useing minetest

jimbo160
Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2019 20:28
In-game: jimbo

useing minetest

by jimbo160 » Post

Sorry, but this ole man cannot figure out how to use this program. I have a lot of problems with my eyes, and reading all this presents a problem for me, but i would like to learn. I play with my grandsons Minecraft, and get around ok, but i see things in Minetest that look good, but i do not get started very well.
Jimbo

jimbo160
Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2019 20:28
In-game: jimbo

Re: useing minetest

by jimbo160 » Post

how do i fly?

jimbo160
Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2019 20:28
In-game: jimbo

Re: useing minetest

by jimbo160 » Post

when i go to the map, the squares at the bottom thar show inventory items, are only half showing. bottom of screen goes thru center of square,

Eran
Member
Posts: 120
Joined: Fri May 03, 2019 16:46

Re: useing minetest

by Eran » Post

jimbo160 wrote:how do i fly?
In the game open chat and type /grantme fly. Then press K to start (or stop) flying. You can change the key in the control settings.
jimbo160 wrote:when i go to the map, the squares at the bottom thar show inventory items, are only half showing. bottom of screen goes thru center of square,
This sounds like the window isn't maximized. How you maximize it depends on your system, but on many systems it's a button next to the one that closes a window.

jimbo160
Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2019 20:28
In-game: jimbo

Re: useing minetest

by jimbo160 » Post

mmmmmm, when i click k, there is a k that goes up at the end of what i type. it does nothing. i know it is me, so, i will continue to work with this.

jimbo160
Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2019 20:28
In-game: jimbo

Re: useing minetest

by jimbo160 » Post

manage to fly, but now, i need to learn where, and how to get maps, mods.i must continue to work on the sizing.

jimbo160
Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2019 20:28
In-game: jimbo

Re: useing minetest

by jimbo160 » Post

how do i get to my mintest folder that show mods, worlds, etc/

Eran
Member
Posts: 120
Joined: Fri May 03, 2019 16:46

Re: useing minetest

by Eran » Post

jimbo160 wrote:how do i get to my mintest folder that show mods, worlds, etc/
What system are you on (windows, linux, mac?) and how did you install minetest?

jimbo160
Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2019 20:28
In-game: jimbo

Re: useing minetest

by jimbo160 » Post

I am using windows 10 and i believe i got it from the Minetest site.

Eran
Member
Posts: 120
Joined: Fri May 03, 2019 16:46

Re: useing minetest

by Eran » Post

Then you'll likely have downloaded and unzipped a zip file. The mods/games/worlds folders should be whereever you unzipped it.

jimbo160
Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2019 20:28
In-game: jimbo

Re: useing minetest

by jimbo160 » Post

thank you. I will work on that. I downloaded a mod..,..viewtopic.php?f=11&t=9196.... would ypu ne able to explain how i get it installed? I do not understand explanation of installing mods.

Eran
Member
Posts: 120
Joined: Fri May 03, 2019 16:46

Re: useing minetest

by Eran » Post

In general it's like this:
Open the file with 7zip. If there is a single folder inside, put it into your mods folder. You might have to rename it to the mod's name.
Then you open up minetest and go to the world selection screen. Under the world list there is a 'Configure' button. When you click it, you get to a menu where you can enable and disable mods for the world that is currently selected.

jimbo160
Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2019 20:28
In-game: jimbo

Re: useing minetest

by jimbo160 » Post

going to trynthis, but may i ask that my downloaded zip file is in my downloads. do i open the file from there, or do i put somewhere , then open?

Eran
Member
Posts: 120
Joined: Fri May 03, 2019 16:46

Re: useing minetest

by Eran » Post

you don't have to move the zip file, what's important is where the files inside go

jimbo160
Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2019 20:28
In-game: jimbo

Re: useing minetest

by jimbo160 » Post

i triedm but not working., it shows mods on my mod folders, but when i log on i see erros at thr top of the page, but i just cannot read. i will gyst keep looking,

jimbo160
Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2019 20:28
In-game: jimbo

Re: useing minetest

by jimbo160 » Post

bedtime now, and doing no good. i will start again sometime tomorrow.

Emerald
Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2019 02:41
IRC: Emerald2
In-game: Emerald2

Re: useing minetest

by Emerald » Post

I recommend you try installing mods through the Content tab of the Minetest client. You can click 'browse online content' to look at the available mods then click 'install' for whichever mod(s) you want. Enable them for your local game, and you should be good to go.

jimbo160
Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2019 20:28
In-game: jimbo

Re: useing minetest

by jimbo160 » Post

put another download in and i still get an error message. i cannot understand what it is telling me, only at the end of messge, it tells me to check debugg list.

Eran
Member
Posts: 120
Joined: Fri May 03, 2019 16:46

Re: useing minetest

by Eran » Post

Can you send screenshots of the error messages?
Also to read small text there should be a way to zoom in built into windows.

jimbo160
Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2019 20:28
In-game: jimbo

Re: useing minetest

by jimbo160 » Post

i do not know how to send screen shots, sorry.

jimbo160
Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2019 20:28
In-game: jimbo

Re: useing minetest

by jimbo160 » Post

Image

User avatar
TumeniNodes
Member
Posts: 2853
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 19:49
GitHub: TumeniNodes
IRC: tumeninodes
In-game: TumeniNodes
Location: in the dark recesses of the mind
Contact:

Re: useing minetest

by TumeniNodes » Post

Edit the file name by removing the "-master" part so the file reads as only dreambuilder_modpack

Minetest will not accept -
File names for mods will always use a _
remove everything from the - on
Ich mag keine grünen Eier und Schinken, ich mag sie nicht Sam I Am

jimbo160
Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2019 20:28
In-game: jimbo

Re: useing minetest

by jimbo160 » Post

sorry to be such a problem for you guys, but i cannot find a file name that has master in in.

User avatar
Stix
Member
Posts: 1385
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2017 14:19
IRC: nil
In-game: Stix [+alts]
Location: USA

Re: useing minetest

by Stix » Post

dreambuilder_modpack has a '-master' at the end of it according to your screenshot, change the folder name to remove the '-master' portion of it.
Hey, what can i say? I'm the bad guy.


Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests