Evolution of a Noob

ptvirgo
GitHub: ptvirgo
In-game: Mox Wos

Evolution of a Noob

by ptvirgo » Post

# 01: Community Arts and Garden

I'm new to Minetest; started playing in April. It has only been a few weeks since I started playing multi-player.

The first time I built something on a multi-player server, I wanted friendly neighbors that I could share stuff with. I found an empty area within walking distance of some really cool builds and put up a "Community art and Garden." I gave it a new mine-shaft, some chests with building materials, and a sign saying people could take what they want and leave what they didn't.

Pretty soon the place got overrun by kids a good bit younger than I expected. They took the cool stuff out of the chests, built right in the "yard" I'd planned for the community center, and didn't wear proper safety equipment when they went down in the mines. The "Community art and Garden" building became a tiny afterthought stuck in the corner. I can almost imagine having a "get off my lawn" moment.

But not really.

The stuff the kids built around that area was much cooler than my little cobblestone box-house, and I could have protected the "lawn" if I'd been serious about it. The kids share a lot more directly. When they want something they just say so, giving and getting without letting perfectly good materials sit idly in a chest.

So that turned out fun, and I've learned a little about welcoming spaces and sharing with my neighbors.
Attachments
evo-01.jpg
evo-01.jpg (137.69 KiB) Viewed 402 times
{-| Visiting Minetest worlds and making up stories: www.codeforyendor.xyz -}

ptvirgo

Re: Evolution of a Noob

by ptvirgo » Post

# 02: My house. Mine.