Roughly how long does it take for a release to get to Debian Sid?

Post Reply
HittingSmoke
New member
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2014 04:55

Roughly how long does it take for a release to get to Debian Sid?

by HittingSmoke » Post

For the sake of simplicity I'd like to run Minetest from a repo instead of compiling it on every release.

0.4.9 is out but Debian Sid is still on 0.4.8. I realize it's only been a few days and the packaging is maintained by the Debian Games Team, but I'm curious how long it usually takes to get from release to that release ending up in the Debian repo.

User avatar
Casimir
Member
Posts: 1207
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2012 16:59
GitHub: CasimirKaPazi

by Casimir » Post

When you clone the repo you can just do

Code: Select all

git pull
make -j2
and you are up to date.

pdvrosado
Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2014 23:54

by pdvrosado » Post

Using the stable ppa doesn't automatically update the game version on deb/ubuntu?

User avatar
onpon4
Member
Posts: 518
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 01:54
GitHub: onpon4
In-game: diligentcircle
Contact:

by onpon4 » Post

The PPA hasn't been updated to 0.4.9. Even if it had been, PPAs only work on Ubuntu, not Debian.

pdvrosado
Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2014 23:54

by pdvrosado » Post

Not true, private packages can be added to Debian :) but still, when the ppa gets updated, all using the ppa will get the version updated right?

User avatar
Pitriss
Member
Posts: 254
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2013 17:09
GitHub: Pitriss
IRC: pitriss
In-game: pitriss
Location: Czech republic, Bohumin

by Pitriss » Post

Nope, If package is not build for debian, then it shouldn't be used on debian.. this may lead to strange errors. Anyway. Most debian users don't care about PPA.
I reject your reality and substitute my own. (A. Savage, Mythbusters)
I'm not modding and/or playing minetest anymore. All my mods were released under WTFPL. You can fix/modify them yourself. Don't ask me for support. Thanks.

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
Posts: 6978
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy
Location: Bristol, United Kingdom
Contact:

by rubenwardy » Post

Casimir wrote:When you clone the repo you can just do

Code: Select all

git pull
make -j2
and you are up to date.
cmake . DRUN_IN_PLACE is probably better, if supported.
Renewed Tab (my browser add-on) | Donate | Mods | Minetest Modding Book

Hello profile reader

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam
Location: Germany

by PilzAdam » Post

onpon4 wrote:The PPA hasn't been updated to 0.4.9. Even if it had been, PPAs only work on Ubuntu, not Debian.
Oh, sorry, I forgot to update the PPA. I have requested the builds now, they should be finished in some hours.

EDIT: They are finished now.
Last edited by PilzAdam on Tue Jan 07, 2014 17:43, edited 1 time in total.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests