English Wikipedia article for Minetest

Worldblender

In-game: Worldblender

English Wikipedia article for Minetest

by Worldblender » Thu Jul 02, 2015 01:46

Hi everyone, it's my first time here on the forums, after having to get my name corrected.

Anyways, before getting my account, I saw something glaring. Despite some of the other Wikipedia websites having an article about this game (listed below),
the English Wikipedia does not (the article is currently available as a draft), and that could be seen by some people as an embarrassment. Why?
According to the draft's submission, the article was declined to be turned into a real article because
This submission's references do not adequately show the subject's notability ... Please improve the submission's referencing, so that the information is verifiable, and there is clear evidence of why the subject is notable and worthy of inclusion in an encyclopedia.

Additionally, from the reviewer of the draft:
There's no point in adding reviews from random bloggers, they'll get removed anyway.

So what can be done to remedy this situation? Add more references to the article, secondary ones preferred. They should be ones independent of the Minetest project, or have no affiliation with it. If more such sources exist, peer-reviewed publications, monographs, and textbooks are preferred when finding reliable sources, instead of the blog-based reviews.

Now I do have an account under the name of "Globalearth", so I can also help out if I am given where to look for sources. I see potential for this game to become more mainstream, and a well-crafted Wikipedia article only helps it become more notable. I would hate to see this game become history with wasted potential.

Gael de Sailly

GitHub: Gael-de-Sailly
IRC: Gael-de-Sailly
In-game: Gael-de-Sailly

Re: English Wikipedia article for Minetest

by Gael de Sailly » Thu Jul 02, 2015 05:16

People say that the game is not enough popular yet.