEM_GMP=1 \
  -DENABLE_REDIS=1 -DENABLE_SOUND=1"


My systems are Ubuntu 12.04 and debian-jessy.

I have then added the recent version of mod dreambuilder https://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=9196
Code: Select all
 git clone https://github.com/VanessaE/dreambuilder_modpack.git ${DEST_BASE}/${MINETEST}/mods/dreambuilder_modpack


Then I just rsynced (copied) my existing mod wardrobe from game version .14 into the .16, and just copied also the existing world and players folder. Starting the new version of minetestserver somehow worked. I could login with my admin player. But some nodes (should be e.g. stones) just are displaying a texture saying "unknown node"!

So I really want to give my players the new version. How shall I migrate the world?

I see https://forum.minetest.net/search.php?keywords=migrate&fid%5B0%5D=11
Re: Minetest 0.4.16
You don't need minetestserver to run that command, instead just use minetest --server: minetest --server --migrate-players <name of new backend> --world <path to your world directory> Ok, that worked. Thank you! Worth to mention: I had to add player_backend = files to world.mt ...

by PEAK
Tue Jun 06, 2017 21:03


But honestly I don't understand what that is about. <name of new backend> - I dont know what a name of a new backend means... (maybe I need a simple example so I know what to fill in <>?)

Same with this:http://wiki.minetest.net/Command_line
Code: Select all
 --migrate <value> - Migrate from current backend to another (only works when using minetestserver or --server)

--migrate-players <value> - Migrate from current player backend to another (only works when using minetestserver or --server)

I dont know what exactly (as string) <current backend> and <value> could/should contain. Is that a version "0.4.14" or "0.4.16"? or is that relating to http://wiki.minetest.net/Database_backends#Map_backend

My compile flags suggest I am using redis as "backend" for the world map. right?
So what have I done wrong?
How can I import the world correctly?

I added some more debug messages, maybe it is also related to dreambuilder mod? please see https://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=9196&p=276207#p276207
I am not sure where to post this exactly...
HELP PLEASE!
 

PreviousNext

Return to News



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests