Pre-generating part of a map

nif
New member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2018 12:46
In-game: nif

Pre-generating part of a map

by nif » Sun Apr 29, 2018 01:44

hi
how can i pre-generate part of a map (say rect 4096x4096 with zero in the center or some radius over the center)
without boring flying over the whole part manually?
especially if has used heavy mods for biomes, this ability is very needed.
 

zing269
Member
 
Posts: 89
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2016 19:10

Re: Pre-generating part of a map

by zing269 » Sun Apr 29, 2018 04:26

create a mod with this line:
Code: Select all
minetest.emerge_area ({x=2048,y=0,z=2048},{x=-2048,y=128,z=-2048})


adjust the y values to suit your purpose
 

User avatar
Krock
Developer
 
Posts: 4412
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
Location: Switzerland
GitHub: SmallJoker

Re: Pre-generating part of a map

by Krock » Sun Apr 29, 2018 09:38

Or use the chat command " /emergeblocks (-2048, 0, -2048) (2048, 128, 2048) ". Beware, this might take a while, so I recommend generating smaller map parts first to check whether it works as desired.
Look, I programmed a bug for you. >> Mod Search Engine << - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>
 

twoelk
Member
 
Posts: 1333
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2013 16:19
Location: northern Germany
GitHub: twoelk
IRC: twoelk
In-game: twoelk

Re: Pre-generating part of a map

by twoelk » Sun Apr 29, 2018 11:28

not sure if they still work but there are mods that let a bot fly around in a defined pattern such as:

explore_map by echo and
os_explore by oleastre

also you might get hold of the code that powered the luigi-bots and derivats somewhere but beware that might be dangerous terrain out there and you might get banned on sight - so please don't use such devices on other people servers.
 

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
 
Posts: 5887
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
Location: United Kingdom
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy

Re: Pre-generating part of a map

by rubenwardy » Sun Apr 29, 2018 11:48

Those mods probably shouldn't be used - they're inefficient. They were written before emergearea was added
 

nif
New member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2018 12:46
In-game: nif

Re: Pre-generating part of a map

by nif » Sun Apr 29, 2018 14:13

its awesome!
both solutions is what i need

Code: Select all
/emergeblocks (-512,0,-512) (512,64,512)

its a great command, even with realtime statistics of generating process

and
Code: Select all
minetest.register_chatcommand("gen1", {
   params = "",
   description = "",
   func = function()
      minetest.emerge_area ({x=512,y=0,z=512},{x=-512,y=64,z=-512})
   end,
})

is nice for automatisation, but what happens may be seen only over cpu loading and change size of map.sqlite file

this issue was a big pain in the ass :)
thanks a lot guys!
 

User avatar
DrFrankenstone
Member
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 05:36
Location: Melbourne, Australia
GitHub: treer

Re: Pre-generating part of a map

by DrFrankenstone » Mon Apr 30, 2018 08:54

hmmm, in a fresh v7 map I could emergeblocks for 5km in each direction at floatlands altitude, then create a Carpathian game and replace its sqlite map file with the one containing floatlands -> a Carpathian land with floatlands!
 

michael314
Member
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2018 03:39

Re: Pre-generating part of a map

by michael314 » Sat Nov 24, 2018 00:34

When I use this command and specify a non-trivial area I get assertion failures and crashes. For instance, when I ran this:

Code: Select all
/emergeblocks (-2048, 0, -1500) (2048, 128, -1000)

minetest quit shortly after with this message:

Code: Select all
minetest: /build/minetest-oSA5qg/minetest-0.4.17.1/src/emerge.cpp:391: bool EmergeManager::popBlockEmergeData(v3s16, BlockEmergeData*): Assertion `count_peer != 0' failed.

If I shrink the z difference down to 300 it works.
 

User avatar
texmex
Member
 
Posts: 1620
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 21:08
GitHub: tacotexmex
In-game: texmex

Re: Pre-generating part of a map

by texmex » Sat Nov 24, 2018 09:41

michael314 wrote:When I use this command and specify a non-trivial area I get assertion failures and crashes. For instance, when I ran this:

Code: Select all
/emergeblocks (-2048, 0, -1500) (2048, 128, -1000)

minetest quit shortly after with this message:

Code: Select all
minetest: /build/minetest-oSA5qg/minetest-0.4.17.1/src/emerge.cpp:391: bool EmergeManager::popBlockEmergeData(v3s16, BlockEmergeData*): Assertion `count_peer != 0' failed.

If I shrink the z difference down to 300 it works.


Have you reported it in https://github.com/minetest/minetest ?
 


Return to General Discussion



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests