[CLOSED/SOLVED]

Tedypig
IRC: Piggybear87
In-game: Piggybear

[CLOSED/SOLVED]

by Tedypig » Post

Well, I wanted Linux on my computer... Ubuntu didn't work, nor did Mint... I finally found one that works on my WAY OLD desktop, and that was Puppy. I like it so far... But why is there no new Minetest versions for it? The latest is for 0.4.6. Can someone please make a 0.4.9 for puppy?

EDIT: Or can someone tell my how to download/compile/whatever(I'm new to Linux)? I want to see if it will play on my my "new" dumpster found computer. Lol.
Last edited by Tedypig on Mon Jun 09, 2014 19:22, edited 3 times in total.

Evergreen
GitHub: 4Evergreen4
IRC: EvergreenTree
In-game: Evergreen

Re: So yeah...

by Evergreen » Post

Tedypig wrote:Well, I wanted Linux on my computer... Ubuntu didn't work, nor did Mint... I finally found one that works on my WAY OLD desktop, and that was Puppy. I like it so far... But why is there no new Minetest versions for it? The latest is for 0.4.6. Can someone please make a 0.4.9 for puppy?

EDIT: Or can someone tell my how to download/compile/whatever(I'm new to Linux)? I want to see if it will play on my my "new" dumpster found computer. Lol.
First you need to install these libraries:

Code: Select all

build-essential libirrlicht-dev cmake libbz2-dev libpng12-dev libjpeg8-dev libxxf86vm-dev libgl1-mesa-dev libsqlite3-dev libogg-dev libvorbis-dev libopenal-dev libcurl4-gnutls-dev libfreetype6-dev git
Then do the following in the terminal: (exclude the $ sign of course)

Code: Select all

$ git clone https://github.com/minetest/minetest.git
$ cd minetest/games
$ git clone https://github.com/minetest/minetest_game.git
$ cd ..
$ cmake . -DRUN_IN_PLACE=1
$ make
The just do ~/path_to_minetest/minetest/bin/minetest to run it.

Tedypig

by Tedypig » Post