What's the earliest way to compile minetest on Windows 10?

User avatar
toby109tt
Member
 
Posts: 648
Joined: Sun May 29, 2016 23:42
Location: Belgium menen
GitHub: tobyplowy
In-game: Toby109tt

What's the earliest way to compile minetest on Windows 10?

by toby109tt » Tue Jan 02, 2018 16:43

I think I have posted this in the correct place

So what I need to know is how can I compile the minetest 0.5.0 source code on Windows 10 it should be the same way as on windows 7

What I'm looking for is the earliest (least amount of staps) way to do it
Also knowing how to get a 32 bit and 64 bit version wuld be amazing

Also if you are wondering why I didn't just Google it well I did I just can't find anything useful
Or anything that I can understand

Also I know there's builds already out there but I whant to do it myself :)
If you can help me please let me know

Also keep in mind that I'm not very good at this stuff so please explain very clearly
Explain every button I have to press and every word I have to type

thank you in advance :)
i'm the co-dev and lead artist of farlands
 

User avatar
addi
Member
 
Posts: 663
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 03:16
Location: Black-Forest, Germany
GitHub: adrido
 

User avatar
toby109tt
Member
 
Posts: 648
Joined: Sun May 29, 2016 23:42
Location: Belgium menen
GitHub: tobyplowy
In-game: Toby109tt

Re: What's the earliest way to compile minetest on Windows 1

by toby109tt » Tue Jan 02, 2018 20:52

addi wrote:https://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?f=14&t=18558


Ok thanks for trying but I can't use that
Also keep in mind that I'm not very good at this stuff so please explain very clearly
Explain every button I have to press and every word I have to type

I ment the above statement literally

make sure git is added to path


What is git (is it the folder that the installer makes?)
And what is path is that my c drive?

make sure cmake is added to path

So this means I have to install cmake the program in my path folder correct?
Again what is path

make sure to install the C++ workload for Desktop


C++ workload?
All I can see is...
visual studio ide
visual studio team Services
visual studio code
visual studio app center

Copy both files into a new empty folder eg. "Minetest"

Those are the bat files
These ones https://bitbucket.org/adrido/minetest-msvc-buildbot/src
Correct?

Open "x86 Native Tools Command Prompt for VS 2017" or the x64 variant of it, navigate to the folder where the files are, and execute the init.bat script.


So how do I open the native tools command prompt?
Also the init.bat from the bucket link correct?

In the prompt execute the make script like "make.bat x86" if you have opened the x64 command prompt, run "make.bat x64"


So I type make.bat and than the amount of bit can I also do 32 bit?

Wuld there be a video going through the whole process?
i'm the co-dev and lead artist of farlands
 

User avatar
addi
Member
 
Posts: 663
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 03:16
Location: Black-Forest, Germany
GitHub: adrido

Re: What's the earliest way to compile minetest on Windows 1

by addi » Thu Jan 04, 2018 09:07

toby109tt wrote:What is git (is it the folder that the installer makes?)
And what is path is that my c drive?


Git is a Version control system and Source code management system it is used by Minetest and required by the script to download the dependencies.
The easiest way to install is using it within the Visual Studio installer. It automatically adds it to the path environment variable and it integrates well in Visual Studio and other programs.

If you are in the Visual Studio Ide Setup choose "single components" and select "Git for Windows"
single_components.PNG
(23.88 KiB) Not downloaded yet


toby109tt wrote:So this means I have to install cmake the program in my path folder correct?
Again what is path

Install Cmake like other programs always use default options and just click next.
If you run the Cmake Installer it will ask you whether Cmake should added to Path. You have the options "No", "Yes, just for me", "Yes, for all Users". Use the Option "just for me" if other persons using your computer, if you are the single one use "For all users".
Note: Path is a environment variable and not the path where you install programs to. In the Path variable are stored different Paths where some executables can be found such as explorer.exe or cmd.exe. If a program is added to PATH it is accessible by a bat script.

toby109tt wrote:C++ workload?
All I can see is...
visual studio ide

Visual Studio IDE is the right thing. Visual Studio Code is a great mini IDE for developing Minetest mods using Lua.
If you install it, it will ask you for install different Workloads. Choose the "Desktop Development C++"
single_components.PNG
(23.88 KiB) Not downloaded yet

toby109tt wrote:So how do I open the native tools command prompt?
Also the init.bat from the bucket link correct?

You will find it in your Start menu --> Programs"
<sarcasm>No, you have to write your own</sarcasm> Yes, of course.


toby109tt wrote:So I type make.bat and than the amount of bit can I also do 32 bit?

Wuld there be a video going through the whole process?

type "make.bat x86" [ENTER] for 32 bit build
type "make.bat x64" [ENTER] for 64 bit build

I does not have much time, but maybe Ill create a video this evening.
If you have further questions just ask ill help if I get the time. But some of you questions could simply be answered by using Wikipedia or Google.
Attachments
workloads.PNG
(32 KiB) Not downloaded yet
 

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
 
Posts: 7494
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
Location: OMICRON
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO

Re: What's the earliest way to compile minetest on Windows 1

by azekill_DIABLO » Sun Mar 04, 2018 16:02

I know It may be offtopic (but you are used to it with me anyway) but I tried this way and it seems my computer's internal path for programs is broken. No compiler can work properly... An idea if I done something wrong?
 

hajo
Member
 
Posts: 601
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2016 10:45
Location: DE

Re: What's the earliest way to compile minetest on Windows 1

by hajo » Sun Mar 04, 2018 17:47

azekill_DIABLO wrote:it seems my computer's internal path for programs is broken

open console, type command 'set', show its output here
 

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
 
Posts: 7494
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
Location: OMICRON
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO

Re: What's the earliest way to compile minetest on Windows 1

by azekill_DIABLO » Mon Mar 05, 2018 11:05

Code: Select all
ALLUSERSPROFILE=C:\ProgramData
APPDATA=C:\Users\azekill_DIABLO\AppData\Roaming
CommonProgramFiles=C:\Program Files\Common Files
CommonProgramFiles(x86)=C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files
CommonProgramW6432=C:\Program Files\Common Files
COMPUTERNAME=PATATE55
ComSpec=C:\WINDOWS\system32\cmd.exe
HAXEPATH=C:\HaxeToolkit\haxe\
HOMEDRIVE=C:
HOMEPATH=\Users\azekill_DIABLO
LOCALAPPDATA=C:\Users\azekill_DIABLO\AppData\Local
LOGONSERVER=\\PATATE55
NEKO_INSTPATH=C:\HaxeToolkit\neko
NUMBER_OF_PROCESSORS=4
OneDrive=C:\Users\azekill_DIABLO\OneDrive
OS=Windows_NT
Path=C:\Python27\;C:\Python27\Scripts;C:\WINDOWS\system32;C:\WINDOWS;C:\WINDOWS\System32\Wbem;C:\WINDOWS\System32\WindowsPowerShell\v1.0\;C:\HaxeToolkit\haxe\;C:\HaxeToolkit\neko;C:\Program Files (x86)\NVIDIA Corporation\PhysX\Common;C:\Program Files (x86)\GtkSharp\2.12\bin;F:\tmp\Git\cmd;C:\Program Files (x86)\Windows Live\Shared;F:\Engine\MinGw Compiler\bin;C:\TDM-GCC-64\bin;C:\Program Files\Calibre2\;C:\WINDOWS\system32;C:\WINDOWS;C:\WINDOWS\System32\Wbem;C:\WINDOWS\System32\WindowsPowerShell\v1.0\;C:\Users\azekill_DIABLO\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs" ;F:\Cmake\bin;%USERPROFILE%\AppData\Local\Microsoft\WindowsApps;
PATHEXT=.COM;.EXE;.BAT;.CMD;.VBS;.VBE;.JS;.JSE;.WSF;.WSH;.MSC
PROCESSOR_ARCHITECTURE=AMD64
PROCESSOR_IDENTIFIER=Intel64 Family 6 Model 42 Stepping 7, GenuineIntel
PROCESSOR_LEVEL=6
PROCESSOR_REVISION=2a07
ProgramData=C:\ProgramData
ProgramFiles=C:\Program Files
ProgramFiles(x86)=C:\Program Files (x86)
ProgramW6432=C:\Program Files
PROMPT=$P$G
PSModulePath=C:\Program Files\WindowsPowerShell\Modules;C:\WINDOWS\system32\WindowsPowerShell\v1.0\Modules
PUBLIC=C:\Users\Public
SESSIONNAME=Console
SiliconStudioXenkoDir=F:\DEV GAME\Xenko\
SystemDrive=C:
SystemRoot=C:\WINDOWS
TEMP=C:\Users\AZEKIL~1\AppData\Local\Temp
TMP=C:\Users\AZEKIL~1\AppData\Local\Temp
USERDOMAIN=PATATE55
USERDOMAIN_ROAMINGPROFILE=PATATE55
USERNAME=azekill_DIABLO
USERPROFILE=C:\Users\azekill_DIABLO
VS140COMNTOOLS=C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 14.0\Common7\Tools\
windir=C:\WINDOWS
 


Return to General Discussion



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 28 guests