Wanting to get minetest.

User avatar
Psychotic
Member
 
Posts: 150
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 20:21

Wanting to get minetest.

by Psychotic » Wed Mar 27, 2013 03:10

Alright, finally decided to download it, gonna be tomorrow though.

Specs:
GPU: GTX 660M 2GB GDDR5
CPU: i7-3630QM
RAM: 8GB DDR3
Screen: 1920x1080 Full HD 17.3"

So is this enough to run minetest with a 256x256 pack?

And can anyone recommend a modpack for me that also has a few compatible servers, since i wanna play on a server and team up with someone.
My history isn't revenge, or hate. The road that brought us both here - isn't about that. It's about the message you carried. The one in that package whether you knew it or not. - Ulysses from Lonesome Road
 

User avatar
kaeza
Moderator
 
Posts: 2162
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2012 05:00
Location: Montevideo, Uruguay
GitHub: kaeza
IRC: kaeza diemartin blaaaaargh
In-game: kaeza

by kaeza » Wed Mar 27, 2013 03:15

That PC will be way more than enough to run MT. I have an Intel E5700 Dual-Core, Intel i965 graphics card, 4GB of RAM, and a 1024x768 screen and runs perfectly (around 40 FPS).

About mods, you only need to install them if you want to play singleplayer; if you connect to a server it will download the textures, sounds, etc (but not the code), of the mods installed in the server.
Your signature is not the place for a blog post. Please keep it as concise as possible. Thank you!

Check out my stuff! | Donations greatly appreciated! PayPal
 

User avatar
Psychotic
Member
 
Posts: 150
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 20:21

by Psychotic » Wed Mar 27, 2013 03:21

So it will still let me play, even if i have mods, but it wont load the code necessary for the mods to function?
My history isn't revenge, or hate. The road that brought us both here - isn't about that. It's about the message you carried. The one in that package whether you knew it or not. - Ulysses from Lonesome Road
 

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
 
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Wed Mar 27, 2013 03:24

There really is no mod pack and that is good enough for a 256x256 pack. Are you using vanessae's pack? For mod packs the best bet is using games.
for a realistic game use http://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?id=2671
For a Minecraft like game use this one http://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?id=2589
Here is a fast and uses full extent of Minitest server http://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?id=5274
For a really developed game use the dwarves one http://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?id=3003
Finally this one is still in beta you could say but it is a portal game mode a very good one http://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?id=4501
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right
 

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
 
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Wed Mar 27, 2013 03:27

Psychotic wrote:So it will still let me play, even if i have mods, but it wont load the code necessary for the mods to function?
With servers you don't have to do anything you just connect and boom you can play. I have played on a server using just the bare minimum where I would not be able to play singleplayer even.
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right
 

User avatar
kaeza
Moderator
 
Posts: 2162
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2012 05:00
Location: Montevideo, Uruguay
GitHub: kaeza
IRC: kaeza diemartin blaaaaargh
In-game: kaeza

by kaeza » Wed Mar 27, 2013 03:30

Psychotic wrote:So it will still let me play, even if i have mods, but it wont load the code necessary for the mods to function?

I never played Minecraft, but from what I hear the server and client need to be modded in the same way. This is not the case in Minetest. All you need is that server and client have compatible protocol (which is the case after some version in the 0.4.4 branch).
The client only downloads the node definitions like what the node is, the texture, etc, but the behavior is handled server-side, so you also don't have to worry about downloading malicious code.
Last edited by kaeza on Wed Mar 27, 2013 03:31, edited 1 time in total.
Your signature is not the place for a blog post. Please keep it as concise as possible. Thank you!

Check out my stuff! | Donations greatly appreciated! PayPal
 

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
 
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
Location: Germany
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam

by PilzAdam » Wed Mar 27, 2013 11:38

Psychotic wrote:Alright, finally decided to download it, gonna be tomorrow though.

Specs:
GPU: GTX 660M 2GB GDDR5
CPU: i7-3630QM
RAM: 8GB DDR3
Screen: 1920x1080 Full HD 17.3"

So is this enough to run minetest with a 256x256 pack?

And can anyone recommend a modpack for me that also has a few compatible servers, since i wanna play on a server and team up with someone.

You should just try everything and dont ask here. We dont know what suits your needs, and since everything here is free you dont loose anything (except time, but time shouldnt matter for a hobby like playing games).
So go ahead and try everything out.
 

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
 
Posts: 3156
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
Location: Troyes, France
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou

by Calinou » Wed Mar 27, 2013 12:50

Of course, it'll be fine, you'll probably get several hundred frames per second at best, even with shaders enabled.

Just remember that if you're making a desktop-versus-laptop comparison, mobile CPUs and graphic cards are much slower than their desktop counterparts (usually 10-25% slower).
Last edited by Calinou on Wed Mar 27, 2013 20:45, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
Likwid H-Craft
Member
 
Posts: 1113
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 14:20
Location: Lost in Crypt

by Likwid H-Craft » Wed Mar 27, 2013 13:02

Calinou wrote:Of course, it'll be fine, you'll probably get several hundred frames per second at best, even with shaders enabled.

Just remember that if you're making a desktop-versus-laptop comparison, mobile CPUs and graphic cards are much slower than their desktop counterparts (usually 10-25% slower).


Fix Typo
My Domain's/others:
http://likwidtest.hj.cx/ (Not Done)
 

User avatar
Dopium
Member
 
Posts: 233
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2012 15:43
Location: Australia

by Dopium » Wed Mar 27, 2013 13:16

Using a texture pack with the textures installed in textures/all folder will load the pack you want on a multiplayer server though. Just if your like me and want the minecraft look on a MP server
Running @1.19 MHz, 128 bytes of RAM and interchangeable 4kb ROM carts!
 

User avatar
onpon4
Member
 
Posts: 517
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 01:54

by onpon4 » Wed Mar 27, 2013 13:34

My budget 2007 laptop running an Intel Celeron and Intel GMA runs Minetest well as long as it's not hosting a server with too many expensive mods on it. It's very good when I'm playing on a different server from it (perfect as far as I can tell, but I don't know the frame rate). An Intel Core processor with an Nvidia card should perform great (the Nvidia card isn't even necessary; the built-in Intel HD graphics ought to work great too).
Last edited by onpon4 on Wed Mar 27, 2013 13:35, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
 
Posts: 3156
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
Location: Troyes, France
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou

by Calinou » Wed Mar 27, 2013 20:46

onpon4 wrote:the built-in Intel HD graphics ought to work great too).


An HD4000 will struggle at running the game at 60FPS with shaders at 1920×1080. If anti-aliasing gets fixed one day, it would be even harder to have a good framerate with say, 4× AA. :P

Not all NVIDIA cards are useful, the 610M and 620M are slower than an HD4000!
Last edited by Calinou on Wed Mar 27, 2013 20:51, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
onpon4
Member
 
Posts: 517
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 01:54

by onpon4 » Wed Mar 27, 2013 21:26

Calinou wrote:
onpon4 wrote:the built-in Intel HD graphics ought to work great too).


An HD4000 will struggle at running the game at 60FPS with shaders at 1920×1080.


Well, then we have differing definitions of working "great". I never said "full-speed with max graphical settings at 1080p", and that's not what I meant. I meant that the game will look good and run smoothly.

On my laptop, which I've mentioned has an Intel GMA, Minetest runs at around 20 FPS with shaders, 3D clouds, and fancy trees at the default window size when I run it on top of GNOME Shell. This is a speed I think is smooth; I never noticed any choppiness at this framerate and it's how I usually play. If I maximize the window, it drops to about 10 FPS.

I mentioned, though, that this is on top of GNOME Shell; if I instead use GNOME Fallback with no effects, I get around 35 FPS at the default window size and 25 FPS with the window maximized.

So in a nutshell, by my interpretation of "great", Minetest even works great on my 2007 budget laptop with an Intel GMA, so I'm sure a computer with Intel HD graphics can do great, too.
Last edited by onpon4 on Wed Mar 27, 2013 21:28, edited 1 time in total.
 

Sokomine
Member
 
Posts: 3886
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine

by Sokomine » Thu Mar 28, 2013 00:57

Calinou wrote:An HD4000 will struggle at running the game at 60FPS with shaders at 1920×1080

And without shaders? Those seem to be very expensive as far as requirements for grapic cards go. AA is not necessary either. What I'd like to have is to be able to play with a constant view range of far with a framerate of at least 15 fps.
A list of my mods can be found here.
 

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
 
Posts: 3156
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
Location: Troyes, France
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou

by Calinou » Thu Mar 28, 2013 11:09

Without shaders, you'll have more than 60FPS just fine in most cases, yes.
 

User avatar
onpon4
Member
 
Posts: 517
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 01:54

by onpon4 » Thu Mar 28, 2013 13:53

What do shaders do, anyway? When I was checking what performance I get, one of the things I did was turn shaders off, and I couldn't see any visual difference.
 

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
 
Posts: 3156
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
Location: Troyes, France
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou

by Calinou » Thu Mar 28, 2013 14:17

Shaders basically improve texture colors to make lighting look much better. Water used to have a lower surface when shaders were enabled, but since the "new_style_water" option was fixed, you can do that without shaders too.

We could do much more with them, though (eg. water waves), but not all kinds of shaders are supported yet (it is currently not possible to make depth of field, HDR, water reflections, or such).
 

User avatar
Psychotic
Member
 
Posts: 150
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 20:21

by Psychotic » Thu Mar 28, 2013 20:42

So uh, how do i install minetest? any how to videos out there?
My history isn't revenge, or hate. The road that brought us both here - isn't about that. It's about the message you carried. The one in that package whether you knew it or not. - Ulysses from Lonesome Road
 

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
 
Posts: 3156
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
Location: Troyes, France
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou

by Calinou » Thu Mar 28, 2013 20:43

On Windows, you just download Minetest from http://minetest.net/download.php, then extract the .zip file, then run minetest.exe which is in the bin directory.
Last edited by Calinou on Thu Mar 28, 2013 20:44, edited 1 time in total.
 


Return to General Discussion



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests