Page 1 of 1

What kind of GPU is needed for Minetest?

Posted: Fri Jun 17, 2016 08:57
by burli
I know, that the GPU is not so important for Minetest. The CPU is much more important.

But lets assume that I have a fast CPU that is able to run Minetest with a view range of 200 and lots of trees (jungle) and grass at 60 fps. What kind of GPU and how many RAM is necessary to keep up?


edit: with all gfx settings high (fancy leaves, filter...)

Re: What kind of GPU is needed for Minetest?

Posted: Fri Jun 17, 2016 10:15
by rubenwardy
Minetest runs fine on an integrated Intel chip. The cpu is the most limiting thing. However, if your gpu has limited bandwidth you could see problems.

I have i5-5200u and Intel HD Graphics 5500 minetest runs well for me on max settings

Re: What kind of GPU is needed for Minetest?

Posted: Fri Jun 17, 2016 10:29
by burli
Well, I have 2 GPUs here. A GT730 and a GTX750 and I can see significant differences. In the same scene the GTX750 runs with around 20fps, the GT730 drops to 5 fps.

For this test I just replaced the GFX card, so eveything else is the same

Re: What kind of GPU is needed for Minetest?

Posted: Fri Jun 17, 2016 11:20
by rubenwardy
I have a ASUS x555LAB Laptop - i5-5200U @ 2.5GHz, 8GB RAM, HD Graphics 5500.

Minetest runs at 60FPS whilst looking into a forest with a view range of 100. Default settings. Almost 1920x1080.

With bump mapping, tone mapping, normal mapping, parallax occlusion, waving water/leaves/plants, bilinear filter, x2 anti-aliasing I get 40-45 FPS.

With bump mapping, tone mapping, normal mapping, parallax occlusion, waving water/leaves/plants, trilinear filter, mipmap + ansio filter, x8 anti-aliasing I get 20FPS.

Image

Re: What kind of GPU is needed for Minetest?

Posted: Fri Jun 17, 2016 11:41
by TumeniNodes
The HUD seems to eat up the frame rate as well.

Re: What kind of GPU is needed for Minetest?

Posted: Fri Jun 17, 2016 12:00
by burli
rubenwardy wrote: Minetest runs at 60FPS whilst looking into a forest with a view range of 100. Default settings. Almost 1920x1080.
Well, a view range of 100 is not bad, but I would like to have more. It doesn't looks nice if relatively near things disappear in the fog

Image


But I'm impressed how good the intel GPU is. Can comped with my GT730

Re: What kind of GPU is needed for Minetest?

Posted: Fri Jun 17, 2016 16:59
by Calinou
Are you on Windows? Minetest's performance on Windows has been quite lower than on GNU/Linux lately.

Re: What kind of GPU is needed for Minetest?

Posted: Fri Jun 17, 2016 17:13
by burli
Calinou wrote:Are you on Windows? Minetest's performance on Windows has been quite lower than on GNU/Linux lately.
No, I closed all windows nearly 10 years ago ;-)

Re: What kind of GPU is needed for Minetest?

Posted: Fri Jun 17, 2016 17:58
by Echoes91
Calinou wrote:Are you on Windows? Minetest's performance on Windows has been quite lower than on GNU/Linux lately.
That's interesting, i always supposed that my poorly supported (also on Win7) AMD's proprietary drivers were the issue, while everything runs amazingly smooth in full HD with mesa drivers.

Re: What kind of GPU is needed for Minetest?

Posted: Fri Jun 17, 2016 18:47
by kaadmy
The HUD being slow is a problem with slower graphics cards since 0.4.14, and most git versions between 0.4.13-14.
There's a change in 0.4.14 that draws the HUD items with meshes instead of precached inventory images, which eats up performance quickly.

Re: What kind of GPU is needed for Minetest?

Posted: Sat Jun 18, 2016 01:40
by MykieDoesStuff
My Intel integrated GPU 940g ran this game over 30+ FPS.....

You should be fine with any GPU newer than that...

Re: What kind of GPU is needed for Minetest?

Posted: Mon Jul 18, 2016 22:25
by DI3HARD139
I think it would entirely depend on the texture pack tbh. I run HDX-256 and it swallows 4-5GB (Probably more given it uses roughly 10GB of my page file) or vRAM and this is at 60 for the viewing range on an EVGA GTX660 SC 3G my fps generally range between 30-187 depending on what im facing and the mods on the server.