[Android] Builds for ARM, x86 and MIPS

sapier
Developer
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

[Android] Builds for ARM, x86 and MIPS

by sapier » Thu May 29, 2014 21:20

We made it, first official android version of minetest!

Official:


Development

Old:

Experimental (only occasional testing)

MIPS:
X86:

Screenshots:
1024x600 @ 9"
Image
Open issues:
  • Can't leave sound volume menu ... don't use it! ;-)
  • Inventory cube textures are completely messed up on some devices (see config below to enable hack)
  • Devices with only 512MB ram may crash due to out of memory
  • Menu scaling on very small screens isn't perfect
  • No shaders on android!

In case you have any of upper issues or new ones plz post following information:
  • APK version you tested
  • screenshot(s)
  • Device you're using for test
  • (OPTIONAL) Android Version, GPU Type, Screen DPI (use cpuz app to get that information)
  • (OPTIONAL) debug.txt from Minetest folder

Settings that may help:
  • gui_scaling = 1.0 (change to smaller value if your menu is to big)
  • inventory_image_hack = true (in case you have broken inventorycubes, PLEASE TELL ME ABOUT YOUR DEVICE)

Device Table:
Code: Select all
- HTC One VX,               2x1.2GHz        Adreno 305,     1GB,  960x540        (GOOD)
- Huawei Ascend A6/P6,      4x1.5GHz,     Immersion.16,     2GB, 1280x720        (GOOD)
- Huawei Ascend Y300,       2x1GHz,         Adreno 203,   512MB,  800x480          (OK)
- Huawei Ideos X3,          1x0.6GHz,       Adreno 200,   256MB,  480x320  (UNPLAYABLE)
- Kyokera Event,            1x1GHz,         Adreno 205,   512MB,  480x320          (OK)
- Metroit MMB-525.SAT,      1x1GHz,         Mali MP400,     1GB,1920x1080        (POOR)
- Motorola RAZR i XT890,    1x2GHz,     PowerVR SGX540,     1GB,  540x960        (GOOD)
- NVidia Shield,            4x1.9GHz,          GeForce,     2GB, 1280x720        (GOOD)
- Samsung Galaxy Note II,   4x1.6GHz,     Mali-400 MP4,     2GB, 1280x720        (GOOD)
- Samsung Galaxy S,         1x1GHz,     PowerVR SGX540,   512MB,  800x480        (GOOD)
- Samsung Galaxy S Plus,    1x1.4GHz,       Adreno 205,   512MB,  800x480        (GOOD)
- Samsung Galaxy S3,        4x1.4GHz,     Mali-400 MP4,     1GB, 1280x720        (GOOD)
- Samsung Galaxy Tab 3,     2x1.2GHz,   Vivante GC1000,     1GB, 1024x600        (GOOD)
- Samsung Galaxy S4 Mini,   2x1.7GHz,       Adreno 305,   1.5GB,  960x540        (GOOD)
- Sony Xperia Z,            4x1.5GHz,       Adreno 320,     2GB, 1920x1080       (GOOD)
- Touchlet X4,              1x1GHz,           Mali-200,   512MB,  800x480  (UNPLAYABLE)
- Trekstor Breeze Plus,     2x1GHz,        Mali-400 MP,   512MB, 1024x600          (OK)
- Vodafone Smart 4,         4x1.2GHz,   PowerVR SGX544,     1GB, 1280x800        (GOOD)
- Xelio P1000A-BK,          2x1GHz,        Mali-400 MP,   512MB, 1024x600        (POOR)
- Xoro PAD721,              2x1.2GHz,   PowerVR SGX540,   512MB, 1024x600          (OK)
- Xoro PAD900,              2x1.2GHz,   PowerVR SGX540,     1GB, 1024x600        (GOOD)


Changelog:
20140707
-added sqlite3 workaround for mips build

0.4.10
-switched to leveldb as sqlite3 is broken

20140629
-fixed help text
-fixed bug with newlines in formspecs
-fix error in texturehack patch (no text on some devices)
-fix reset singleplayer world not working

20140623
Minetest java packet got renamed please uninstall old version manually
-pull request after first review, no functional changes

20140622:
-added hack for GPU's claiming to support BGRA textures but fail (e.g. Vivante GPU)
-MIPS: fix day night race

20140621:
- remove more debug features
- fix build without debug features
- update to latest master
- fixed ogles2 startup
Last edited by sapier on Thu Aug 28, 2014 17:46, edited 58 times in total.
 

User avatar
stormchaser3000
Member
 
Posts: 410
Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2013 21:02

Re: Android Port

by stormchaser3000 » Thu May 29, 2014 21:46

um ok but i don't see why the menu has to be changed soo much. how about say..... fly mode and first person (when a first person option is added) mode being in a button ingame rather than on the main menu
 

sapier
Developer
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

Re: Android Builds (ARM, x86, MIPS)

by sapier » Thu May 29, 2014 21:59

Problem about the menu is it needs to be usable on devices with low resolutions too, thus I tried to strip everything not absolutely required. As the original menu is still there adding a "advanced menu" setting might be an option.

Edit1:
In game buttons have one big problem ... they use pixels ... especially on small devices those are very very "expensive".
 

User avatar
stormchaser3000
Member
 
Posts: 410
Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2013 21:02

Re: Android Builds (ARM, x86, MIPS)

by stormchaser3000 » Thu May 29, 2014 22:22

sapier wrote:Problem about the menu is it needs to be usable on devices with low resolutions too, thus I tried to strip everything not absolutely required. As the original menu is still there adding a "advanced menu" setting might be an option.

Edit1:
In game buttons have one big problem ... they use pixels ... especially on small devices those are very very "expensive".


OK but um can the controls be made easier? The arrow keys are positioned weird.
 

sapier
Developer
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

Re: Android Builds (ARM, x86, MIPS)

by sapier » Thu May 29, 2014 23:00

What's weird and what not is matter of device and personal preference. For small devices that positioning is saving as much display to show world as possible.
But I'm open for suggestions about a better tradeoff ... I guess we wont find the solution being perfect for all devices
 

User avatar
philipbenr
Member
 
Posts: 1684
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 01:56
Location: United States
GitHub: philipbenr
IRC: philipbenr
In-game: robinspi

Re: Android Builds (ARM, x86, MIPS)

by philipbenr » Thu May 29, 2014 23:28

Looks good sapier. I think that we will use what we have until something better comes, right?
 

User avatar
stormchaser3000
Member
 
Posts: 410
Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2013 21:02

Re: Android Builds (ARM, x86, MIPS)

by stormchaser3000 » Fri May 30, 2014 00:12

oh and something makes this unplayable for me. please make it so when the files copy at the start that that only happens once. because i am getting rid of mods eg legacy and external_legacy or bones or fire. and then i go to start the game again and the mods are back in the folder. would be nice if the files moved rather than copy every tim when starting the game.
 

sapier
Developer
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

Re: Android Builds (ARM, x86, MIPS)

by sapier » Sat May 31, 2014 23:32

That's a pitty but I can't do it only once as there are files in there that have to be there.
Best thing to solve your issue is suggesting a good default game
 

spillz
Member
 
Posts: 138
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2014 05:11

Re: Android Builds (ARM, x86, MIPS)

by spillz » Sat May 31, 2014 23:54

From other thread

sapier wrote:I agree with adjusting the sizes but that's quite difficult to get done ... but it's still on list.
And if buttons get bigger we need to strip even more. For what I assume you've got a major problem with this as you have a high dpi device, for most tablets this isn't as pressing.


Look at attached from mc pocket. Not that hard to fit a lot of options on a small screen if you use tabs / sub menus. Doing it with irrlicht will naturally be a pain.
Attachments
Screenshot_2014-05-29-14-51-15.png
Minecraft pocket menus
(345.34 KiB) Downloaded 1 time
 

sapier
Developer
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

Re: Android Builds (ARM, x86, MIPS)

by sapier » Sun Jun 01, 2014 11:29

Well your screenshot shows having >>>>4<<<< options on a single screen ... quick counting we've got about 60 settings at 4 pages ... even if we place 5 options per page we'll have 30 pages to do it that way ;-)

Edit1:
Tablet users would be really annoyed by doing it that way .... maybe we need a third main menu for extremely small screen devices.
 

User avatar
LemonLake
Member
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Sat May 10, 2014 18:27
Location: United Kingdom
GitHub: Lemmmy
IRC: Lemmmy
In-game: Lemmmy

Re: Android Builds (ARM, x86, MIPS)

by LemonLake » Sun Jun 01, 2014 13:34

Installed on a Samsung Galaxy Note II, Android 4.3

Upon starting up, I was greeted with a main menu that doesn't look entirely like it should: Image

Perhaps you could scale the elements based on DPI, too?

Singleplayer is fast in loading, takes some time to generate
Avg 20fps

Block breaking takes a while to respond
Blocks glitch
Image

Inventory badly scaled, again the image glitch in the blocks (and items?)
Image

Tapping the menu button does nothing at all

Within 20 seconds of gameplay, the phone temperature was already at 40 degrees C
 

sapier
Developer
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

Re: Android Builds (ARM, x86, MIPS)

by sapier » Sun Jun 01, 2014 23:42

20140602 build should work on powervr mali and adreno gpus
For those with high dpi screens try gui_scaling setting in minetest.conf
 

spillz
Member
 
Posts: 138
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2014 05:11

Re: Android Builds (ARM, x86, MIPS)

by spillz » Mon Jun 02, 2014 00:01

Jesus christ on a bike, how do you use the gui_scaling setting? (and why is something so fundamental buried - presume you intend to get the port to a point where tweaking with conf files isn't needed). We don't all spend our day with the code...
 

User avatar
qwrwed
Member
 
Posts: 325
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2012 20:56
In-game: qwrwed or Nitro
 

User avatar
Jordach
Member
 
Posts: 4463
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
Location: Blender Scene
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach

Re: Android Builds (ARM, x86, MIPS)

by Jordach » Mon Jun 02, 2014 20:06

Links are dead; confirmed.
PM me if you want access to my Solar Plains Discord and or Dev server.
 

sapier
Developer
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

Re: Android Builds (ARM, x86, MIPS)

by sapier » Mon Jun 02, 2014 22:08

spillz without a lot of ppl writing their screensize/dpi/resolution I can't find a suitable algorithm to do autoconfiguration.
Range of those values is just to big to use only one setting.

I request everyone to write her/his screensize/dpi/resolution AND the gui_scaling value being best for her/him.
 

User avatar
ExeterDad
Member
 
Posts: 1581
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2014 20:00
Location: New Hampshire U.S.A
In-game: ExeterDad

Re: Android Builds (ARM, x86, MIPS)

by ExeterDad » Tue Jun 03, 2014 12:15

I joined up so I could help with data. I've been quietly stalking as our whole family is enjoying Minetest and hopeful for a Android release.

I've been installing all the releases since the 30th and have noticed improvements along the way. My three children have the Kyrocera Event. Probably the bottom of the barrel as far as screen quality and hardware specs. So I thought it's benchmarks may be helpful.

Adjusting the gui_scaling certainly made the difference for the majority of the GUI.

Kyocera Event
Physical size: 3.5 inches
Resolution: 320 x 480 pixels
Pixel density: 165 ppi
Technology: IPS LCD
Colors: 16 777 216
System chip: Qualcomm Snapdragon MSM8655
Processor: Single core, 1000 MHz, Scorpion
Graphics processor: Adreno 205
System memory: 512 MB RAM
shot_2014-06-02_20-18-17.png
Opening screen, no adjustments
(13.62 KiB) Not downloaded yet

Opening Screen, no adjustments.
shot_2014-06-02_20-34-00.png
Gameplay, no adjustments
(114.85 KiB) Not downloaded yet

Gameplay, no adjustments.
shot_2014-06-02_20-34-32.png
Inventory, no adjustments
(67.7 KiB) Not downloaded yet

Inventory, no adjustments.

My attachment limit is 3 so will continue...
 

User avatar
ExeterDad
Member
 
Posts: 1581
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2014 20:00
Location: New Hampshire U.S.A
In-game: ExeterDad

Re: Android Builds (ARM, x86, MIPS)

by ExeterDad » Tue Jun 03, 2014 12:31

shot_2014-06-02_21-14-39.png
Opening screen, all visible gui_scaling = .6
(20.71 KiB) Not downloaded yet

Opening screen, all visible gui_scaling = .6
shot_2014-06-02_21-16-44.png
gameplay, all visible gui_scaling = .6
(74.81 KiB) Not downloaded yet

shot_2014-06-02_21-17-41.png
Inventory screen, all visible gui_scaling = .6
(64.08 KiB) Not downloaded yet


gui_scaling doesn't seem to affect other dialogs such as chat. I have screenshots if you need, but don't know if I should author another post just to show. The dialog is oversized and to the bottom right with the top edge of the "Proceed Button" barely visible.

Other observations.
In gameplay, the back button brings up a dialog allowing user to go to main menu ect. But if connected to a server a extra button to change password appears, forcing menu button off screen so it's not possible to return to menu.
Once in menu screen, the back button doesn't allow user to exit application. Is it intentional now? I have to force close the app through phone settings after forcing my way back to Android home screen.
FPS are unplayable for the most part right now on this low end device. 1-3 FPS seems the average. It was much better at 7-12 a few days ago. Don't know if it's a fluke or if something changed.
Scanning of files at the beginning is MUCH faster.
I like you added more options in settings so user can adjust gui_scaling without the need to edit minetest.conf (most users don't have a editor onboard), not sure if that was there all along or not as I've never been able to see the tabs at top of menu screen until manually adjusting minetest.conf.

All and all my whole family thanks the Minetest team for the blast we are having and are anxiously awaiting the Android release as it seems we are losing laptops faster then I can fix them :)

Cheers, Lee
 

User avatar
Krock
Developer
 
Posts: 3763
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
Location: Switzerland
GitHub: SmallJoker

Re: Android Builds (ARM, x86, MIPS)

by Krock » Tue Jun 03, 2014 16:23

ExeterDad wrote:My attachment limit is 3 so will continue...

http://imgur.com/
..will be your help :)
Mod Search Engine - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>
 

sapier
Developer
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

Re: Android Builds (ARM, x86, MIPS)

by sapier » Tue Jun 03, 2014 17:05

ExeterDad ... amazing ... I didn't even expect it to work on screens with resolutions less then 640x480.
About the fps ... 1-3fps ... I don't wanna give you a lot of hope, I doubt we're gonna get an improvement that much (soon) I tested on adreno 203 with about 10 fps ... but it's been a dual core.
Maybe we'll be able to get those 10fps on devices like yours too ... but I don't wanna promise to much right now, it's to early to tell
Thanks for your feedback
 

User avatar
pilcrow
Member
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2013 09:10

Re: Android Builds (ARM, x86, MIPS)

by pilcrow » Sun Jun 08, 2014 10:09

I suppose I should give my input as well, eh?

My nVidia Shield has oodles of power, so it handles the latest build with a decent 30+ fps, but there are still a few problems.

That gui_scaling setting needed to be adjusted to about 0.5-0.6 or so, but with a 5-inch 1280x720 display (294 ppi), I kind of expected that.

Inventory cubes were completely screwed up, but I did a little hacking to have it just use 'flat' images, and now it works fine.

My biggest problem is that I can't PLACE anything. Press-and-hold will dig/mine as normal, but a quicker tap/press will not place them down, as it would in stu's old android builds or freeminer. And there's no on-screen button for placing nodes either...
A fat lot of good these 3 stacks of wood are doin' me if I can't build anything with 'em, eh? I don't think I need 1188 sticks... :P

Also, while this is far less important, there seems to be an incompatibility between this and the shield's button-mapper. If I don't move my joysticks very quickly, it'll occasionally think I'm tapping the screen's corners instead. After some observation, I think it has problems with analog input. The same issue seems to happen whenever I press a button that hasn't been mapped, as well. It's as if the game has trouble figuring out what to do with an unknown input... This issue is not exclusive to your build -- stu's old builds and freeminer have this issue as well -- but it IS exclusive to the various minetest incarnations, as the button-mapper is working fine in everything else I throw at it...
 

sapier
Developer
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

Re: Android Builds (ARM, x86, MIPS)

by sapier » Sun Jun 08, 2014 16:19

pilcrow placing is quick double tap

there's a setting to enable the non render to texture workaround, seems for some reason almost all devices (except the one I have) can't render to texture. I'm gonna add nvidia to the list of known bad devices too.

anyone else having inventory item issues can try setting
inventory_image_hack = true
in minetest.conf.
Please report your device if this fix helps so I can add it to the known bad list too.
 

Hiradur
Member
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Feb 22, 2014 17:44

Re: Android Builds (ARM, x86, MIPS)

by Hiradur » Tue Jun 10, 2014 15:26

Will Raspberry Pi and other ARM single board computers be supported eventually?
 

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
 
Posts: 3712
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
Location: Germany
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5

Re: Android Builds (ARM, x86, MIPS)

by sfan5 » Tue Jun 10, 2014 20:19

Hiradur wrote:Will Raspberry Pi and other ARM single board computers be supported eventually?

If it runs Android it should work.
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)
 

User avatar
ExeterDad
Member
 
Posts: 1581
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2014 20:00
Location: New Hampshire U.S.A
In-game: ExeterDad

Re: Android Builds (ARM, x86, MIPS)

by ExeterDad » Fri Jun 13, 2014 03:04

Still following and have been installing each new release. Today I threw in Minetest-release_20140611.apk and noticed it's a whole lot more playable FPS-wise for the phone I listed earlier.
On our server I was getting 5-7 FPS in the daytime and it seemed to jump to around 15-17 FPS in the night or underground. I was pretty shocked as I have VanessaE's HDX texture pack (64x64) rather then the stock MT textures I tested with on my last report with lesser results.
The main menu screen seemed to be a appropriate enough scale without adding a minetest.conf setting for gui_scaling like I did before. Not certain if settings were left behind somewhere or not. I did blow out the Minetest folder on the SD card before the install. I have to wonder because there was a IP address I had miss-typed before of my server in the selection box at the main screen.
My inventory is the unified_inventory installed server side. That was a mistake as I could see no way to back out of the inventory with the Android controls. Force closing the app is all I could do.
For giggles I went to VanessaE's nearly Vanilla server that was offered in the main menu. Pretty much made a fool of myself as FPS were @ 1. Waiting for it to load while reading signs didn't seem to help either. Couldn't even leave the spawn building to poke around it was so hard to move. Couldn't properly leave her server as the "Return to Menu" button is still off screen when I pressed the back button. So I had to force close again.

All in all these builds still work a ton better then the Buildcraft app on the Market. On this phone the main menu is so small I literally have to use my magnifier visor and try to select options and buttons the size of a flea. And when I could get it logged in, no textures would even show on the nodes. They were just white and gray shaded shapes.
When it's all said and done you may be very surprised how well this runs on low end devices!
Keep up the good work :)
 

Next

Return to Builds



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest