Minetest to teach STEM (Science, Technology, Math, Engineering)

crlyttle
In-game: crl

Minetest to teach STEM (Science, Technology, Math, Engineering)

by crlyttle » Post

I'm starting an after school project to help students with STEM as related to modern industry. The idea is that the "School" would be completely FOSS in a Minetest world. I've never played MineCraft and my only experience is the Tutorial in Minetest. I currently have 12 gold bars and 4 diamonds :)
I am a professional programmer so LUA isn't presenting a problem. However, I do need help with the details of developing worlds and specialized servers. Are there any good books on those subjects for Minetest? Do any of the books on developing Roblox or Minecraft apply?

Thanks for your time.

crlyttle

Re: Minetest to teach STEM (Science, Technology, Math, Engineering)

by crlyttle » Post

Currently up to 13 gold bars and 9 diamonds :) I have build MineTest from source. I also now have complete (I think) lua5.3 and sqlite3 development environments.
I would like to try my hand at developing some avatars for the games, but haven't found anything on that in the on-line manuals. Can someone point me to documentation for that task?
Thanks.

Smithy
GitHub: Smithy
IRC: Smithy
In-game: Smithy

by Smithy » Post

That sounds fantastic what you have developed. I was going to ask you if you have any basic lesson plans that you have created and resources. We are currently putting the curriculum together for next year but have very limited coding/programmer experience. I was going to use the summer to get my head around as I think it's something our students would enjoy.

crlyttle

by crlyttle » Post

The goal is to teach the practical application of basic STEM skills such as Math from arithmetic through some vector algebra, etc.