Page 1 of 1

Wanted to know something.

PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2012 17:32
by Psychotic
Sorry if i posted a topic like this before, if i did, could anyone link it here?

Anyway, i was considering getting Minetest, and i have a few questions.

1. Does minetest run in windowed mode? only reason i ask is because i have seen videos of it and the login screen looks fullscreen.

2. Is it safe to download? (sorry about this one, i had a virus scare a few days back, and im really careful about what i download.

3. This one is more trivial but, can i re use my minecraft mining methods on Minetest?

PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2012 17:49
by VanessaE
1. Yes - by default the window is 800x600 but you can resize it as you see fit, maximize it, etc., or you can go full-screen.

2. Yes - it is safe as long as you download it from one of these sources:
http://minetest.net (the author's website)
https://github.com/celeron55/minetest (the official engine source code repository)
https://github.com/celeron55/minetest_game/commits/master (the official "game" code - you'll need this if you use the above engine repository)
https://code.launchpad.net/~minetestdevs (the official Ubuntu nightly builds repository)
http://sfan.sf.funpic.de/ (sfan's windows builds)
http://digitalaudioconcepts.com/vanessa/hobbies/minetest/ (my tweaked AMD64 Linux builds)

3. Whether your normal mining methods will work on Minetest kinda depends on what those methods are. For example in Minetest it's common to dig a deep vertical shaft and then branch out from the bottom of it (that's how I do it), old-fashioned strip mining, really deep quarries cleared of every node in the region, or whatever else. If you rely on following veins of minerals as at least one MineCraft mod creates, that won't work in Minetest.

PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2012 17:54
by Psychotic
yeah, what i do in Minecraft is dig down to y=12 and dig a 3x3 hallway and make 1x2 mining tunnels every 4 blocks on the left and right sides of said hallway.

PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2012 18:07
by VanessaE
That will work fine in Minetest.

If you have mods such as moreores, gloopores, and others that add more minerals, you'll want to go far deeper, to perhaps -1000 or lower so that all of the minerals added by those mods are available to be found.

You may want to make tunnels every three blocks instead though - that is, 2 blocks' worth of wall between 1-block-wide tunnels, just so you don't miss any minerals (this applies to Minecraft also I'm sure).

PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2012 18:53
by Psychotic
Wait, how far does minetest's world even go down anywho? -1000 blocks?

PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2012 18:54
by rubenwardy
Psychotic wrote:Wait, how far does minetest's world even go down anywho? -1000 blocks?


more than -30,000 blocks down

PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2012 19:36
by Psychotic
how....how is that even POSSIBLE?

PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2012 19:48
by Jordach
It is called a short signed variable.

PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2012 19:48
by Silverwolf
Psychotic wrote:Wait, how far does minetest's world even go down anywho? -1000 blocks?

from how far i go it dosent seem to have a limit...

PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2012 20:03
by Psychotic
Jordach wrote:It is called a short signed variable.


Hate to bother, but could you explain that, im not the best at coding terms

But thats awesome though, if minetest can handle this.....then i might be able to build the underground megacity i have always wanted to build.....hmm

PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2012 20:22
by Topywo
Psychotic wrote:
Jordach wrote:It is called a short signed variable.


Hate to bother, but could you explain that, im not the best at coding terms

Me neither, I'm still learning how to compile 'Hello world' in C++ ...

The short signed variable is 2 byte. Signed means that you can put a "-" sign before it. The range of it is between -32,768 and 32,767. So if you use a short signed variable to determine how far up and down you can go in minetest you can set the maximum height and depth to that range. I read this in a C++ on line tutorial.

But thats awesome though, if minetest can handle this.....then i might be able to build the underground megacity i have always wanted to build.....hmm

Yes, Don't worry about not having enough space :-)


PostPosted: Thu Oct 11, 2012 00:44
by cornernote
how big is a MC world?

PostPosted: Thu Oct 11, 2012 01:48
by NakedFury
MC is very small in height. I think they are at 256 right now.

PostPosted: Thu Oct 11, 2012 03:33
by cornernote
Whats at the end? And what's at the end in MT too?

Is it like a region that doesnt load and you cant walk to it?

PostPosted: Thu Oct 11, 2012 03:59
by Menche
A MT world is a massive cube; it goes from -30912 to 30927 in all 3 directions. The space outside those limits is transparent but solid; if you teleport to -30912 you can walk on the bottom of the world with nothing but sky under you. Dropped items can fall through the bottom of the world, and you can fly outside with free_move.

PostPosted: Thu Oct 11, 2012 17:52
by Psychotic
Ok, i have decided to download Minetest, but does anyone have a video showing how to install, and run it?

2. Also, any tips for my first night?

PostPosted: Thu Oct 11, 2012 17:55
by Chinchow
you might have seen but there are no default mobs in the newest version so you don't have to be afraid of them you can download a mod for them but if you don't you can spend your first night exploring as long as you found coal before night.

PostPosted: Thu Oct 11, 2012 18:02
by Psychotic
ok, thanks, sorry about so many of my stupid questions guys, but thanks for answering them Also, is 800x600 the average size for a MC window?

*Minecraft

PostPosted: Thu Oct 11, 2012 19:34
by Topywo
It's the standard size. You can adjust it during the game with F11 (for me) or in/dercreasing the window or set it in the minetest.conf: http://minetest.net/forum/viewtopic.php?id=3197

#----GRAPHIC----
fullscreen = false # show window in fullscreen
screenW = 800 # width of the window
screenH = 600 # height of the window
vsync = false # vertical synchronisation
video_driver = opengl # video driver; possible values: null, software, burningsvideo, direct3d8, direct3d9, opengl

PostPosted: Fri Oct 12, 2012 04:40
by Calinou
Minecraft's default window size is 854*480.

PostPosted: Fri Oct 12, 2012 13:27
by Psychotic
So minetest is about the same size/slightly larger? Cool.