How do you make wine run Minetest.

Post Reply
User avatar
madchicken13
Member
Posts: 741
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2012 00:41
Location: Shelton, WA
Contact:

How do you make wine run Minetest.

by madchicken13 » Post

I installed wine to play my Version of Minetest on Ubuntu.
And after i installed a program with wine it stopped working.
How can i fix this?
Minetest-CC = viewtopic.php?pid=122782
My Minetest Mods = MoreBlocks
My Website: http://www.cddo.us/

User avatar
NakedFury
Member
Posts: 151
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2011 03:55

by NakedFury » Post

why in the name of god would you do that?

Jordach
Member
Posts: 4527
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach
Location: Blender Scene

by Jordach » Post

NakedFury wrote:why in the name of god would you do that?
Yep. That is all I can say.
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=19056 Solar Plains Dev Server

User avatar
tonyka
Member
Posts: 320
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2012 04:08
Location: Alicante, España

by tonyka » Post

you are new to linux, right? ...
no problem
have a version in the software center ...
You can also install it through the terminal, as follows:

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install minetest
will ask the user key and confirm the installation ...

if you want the current stable version visit this link, which will explain how to add the repository containing that version ...

https://launchpad.net/~minetestdevs/+ar ... es_filter=

After installing the repository, and updated, to install is similar to before ...

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install minetestc55
care ... Note that the package name is different ...
My mod: [MOD]3D Forniture 1.0
Download: 3DForniture_v_1.0.zip
Page development (European Castilian):
Moviliario 3D (proyecto 3D Forniture)

User avatar
madchicken13
Member
Posts: 741
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2012 00:41
Location: Shelton, WA
Contact:

by madchicken13 » Post

I am not new to Linux
I want to run my version of minetest
Its only for Windows

PS : i got minetest for linux already
Minetest-CC = viewtopic.php?pid=122782
My Minetest Mods = MoreBlocks
My Website: http://www.cddo.us/

User avatar
Josh
Member
Posts: 1146
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2012 23:11
Location: Victoria, Australia

by Josh » Post

Wine is pretty bad but what i did was select the minetest application with a right click & choose open with wine windows program loader. Iv'e tried many thing's in wine & they do not work
Last edited by Josh on Tue Sep 04, 2012 02:58, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
madchicken13
Member
Posts: 741
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2012 00:41
Location: Shelton, WA
Contact:

by madchicken13 » Post

IK how to run Windows applications with Wine!
Minetest-CC = viewtopic.php?pid=122782
My Minetest Mods = MoreBlocks
My Website: http://www.cddo.us/

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
Posts: 3938
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5
Location: Germany

by sfan5 » Post

You need to install OpenAL and DirectX in wine
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)

User avatar
cisoun
Member
Posts: 232
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 18:56
GitHub: cisoun
IRC: cisoun
In-game: cisoun
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

by cisoun » Post

What's the point to run Minetest with Wine when there's already a Linux version ?
Not here for a while due to some troubles between my graphic card and Minetest.
Cisoun's Texture Pack | The Conifers Mod (deprecated) | Faenza icons for Minetest |
Website

User avatar
madchicken13
Member
Posts: 741
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2012 00:41
Location: Shelton, WA
Contact:

by madchicken13 » Post

cisoun wrote:What's the point to run Minetest with Wine when there's already a Linux version ?
There is no Linux Version for my Version of minetest
Minetest-CC = viewtopic.php?pid=122782
My Minetest Mods = MoreBlocks
My Website: http://www.cddo.us/

User avatar
Menche
Member
Posts: 1001
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2011 00:43
IRC: Menchers
In-game: Menche
Location: An island in a lava lake.

by Menche » Post

madchicken13 wrote:
cisoun wrote:What's the point to run Minetest with Wine when there's already a Linux version ?
There is no Linux Version for my Version of minetest
What prevents you from making a linux build of your version?
An innocent kitten dies every time you top-post.

User avatar
tinoesroho
Member
Posts: 570
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2012 21:55
Location: Canada

by tinoesroho » Post

Eh. WINE 1.4 runs minetest just fine, thankfully. Still crashes like the native one (throwing mod deaths), but runs.
We are what we create.

I tinker and occasionally make (lousy) mods. Currently building an MMO subgame and updating mods. Pirate Party of Canada member. Sporadic author. 21 years old.

My github:
https://github.com/tinoesroho/

User avatar
cisoun
Member
Posts: 232
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 18:56
GitHub: cisoun
IRC: cisoun
In-game: cisoun
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

by cisoun » Post

madchicken13 wrote:
cisoun wrote:What's the point to run Minetest with Wine when there's already a Linux version ?
There is no Linux Version for my Version of minetest
Which version do you have ?
Not here for a while due to some troubles between my graphic card and Minetest.
Cisoun's Texture Pack | The Conifers Mod (deprecated) | Faenza icons for Minetest |
Website

User avatar
madchicken13
Member
Posts: 741
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2012 00:41
Location: Shelton, WA
Contact:

by madchicken13 » Post

Its 0.4-DEV 20120106_1 Customized
Minetest-CC = viewtopic.php?pid=122782
My Minetest Mods = MoreBlocks
My Website: http://www.cddo.us/

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests