Minetest 0.4.6 released!

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam
Location: Germany

Minetest 0.4.6 released!

by PilzAdam » Post

Hello everyone!
We have a new release: Minetest 0.4.6! Many nice things were added to the default game. Or should I say games? Yes, we have 3 official games now: (the old) "minetest_game", "Survival" and "Build". Also with the new system were games can load mods from "common" its a lot easier to create your own game.
Some of the features that were added to the default games are new ores (like copper and gold), lavacooling near water, obsidian and diamonds. See the changelog for a complete list.
Also the engine has developed: dungeons and jungles are added back, the mapgen speed was increased a lot and many bugs were fixed. Again, see the changelog for a complete list.
Umm... I think thats enough for now. Have fun playing it!

Download (Windows build): http://minetest.ru/builds/minetest-0.4.6.zip
Source: https://github.com/minetest
Changelog: http://dev.minetest.net/Changelog#0.4.5_.E2.86.92_0.4.6

freebsd port will probably be updated in the next week.
Last edited by PilzAdam on Sat Apr 06, 2013 13:33, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Likwid H-Craft
Member
Posts: 1113
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 14:20
Location: Lost in Crypt

by Likwid H-Craft » Post

YEAH ABOUT TIME!

was the minetest.net runing on xyz server? or is that the forum?
Anyways now I can make my city more complex :) thank you Adam :) And maybe some time in the, falling days I will, start making builds but I will need you make them run like, how they are when finish don't have the files everywhere and have the bin, since I don't know how I will do that.
My Domain's/others:
http://likwidtest.hj.cx/ (Not Done)

User avatar
0gb.us
Member
Posts: 841
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 01:55
Location: 0gb.us:30000
Contact:

by 0gb.us » Post

Maybe it would make more sense to label that as "Download for WIndows", as it's the Windows version, not every version.

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Post

Yay 0gb can update to the current game on his server
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right

User avatar
0gb.us
Member
Posts: 841
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 01:55
Location: 0gb.us:30000
Contact:

by 0gb.us » Post

jojoa1997 wrote:Yay 0gb can update to the current game on his server
minetest/minetest is compiled.
minetest/common is installed.
0gb-us/0gb.us_game still needs some work done before updating.

I need to make fire less devastating, in addition to adding some fixes related to the new lava/obsidian mechanics.

Edit; never mind, I'll do a partial update for you. It should give you what you're after, but be careful with fire and lava.
Last edited by 0gb.us on Wed Apr 03, 2013 21:39, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Likwid H-Craft
Member
Posts: 1113
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 14:20
Location: Lost in Crypt

by Likwid H-Craft » Post

Hey Adam what is that thing we can make, boats you sayed the Vox thing.
My Domain's/others:
http://likwidtest.hj.cx/ (Not Done)

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam
Location: Germany

by PilzAdam » Post

Hybrid Dog wrote:What happened to the minimal game?
Oh, yea, thats still there.

User avatar
Likwid H-Craft
Member
Posts: 1113
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 14:20
Location: Lost in Crypt

by Likwid H-Craft » Post

ADAM WHY THE mg_flags not making my, map flat?
My Domain's/others:
http://likwidtest.hj.cx/ (Not Done)

User avatar
ungali
Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2013 22:05
IRC: ungali
In-game: ungali
Location: Canada

by ungali » Post

sorry, I compiled the latest git version, but it still gives a version number of 0.4.5 on linux.
Minetest needs better music. And puppies.

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam
Location: Germany

by PilzAdam » Post

Likwid H-Craft wrote:ADAM WHY THE mg_flags not making my, map flat?
Because you do something wrong :-)
Make sure the line is in minetest.conf and not minetest.conf.example and that there is no # at the beginning of the line.
Also make sure that you have create a new map after setting it and that minetest wasnt running when you edited the file.

User avatar
VanessaE
Moderator
Posts: 4517
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaE
Location: Western NC
Contact:

by VanessaE » Post

Then you didn't actually compile the latest git. I run Linux and my build shows 0.4.6, and was updated less than an hour ago.
You might like some of my stuff: Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (64-512px)

User avatar
Likwid H-Craft
Member
Posts: 1113
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 14:20
Location: Lost in Crypt

by Likwid H-Craft » Post

I found my problem it, was the wrong spot I was using the old one, not new one.

Edit:Ok now how do I make it have just dirt_with_grass flat Adam?

Never Mind about How change the flat I know how now :)
Last edited by Likwid H-Craft on Wed Apr 03, 2013 22:59, edited 1 time in total.
My Domain's/others:
http://likwidtest.hj.cx/ (Not Done)

User avatar
ungali
Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2013 22:05
IRC: ungali
In-game: ungali
Location: Canada

by ungali » Post

whoops. I must have messed up at some point. worked on the second try.
Minetest needs better music. And puppies.

User avatar
Likwid H-Craft
Member
Posts: 1113
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 14:20
Location: Lost in Crypt

by Likwid H-Craft » Post

Ok so I replaced everything with stone on mapgen.lua and made ores spawn around dirt(That, will never happen since dirt is now stone) and I tested it out works but now the map has this:
Image
What is that? I can't think on what it can be, in a flat map.

And I didn't do it if you say you may, have place the stone like that.

Edit:900 Post!

Found my Problem I added something I should not have.
Last edited by Likwid H-Craft on Wed Apr 03, 2013 23:53, edited 1 time in total.
My Domain's/others:
http://likwidtest.hj.cx/ (Not Done)

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
Posts: 3089
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

by Inocudom » Post

The server list doesn't work in this build, but the build works well otherwise.
You can now find my videos at BitChute: https://www.bitchute.com/channel/some_cheeky_jinuskian/

User avatar
0gb.us
Member
Posts: 841
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 01:55
Location: 0gb.us:30000
Contact:

by 0gb.us » Post

Inocudom wrote:The server list doesn't work in this build, but the build works well otherwise.
From what I hear from PilzAdam, that's because Windows uses non-standard line endings. Windows uses \r\n, where most operating systems (as far as I know, ALL operating systems besides Windows and Mac OS versions older than X) use \n. It makes it difficult for the server list file to be read by the game.

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Post

have it check for windows. if so then have it use \r\n
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
Posts: 3089
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

by Inocudom » Post

0gb.us wrote:
Inocudom wrote:The server list doesn't work in this build, but the build works well otherwise.
From what I hear from PilzAdam, that's because Windows uses non-standard line endings. Windows uses \r\n, where most operating systems (as far as I know, ALL operating systems besides Windows and Mac OS versions older than X) use \n. It makes it difficult for the server list file to be read by the game.
This I know, but even the list of available servers does not show (the server list that uses cURL.)
You can now find my videos at BitChute: https://www.bitchute.com/channel/some_cheeky_jinuskian/

User avatar
webdesigner97
Member
Posts: 1327
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2012 19:16
GitHub: webD97
IRC: webdesigner97
In-game: webdesigner97
Location: Cologne, Germany
Contact:

by webdesigner97 » Post

Wow, that was a fast release! Downloading it now ;)

User avatar
xavier108
Member
Posts: 227
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2012 06:05
IRC: Ezlif
Location: Black Mesa Facility
Contact:

by xavier108 » Post

Wow
Ezlif :D

User avatar
0gb.us
Member
Posts: 841
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 01:55
Location: 0gb.us:30000
Contact:

by 0gb.us » Post

jojoa1997 wrote:have it check for windows. if so then have it use \r\n
Better idea: Have it check for Windows, and if so, have it instal an operating system that actually works.

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Post

Or you can get rid of a grudge
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right

User avatar
0gb.us
Member
Posts: 841
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 01:55
Location: 0gb.us:30000
Contact:

by 0gb.us » Post

Here is a perfect example of Windows making things difficult. It's not a grudge. Windows is legitimately a problem.

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Post

0gb's new signature "I HATE WINDOWS"
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right

User avatar
onpon4
Member
Posts: 517
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 01:54
GitHub: onpon4
In-game: diligentcircle
Contact:

by onpon4 » Post

I encountered two annoyances compiling this version on GNU/Linux:

First, on the download page, there are no direct links to common, survival, or build. I had to go to GitHub to download them. If the readme is telling the truth about common being necessary for minetest_game to work, that's a pretty big deal. On this note, why isn't there just a source download that has everything in it? I really don't see the point in making people have to download them separately, and it's even worse when there are four separate things to download now.

Second, when I did "sudo make install", survival and build did not get copied from the games folder of the source directory to /usr/local/share/minetest/games. I had to do this manually.

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests