Minetest 5.0.0

User avatar
Imk
Member
 
Posts: 66
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2018 19:15
Location: Crimea, Russia
In-game: Imk

Re: Minetest 5.0.0

by Imk » Thu Mar 07, 2019 19:30

CannibalCarrot wrote:Is minetest 5.0.0 available for Linux yet?

5.1.0 long time ago :)
Image
version 5.1.0-dev-1c87d57-dirty
 

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
 
Posts: 5753
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
Location: United Kingdom
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy

Re: Minetest 5.0.0

by rubenwardy » Thu Mar 07, 2019 20:17

Imk wrote:
CannibalCarrot wrote:Is minetest 5.0.0 available for Linux yet?

5.1.0 long time ago :)
Image
version 5.1.0-dev-1c87d57-dirty


5.1.0-dev means that it is the dev version that will become 5.1.0
 

User avatar
uwu
Member
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2018 15:01

Re: Minetest 5.0.0 - Client error

by uwu » Thu Mar 07, 2019 23:41

Yay, it's finally here! I'm testing out mods right now for a new 5.0.0 server I'll set up.


Festus1965 wrote:Minetest Client 5.0.0 fresh taken,
starting with Ubuntu 18.04, wine - in terminal
gives after some time this ...

Code: Select all
2019-03-05 15:29:30: ERROR[MeshUpdate]: An unhandled exception occurred: std::bad_alloc
2019-03-05 15:29:30: ERROR[MeshUpdate]: In thread 9:
2019-03-05 15:29:30: ERROR[MeshUpdate]: /home/stefan/mt-build/build/minetest/minetest/src/util/thread.h:da: run: A fatal error occurred: std::bad_alloc
AL lib: (EE) alc_cleanup: 1 device not closed


Image (MTC-5.0.0-win32-stefan)

Image (MTC-win32-5.0.0-5b965e0)

Image (MTC-win32-5.0.0-705b454)


Are you running Minetest with WINE on Linux? Why would you do that when it runs natively?



Linuxdirk wrote:
Lone_Wolf wrote:
CannibalCarrot wrote:Is minetest 5.0.0 available for Linux yet?

Yep. https://www.minetest.net/downloads/
Image

As of time/date of this post for all “stable” versions:

Flatpak: Updated
Debian: Extremely outdated
Ubuntu: Internal server error
Ubuntu PPA: Updated
Fedora: Outdated
openSUSE: Outdated
Mageia Outdated
Arch Linux: Outdated
Gentoo: Outdated

VoidLinux Updated

Overall it’s very sad. Is there anything we as a community can do?


openSUSE Leap (stable) and Tumbleweed (rolling) already have it in the 'games' repo.
 

User avatar
Festus1965
Member
 
Posts: 823
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2016 11:58
Location: Thailand - Chiang Mai (+5-6h to MEZ)
In-game: Thomas Explorer

Re: Minetest 5.0.0 - Client error

by Festus1965 » Thu Mar 07, 2019 23:56

uwu wrote:Yay, it's finally here! I'm testing out mods right now for a new 5.0.0 server I'll set up.

Are you running Minetest with WINE on Linux? Why would you do that when it runs natively?


Good luck, and please check my list of running under 5.0.0 mods and maybe confirm others that I have not running at me or missing at all.

As I am using my main work and game PC also for evaluating mtc and mts, there is also a much changing 5.1.0-dev version running, but I also test other versions, as I only support linux, main ubuntu on friends PCs, not touching windows, but testing this clients a bit. Better some are testing and get issues than nothing reported ?
And of a build in mtc there is just one instance good running under ubuntu, but to open more on one pc same time, I use wine with mtc-wine-clients to compare ...
Server: still up, see some gamer - but there is a new 1st important thread "climate change" for me. Something I know since 1992 - had seen the melting glacier in Switzerland.
 

User avatar
Imk
Member
 
Posts: 66
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2018 19:15
Location: Crimea, Russia
In-game: Imk

Re: Minetest 5.0.0

by Imk » Fri Mar 08, 2019 07:27

uwu wrote:Yay, it's finally here! I'm testing out mods right now for a new 5.0.0 server I'll set up.

Come to us to play, as we said long ago, 5 version viewtopic.php?f=23&t=21055
 

rolandm
Member
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2019 13:08
GitHub: rm369
In-game: roland

Blocks don't add up

by rolandm » Fri Mar 08, 2019 17:10

Installed official Win64 V5.0.0, and manually mods unified-inventory, -plus, and texture hdx-256 (content store does not work since I'm behind a proxy here, http(s)_proxy env set).
Created a carpathian world, started in creative mode, got me a set of diamond tools and some apples and all rights, flew around and went into a cave.

Dug some dirt, gravel, stone, and coal (multiple of each). All showed up only once in the inventory, even after digging some more. They disappear regularly from the world, but neither increase their number in the inventory (which is not shown) nor appear as a rotating block.

I can put them into the crafting grid once or drop them once, after which I have none left (independent of the number I dug). After that I can dig them and get one again, more disappear.

When I have one dirt, gravel, or stone I can place (not drop) them in the world as often as I want, they are not removed from the inventory.

Nothing changed after restarting the game with creative mode unchecked or after /revoke singleplayer give. I still have the creative menu, can get anything, and the behaviour described above is unchanged.

Dis-/enabling the mods and texture changes nothing either.

The only errors in debug.txt:
Code: Select all
2019-03-07 19:44:12: ERROR[AsyncWorker-1]: servers.minetest.net/list?proto_version_min=37&proto_version_max=37 not found (HTTP response code said error) (response code 403)
2019-03-07 19:44:24: ERROR[Main]: https://content.minetest.net/api/packages/?type=mod&type=game&type=txp&protocol_version=37&hide=nonfree&hide=desktop_default not found (SSL connect error) (response code 0)
2019-03-08 13:11:28: ERROR[Main]: Bitte wählen Sie einen Namen!


Any errors known in 5.0.0, or should anything of this be normal?

Edit: After revoking all rights but fly and fast everything works as expected. What right could have caused this, and is it intended?
Last edited by rolandm on Fri Mar 08, 2019 17:29, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
thomasthespacefox
Member
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2015 15:00
GitHub: ThomasTheSpaceFox
IRC: ThomasJaguar1212
In-game: thomasthespacefox

Re: Minetest 5.0.0

by thomasthespacefox » Fri Mar 08, 2019 17:14

I just compiled minetest 5 the other night, and i must say the improvements are quite great.

ive NEVER seen this laptop run minetest so well. with 0.4.16, i rarely saw it come near 30 FPS... usually hovering around 18 to 25 at peak however, with v5, Ive seen this thing approach 60! ._.

I hardly see the FPS counter below 40 with my usual viewing range.

Other than that, i love the new content system. very convenient.
 

TillCoyote
Member
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2019 08:05
Location: Kasachische Republik

Re: Minetest 5.0.0

by TillCoyote » Fri Mar 08, 2019 17:41

Confirmed. I test my server and it gets stable 30.
 

Sires
Member
 
Posts: 186
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2017 21:00
Location: :noitacoL
GitHub: Sires0
IRC: Sires
In-game: Sires Sores Siri Seris or anything ppl call me

Re: Minetest 5.0.0

by Sires » Fri Mar 08, 2019 21:10

thomasthespacefox wrote:60!

Woah :O I have never got 60 factorial, 8320987112741390144276341183223364380754172606361245952449277696409600000000000000 FPS(this was not random typing, it is the exact factorial of 60)

kay I had to do this bad joke bye won't annoy you guys anymore
In the middle of the road was a stone
was a stone in the middle of the road
was stone
in the middle of the road was a stone.

I shall never forget that event
in the life of my so tired eyes.
I shall never forget that in the middle of the road
was a stone
was a stone in the middle of the road
in the middle of the road was a stone.
 

pauloue
New member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2019 00:25
GitHub: pauloue
IRC: pauloue

Re: Blocks don't add up

by pauloue » Sat Mar 09, 2019 01:00

rolandm wrote:Any errors known in 5.0.0, or should anything of this be normal?


I think it's all normal. You don't see a count because you have unlimited items in creative mode. The creative menu did not disappear when you disabled it in the main menu because you had the "creative" privilege.
 

Brackston
New member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2017 18:09
GitHub: Brackstons
IRC: Brackston
In-game: Brackston

Re: Minetest 5.0.0

by Brackston » Sat Mar 09, 2019 01:25

Worldblender wrote:Great! I'm lucky that I haven't written any mods yet. They'll all be made with Minetest 5.0.0 and later in mind, so I don't have to worry about rewriting anything code-related.
All that I have to do now is wait for Linux binaries (specifically DEB and RPM packages), and I'm ready to try what's new.


Why not just compile?
 

TillCoyote
Member
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2019 08:05
Location: Kasachische Republik

Re: Minetest 5.0.0

by TillCoyote » Sat Mar 09, 2019 06:44

Sires wrote:
thomasthespacefox wrote:60!

Woah :O I have never got 60 factorial, 8320987112741390144276341183223364380754172606361245952449277696409600000000000000 FPS(this was not random typing, it is the exact factorial of 60)

kay I had to do this bad joke bye won't annoy you guys anymore

No u just parse wrong
 

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
 
Posts: 3792
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
Location: Germany
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5

Re: Blocks don't add up

by sfan5 » Sat Mar 09, 2019 11:21

rolandm wrote:Dug some dirt, gravel, stone, and coal (multiple of each). All showed up only once in the inventory, even after digging some more. They disappear regularly from the world, but neither increase their number in the inventory (which is not shown) nor appear as a rotating block.

I can put them into the crafting grid once or drop them once, after which I have none left (independent of the number I dug). After that I can dig them and get one again, more disappear.

When I have one dirt, gravel, or stone I can place (not drop) them in the world as often as I want, they are not removed from the inventory.

This is caused by the creative privilege, it will get added when you do /grantme all, make sure to revoke it from yourself.
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)
 

User avatar
Linuxdirk
Member
 
Posts: 2060
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 11:21
Location: Germany
In-game: Linuxdirk

Re: Minetest 5.0.0

by Linuxdirk » Sat Mar 09, 2019 12:04

thomasthespacefox wrote:ive NEVER seen this laptop run minetest so well. with 0.4.16, i rarely saw it come near 30 FPS... usually hovering around 18 to 25 at peak however, with v5, Ive seen this thing approach 60! ._.

Yes,m the performance definitely got better, also the world loads faster around you. I wish it would not unload so quick though.
 

User avatar
Lone_Wolf
Member
 
Posts: 2168
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 05:50
Location: Hopefully very far from yours, snoop :P
GitHub: LoneWolfHT
IRC: Lone_Wolf
In-game: Lone_Wolf

Re: Minetest 5.0.0

by Lone_Wolf » Sat Mar 09, 2019 16:37

Linuxdirk wrote:
thomasthespacefox wrote:ive NEVER seen this laptop run minetest so well. with 0.4.16, i rarely saw it come near 30 FPS... usually hovering around 18 to 25 at peak however, with v5, Ive seen this thing approach 60! ._.

Yes,m the performance definitely got better, also the world loads faster around you. I wish it would not unload so quick though.

There's a setting for that i think
Image
 

User avatar
Linuxdirk
Member
 
Posts: 2060
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 11:21
Location: Germany
In-game: Linuxdirk

Re: Minetest 5.0.0

by Linuxdirk » Sat Mar 09, 2019 22:27

No, i mean, when you look in a direction and then turn around everything gets loaded, and when you turn around again some parts in the direction you initially looked in get loaded again even if they were loaded just a few seconds before.
 

User avatar
Wuzzy
Member
 
Posts: 3432
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 15:01
GitHub: Wuzzy2
IRC: Wuzzy
In-game: Wuzzy

Re: Minetest 5.0.0

by Wuzzy » Sun Mar 10, 2019 02:52

I believe I just noticed a massive memory leak in Minetest 5.0.0 while developing MineClone 2.
If I keep running Minetest for a while and explore the world, it eventually eats up all my ~8 gigs of memory at an alarming rate.
This never happened to me in previous versions.

When I quit the world, only some memory seems to be freed. Sooner or later my memory is full and I have to close Minetest. That problem killed my system multiple times in the last days.

Even if this would be my fault (memory leak in MCL2), I think at least the memory should be freed when I quit to the main menu, right?

Did anyone else notice extreme memory consumption?
My creations. I gladly accept bitcoins: 17fsUywHxeMHKG41UFfu34F1rAxZcrVoqH
 

User avatar
DrFrankenstone
Member
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 05:36
Location: Melbourne, Australia
GitHub: treer

Re: Minetest 5.0.0

by DrFrankenstone » Sun Mar 10, 2019 04:04

I've noticed the lua oom errors get to the point where a game won't load after quiting to the menu because it's oom, and minetest needs to be quit.
 

Punk
Member
 
Posts: 158
Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2016 06:52

Re: Minetest 5.0.0

by Punk » Sun Mar 10, 2019 06:02

Lone_Wolf wrote:
CannibalCarrot wrote:Is minetest 5.0.0 available for Linux yet?

Yep. https://www.minetest.net/downloads/
Image


Linux has Minetest 5.0.0 by Flatpak or Snap too.

Would it be a good idea to have by AppImage too?
 

Termos
Member
 
Posts: 124
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2018 12:50

Re: Minetest 5.0.0

by Termos » Sun Mar 10, 2019 11:50

I managed to crash the engine.
I believe the reason is I tried to serialize a table with an objectref somewhere in it and then pass it as staticdata.
Looks like serialize() could use some type().
 

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
 
Posts: 5753
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
Location: United Kingdom
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy

Re: Minetest 5.0.0

by rubenwardy » Sun Mar 10, 2019 12:02

Termos wrote:I managed to crash the engine.
I believe the reason is I tried to serialize a table with an objectref somewhere in it and then pass it as staticdata.
Looks like serialize() could use some type().


Serialise doesn't support user data, and so raises an error to inform the modder. It uses type to do this. This is not an engine issue but a mod issue, and has existed for a long time
 

Termos
Member
 
Posts: 124
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2018 12:50

Re: Minetest 5.0.0

by Termos » Sun Mar 10, 2019 12:23

Yup, i know it was a mod issue.

rubenwardy wrote:
Termos wrote:Serialise doesn't support user data, and so raises an error to inform the modder

The thing is, it doesn't raise an error, and doesn't inform the modder.
The engine just crashes with an unknown runtime error straight to OS.
"This application has requested the Runtime to terminate in an unusual way."
No trace in debug.txt either.

Win 64 here.
 

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
 
Posts: 5753
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
Location: United Kingdom
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy

Re: Minetest 5.0.0

by rubenwardy » Sun Mar 10, 2019 14:26

Termos wrote:The thing is, it doesn't raise an error, and doesn't inform the modder.
The engine just crashes with an unknown runtime error straight to OS.
"This application has requested the Runtime to terminate in an unusual way."
No trace in debug.txt either.

Win 64 here.


This sounds like a separate issue - there's a current bug where Minetest will crash ungracefully on a Lua error when it happens in a particular context

What context does this happen in? I've been unable to reproduce this bug
 

Termos
Member
 
Posts: 124
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2018 12:50

Re: Minetest 5.0.0

by Termos » Sun Mar 10, 2019 15:08

Function minetest.serialize() inside get_staticdata callback
The argument is a table with a player ref in it.

This time I got messages in debug.txt, the difference is previously the callback was called upon exiting to menu, this time it was a periodic call during gameplay. But it still crashed to OS immediately.

Code: Select all
2019-03-10 15:49:00: [Server]: serializin
2019-03-10 15:49:00: ERROR[Main]: ServerError: AsyncErr: ServerThread::run Lua: Runtime error from mod 'hellomob' in callback luaentity_GetStaticdata(): ...minetest-5.0.0-win64\bin\..\builtin\common\serialize.lua:151: Can't serialize data of type userdata
2019-03-10 15:49:00: ERROR[Main]: stack traceback:
2019-03-10 15:49:00: ERROR[Main]:    [C]: in function 'error'
2019-03-10 15:49:00: ERROR[Main]:    ...minetest-5.0.0-win64\bin\..\builtin\common\serialize.lua:151: in function 'dump_or_ref_val'
2019-03-10 15:49:00: ERROR[Main]:    ...minetest-5.0.0-win64\bin\..\builtin\common\serialize.lua:146: in function 'dump_or_ref_val'
2019-03-10 15:49:00: ERROR[Main]:    ...minetest-5.0.0-win64\bin\..\builtin\common\serialize.lua:146: in function 'dump_or_ref_val'
2019-03-10 15:49:00: ERROR[Main]:    ...minetest-5.0.0-win64\bin\..\builtin\common\serialize.lua:166: in function 'serialize'
2019-03-10 15:49:00: ERROR[Main]:    D:\Down\minetest-5.0.0-win64\bin\..\mods\mobkit\init.lua:503: in function <D:\Down\minetest-5.0.0-win64\bin\..\mods\mobkit\init.lua:497>
2019-03-10 15:49:00: ACTION[Main]: Server: Shutting down
2019-03-10 15:49:00: [Main]: serializin


Test setup inside get_staticdata looks like this:
Code: Select all
if tmptab.memory then minetest.debug('serializin') end
local tmp = minetest.serialize(tmptab)
if tmptab.memory then minetest.debug('serialized') end
 

User avatar
trev
Member
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2014 16:49
In-game: trev

Re: Minetest 5.0.0

by trev » Sun Mar 10, 2019 16:07

Awesome! I'm building it right now.

BTW, I use Ubuntu at home and Arch on my laptop. The Arch packages are usually pretty close to current, but a few weeks behind maybe.

Normally, I build from source.
Do what you love, and you will love what you do! :)
 

PreviousNext

Return to News



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests