Page 1 of 1

How can I remove all trees from a world

PostPosted: Mon Mar 31, 2014 22:02
by theblob
I need to remove all of the trees (along with saplings, leaves, and apples) from a world for... uh... reasons. Does anyone know how I could do this? A seed that generates no trees is also acceptable. Thank you for your help!

PostPosted: Mon Mar 31, 2014 23:58
by hoodedice
Open minetest.conf, located in your Minetest root directory, or the folder where the mods, worlds, and bin folder are.

Add this line to it. Remember! Minetest MUST be closed before you open this, else your changes will not be saved.

Code: Select all
mg_flags = notrees


And generate a new world.


See this:

https://github.com/minetest/minetest/blob/master/minetest.conf.example

for more *secret* options for your minetest game =)


Also, welcome to the Minetest Forums ^.^

PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2014 00:09
by theblob
Thanks for the quick answer, this was exactly what I needed.

PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2014 17:12
by TeTpaAka
Hybrid Dog wrote:"notrees" isn't mentioned there


It sais:
# To explicitly turn off a flag, prepend "no" to the beginning, e.g. nolight.


And "trees" is mentioned, so notrees disables all trees.

PostPosted: Wed Apr 02, 2014 00:51
by DaN
(insert environmentalist complaining here)

PostPosted: Wed Apr 02, 2014 08:52
by RHR
Is it also posible to remove all plants and flatten the terrain completely without water or biomes?
I tried it with:
mg_flags=notrees, flat
but this dosn't work 100%.

PostPosted: Wed Apr 02, 2014 11:38
by twoelk
maybe starting with "singlenode" set as mapgen and then insertng a large flat sheet of dirt-with-grass nodes with the WorldEditor is what you want. That would elimate any automatic mapgeneration and give you full control - and the complete workload of landscaping.

As "flatworld" is often asked for, maybe we should collect all the sollutions posted so far. As there seem to be various settings for different official/semiofficial mapgens and mod mapgens as well as mods for "flattening" limited areas and some people have posted flat maps of various kinds to the forums.

... in other words: search the forums, there are many sollutions out there.

PostPosted: Wed Apr 02, 2014 12:54
by Krock
https://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?id=8952

flat, 100% for sure *

* Does not count for other lua-mapgens

PostPosted: Wed Apr 02, 2014 18:02
by RHR
Krock wrote:https://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?id=8952

flat, 100% for sure


100% AWESOME!

Re:

PostPosted: Thu Sep 17, 2015 06:09
by John987
RHR wrote:Is it also posible to remove all plants and flatten the terrain completely without water or biomes?
I tried it with:
mg_flags=notrees, flat
but this dosn't work 100%.


What kind of attribute is "flat" ? Does it mean everything is removed when we apply it ?

Re: How can I remove all trees from a world

PostPosted: Thu Sep 17, 2015 06:38
by Dartmouth
It makes a completely level world where there are no elevations or lakes

Re: How can I remove all trees from a world

PostPosted: Thu Sep 17, 2015 09:49
by twoelk
the flag "flat" makes the ground flat, no hills no mountains but still biomes as in blotches of sand in stretches of grass. Also the underground generation is normal with caves and ores. As such you may have holes in your flat surface, some with water.

For endles plains of a single type use:

Superflat by srifqi or
flatgen by krock

"flatgen" was faster the last time I tried but "superflat" has more options.

in both you can define of what nodes the world should be made sorting it in absolutely flat layers. "flatgen" has three while "superflat" allows to compose a layer structure of as many layers as you wish and also allows to decorate the surface with plants to your liking. Consider though that in "flatgen" you can allow normal mapgen under a given depth.

or maybe play with the possabilities of skyplatform by Sokomine

Re: How can I remove all trees from a world

PostPosted: Sat Feb 09, 2019 03:01
by 2014 guy
Is there away you can take an existing world and remove the trees. because on this world, i made a building that took a while to make and i dont want to create a new world and have to start over again. is there any way to do this?

Re: How can I remove all trees from a world

PostPosted: Sat Feb 09, 2019 03:08
by paramat
2014 guy,
Yes. Use the lua voxel manipulator to remove all tree nodes, then recalculate lighting and write the luavoxelmanip to the world.

Re: How can I remove all trees from a world

PostPosted: Sat Feb 09, 2019 18:41
by Skamiz Kazzarch
Would several aliases along the lines of:
Code: Select all
minetest.register_alias("default:tree", "air")

work? Or would that also cause lighting issues?

Re: How can I remove all trees from a world

PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2019 16:45
by Wuzzy
I need to remove all of the trees (along with saplings, leaves, and apples) from a world for... uh... reasons.

That's easy: Craft an axe and start chopping!

Re: How can I remove all trees from a world

PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2019 17:09
by voxelproof
I need to remove all of the trees (along with saplings, leaves, and apples) from a world


Just set them on fire. Fast, easy, pleasant. Btw has perhaps anyone comitted a napalm mod already?

for... uh... reasons.


That's ok. You don't need to feel guilty. Trees are beautiful when they burn.

Re: How can I remove all trees from a world

PostPosted: Thu Feb 14, 2019 04:56
by paramat
Using aliases is a bad way.
If you want to create a new world where only trees are removed, use a mod to clear all registered decorations then re-register them without the trees.
(non mgv6 mapgens only).