Help with lighting?

Post Reply
kajoman
New member
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2012 02:34

Help with lighting?

by kajoman » Post

I have been searching for a tutorial on how to get nodes to emit light, but so far all of the ones I have found don't work or wrack my brain. I, not being a Computer Genius, am pleading to the community to help me figure out how to make my mod block emit minor light. Thank you
Last edited by kajoman on Tue Oct 23, 2012 02:48, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Chinchow
Member
Posts: 684
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 21:37

by Chinchow » Post

go into games then minetest then mods then default and in its init you should search for torches or lava they should say something about emmiting light.
Sometimes, it's harder to think up a mod than it is to create it.
Mods: Orichalcum Stonebricks Extra Chests

User avatar
Chinchow
Member
Posts: 684
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 21:37

by Chinchow » Post

go into games then minetest then mods then default and in its init you should search for torches or lava they should say something about emmiting light.
Sometimes, it's harder to think up a mod than it is to create it.
Mods: Orichalcum Stonebricks Extra Chests

kajoman
New member
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2012 02:34

by kajoman » Post

I tried that, and I have attempted to do the method portrayed within. Sadly, it has not helped. Thank for the try though.
Last edited by kajoman on Tue Oct 23, 2012 03:53, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
qwrwed
Member
Posts: 326
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2012 20:56
In-game: qwrwed or Nitro

by qwrwed » Post

light_source = (number),

User avatar
RabbiBob
Member
Posts: 335
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2012 22:40
Location: /teleport 54,47,28
Contact:

by RabbiBob » Post

Hi, post your code for the node if it continues not to work and one of us can help.

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam
Location: Germany

by PilzAdam » Post

In your node definition table you have to insert this line:

Code: Select all

minetest.register_node("mod:name", {
    -- other stuff here
    light_source = [number from 0 (no light) to 14 (max light)],
})
See also:

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests