Help I have no .desktop

User avatar
HackerinPink
Member
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2019 19:36
Location: Somewhere in a 100% regular place.
In-game: Dudeman HackerinPink

Help I have no .desktop

by HackerinPink » Sun Nov 24, 2019 16:23

So recently I had to re-install 'Minetest-luk3yx-4' from the Software Store on my Ubuntu 19.04.
Upon downloading, I realized there is no .desktop file in either my '/usr/share/applications' and my '~/.local/share/applications

This is a problem!! (reasons are confidential because i'm mysterious or something..)
So I'm not sure if it's possible (from a technical view) for someone to lend their .desktop file.
So if anyone can, please do!

-HackerinPink
A Dude with power and Intellect.
 

User avatar
theFox
Member
 
Posts: 179
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2017 14:08
Location: Germany
GitHub: theFox6
In-game: theFox

Re: Help I have no .desktop

by theFox » Mon Nov 25, 2019 08:04

I suppose you can create it yourself...
I think the executable can be found at share/minetest/bin/minetest.
my mods and subgames (ง'̀-'́)ง
 

User avatar
luk3yx
Member
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2012 18:14
Location: Earth
GitHub: luk3yx
IRC: luk3yx
In-game: luk3yx

Re: Help I have no .desktop

by luk3yx » Mon Nov 25, 2019 09:43

HackerinPink wrote:So recently I had to re-install 'Minetest-luk3yx-4' from the Software Store on my Ubuntu 19.04.
Upon downloading, I realized there is no .desktop file in either my '/usr/share/applications' and my '~/.local/share/applications

This is a problem!! (reasons are confidential because i'm mysterious or something..)
So I'm not sure if it's possible (from a technical view) for someone to lend their .desktop file.
So if anyone can, please do!

-HackerinPink


Hello,

Snaps (apparently) store their .desktop files in /var/lib/snapd/desktop/applications, however files in this can and will be automatically modified/deleted when the snap gets updated/removed. If you want to modify the .desktop file you could copy it to ~/.local/share/applications, however be sure to change the Icon= line to /snap/minetest-luk3yx-4/current/... instead of /snap/minetest-luk3yx-4/<number>/....

You should probably be using a more recent version of Minetest (such as 5.1.0) unless you play on servers that use the older 0.4 protocol.
git_undo() { [ -e .git ] || return 1; local r; r=$(git remote get-url origin); cd ..; rm -rf "$OLDPWD"; git clone "$r" "$OLDPWD"; cd "$OLDPWD"; }
 

User avatar
Linuxdirk
Member
 
Posts: 2212
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 11:21
Location: Germany
In-game: Linuxdirk

Re: Help I have no .desktop

by Linuxdirk » Mon Nov 25, 2019 10:12

HackerinPink wrote:So recently I had to re-install 'Minetest-luk3yx-4' from the Software Store on my Ubuntu 19.04.

Why don't you use the official Minetest PPA from the developers?

stable release version: https://launchpad.net/~minetestdevs/+ar ... ntu/stable
daily builds of the dev version: https://launchpad.net/~minetestdevs/+ar ... ily-builds
 

User avatar
luk3yx
Member
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2012 18:14
Location: Earth
GitHub: luk3yx
IRC: luk3yx
In-game: luk3yx

Re: Help I have no .desktop

by luk3yx » Mon Nov 25, 2019 20:08

Linuxdirk wrote:
HackerinPink wrote:So recently I had to re-install 'Minetest-luk3yx-4' from the Software Store on my Ubuntu 19.04.

Why don't you use the official Minetest PPA from the developers?

stable release version: https://launchpad.net/~minetestdevs/+ar ... ntu/stable
daily builds of the dev version: https://launchpad.net/~minetestdevs/+ar ... ily-builds


I assume it is because they have to play on 0.4-compatible servers and the PPA has Minetest 5.1.0.
git_undo() { [ -e .git ] || return 1; local r; r=$(git remote get-url origin); cd ..; rm -rf "$OLDPWD"; git clone "$r" "$OLDPWD"; cd "$OLDPWD"; }
 


Return to General Discussion



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests