high network data use

Post Reply
User avatar
GayJesus
Member
Posts: 105
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2019 22:29

high network data use

by GayJesus » Post

I disable fancy stuff and reduced view to 20 but minetest uses nearly 1 MB of data a minute. Is this normal and what can I do to use less data on multiplayer?

User avatar
Krock
Developer
Posts: 4572
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
GitHub: SmallJoker
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: high network data use

by Krock » Post

1024 KB / 60s * 8(KB/kb) = ~136 kbps. This is clearly more data than a 56 kbps modem could process.

No client settings will reduce the network traffic. Change the server settings to update less mapblocks (disable mods), or move less entities (player limit, disable mobs mods).
Look, I programmed a bug for you. >> Mod Search Engine << - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>

User avatar
GayJesus
Member
Posts: 105
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2019 22:29

Re: high network data use

by GayJesus » Post

Krock wrote:1024 KB / 60s * 8(KB/kb) = ~136 kbps. This is clearly more data than a 56 kbps modem could process.

No client settings will reduce the network traffic. Change the server settings to update less mapblocks (disable mods), or move less entities (player limit, disable mobs mods).

That's unfortunate because outside major cities in the USA most of us have rip off data limits and throttling. My phone said 3G but it was actually more like bouncing between 2-15kbps.
I wouldn't doubt many users here have tried and loved Minetest only to find it unplayable a day or 2 later. :(

MHL
Member
Posts: 345
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2018 00:44
GitHub: NOT APPLICABLE
IRC: NOT APPLICABLE
In-game: singleplayer
Location: Somewhere in SSWZ
Contact:

Re: high network data use

by MHL » Post

You can use two phone lines and a program to "combine" them to get 112kbps
or three to get about 168kbps
COME SEE MY MINETEST MAP!!!

COME SEE MY MINETEST MAP!!!


User avatar
AccidentallyRhine
Member
Posts: 232
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2015 05:43

Re: high network data use

by AccidentallyRhine » Post

migdyn wrote:You can use two phone lines and a program to "combine" them to get 112kbps
or three to get about 168kbps
I'd always been interested in network bonding but never had the opportunity (or need) to see it in action. Wouldn't the disjointed connections cause problems?

MHL
Member
Posts: 345
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2018 00:44
GitHub: NOT APPLICABLE
IRC: NOT APPLICABLE
In-game: singleplayer
Location: Somewhere in SSWZ
Contact:

Re: high network data use

by MHL » Post

I don't know, I have never tried it myself.
COME SEE MY MINETEST MAP!!!

COME SEE MY MINETEST MAP!!!


Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 11 guests