Page 1 of 1

World size

Posted: Wed Nov 16, 2016 18:12
by LouisDB
Hi,

I was wondering why the world size is 62000? Why this number?
Is it possible to change it? Is it hardcoded or is there some kind of limit?

Re: World size

Posted: Wed Nov 16, 2016 19:06
by Krock
It comes from the fact that node positions are sent and handled as 16-bit numbers. This means we could have a world that's about 65500^3 nodes big. The world generator stops some kilometers earlier to prevent occasional bugs due to overflows etc.
This topic might be interesting for you: Infinite world size

Re: World size

Posted: Thu Nov 17, 2016 11:48
by LouisDB
I knew it was something like that but 62000 seems odd.
Thanks :)

Re: World size

Posted: Thu Nov 17, 2016 12:37
by Wuzzy
The world is a cube of side length 61840. Coordinates go from −30912 to 30927 in any direction.

The side length is a multiple of 80, an important number in Minetest.

773 × 80 = 61840

80 is the side length of a Mapchunk. A Mapchunk is a cube of 80×80×80 blocks which is a piece of the world which is generated by the map generator at once. (80 in turn is a multiple of 16, and 16 is the side length of a MapBlock, a cube which can be loaded at once. This means 5×5×5 MapBlocks neatly fit into a Mapchunk. But back to topic.)
This explains why the world side length is a multiple of 80 but it doesn't explain where the 773 comes from, however. This seems like a fairly odd number.

Maybe you need to ask in the Minetest chatroom to find out more.

And yes, you can change the size of the world. But it is only possible to make it smaller.
Edit the advanced configuration setting “map_generation_limit”. Explanation:
# Where the map generator stops.
# Please note:
# - Limited to 31000 (setting above has no effect)
# - The map generator works in groups of 80x80x80 nodes (5x5x5 MapBlocks).
# - Those groups have an offset of -32, -32 nodes from the origin.
# - Only groups which are within the map_generation_limit are generated
# type: int min: 0 max: 31000
I do not recommend using this setting if you're not an experienced user. It it fairly odd to use.

Re: World size

Posted: Thu Nov 17, 2016 19:31
by LouisDB
Somewhat related question :
When implementing a plot manager, is it better to align with MapChunk or MapBlock coordinates?

Re: World size

Posted: Thu Nov 17, 2016 20:05
by sfan5
MapChunks are only used during map generation and don't really matter.
If you absolutely want to align to something I suggest using MapBlocks.

Re: World size

Posted: Sun Nov 20, 2016 16:47
by Andrey01
LouisDB wrote:Hi,

I was wondering why the world size is 62000? Why this number?
Is it possible to change it? Is it hardcoded or is there some kind of limit?
I think what map size much more than you wrote.For example i longly dug under land and i dug possible 100000 blocks!

Re: World size

Posted: Sun Nov 20, 2016 17:49
by firefox
Andrey01 wrote:
LouisDB wrote:Hi,

I was wondering why the world size is 62000? Why this number?
Is it possible to change it? Is it hardcoded or is there some kind of limit?
I think what map size much more than you wrote.For example i longly dug under land and i dug possible 100000 blocks!
press F5 to display debug info and see your coordinates. the middle number is depth.
at -31000 there should be an "invisible wall" with nothing below it, so you can see the sky.
the same applies the "edge of the world" on the surface.

maybe you went down to 10.000, not 100.000 :P