What's the difference between Freeminer & Minetest?

Post Reply
Minerz
Member
Posts: 121
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2015 13:55
GitHub: Minerz
IRC: Minerz
In-game: MinerMan

What's the difference between Freeminer & Minetest?

by Minerz » Post

They look the exact same to me. So, what's the difference? I'd like to know.

User avatar
Don
Member
Posts: 1643
Joined: Sat May 17, 2014 18:40
GitHub: DonBatman
IRC: Batman
In-game: Batman

Re: What's the difference between Freeminer & Minetest?

by Don » Post

A very simple explanation is that minetest is focused on making a solid engine and freeminer is focused on game play.
Of course there is more to it but that is the basic difference.
Many of my mods are now a part of Minetest-mods. A place where you know they are maintained!

A list of my mods can be found here

Minerz
Member
Posts: 121
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2015 13:55
GitHub: Minerz
IRC: Minerz
In-game: MinerMan

Re: What's the difference between Freeminer & Minetest?

by Minerz » Post

Ok, Thankyou, Don! So does Freeminer have mobs? Sorry for all the questions, but I'm curious :)

Dragonop
Member
Posts: 1194
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2012 12:59
GitHub: Dragonop
IRC: Dragonop
In-game: Dragonop
Location: Argentina

Re: What's the difference between Freeminer & Minetest?

by Dragonop » Post


Minerz
Member
Posts: 121
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2015 13:55
GitHub: Minerz
IRC: Minerz
In-game: MinerMan

Re: What's the difference between Freeminer & Minetest?

by Minerz » Post

Ah-hah! The Freeminer website.

User avatar
Hybrid Dog
Member
Posts: 2771
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 12:46
GitHub: HybridDog

Re: What's the difference between Freeminer & Minetest?

by Hybrid Dog » Post

https://github.com/freeminer/freeminer/ ... ANGELOG.md
freeminer has entity shadows which can be enabled

‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪

Minerz
Member
Posts: 121
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2015 13:55
GitHub: Minerz
IRC: Minerz
In-game: MinerMan

Re: What's the difference between Freeminer & Minetest?

by Minerz » Post

Hybrid Dog wrote:https://github.com/freeminer/freeminer/ ... ANGELOG.md
freeminer has entity shadows which can be enabled
Man, that's honestly really cool! It's like Minetest with different things added.

User avatar
cessna151
Member
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2015 20:36
In-game: cessna151
Location: Indiana, USA

Re: What's the difference between Freeminer & Minetest?

by cessna151 » Post

Freeminer does NOT work on windows XP. Minetest does :-)
---“For once you have tasted flight, you will forever walk the earth with your eyes turned skyward, for there you have been, and there you will always long to return.”---

Minerz
Member
Posts: 121
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2015 13:55
GitHub: Minerz
IRC: Minerz
In-game: MinerMan

Re: What's the difference between Freeminer & Minetest?

by Minerz » Post

cessna151 wrote:Freeminer does NOT work on windows XP. Minetest does :-)
I used to use Windows XP. I've switched to Windows 7 though. I thing Minetest is a lower-spec game, which is cool.

Dartmouth
Member
Posts: 121
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 14:39

Re: What's the difference between Freeminer & Minetest?

by Dartmouth » Post

Freeminer also seems to depend on some weird library that I can't find for my distro, so I have never tried it because it won't compile.

Minerz
Member
Posts: 121
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2015 13:55
GitHub: Minerz
IRC: Minerz
In-game: MinerMan

Re: What's the difference between Freeminer & Minetest?

by Minerz » Post

Dartmouth wrote:Freeminer also seems to depend on some weird library that I can't find for my distro, so I have never tried it because it won't compile.
Really? For me, Freeminer is laggy as hell.

User avatar
kaadmy
Member
Posts: 706
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2015 23:07
GitHub: kaadmy
IRC: KaadmY
In-game: KaadmY kaadmy NeD

Re: What's the difference between Freeminer & Minetest?

by kaadmy » Post

Dartmouth wrote:Freeminer also seems to depend on some weird library that I can't find for my distro, so I have never tried it because it won't compile.
Same.
Never paint white stripes on roads near Zebra crossings.

Pixture

User avatar
Hybrid Dog
Member
Posts: 2771
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 12:46
GitHub: HybridDog

Re: What's the difference between Freeminer & Minetest?

by Hybrid Dog » Post

Minerz wrote:
Dartmouth wrote:Freeminer also seems to depend on some weird library that I can't find for my distro, so I have never tried it because it won't compile.
Really? For me, Freeminer is laggy as hell.
Did you try a new version and enable vbo?

‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪

Minerz
Member
Posts: 121
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2015 13:55
GitHub: Minerz
IRC: Minerz
In-game: MinerMan

Re: What's the difference between Freeminer & Minetest?

by Minerz » Post

Hybrid Dog wrote:
Minerz wrote:
Dartmouth wrote:Freeminer also seems to depend on some weird library that I can't find for my distro, so I have never tried it because it won't compile.
Really? For me, Freeminer is laggy as hell.
Did you try a new version and enable vbo?
Hmmmmm. (Not the developer) What is the VBO again? I forgot.

User avatar
kaadmy
Member
Posts: 706
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2015 23:07
GitHub: kaadmy
IRC: KaadmY
In-game: KaadmY kaadmy NeD

Re: What's the difference between Freeminer & Minetest?

by kaadmy » Post

Minerz wrote:
Hybrid Dog wrote:[...]
Did you try a new version and enable vbo?
Hmmmmm. (Not the developer) What is the VBO again? I forgot.
Correct me if i'm wrong, but I think it's Vertex Buffer Object.
Never paint white stripes on roads near Zebra crossings.

Pixture

Minerz
Member
Posts: 121
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2015 13:55
GitHub: Minerz
IRC: Minerz
In-game: MinerMan

Re: What's the difference between Freeminer & Minetest?

by Minerz » Post

kaadmy wrote:
Minerz wrote:
Hybrid Dog wrote:[...]
Did you try a new version and enable vbo?
Hmmmmm. (Not the developer) What is the VBO again? I forgot.
Correct me if i'm wrong, but I think it's Vertex Buffer Object.
Yup. You're right! I remembered a few minutes after I posted the question. :)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: AiTechEye and 6 guests