3 Small Things Minetest Needs To Be A Better Game (Article)

BLAST
New member
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2011 02:15
 

User avatar
RAPHAEL
Member
 
Posts: 627
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 09:09
Location: Earth

by RAPHAEL » Sat Feb 11, 2012 19:33


Minetest already has roughly the number 3. AKA tooltips. Sound I agree with, there's some code for sound already but it needs to be put into the main code. The first one? nah not needed.
"Before you speak, ask yourself: Is it kind, is it true, is it necessary, does it improve upon the silence?"
My mods: http://goo.gl/n4kpn
(Currently Various, Industrial, Fakeblocks, Jail, MoarCraft, Christmas, Replicator, minetest dev installer for linux, bash mod installer, windows mod installer)
 

User avatar
dannydark
Member
 
Posts: 428
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 21:28
Location: Manchester, UK

by dannydark » Sat Feb 11, 2012 20:57



What version of the game did you test? because the current dev build (0.4) has tooltips and also mod support ^_^

With regards to sound like RAPHAEL said there is already a sound branch that is still being developed which once done should make it to 0.4 (probably before 0.4 stable too).

and what you said about the continuous place of blocks when holding down the mouse button I probably agree with, weirdly 2 people on my server where asking about this the other week.
 

User avatar
LolManKuba
Member
 
Posts: 939
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 22:36
Location: Ontario, Canada

by LolManKuba » Sat Feb 11, 2012 23:01


That is what YOU want to become a better Minetest -c55 thing, but mine is diffrent because I want 1) Minetest to have Good and more bad mobs like Creepers, Zombies, Skeletons ect.
 

XCalibur54
Member
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2011 01:29

by XCalibur54 » Sat Feb 11, 2012 23:36

dannydark wrote:


What version of the game did you test? because the current dev build (0.4) has tooltips and also mod support ^_^

With regards to sound like RAPHAEL said there is already a sound branch that is still being developed which once done should make it to 0.4 (probably before 0.4 stable too).

and what you said about the continuous place of blocks when holding down the mouse button I probably agree with, weirdly 2 people on my server where asking about this the other week.


I'm using the current dev build and I don't have tooltips. Am I doing something wrong?
Moderator of redcrab's 0.4 server: http://c55.me/minetest/forum/viewtopic.php?id=606
 

User avatar
dannydark
Member
 
Posts: 428
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 21:28
Location: Manchester, UK

by dannydark » Sun Feb 12, 2012 13:27

@XCalibur54 Are you sure your using the latest version? Tooltips where added some time ago with Kahrl's itemdef patch back on the 13th January.

I build from the source but I'm sure celeron55 has released builds since then.
 

User avatar
qyron
Member
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 00:07
Location: Portugal

by qyron » Sun Feb 12, 2012 18:08

1. What for? It would only help me make even more mistakes when building. One block per click is fine.

2. Stability over prettiness, always. It will eventually come to reality.

3. Read above the reply of dannydark.
Minetest is not Minecraft. Stop trying to make them look alike.
 

User avatar
Tim
Member
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2012 22:21
Location: Bristol, England

by Tim » Sun Feb 12, 2012 20:08

I agree with qyron. I always make mistakes in Minecraft which leads to having to use my tools more and so they break quicker.

I think everybody is ignoring a large part of number 3, which is a valid poin - the design of the inventory. Coming from Minecraft I tried to put all my items in the bottom 9 slots, but quickly learnt that it was the top 9 in Minetest. Obviously that wasn't a massive problem for me, but for a totally new player this system would be completley alien, and the 3x3 grid with the single slot will be very confusing.

Now I can't remember because I havn't played Minecraft in quite a long time, but I think it says "Crafting" above the 2x2 area in that game, and it is more seperate from the rest of the inventory, whereas in this the space between the crafting area and the rest of the inventory is the same as the space between normal cells.
Maybe give the crafting cells a different coloured tint to make it slightly clearer that this isn't your inventory?
 

User avatar
dannydark
Member
 
Posts: 428
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 21:28
Location: Manchester, UK

by dannydark » Sun Feb 12, 2012 20:12

Tim wrote:I agree with qyron. I always make mistakes in Minecraft which leads to having to use my tools more and so they break quicker.

I think everybody is ignoring a large part of number 3, which is a valid poin - the design of the inventory. Coming from Minecraft I tried to put all my items in the bottom 9 slots, but quickly learnt that it was the top 9 in Minetest. Obviously that wasn't a massive problem for me, but for a totally new player this system would be completley alien, and the 3x3 grid with the single slot will be very confusing.

Now I can't remember because I havn't played Minecraft in quite a long time, but I think it says "Crafting" above the 2x2 area in that game, and it is more seperate from the rest of the inventory, whereas in this the space between the crafting area and the rest of the inventory is the same as the space between normal cells.
Maybe give the crafting cells a different coloured tint to make it slightly clearer that this isn't your inventory?


In MC it is 2x2 but thats because in MC you have a workbench which gives you the 3x3 crafting area, I know that there is some planning going on at the moment with regards to the gui so maybe in the future the inventory area will be texture based (like in MC) meaning we could easily change the look of it.

With regards to the top row being the quick access row I actually prefer this to MC although I understand what your saying maybe the top row could have a bit more padding between that and the rest of your inventory or like you said maybe in a slightly different colour.
 

User avatar
RAPHAEL
Member
 
Posts: 627
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 09:09
Location: Earth

by RAPHAEL » Sun Feb 12, 2012 21:17

For inventory UI I suggest a slightly bigger crafting area to allow more crafting recipes.
"Before you speak, ask yourself: Is it kind, is it true, is it necessary, does it improve upon the silence?"
My mods: http://goo.gl/n4kpn
(Currently Various, Industrial, Fakeblocks, Jail, MoarCraft, Christmas, Replicator, minetest dev installer for linux, bash mod installer, windows mod installer)
 

User avatar
sdzen
Member
 
Posts: 1170
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2011 22:33
Location: Paradise (your not allowed)

by sdzen » Sun Feb 12, 2012 21:31

yes we have our inventory 3x3 and a workbench with 4x4 or more! making us the ultimate crafters!
[h]Zen S.D.[/h] The next generation of tranquility!
malheureusement mon français n'est pas bon :<
Owner of the Zelo's
In game name: MuadTralk, spdtainted, sdzen, sd zen, sdzeno
 

User avatar
dannydark
Member
 
Posts: 428
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 21:28
Location: Manchester, UK

by dannydark » Sun Feb 12, 2012 21:36

sdzen wrote:yes we have our inventory 3x3 and a workbench with 4x4 or more! making us the ultimate crafters!


I agree with adding a workbench with a 4x4 (or more) crafting grid, but still think that the inventory grid should be reduced to 2x2 otherwise there really wouldn't be much need for a workbench as most stuff would still be able to be crafted in the inventory >_<
 

User avatar
qyron
Member
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 00:07
Location: Portugal

by qyron » Sun Feb 12, 2012 21:39

RAPHAEL wrote:For inventory UI I suggest a slightly bigger crafting area to allow more crafting recipes.

That would make game-play even more easy than already is.

Inventory craft space should (must) be cut down and more workspaces should be created; the craftsman's table would be a good start. I've already suggested in another thread to split the furnace into kiln (for cooking, clay craft and charcoal production) and furnace (for ore smelting/refining) and I would go even further and create the anvil for metal working. It's better to make the game more challenging than the opposite.

Presently, there is no need to create a safe place for you to craft your tools; if the right materials are at hand, you can explore indefinitely.
Minetest is not Minecraft. Stop trying to make them look alike.
 

User avatar
RAPHAEL
Member
 
Posts: 627
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 09:09
Location: Earth

by RAPHAEL » Sun Feb 12, 2012 21:57

qyron wrote:
RAPHAEL wrote:For inventory UI I suggest a slightly bigger crafting area to allow more crafting recipes.

That would make game-play even more easy than already is.

Inventory craft space should (must) be cut down and more workspaces should be created; the craftsman's table would be a good start. I've already suggested in another thread to split the furnace into kiln (for cooking, clay craft and charcoal production) and furnace (for ore smelting/refining) and I would go even further and create the anvil for metal working. It's better to make the game more challenging than the opposite.

Presently, there is no need to create a safe place for you to craft your tools; if the right materials are at hand, you can explore indefinitely.

Yes a crafting table would be nice but until it's done the inventory crafting area should be bigger. A lot more mods are available now and eventually there will be more and more craft recipe conflicts unless more space is available.
"Before you speak, ask yourself: Is it kind, is it true, is it necessary, does it improve upon the silence?"
My mods: http://goo.gl/n4kpn
(Currently Various, Industrial, Fakeblocks, Jail, MoarCraft, Christmas, Replicator, minetest dev installer for linux, bash mod installer, windows mod installer)
 

XCalibur54
Member
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2011 01:29

by XCalibur54 » Mon Feb 13, 2012 01:44

dannydark wrote:@XCalibur54 Are you sure your using the latest version? Tooltips where added some time ago with Kahrl's itemdef patch back on the 13th January.

I build from the source but I'm sure celeron55 has released builds since then.


Ah yes.. I'm using the dev build redcrab's server uses, the January 6th one. I just downloaded the newer one and it has tooltips.
Moderator of redcrab's 0.4 server: http://c55.me/minetest/forum/viewtopic.php?id=606
 

User avatar
Gambit
Member
 
Posts: 453
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 19:31
Location: United States

by Gambit » Mon Feb 13, 2012 04:58

sdzen wrote:yes we have our inventory 3x3 and a workbench with 4x4 or more! making us the ultimate crafters!


A workbench with 4x4 sounds pretty balanced to me, but anything higher than 4x4 would just make things too repetitive in my opinion. The guys making the mods would go completely crazy with that, which could complicate things for everyone.
Current Projects: MineToon | PixelBOX
Gambit's Checkmate Server - 43.65.296.232 - port: 30001
 

User avatar
sdzen
Member
 
Posts: 1170
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2011 22:33
Location: Paradise (your not allowed)

by sdzen » Mon Feb 13, 2012 20:47

id like a 4x4 crafting space because i have ideas that would be so much better if i had crafting room
Edit: this is to add to my previous post my reasoning
Last edited by sdzen on Mon Feb 13, 2012 20:47, edited 1 time in total.
[h]Zen S.D.[/h] The next generation of tranquility!
malheureusement mon français n'est pas bon :<
Owner of the Zelo's
In game name: MuadTralk, spdtainted, sdzen, sd zen, sdzeno
 


Return to General Discussion



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests