STEM: Challenge for Students

crlyttle
In-game: crl

STEM: Challenge for Students

by crlyttle » Post

I'm new to Minetest.
I'm developing lesson plans for a STEM program and came up with the following idea for a game.
Students would organize into teams of two. Each team would get a set of co-ordinates on opposite sides of a mountain and given the task of constructing a tunnel through the mountain. There is no time limit. Students will be given a few days to develop a plan and an opportunity to test it in a sandbox game.
To be fair, all tunnels should be the same length with similar slope. Terrain needs to be repeatable between invocations.

Has anyone done something similar, or have some ideas?

DOOM_possum
In-game: DOOM_possum

Re: STEM: Challenge for Students

by DOOM_possum » Post

seems like a good BUILD, once it is completely finished, what technology would there be

crlyttle

by crlyttle » Post

Basically it would be an exercise in planning, teamwork, application of simple vectors, and orienteering. Also know and trust your instruments.
If I (or someone I can find) can create the game, a good (very advanced) exercise would be to create the City of David and have students mine Hezekiah's tunnel. Wouldn't it be great to recreate virtual tours of famous archeological sites?

ywwv

by ywwv » Post