Page 1 of 5

Minetest 0.4.10

PostPosted: Sun Jul 06, 2014 22:51
by sfan5

Re: Minetest 0.4.10

PostPosted: Mon Jul 07, 2014 13:38
by HolyPhoenix
This is awesome! Thanks a lot for your hard work team!

Re: Minetest 0.4.10

PostPosted: Mon Jul 07, 2014 14:38
by cHyper
changelog for 0.4.10 is awesome... good work...

Re: Minetest 0.4.10

PostPosted: Mon Jul 07, 2014 15:58
by TenPlus1
Sweet, thanks guys...

Note: Really liking the new additions, although xpanes ?

Re: Minetest 0.4.10

PostPosted: Mon Jul 07, 2014 17:14
by fraang
Thanks for your hard work guys! :-D

But I have a question to one of the major points in the changelog:

Removed finite liquid and weather (proller)

What does that exactly mean?

Thanks.

Re: Minetest 0.4.10

PostPosted: Mon Jul 07, 2014 17:42
by sfan5
fraang wrote:Removed finite liquid and weather (proller)

What does that exactly mean?

Previously Minetest contained an API to do weather based on parameters set by the map generator, this was incomplete and thus removed.

Re: Minetest 0.4.10

PostPosted: Mon Jul 07, 2014 23:55
by ak399g
Prevented placing node when player would be inside new node (BlockMen)

I know this has been addressed in a separate topic, but now that 0.4.10 is out I thought I'd address the change made in the thread for it.
How does one revert to the previous functionality; i.e. do not prevent node placement? Is it part of lua or part of the core?

Re: Minetest 0.4.10

PostPosted: Tue Jul 08, 2014 12:02
by PilzAdam
ak399g wrote:
Prevented placing node when player would be inside new node (BlockMen)

I know this has been addressed in a separate topic, but now that 0.4.10 is out I thought I'd address the change made in the thread for it.
How does one revert to the previous functionality; i.e. do not prevent node placement? Is it part of lua or part of the core?

Turn noclip on ('h' key by default, IIRC), then you can place nodes inside yourself again (requires the noclip priv on the server).

Re: Minetest 0.4.10

PostPosted: Tue Jul 08, 2014 14:36
by TenPlus1
After playing with 0.4.10 for a few days it's pretty nice, although the cobble texture is really flat and weird looking... Any chance of bringing back the old texture ?!?!

Re: Minetest 0.4.10

PostPosted: Tue Jul 08, 2014 15:00
by Gael de Sailly
I'm on Ubuntu 12.04 and I've updated Minetest today.
What does exactely mean "Enabled Jungle" ? Is it normal that I can't see any jungle in my world, and the map_meta.txt contains it ?
Code: Select all
mgv6_spflags = nojungles, biomeblend, mudflow
And what is the on-the-fly map generation ? When reading it, I was expecting a new line in the combo box of Mapgen, when creating a world. This is not the case.
This new version looks awesome, but I would like to take advantage of all the features.

Re: Minetest 0.4.10

PostPosted: Tue Jul 08, 2014 15:03
by sfan5
Gael de Sailly wrote:I'm on Ubuntu 12.04 and I've updated Minetest today.
What does exactely mean "Enabled Jungle" ? Is it normal that I can't see any jungle in my world ?

Jungles were added for new worlds only to make sure no older worlds are affected by jungles.

Re: Minetest 0.4.10

PostPosted: Tue Jul 08, 2014 15:13
by Gael de Sailly
But i've tested it on a new world !

Re: Minetest 0.4.10

PostPosted: Tue Jul 08, 2014 16:49
by LionsDen
ak399g wrote:
Prevented placing node when player would be inside new node (BlockMen)

I know this has been addressed in a separate topic, but now that 0.4.10 is out I thought I'd address the change made in the thread for it.
How does one revert to the previous functionality; i.e. do not prevent node placement? Is it part of lua or part of the core?


This seems to make placing nodes under you when you jump easier for me. Just add the following line to your minetest.conf file.

Code: Select all
movement_speed_jump = 7.0


It seemed to make a difference with me. If it still doesn't seem to be enough, try a higher number like 7.5 or even 8.0.

Re: Minetest 0.4.10

PostPosted: Tue Jul 08, 2014 17:01
by Calinou
TenPlus1 wrote:After playing with 0.4.10 for a few days it's pretty nice, although the cobble texture is really flat and weird looking... Any chance of bringing back the old texture ?!?!


Carbone Textures happens to have the old cobble texture; if you want to use only the cobble texture, delete all the textures except default_cobble.png and default_mossycobble.png in the pack.

Re: Minetest 0.4.10

PostPosted: Tue Jul 08, 2014 17:18
by TenPlus1
This is the default_cobble.png texture within minetest 0.4.10 itself, it is now the base image...

Re: Minetest 0.4.10

PostPosted: Tue Jul 08, 2014 18:41
by stormchaser3000
it would be nice if all the ores textuers could be reverted to the old ones as well as gold steel diamond and meseblocks dirt and grass textures.

Re: Minetest 0.4.10

PostPosted: Tue Jul 08, 2014 20:38
by DeepGaze
Is there a way to get this to work in fedora(20)?

Re: Minetest 0.4.10

PostPosted: Tue Jul 08, 2014 21:37
by philipbenr
I personally enjoy these textures. The cobble is a bit weird, but other than that, I really enjoy them. Also, they funny thing is that that is my brick texture that I made. I also like these new ones.

Another thing is this: I think that in MT 0.5, we should have included texturepacks, just like we are games (which may/may not come to a reality.)... Ex: Old 0.3._ and back, 0.4.1 through 0.4.9 and these, and some of the other best ones.

Re: Minetest 0.4.10

PostPosted: Wed Jul 09, 2014 03:06
by Josh
Nice work! Can't wait to check out the new 3rd person view.
In 0.4.11, Some mobs should be added to the game.

Re: Minetest 0.4.10

PostPosted: Wed Jul 09, 2014 07:32
by sfan5
stormchaser3000 wrote:it would be nice if all the ores textuers could be reverted to the old ones as well as gold, steel, diamond and meseblocks, dirt and grass textures.

So you want to revert all of BlockMen's texture work?

Re: Minetest 0.4.10

PostPosted: Wed Jul 09, 2014 10:44
by Calinou
philipbenr wrote:I personally enjoy these textures. The cobble is a bit weird, but other than that, I really enjoy them. Also, they funny thing is that that is my brick texture that I made. I also like these new ones.

Another thing is this: I think that in MT 0.5, we should have included texturepacks, just like we are games (which may/may not come to a reality.)... Ex: Old 0.3._ and back, 0.4.1 through 0.4.9 and these, and some of the other best ones.


Maybe these packs could be included for reference:

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=4120
viewtopic.php?f=4&t=9698
viewtopic.php?f=4&t=9697
viewtopic.php?f=4&t=9428

Re: Minetest 0.4.10

PostPosted: Wed Jul 09, 2014 13:58
by Brockenflabel
Yoohoo! Wow what a difference!

Thanks. 4.10 I ran for about three hours so far with Adventuretest....
No bad allocation exception errors at all, and it runs a lot faster and smoother
than 4.9 ! This is great ! Thanks guys. (Win xp 32 bit)

Anybody who has any problem with 4.9 lag should try this.

Re: Minetest 0.4.10

PostPosted: Wed Jul 09, 2014 14:21
by HolyPhoenix
I like the new textures.

Re: Minetest 0.4.10

PostPosted: Wed Jul 09, 2014 16:05
by Calinou
DeepGaze wrote:Is there a way to get this to work in fedora(20)?


Compile the Git repository yourself. You will have to install dependencies for Fedora using the yum command instead of apt-get.

Brockenflabel wrote:Yoohoo! Wow what a difference!

Thanks. 4.10 I ran for about three hours so far with Adventuretest....
No bad allocation exception errors at all, and it runs a lot faster and smoother
than 4.9 ! This is great ! Thanks guys. (Win xp 32 bit)

Anybody who has any problem with 4.9 lag should try this.


It's 0.4.10, not 4.10. Same thing goes for 0.4.9.

Re: Minetest 0.4.10

PostPosted: Wed Jul 09, 2014 18:14
by philipbenr
@Calinou: Yes, that is exactly what I meant.