Compiling Minetest On Fedora 17

User avatar
Josh
Member
Posts: 1146
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2012 23:11
Location: Victoria, Australia

Compiling Minetest On Fedora 17

by Josh » Post

I recently setup a new computer with fedora 17, when browsing the net for tutorials on how to compile minetest on fedora 17, i found some but they were outdated. Also, there is no .rpm package for minetest 0.4.5, does anyone know how to compile the latest minetest on fedora 17?

-Josh

User avatar
0gb.us
Member
Posts: 841
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 01:55
Location: 0gb.us:30000
Contact:

by 0gb.us » Post

Josh wrote:I recently setup a new computer with fedora 17, when browsing the net for tutorials on how to compile minetest on fedora 17, i found some but they were outdated. Also, there is no .rpm package for minetest 0.4.5, does anyone know how to compile the latest minetest on fedora 17?

-Josh
Compile instructions are here.

https://github.com/minetest/minetest/bl ... README.txt

I don't think apt-get works on Fedora, so you'll need to use Fedora's equivalent of apt-get. The rest of the instructions should work as-is.

User avatar
Josh
Member
Posts: 1146
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2012 23:11
Location: Victoria, Australia

by Josh » Post

0gb.us wrote:
Josh wrote:I recently setup a new computer with fedora 17, when browsing the net for tutorials on how to compile minetest on fedora 17, i found some but they were outdated. Also, there is no .rpm package for minetest 0.4.5, does anyone know how to compile the latest minetest on fedora 17?

-Josh
Compile instructions are here.

https://github.com/minetest/minetest/bl ... README.txt

I don't think apt-get works on Fedora, so you'll need to use Fedora's equivalent of apt-get. The rest of the instructions should work as-is.
When using cmake . -DRUN_IN_PLACE=1 i get compiling errors:

CMake Error: your CXX compiler: "CMAKE_CXX_COMPILER-NOTFOUND" was not found. Please set CMAKE_CXX_COMPILER to a valid compiler path or name.

These 2:
-- CURL_INCLUDE_DIR = CURL_INCLUDE_DIR-NOTFOUND
-- CURL_LIBRARY = CURL_LIBRARY-NOTFOUND

And These:
-- Could NOT find OpenAL (missing: OPENAL_LIBRARY OPENAL_INCLUDE_DIR)
-- Could NOT find VORBIS (missing: OGG_INCLUDE_DIR VORBIS_INCLUDE_DIR OGG_LIBRA

Is there anything i am missing? (eg. Cmake, OpenAL)

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam
Location: Germany

by PilzAdam » Post

Do you have a c++ compiler installed?

User avatar
Josh
Member
Posts: 1146
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2012 23:11
Location: Victoria, Australia

by Josh » Post

PilzAdam wrote:Do you have a c++ compiler installed?
What is its name be in Add/Remove software?

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam
Location: Germany

by PilzAdam » Post

Josh wrote:
PilzAdam wrote:Do you have a c++ compiler installed?
What is its name be in Add/Remove software?
c++

User avatar
pheonixfire
Member
Posts: 88
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2012 06:25
In-game: pheonix
Location: Australia

by pheonixfire » Post

CMake Error: your CXX compiler: "CMAKE_CXX_COMPILER-NOTFOUND" was not found. Please set CMAKE_CXX_COMPILER to a valid compiler path or name.

These 2:
-- CURL_INCLUDE_DIR = CURL_INCLUDE_DIR-NOTFOUND
-- CURL_LIBRARY = CURL_LIBRARY-NOTFOUND

And These:
-- Could NOT find OpenAL (missing: OPENAL_LIBRARY OPENAL_INCLUDE_DIR)
-- Could NOT find VORBIS (missing: OGG_INCLUDE_DIR VORBIS_INCLUDE_DIR OGG_LIBRA

Is there anything i am missing? (eg. Cmake, OpenAL)
to get those use the following commands in the terminal:

Code: Select all

yum install libcurl* openal* libvorbis*
the star is a wildcard so it will install any package containing the name before the star

pheonixfire

User avatar
Josh
Member
Posts: 1146
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2012 23:11
Location: Victoria, Australia

by Josh » Post

pheonixfire wrote:
CMake Error: your CXX compiler: "CMAKE_CXX_COMPILER-NOTFOUND" was not found. Please set CMAKE_CXX_COMPILER to a valid compiler path or name.

These 2:
-- CURL_INCLUDE_DIR = CURL_INCLUDE_DIR-NOTFOUND
-- CURL_LIBRARY = CURL_LIBRARY-NOTFOUND

And These:
-- Could NOT find OpenAL (missing: OPENAL_LIBRARY OPENAL_INCLUDE_DIR)
-- Could NOT find VORBIS (missing: OGG_INCLUDE_DIR VORBIS_INCLUDE_DIR OGG_LIBRA

Is there anything i am missing? (eg. Cmake, OpenAL)
to get those use the following commands in the terminal:

Code: Select all

yum install libcurl* openal* libvorbis*
the star is a wildcard so it will install any package containing the name before the star

pheonixfire
Thanks! Your from australia too? cool!

User avatar
Josh
Member
Posts: 1146
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2012 23:11
Location: Victoria, Australia

by Josh » Post

Can somone make a fedora 17 package for minetest 0.4.5? I hate to be a pain, but compiling minetest on fedora is trickier then compiling minetest on ubuntu.

User avatar
pheonixfire
Member
Posts: 88
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2012 06:25
In-game: pheonix
Location: Australia

by pheonixfire » Post

do you get a result like this when you use the cmake . -DRUN_IN_PLACE=1 command?

Code: Select all

-- *** Will build version 0.4.5 ***
-- IRRLICHT_SOURCE_DIR = 
-- IRRLICHT_INCLUDE_DIR = /usr/include/irrlicht
-- IRRLICHT_LIBRARY = /usr/lib64/libIrrlicht.so
-- CURL_INCLUDE_DIR = /usr/include/curl
-- CURL_LIBRARY = /usr/lib64/libcurl.so
-- cURL support enabled
-- GetText disabled
-- Sound enabled
-- Using project jthread library
-- Using project sqlite3 library
-- Using project json library
-- Configuring done
-- Generating done
-- Build files have been written to: /home/james/Games/minetest-0.4.5
pheonixfire

User avatar
Josh
Member
Posts: 1146
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2012 23:11
Location: Victoria, Australia

by Josh » Post

It is not building it at all, and i could not find the proper cmake file.

User avatar
ecube
Member
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu May 10, 2012 03:01
Location: I forgot....

by ecube » Post

Are you in the minetest directory?

Try this:

Code: Select all

git clone https://github.com/celeron55/minetest.git
cd minetest
cmake .
make
To run minetest, make sure you're in ~/minetest (or wherever you downloaded it in the first command) and type bin/minetest
Last edited by ecube on Sat Mar 23, 2013 02:53, edited 1 time in total.
This is a test

User avatar
Josh
Member
Posts: 1146
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2012 23:11
Location: Victoria, Australia

by Josh » Post

ecube wrote:Are you in the minetest directory?

Try this:

Code: Select all

git clone https://github.com/celeron55/minetest.git
cd minetest
cmake .
make
To run minetest, make sure you're in ~/minetest (or wherever you downloaded it in the first command) and type bin/minetest
I'll give it a try.

User avatar
pheonixfire
Member
Posts: 88
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2012 06:25
In-game: pheonix
Location: Australia

by pheonixfire » Post

How did you go compiling on fedora 17?

User avatar
doyousketch2
Member
Posts: 112
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2013 16:06
GitHub: doyousketch2
In-game: Sketch2
Location: Ohio
Contact:

by doyousketch2 » Post

try the "one-line" script that Calinou conjured up for Debian,
http://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?id=3837
but use YUM instead of apt-get.

Dunno if Fedora uses sudo, so use su instead,
then type in your admin password, if need be.

Code: Select all

su (password)

yum install git build-essential libirrlicht-dev libgettextpo0 libfreetype6-dev cmake libbz2-dev libpng12-dev libjpeg8-dev libxxf86vm-dev libgl1-mesa-dev libsqlite3-dev libogg-dev libvorbis-dev libopenal-dev libsm-dev libcurl4-openssl-dev; git clone git://github.com/minetest/minetest.git;cd minetest/games; git clone git://github.com/minetest/minetest_game.git; git clone git://github.com/minetest/common.git; cd ..; cmake . -DRUN_IN_PLACE=1 -DENABLE_GETTEXT=1 -DENABLE_FREETYPE=1; cd src; make -j2; cd ../bin; ./minetest; echo -e "\n\nYou can run Minetest again by double-clicking \"minetest\" in the \"bin\" folder of the \"minetest\" folder in your home folder.\nYou can install mods in ~/minetest/mods/minetest, too."
Last edited by doyousketch2 on Sat Mar 30, 2013 08:08, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
doyousketch2
Member
Posts: 112
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2013 16:06
GitHub: doyousketch2
In-game: Sketch2
Location: Ohio
Contact:

by doyousketch2 » Post

tho come to think of it, the folder will be owned by the admin, so you may want to "change group" and/or "change owner" so you can access it.

so you'd change it to whatever your (user) name is on your machine.

Code: Select all

cd ..
chgrp -R (user) minetest
chown -R (user) minetest

thus the whole "one-line" script would be:

Code: Select all

yum install git build-essential libirrlicht-dev libgettextpo0 libfreetype6-dev cmake libbz2-dev libpng12-dev libjpeg8-dev libxxf86vm-dev libgl1-mesa-dev libsqlite3-dev libogg-dev libvorbis-dev libopenal-dev libsm-dev libcurl4-openssl-dev; git clone git://github.com/minetest/minetest.git;cd minetest/games; git clone git://github.com/minetest/minetest_game.git; git clone git://github.com/minetest/common.git; cd ..; cmake . -DRUN_IN_PLACE=1 -DENABLE_GETTEXT=1 -DENABLE_FREETYPE=1; cd src; make -j2;cd ..;chgrp -R (user) minetest;chown -R (user) minetest; cd ../bin; ./minetest; echo -e "\n\nYou can run Minetest again by double-clicking \"minetest\" in the \"bin\" folder of the \"minetest\" folder in your home folder.\nYou can install mods in ~/minetest/mods/minetest, too."
Make sure to change the two spots in there called (user)
into the name you use to log into your computer.

User avatar
Josh
Member
Posts: 1146
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2012 23:11
Location: Victoria, Australia

by Josh » Post

pheonixfire wrote:How did you go compiling on fedora 17?
I got really fustrated with it so i just switched to ubuntu, but thankyou all for your help!
i think this could be useful for other people wanting to play minetest on fedora.

User avatar
Neon
Member
Posts: 126
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 02:03
In-game: Neon

by Neon » Post

On Fedora 17, I successfully compiled the latest stable using the following command-line recipe. It is a variant to the above one-liner by doyousketch2.
+ Spoiler
Last edited by Neon on Sun Oct 27, 2013 22:35, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
leetelate
Member
Posts: 205
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2013 18:07
Location: 한인 타운, Huntsville,Alabama,USA

by leetelate » Post

Neon wrote:On Fedora 17, I successfully compiled the latest stable using the following command-line recipe. It is a variant to the above one-liner by doyousketch2.
+ Spoiler
excellent! +1 - i have to compile the new git for the tablet, and it has to be in fedora - ubuntu keeps saying it supports tablets, but so far it is vaporware - if ubuntu does exist for armhfp i sure can't find it - i would be VERY glad if it did
MT IS MC'S SMARTER BROTHER
minetest 0.4.8 compiled from latest git on linux mint 15 with qjoypad and wired 360 controller
freeminer, pilztest, buildcraft and next are the idea factories
my minetest page is http://1337318.zymichost.com if zymic isn't down - meh, it is free...

User avatar
Neon
Member
Posts: 126
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 02:03
In-game: Neon

by Neon » Post

A variant on my above fedora install script, is this one for 0.4.8-stable. Note that it does not install/compile/enable sound (I believe OpenAL is required for sound)
+ Spoiler
After running the game the first time, you might want to (as the user who has run the game) do the following so you don't need root privileges to install mods and texture packs
+ Spoiler
Last edited by Neon on Mon Nov 25, 2013 11:14, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Neon
Member
Posts: 126
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 02:03
In-game: Neon

0.4.10 Fedora Compile

by Neon » Post

Fedora install update for 0.4.10
+ Spoiler
After running the game the first time, you might want to (as the user who has run the game) do the following so you don't need root privileges to install mods and texture packs
+ Spoiler
Last edited by Neon on Sat Aug 02, 2014 22:37, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
DeepGaze
Member
Posts: 332
Joined: Fri May 10, 2013 00:49
GitHub: DeepGaze
IRC: DeepGaze
In-game: DeepGaze
Location: Take your best guess

Re: Compiling Minetest On Fedora 17

by DeepGaze » Post

Finally tried this and could not get it to install, is it possible to make an rpm?
there's no place like 127.0.0.1
The deep life Minetest text page
minetest cards

User avatar
Neon
Member
Posts: 126
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 02:03
In-game: Neon

Re: Compiling Minetest On Fedora 17

by Neon » Post

I could try. Fedora has 0.4.9 in it's updates repo, if you don't need 0.4.10
What is your error, anyways? Perhaps I can troubleshoot it before going through the rigaramole of doing the RPM.

User avatar
DeepGaze
Member
Posts: 332
Joined: Fri May 10, 2013 00:49
GitHub: DeepGaze
IRC: DeepGaze
In-game: DeepGaze
Location: Take your best guess

Re: Compiling Minetest On Fedora 17

by DeepGaze » Post

I currently run 0.4.9 but when entering the commands it ceases after "Su", I did some research and found you can run a script like the one above as a text file. setting as root then running the file gave this error:
+ Spoiler
any ideas?
there's no place like 127.0.0.1
The deep life Minetest text page
minetest cards

User avatar
Neon
Member
Posts: 126
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 02:03
In-game: Neon

Re: Compiling Minetest On Fedora 17

by Neon » Post

Yeah. It looks like the cut-and-paste from the forums is preserving the truncation that the forums is doing on the URL. So instead of getting "https://github.com/minetest/minetest/archive/0.4.10.zip;", you are getting "https://github.com/minetest/minetest/ar ... .4.10.zip;".

EDIT: I fixed the latest, so as to disable that bit of helpfullness from the forum. You should be able to cut&paste again and get things to work.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest