Minetest on ancient hardware

Post Reply
User avatar
AccidentallyRhine
Member
Posts: 232
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2015 05:43

Minetest on ancient hardware

by AccidentallyRhine » Post

You guys weren't kidding when you said Minetest supports old hardware. I just fired up 0.4.10 on a nineties era desktop system. It ran, barely, but it works. The machine in question:

450Mhz Pentium III Katmai
256MB PC133 SDRAM
GeForce3 TI 200
30GB PATA HDD
lubuntu

I'm impressed at development's devotion to legacy support. Kudos.

https://youtu.be/bf_TsJ2lKME

Dartmouth
Member
Posts: 121
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 14:39

Re: Minetest on ancient hardware

by Dartmouth » Post

I thought I was pushing it when I ran MT 0.4.11 and .12 on my Precision M60 laptop from 2003 with the specs below :P

1.6GHz Pentium M
2GB SDRAM 266MHz
NVIDIA Quadro FX Go700, 128MB DDR SDRAM
openSUSE 12.3

Got decent fps (30+) with low viewing range and no shaders, it was basically the only 3D game that ran on it.

User avatar
MineYoshi
Member
Posts: 5373
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 13:20
Contact:

Re: Minetest on ancient hardware

by MineYoshi » Post

i have a compaq

with intel processor family series.

512 MB of ram

And the most high speed is 5 fps
Oi

User avatar
kaadmy
Member
Posts: 706
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2015 23:07
GitHub: kaadmy
IRC: KaadmY
In-game: KaadmY kaadmy NeD

Re: Minetest on ancient hardware

by kaadmy » Post

Dartmouth wrote:I thought I was pushing it when I ran MT 0.4.11 and .12 on my Precision M60 laptop from 2003
[...]
it was basically the only 3D game that ran on it.
Try DooM shareware :}
Never paint white stripes on roads near Zebra crossings.

Pixture

Dartmouth
Member
Posts: 121
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 14:39

Re: Minetest on ancient hardware

by Dartmouth » Post

kaadmy wrote:
Dartmouth wrote:I thought I was pushing it when I ran MT 0.4.11 and .12 on my Precision M60 laptop from 2003
[...]
it was basically the only 3D game that ran on it.
Try DooM shareware :}
Don't have the laptop myself anymore, replaced it with a Precision M6400 monster :D
What's weird is that 0ad usually gets over 100 FPS, while MT hardly ever goes over 50… There must be some severe bottlenecks somewhere in MT…
But 0AD didn't run at all (<1 fps) on the M60, while MT ran nicely.

User avatar
kaadmy
Member
Posts: 706
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2015 23:07
GitHub: kaadmy
IRC: KaadmY
In-game: KaadmY kaadmy NeD

Re: Minetest on ancient hardware

by kaadmy » Post

Minetest is very CPU intensive, while 0AD probably uses more GPU intensive stuff, so it would run much faster on a good graphics card, while MT stays about the same.
Never paint white stripes on roads near Zebra crossings.

Pixture

Dartmouth
Member
Posts: 121
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 14:39

Re: Minetest on ancient hardware

by Dartmouth » Post

kaadmy wrote:Minetest is very CPU intensive, while 0AD probably uses more GPU intensive stuff, so it would run much faster on a good graphics card, while MT stays about the same.
Probably, although there is a lot more stuff going on in a 0AD game (pathfinding, AI, etc.) than in a singleplayer MT game (even when the map is already generated and nothing is happening). But 0AD has been developed for a lot longer.

User avatar
swordpaint12
Member
Posts: 191
Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2015 00:50
In-game: [swordpaint12][Belching_Balladeer]
Location: Foobass, isle of Atlantis, castle of Bardvendelle

Re: Minetest on ancient hardware

by swordpaint12 » Post

How ancient? It doesn't work on an old mini mac. :-(
God's not dead; remember that!
Yay for MT! No MC here!
I am a human. I'm younger than 100 years old.
I've been playing Minetest since December 2014.

I'm amazed that I haven't been on here in so long! My latest minetest accomplishment was mining by hand (well, as close as you can get in a computer game) a circle 30 blocks in diameter. It took forever but it's pretty cool.

User avatar
AccidentallyRhine
Member
Posts: 232
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2015 05:43

Re: Minetest on ancient hardware

by AccidentallyRhine » Post

A quick look at CPUWorld will tell us that PIII Katmai processors were introduced in 1999. Other hardware in the franken system I threw together may be older or newer.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests