Basic questions about mobs

frootyloops

Basic questions about mobs

by frootyloops » Post

Hi, I'm new to minetest, and have some basic questions about mobs (I've tried searching the forums but there's too much noise):

- where are mobs for worlds defined? I had a look in the files of a world directory that I downloaded,
and I couldn't find anything mentioning mobs, even though I know they are spawned when I play a
game in the world. I guess the mobs info is stored in the maps.sqlite file, since thats the only one
whose contents I cant' decipher (it contains blobs), but it doesn't make sense that the mob definitions
would be stored in the map data. I can't find any mods that mention the basic mobs

- how can I find the names of mob entities so that I can use the /spawnentity server command to add some to a game I'm hosting?

sorcerykid
GitHub: sorcerykid
In-game: Nemo

Re: Basic questions about mobs

by sorcerykid » Post

Mobs are not included with the vanilla installation of Minetest. You will need to install a mob framework along with corresponding mobs (some are bundled together).

https://wiki.minetest.net/Mods:Mobs

There's also my Mobs Lite engine, but it relies on an CPP patch to work due its more advanced feature-set. So if you have a compiler, then you should have no problem getting it up and running. The repo and wiki are found on GitHub:

https://github.com/sorcerykid/mobs/wiki

Anyway, welcome aboard Minetest!

orwell
GitHub: orwell96
IRC: orwell96_mt
In-game: orwell

by orwell » Post

If I understand correctly you already have a mobs mod installed (if not see sorcerykid).

The map.sqlite file is an SQLite database where each entry is a MapBlock (16x16x16 nodes). The MapBlock is stored in a binary format whose documentation can be found in the doc folder in the minetest githup repo.