Increase Render Distance?

Post Reply
MrOverCast
Member
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2018 06:18
GitHub: MrOverCast
IRC: MrOverCast
In-game: MrOverCast

Increase Render Distance?

by MrOverCast » Post

Hello


So i know if you hit R it will make the viewing range be infinite. BUT it doesn't load the land until you walk over to it. Is there a way to make it so it keeps loading?



Image

Brian Gaucher
Member
Posts: 76
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2018 01:56
GitHub: BrianGaucher
In-game: Camasia

Re: Increase Render Distance?

by Brian Gaucher » Post

Using [cntr] - '+' will let you increase the viewing/loading range. It will load them so you can see it.
Current projects: Making a CTF map, Learning C++, Learning Programmer's Dvorak

User avatar
aristotle
Member
Posts: 79
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2018 23:40
GitHub: askotos
IRC: aristotle_
In-game: aristotle
Location: Currently on Melpomene, waiting for the starship to be fixed.
Contact:

Re: Increase Render Distance?

by aristotle » Post

The settings to look at that definitely improved my experience were the following:
  • active_block_range
    active_object_send_range_blocks
    max_block_send_distance
    block_send_optimize_distance
As suggested by Sfan5 here and here.

EDIT: Rewritten to immediately show the interesting stuff.
Happy builds & explorations! | Initiating my Creative Minetest channel on YouTube

User avatar
paramat
Developer
Posts: 3658
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat
Location: UK

Re: Increase Render Distance?

by paramat » Post

You need to increase the 'max_block_generate_distance' setting as well as 'max_block_send_distance'.

User avatar
voxelproof
Member
Posts: 984
Joined: Sat Aug 05, 2017 08:13
Location: Europe

Re: Increase Render Distance?

by voxelproof » Post

paramat wrote:
Tue May 12, 2020 22:35
You need to increase the 'max_block_generate_distance' setting as well as 'max_block_send_distance'.
And how to prevent rendered blocks from unloading from memory? It seems to me that the interface changed in advanced options section in the main menu in the latest version and increasing time of unload isn't available now. Or I'm just blind ;-)
Game is the essence of life; therefore every good game makes life better.

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
Posts: 3921
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5
Location: Germany

Re: Increase Render Distance?

by sfan5 » Post

voxelproof wrote:
Thu May 14, 2020 15:58
And how to prevent rendered blocks from unloading from memory? It seems to me that the interface changed in advanced options section in the main menu in the latest version and increasing time of unload isn't available now. Or I'm just blind ;-)
client_unload_unused_data_timeout and client_mapblock_limit
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)

User avatar
voxelproof
Member
Posts: 984
Joined: Sat Aug 05, 2017 08:13
Location: Europe

Re: Increase Render Distance?

by voxelproof » Post

sfan5 wrote:
Thu May 14, 2020 17:33
client_unload_unused_data_timeout and client_mapblock_limit
thx

It was due to the Polish version, I just don't understand Polish technical translations xD
Game is the essence of life; therefore every good game makes life better.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests