Ideas for using MT for gamified scientical modelling

MisterBzr

Ideas for using MT for gamified scientical modelling

by MisterBzr » Sun Oct 06, 2019 14:07

I'm a science teacher and currently studying to obtain my master degree.
One of assignments is to make a gamified physics model.
I have around 40 hours to spend on making the model.

I would love to make a gamified model within a MT world.
The level of physics is secondary school level, so basic mechanics, electricity, optics.
The goal of the model is that students learn what happens when one of the parameters is changed (p.a. what happens with a falling object when there is (no) air resistance).
Another goal is that the model is challenging to play with.

One of my ideas is to launch a ball with a specific speed and mass and try to shoot it into a net or onto a landing platform. Another idea is to refract light with lenses in such a way that something gets lit.

I would love to gather some more ideas.

What would challenge you to do dive into a science model in MT?

Hans

Krock
Developer

GitHub: SmallJoker

Re: Ideas for using MT for gamified scientical modelling

by Krock » Sun Oct 06, 2019 14:38

Welcome to the Minetest forums!

Physics simulations are possible in Minetest, but only as long

1) the mapblocks in the shooting line are loaded -> else the ball will be suck, and continue movement after loading it again
2) the water physics are implemented manually -> objects (lua entities) do not know about fluid physics
3) the player does not move in water -> the engine calculation is not really based on real physics

Overall this would entirely be possible, but the active mapblock range needs to be increased - to 6 or even 8 depending on the distance of the experiment.
Also collision calculations aren't that accurate. Objects could get stuck inside nodes unless the shooting line is calculated using Raycast (example), to find out the exact position.