Mobs not spawning correctly on Server

Post Reply
nvrsbr
Member
Posts: 57
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 19:42

Mobs not spawning correctly on Server

by nvrsbr » Post

I have an issue with Mobs not spawning correctly or just not spawning at all.
By "not correctly" I mean some mobs spawn while others don't. Some will randomly spawn too much etc etc.
I have even had it wheer I created a map for the server and NO mobs will spawn at all.
The same map in Singleplayer is fine, its just the Server that is the issue.

Any ideas?

I am using this Mod with the extra mobs you can download on the same page.

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=9917&hilit=mobs

nvrsbr
Member
Posts: 57
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 19:42

Re: Mobs not spawning correctly on Server

by nvrsbr » Post

Anyone?

User avatar
firefox
Member
Posts: 1588
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2015 07:34
In-game: Red_Fox
Location: Xanadu

Re: Mobs not spawning correctly on Server

by firefox » Post

each mob has a specific spawn function that controls on what terrain, height and light intensity they spawn.
by default, mobs redo is designed for ethereal maps and v6 maps.
if you use any other mapgen, you have to check compability. some mapgens use different names for terrain, so you have to edit the spawn functions of mobs to spawn on that terrain.

that is all i know.
i have no idea about the singleplayer/server difference.
✨🏳️‍🌈♠️✨

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
Posts: 2880
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: Mobs not spawning correctly on Server

by TenPlus1 » Post

Be specific in your problem, which mobs spawn more, which hardly spawn at all, what mods are you running on your server ?

nvrsbr
Member
Posts: 57
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 19:42

Re: Mobs not spawning correctly on Server

by nvrsbr » Post

firefox wrote:each mob has a specific spawn function that controls on what terrain, height and light intensity they spawn.
by default, mobs redo is designed for ethereal maps and v6 maps.
if you use any other mapgen, you have to check compability. some mapgens use different names for terrain, so you have to edit the spawn functions of mobs to spawn on that terrain.

that is all i know.
i have no idea about the singleplayer/server difference.
I was told that Ethereal was for V7 Maps when I asked the question here...

http://www.reddit.com/r/Minetest/commen ... eneration/

So its for V6 then? I guess that may be the issue.

**EDIT** I just checked the README for Ethereal and it says its for v7 Mapgen, so you are wrong about it being for v6.

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
Posts: 2880
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: Mobs not spawning correctly on Server

by TenPlus1 » Post

Mobs redo works with default v6 maps as well as v7 ethereal maps, although with ethereal mobs spawn in specific biomes...

Which mobs are you having trouble with ?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 9 guests