Minetest 5.3.0 release candidate 2

User avatar
Festus1965
Member
Posts: 1286
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2016 11:58
In-game: Thomas Explorer Thailand
Location: Thailand - Chiang Mai (+5-6h to MEZ)
Contact:

Re: Minetest 5.3.0 release candidate 2

by Festus1965 » Post

sfan5 wrote:
Mon Jun 22, 2020 09:38
Yes, you need to ensure Minetest loads a builtin that is compatible with your version.
How ?
* Is it down compatible ? mean I can run 5.3.0 installation (buildin) with older run_in_place 5.2.0
* or how to separate even this builtin, and how to use them ?
* maybe shorter is there a table about what version builtin is compatible down to ...

no installed is working with another run_in_place server between 5.2.0 and 5.3.0, so I am done
Last edited by Festus1965 on Tue Jun 23, 2020 05:18, edited 1 time in total.

MoNTE48
Member
Posts: 321
Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2013 11:58
GitHub: MoNTE48
In-game: MoNTE48
Location: Internet

Re: Minetest 5.3.0 release candidate 2

by MoNTE48 » Post

I can’t understand what substances the author of the previous message uses.
Minetest 5.3 is under development. Changes are constantly being made that can change the API. Minetest is not just a binary file from C and C++ code. This is bin (С and C++) and builtin (Lua)!

User avatar
Festus1965
Member
Posts: 1286
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2016 11:58
In-game: Thomas Explorer Thailand
Location: Thailand - Chiang Mai (+5-6h to MEZ)
Contact:

Re: Minetest 5.3.0 release candidate 2

by Festus1965 » Post

MoNTE48 wrote:
Mon Jun 22, 2020 15:18
I can’t understand what substances the author of the previous message uses.
Minetest 5.3 is under development. Changes are constantly being made that can change ...
Changes are clear, develop, make it faster, more stability, use newest options, whatever,
but if some changes are a kind of BREAK to further versions, is is important to know.

As here a change in the server itself (whatever part that is) the [mod] playeranim didn't work properly and showed yourself and other gamer in a kind of mixed version (short body, hands up),
THAT might be a problem for server admins and cause loos of gamer. (as have seen from 0.4.x to 5.x)

So lucky the actual here used minetestserver version 5.3.0-dev-528b162d-dirty (but very stable) is even running on the /usr/... installation of 5.3.0-dev-RC2 so I am able so switch quick to new 5.3.0 to see if there are problems to expect when it gets official release ... whatever I think is the mention of this thread anyway !!!

MY sources ?
Yeah, as the links in the first starting post are rare for self compiling admins like me ...
* https://www.minetest.net/downloads/ and find
* https://github.com/minetest/minetest/tree/stable-5
* https://github.com/minetest/minetest/
* https://github.com/minetest/minetest/releases
and so I need typical compiling tools as mentioned in
https://dev.minetest.net/Compiling_Minetest
but also
* https://luajit.org/install.html
* https://sourceforge.net/projects/gnuwin ... e/2.3.5-1/
* https://github.com/libspatialindex/libspatialindex as with curl, g++ and make
* system_GMP
* postgresql

but until now I compiled always full with "sudo make install j16", but that takes long time and I thought I might be able to use just a "sudo make J16" and use the run_in_place minetestserver binary to fast switch the server with prepared *.sh bash that just have different calls of server version as

Code: Select all

./minetest-520/bin/minetestserver --version
for show me again what i start followed then by the full starting server command

Code: Select all

./minetest-520/bin/minetestserver --config xxxx.conf --gameid BrainCraft --world xxx/worlds/BrainCraft --logfile 'xxx/worlds/BrainCraft/minetest.log'
or

Code: Select all

./minetest-530-dev-RC2/bin/minetestserver --config xxxx.conf --gameid BrainCraft --world xxx/worlds/BrainCraft --logfile 'xxx/worlds/BrainCraft/minetest.log'

hmm, you think I got it so far ?
Last edited by Festus1965 on Tue Jun 23, 2020 00:48, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
paramat
Developer
Posts: 3658
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat
Location: UK

Re: Minetest 5.3.0 release candidate 1

by paramat » Post

Linuxdirk wrote:
Fri Jun 19, 2020 18:26
Will the known issues be fixed before final release?
Yes, the jump-twitch issue is marked as a release blocker, and there is a fixing PR ready for review/merge.

User avatar
Festus1965
Member
Posts: 1286
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2016 11:58
In-game: Thomas Explorer Thailand
Location: Thailand - Chiang Mai (+5-6h to MEZ)
Contact:

Re: Minetest 5.3.0 release candidate 2

by Festus1965 » Post

oh, that went wrong

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
Posts: 3921
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5
Location: Germany

Re: Minetest 5.3.0 release candidate 2

by sfan5 » Post

Festus1965 wrote:
Mon Jun 22, 2020 09:57
sfan5 wrote:
Mon Jun 22, 2020 09:38
Yes, you need to ensure Minetest loads a builtin that is compatible with your version.
How ?
* Is it down compatible ? mean I can run 5.3.0 installation (buildin) with older run_in_place 5.2.0
* or how to separate even this builtin, and how to use them ?
* maybe shorter is there a table about what version builtin is compatible down to ...
By "compatible" I meant that your builtin needs to be the exact same Minetest version as the binary.
Anything else is not supported and will return errors sooner or later as you can see.

If you already have a global installation this means you need to configure your 5.3.0-dev build with -DRUN_IN_PLACE=1.
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)

User avatar
Festus1965
Member
Posts: 1286
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2016 11:58
In-game: Thomas Explorer Thailand
Location: Thailand - Chiang Mai (+5-6h to MEZ)
Contact:

Re: Minetest 5.3.0 release candidate 2

by Festus1965 » Post

I got that, so then I need virtual servers to be able to handle different versions on one PC.
I deleted all 5.3.0-dev versions, and put server and test-server back to that version running on server.
As of the playeranim I have to be sure first all active 45 players have sure option for 5.3.0, before I can change ...
Last edited by Festus1965 on Fri Jun 26, 2020 01:21, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
Posts: 6160
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Minetest 5.3.0 release candidate 2

by rubenwardy » Post

I've added 5.3.0-dev to the Play Store, under the beta program. You can opt-in here: https://play.google.com/apps/testing/ne ... t.minetest

q333
New member
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2019 20:05
In-game: q333

Re: Minetest 5.3.0 release candidate 2

by q333 » Post

Lux invisible
Attachments
screenshot_20200626_201036.png
Correct
(479.04 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Screenshot_20200626-160705_Minetest.jpg
Invisible
(668.63 KiB) Not downloaded yet

MoNTE48
Member
Posts: 321
Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2013 11:58
GitHub: MoNTE48
In-game: MoNTE48
Location: Internet

Re: Minetest 5.3.0 release candidate 2

by MoNTE48 » Post

You can check with video_driver: ogl-es 2?

User avatar
v-rob
Member
Posts: 745
Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2016 03:19
GitHub: v-rob
Location: Right behind you.

Re: Minetest 5.3.0 release candidate 2

by v-rob » Post

Minetest seems to crash every time I exit a world. "Exit to Menu" shows the "Shutting Down" screen, but crashes after it before the main menu appears. "Exit to OS" and Alt-F4 close the window immediately. Neither saves any keybinding changes, which is how I know it is a crash. It happens on both Windows 32- and 64-bit.

Ooo, and I'm on the Active Contributors list. Cool.

User avatar
srifqi
Member
Posts: 557
Joined: Sat Jun 28, 2014 04:31
GitHub: srifqi
IRC: srifqi
In-game: srifqi
Location: Indonesia

Re: Minetest 5.3.0 release candidate 2

by srifqi » Post

I can confirm that "Exit to Menu" crashes Minetest on Windows 10 (64-bit).
+debug infos
"Exit to OS" also crashes.
+debug infos

EDIT: It seems like this only affects Minetest server (on Windows 10). Two tries above are in singleplayer mode.
+debug info

Minetest shuts down without error in Linux (Lubuntu).
Saya dari Indonesia! · Terjemahkan Minetest! · my mods · My nickname in IPA: /es.rif.qi/

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests