Page 1 of 1

/Give command.

PostPosted: Sun Jan 01, 2012 03:02
by Jordach
How to use the give command. Any help?

PostPosted: Sun Jan 01, 2012 03:12
by jordan4ibanez
/give playername NodeItem/CraftItem mod:name of thing #of it you want

or /giveme to give your self that thing

a NodeItem is an item that becomes part of the map..like steel_block or grass_block

a CraftItem is an item that you craft (i most easily think about it as an item when you right click it puts it down)

the mod part is the name of the mod folder

the # is the number of that thing you want

so lets say..i want...a nuke from sfan5's nuke mod

do: /giveme NodeItem nuke:mese_tnt 900000

woowww! thats a node? i thought you craft that! ..threw you a curved ball didn't i? since that is a block when placed down it is considered a node in the lua of the mod..if you just breeze through the mods you can see whats what ..or you can try it yourself until you get it right

..any ways..got any questions?

PostPosted: Sun Jan 01, 2012 03:19
by Jordach
Like bricks?

as this?

/give jordach brick_block 90?

Still stuck.

PostPosted: Sun Jan 01, 2012 03:40
by jordan4ibanez
you forgot the NodeItem ...that tells the program what type of block it is..and also you forgot to put default in front of brick...so it would be

/giveme NodeItem default:brick 90

PostPosted: Sun Jan 01, 2012 03:43
by Jordach
there we go.

noobs should find this command easier to use. thanks.

want some mese??

/giveme NodeItem default:mese 99

you will get mese.

PostPosted: Sun Jan 01, 2012 08:15
by sfan5
You can use node craft and tool instead of NodeItem CraftItem and ToolItem

PostPosted: Sun Jan 01, 2012 13:08
by Jordach
I do find it funny when I can get torches from nodeitem.

PostPosted: Sun Jan 01, 2012 14:04
by neko259
Anybody make a list of items for the give command on the wiki please.

PostPosted: Sun Jan 01, 2012 15:43
by sfan5
neko259 wrote:Anybody make a list of items for the give command on the wiki please.

That would be too many work

PostPosted: Sun Jan 01, 2012 16:03
by Jordach
No it wont be, just about several hours.

PostPosted: Sun Jan 01, 2012 16:11
by Hackeridze
neko259 wrote:Anybody make a list of items for the give command on the wiki please.

You should look into mod's sources.

PostPosted: Sun Jan 01, 2012 18:22
by neko259
And yes, give command shouldn't give unknown blocks.

PostPosted: Sun Jan 01, 2012 18:34
by cosarara97
neko259 wrote:And yes, give command shouldn't give unknown blocks.

+1

PostPosted: Wed Jan 04, 2012 23:11
by hmmm
I tried to get 99 steel ingots but it gave me 99 pink squares. Having to put NodeItem or CraftItem is really stupid. It's not like there's going to be two things with the same name where one is a CraftItem and one is a NodeItem.

PostPosted: Wed Jan 04, 2012 23:23
by redcrab
neko259 wrote:And yes, give command shouldn't give unknown blocks.

+1

PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2012 08:14
by dannydark
hmmm wrote:I tried to get 99 steel ingots but it gave me 99 pink squares. Having to put NodeItem or CraftItem is really stupid. It's not like there's going to be two things with the same name where one is a CraftItem and one is a NodeItem.


I understand where your coming from and I agree However, I thought I would also note that you don't have to use NodeItem/CraftItem etc you can use just tool, craft or node which I know doesn't fix the unknown object issue but it makes the give command shorter ^_^

PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2012 09:59
by kahrl
FWIW, I'm working on a patch that completely eliminates the need for node/craft/tool. :D

PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2012 10:02
by dannydark
kahrl wrote:FWIW, I'm working on a patch that completely eliminates the need for node/craft/tool. :D


^_^ awesome, would this also eliminate the unknown objects being given when a user types the command incorrectly?

EDIT: as neko259 reported above.

PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2012 11:34
by kahrl
Not directly, but I guess I could do that too :)

PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2012 16:10
by Jordach
and this is why it needs fixing.

PostPosted: Sun Aug 18, 2013 04:59
by alleyrules
um why does it say cannot give an unknown block?

PostPosted: Sun Aug 18, 2013 06:52
by Menche
alleyrules wrote:um why does it say cannot give an unknown block?

You probably typed the name wrong. This topic is very old and is about an obsolete usage of the /give command.