What OS do you use for minetest? (Windows / Mac / Linux)

User avatar
shadowwraith
Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 23:27
Location: Scotland

by shadowwraith » Post

Calinou wrote:
shadowwraith wrote:Ubuntu Studio 12:10 Quantal x86_64 with xfce 4.12 desktop.. Won't be upgrading to raring due to legacy hardwae
13.04 didn't drop any hardware support as far as I know, though it can be a PITA to upgrade if you have an old AMD graphics card and you're using Catalyst.
I have a ATI Radeon HD4250 which AMD decided to drop support for, for some unknown reason, i can't upgrade because it's on a laptop
"Spill some blood for me dear Brother" Vicente Valtiare, Oblivion

Currently using Minetest 0.4.7 Ubuntu Daily Build on Ubuntustudio 13.10 Saucy Salamander 64bit (based on Ubuntu 13:10)
Trolls will be shot on sight!!!

User avatar
kotolegokot
Member
Posts: 131
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2012 17:03
Location: Russia, Ishim

by kotolegokot » Post

Mint
I'm creator of these mods: Locked sign, Locked furnace, Money. And I'm a developer of The RealTest Game.

User avatar
markveidemanis
Member
Posts: 211
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 15:41

by markveidemanis » Post

Lubuntu
BitCoin: 1Eq4arvykGNa1YC2DbJpWcwGfMvtFGjAoR

User avatar
vv221
Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2013 08:18
Location: France
Contact:

by vv221 » Post

I use Debian Sid/experimental on my computer,
and aptosid Thanatos when I play on my brother's computer.

@ shadowwraith: You should try the radeon free driver instead of the fglrx non-free one if AMD dropped support for your card.
PM me if you need help on that subject.

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
Posts: 3166
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou
Location: Troyes, France
Contact:

by Calinou » Post

vv221 wrote:@ shadowwraith: You should try the radeon free driver instead of the fglrx non-free one if AMD dropped support for your card.
Enjoy your halved performance then. :3

User avatar
CryAngel
Member
Posts: 68
Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2013 10:56

by CryAngel » Post

  • Win7 x64
  • Debian Testing x86 (because installed before x64 appear)
  • LFS x64 (actually is BLFS but few ppl know difference anyway :D)
also, somewhere Win XP x86 btw i already forget when i boot it last time xD

hardware now: Phenom II X4 945 (4 core), 8 GB RAM, NVidia GTX 560

PS. minetest work fine at most but with mobs i have some lags :(
Last edited by CryAngel on Sat Apr 13, 2013 21:26, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
Posts: 3166
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou
Location: Troyes, France
Contact:

by Calinou » Post

CryAngel wrote:PS. minetest work fine at most but with mobs i have some lags :(
Which mobs mod? Simple Mobs is quite lightweight, I can spawn more than 30 mobs + a large forest fire without dropping below 35 FPS (lots of leaves and fire to render) and no lag (when typing commands, local server).

User avatar
onpon4
Member
Posts: 518
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 01:54
GitHub: onpon4
In-game: diligentcircle
Contact:

by onpon4 » Post

Trisquel GNU/Linux. This is the only OS I currently use, though I have an interest in trying Parabola GNU/Linux at some point in the future.

User avatar
Leroy
Member
Posts: 261
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2012 23:43
Location: Antarctica

by Leroy » Post

Ubuntu 12.04 LTS FTW!
UBUNTU BRO!

User avatar
Gunlexify
Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2013 13:11
Location: Lithuania

by Gunlexify » Post

I use windows 7 for minetest.
Sorry for my BAD english!

Just discovered that I realy SHOULD look at the doc/lua_api.txt file...

User avatar
xavier108
Member
Posts: 227
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2012 06:05
IRC: Ezlif
Location: Black Mesa Facility
Contact:

by xavier108 » Post

I am using windows 7 starter for minetest.But maybe in a month or two.My windwos 7 statrter will be downgraded to windows xp since it's much better and it runs game smoother than windows 7
Ezlif :D

User avatar
AndrOn
Member
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri May 31, 2013 22:32
Location: Orléans, France

by AndrOn » Post

I use Ubuntu 13.04 (and run MT with it) on my Packard Bell Easynote TS and it works good. I managed to use optirun with my nvidia card and since, I don't have to use W7 to run minetest.
k8NzxjXgxpd3KOKx8pz2z12pStfpe5tR

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
Posts: 3944
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5
Location: Germany

by sfan5 » Post

AndrOn wrote:I use Ubuntu 13.04 (and run MT with it) on my Packard Bell Easynote TS and it works good. I managed to use optirun with my nvidia card and since, I don't have to use W7 to run minetest.
Are you me? I have exact the same Laptop and also use Ubuntu 13.04 and Bumblebee(optirun)
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)

User avatar
CraigyDavi
Member
Posts: 582
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2013 13:08
GitHub: davisonio
IRC: davisonio
In-game: CraigyDavi
Location: Hampshire, UK
Contact:

by CraigyDavi » Post

I use windows 8. Am I the only one D:

User avatar
philipbenr
Member
Posts: 1743
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 01:56
GitHub: philipbenr
IRC: philipbenr
In-game: robinspi
Location: United States

by philipbenr » Post

you're going to have to add 1 to:

Windows 8 (I really need to remove it from my tower.)
=====================
Windows Vista
=====================
Slackware 14.0
=====================
Mac OSX 16.0 (snow leopard)
CraigyDavi wrote:I use windows 8. Am I the only one D:
not anymore
Last edited by philipbenr on Fri Aug 23, 2013 21:12, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
hoodedice
Member
Posts: 1374
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2013 06:33
GitHub: hoodedice
IRC: hoodedice
In-game: hoodedice
Location: world
Contact:

by hoodedice » Post

Windows XP due to family reasons. But runs better on Xubuntu 13.04
7:42 PM - Bauglio: I think if you go to staples you could steal firmware from a fax machine that would run better than win10 does on any platform
7:42 PM - Bauglio: so fudge the stable build
7:43 PM - Bauglio: get the staple build

User avatar
Casimir
Member
Posts: 1189
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2012 16:59
GitHub: CasimirKaPazi

by Casimir » Post

Linux Mint here.

User avatar
solars
Member
Posts: 645
Joined: Sat Jul 20, 2013 15:16
Contact:

by solars » Post

Debian GNU/Linux Sid
My big Minetest map Karsthafen: English thread / German thread / Youtube / German webpage

User avatar
onpon4
Member
Posts: 518
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 01:54
GitHub: onpon4
In-game: diligentcircle
Contact:

by onpon4 » Post

Trisquel GNU/Linux

(that's also what I use for all my computing at the moment)

User avatar
Josh
Member
Posts: 1146
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2012 23:11
Location: Victoria, Australia

by Josh » Post

Linux Lite 1.0.6
Linux lite is the only ubuntu based distro that is lightweight, and dose not care about being real flashy.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 10 guests