Page 2 of 2

Re: Minetest 5.1.0

PostPosted: Mon Oct 28, 2019 16:34
by Wuzzy
even if it is only made for 5.0.0 according to the forum post.

Of course, Repixture works in 5.1.0, too. It clearly says “5.0.0 or later”. I didn't need to make any compability fixes after 5.1.0 came out.

I wonder if this can be turned off

I believe it can. Set debug_log_size_max to -1.

Re: Review of 5.1.0

PostPosted: Mon Oct 28, 2019 16:54
by sfan5
Wuzzy wrote:
Punchwear

I have no idea how it works, to be honest. How is it calculated? Can I, as a modder, control/tweak punchwear in any way? Haven't found anything in lua_api.txt yet.

Search for punch_attack_uses in the documentation.

Re: Review of 5.1.0

PostPosted: Wed Oct 30, 2019 22:38
by v-rob
Linuxdirk wrote:Yes. The coordinates are now different, but not necessarily better/cleaner if you have complex formspecs. I recently converted all mTimer formspecs to version 2 coordinates and it was just replacing one mess with another mess.


But, it's consistent. No more guess-and-check. That's the real reason I made it. I considered adding automatic padding, but the PR was taking forever as it was and I decided that you can use containers for that.

Linuxdirk wrote:Yeah :( Still no scrollable inventories or button lists. Only super weird scrollbars no-one understands.


With https://github.com/minetest/minetest/pull/8591 and https://github.com/minetest/minetest/pull/8530, scrollable things (including, but not limited to, inventories) will be possible in the near future.

Re: Review of 5.1.0

PostPosted: Wed Oct 30, 2019 22:44
by Linuxdirk
v-rob wrote:No more guess-and-check.

You wish :D I had to guess and check all coordinates. Especially labels and correct positioning of boxes and containers.

v-rob wrote:With https://github.com/minetest/minetest/pull/8591 and https://github.com/minetest/minetest/pull/8530, scrollable things (including, but not limited to, inventories) will be possible in the near future.

So I can simply add, let’s say, a 20*70 large inventory in a 4*6 large container and get automatically scrollbars so players can scroll around this absurdly large inventory I just made up for the example?

Re: Review of 5.1.0

PostPosted: Wed Oct 30, 2019 22:46
by rubenwardy
Linuxdirk wrote:So I can simply add, let’s say, a 20*70 large inventory in a 4*6 large container and get automatically scrollbars so players can scroll around this absurdly large inventory I just made up for the example?


It's so you can have a 5*70 inventory in a 5*6 inventory. Having two axes of scrolling is a terrible idea, this would be more for creating custom list-like elements. I plan to use it in my menu redesign to list games with screenshots and such

Re: Review of 5.1.0

PostPosted: Wed Oct 30, 2019 22:58
by Linuxdirk
rubenwardy wrote:It's so you can have a 5*70 inventory in a 5*6 inventory. Having two axes of scrolling is a terrible idea,

Of course it is. Except 2-axis scrolling being a terrible idea: would it – in theory – possible? Or in other words: Are we limited to up-down scrolling or are interfaces with left-right scrolling are possible, too?

rubenwardy wrote:this would be more for creating custom list-like elements. I plan to use it in my menu redesign to list games with screenshots and such

Almost everything benefits from this. All craftguides would greatly improve if they do not have to re-implement pagination all the time. All inventory lists would benefit from it for the same reason. Even Minetest Game creative inventory would benefit from it.

Re: Minetest 5.1.0

PostPosted: Thu Oct 31, 2019 22:46
by v-rob
Both horizontal and vertical are possible at the same time. If I remember correctly, you have to place one scroll_container within another and bind it to two scrollbars, but it might be possible with only one.

And as for guess-and-check, I meant you know that a button at (1,1), a field at (1,1), or a dropdown at (1,1), etc., it will be in the exact same place, as well as things like normal buttons, tab bars, and dropdowns having changeable heights. So no guess-and-check basically means that you don't have to guess and add and subtract weird coeffiecients and use multiplication just to get your button in line with your field.

Re: Minetest 5.1.0

PostPosted: Fri Nov 01, 2019 08:05
by Linuxdirk
v-rob wrote:So no guess-and-check basically means that you don't have to guess and add and subtract weird coeffiecients and use multiplication just to get your button in line with your field.

This is exactly what I had to do. Just with different coordinates like before.

Re: Minetest 5.1.0

PostPosted: Fri Nov 01, 2019 08:11
by rubenwardy
Linuxdirk wrote:This is exactly what I had to do. Just with different coordinates like before.


This isn't true, the coordinates are all exactly the same on different elements meaning that using the exact same cooridinates will place a button inline with a field.

I would like to add containers which automatically do padding and stacking for you, as manually adding 0.375 padding and 0.25 spacing isn't very fun. But the new system is a great improvement on the old

Re: Minetest 5.1.0

PostPosted: Fri Nov 01, 2019 08:14
by Linuxdirk
rubenwardy wrote:This isn't true, the coordinates are all exactly the same on different elements.

Dude, just look at my friggin code. I linked the diff some posts ago.

Re: Minetest 5.1.0

PostPosted: Sat Nov 02, 2019 21:41
by v-rob
These are two formspecs with the exact same elements with the same positional numbers except that the second one has real_coordinates[true].

Image

They most definitely have consistent coordinates now.

Code: Select all
minetest.register_chatcommand("f1", {
   func = function()
      minetest.show_formspec("singleplayer", "test:2", [[
         size[5,3]
         field[1,1;3,1;x;Old Coordinates;]
         button[1,2;3,1;;Button]
      ]])
   end
})

minetest.register_chatcommand("f2", {
   func = function()
      minetest.show_formspec("singleplayer", "test:1", [[
         size[5,4]
         real_coordinates[true]
         field[1,1;3,1;x;Real Coordinates;]
         button[1,2;3,1;;Button]
      ]])
   end
})

Re: Minetest 5.1.0

PostPosted: Sat Nov 02, 2019 22:49
by ShallowDweller
Forgive the noob question, but is the copy of minetest provided in the 1st post's links using LuaJIT with the GC64 variant? I don't know how to check this myself...

Re: Minetest 5.1.0

PostPosted: Sat Nov 02, 2019 22:54
by Linuxdirk
v-rob wrote:They most definitely have consistent coordinates now.

I never said they have not, but you had a look at my code, right? It’s better overall with the coordinates, but still messy. At least I was able to eleminate all 3 digit decimals.

Re: Minetest 5.1.0

PostPosted: Sun Nov 03, 2019 22:29
by sfan5
ShallowDweller wrote:Forgive the noob question, but is the copy of minetest provided in the 1st post's links using LuaJIT with the GC64 variant? I don't know how to check this myself...

Yes, since 5.0 the official builds come with gc64-enabled LuaJIT.

Re: Minetest 5.1.0

PostPosted: Mon Nov 04, 2019 14:23
by Miniontoby
Please make that this csm mod does work https://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?f=53&t=22790

Re: Minetest 5.1.0

PostPosted: Wed Nov 06, 2019 22:00
by paramat
Miniontoby this is the wrong place to report what is probably a mod error, contact the mod author first, the mod may need fixing.

Re: Minetest 5.1.0

PostPosted: Thu Nov 07, 2019 14:44
by Miniontoby
But the mod author doesn't know the solution and the error is began since the newest version of minetest 5.1.0

Re: Minetest 5.1.0

PostPosted: Tue Nov 12, 2019 17:07
by ShallowDweller
What kinds of mods got broken with this new version? And how long do we have before depends.txt is no longer accepted by the engine? Thanks in advance (so I won't get paranoid about not having posted a reply to just say "thanks" without adding anything to the discussion)

sfan5 wrote:
ShallowDweller wrote:Forgive the noob question, but is the copy of minetest provided in the 1st post's links using LuaJIT with the GC64 variant? I don't know how to check this myself...

Yes, since 5.0 the official builds come with gc64-enabled LuaJIT.

Thanks! And sorry for the late reply...

Re: Minetest 5.1.0

PostPosted: Tue Nov 12, 2019 17:12
by rubenwardy
ShallowDweller wrote:What kinds of mods got broken with this new version? And how long do we have before depends.txt is no longer accepted by the engine? Thanks in advance (so I won't get paranoid about not having posted a reply to just say "thanks" without adding anything to the discussion)


No mods were intentionally broken as this isn't a breaking release. The next breaking release will be called 6.0.0, if it happens. Note that the exception to this are experimental APIs, such as client-side modding, which aren't officially supported yet so can be broken at anytime

Depends.txt will be supported for a very long time, and can't be removed before 6.0.0 anyway as it is a breaking change

Re: Minetest 5.1.0

PostPosted: Wed Nov 13, 2019 07:09
by ShallowDweller
rubenwardy wrote:
ShallowDweller wrote:What kinds of mods got broken with this new version? And how long do we have before depends.txt is no longer accepted by the engine? Thanks in advance (so I won't get paranoid about not having posted a reply to just say "thanks" without adding anything to the discussion)


No mods were intentionally broken as this isn't a breaking release. The next breaking release will be called 6.0.0, if it happens. Note that the exception to this are experimental APIs, such as client-side modding, which aren't officially supported yet so can be broken at anytime

Depends.txt will be supported for a very long time, and can't be removed before 6.0.0 anyway as it is a breaking change

I see... good to know. Thanks!
Aaand good luck to the CSM developers.