I'm new... very new...

huasonshine
Member
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2014 22:32

I'm new... very new...

by huasonshine » Tue Aug 19, 2014 22:44

I know newbies are annoying, but there is noway to pick up something new without being a newbie... and apparently I have learned just enough to be dangerous! (to my new village) :) I spent hours digging, plotting & placing my fairly elaborate village... and managed to corrupt it somehow... now when I log in all I see is stars and nothing in my inventory.. any ideas?? Also I would love to read or learn more about the game, I've read the wiki, so I have the basics, is there something a bit more advanced? perhaps someone has some personal tutorials??
 

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
 
Posts: 3080
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

Re: I'm new... very new...

by Inocudom » Wed Aug 20, 2014 00:00

More information is needed first. What version of Minetest are you using? What is your operating system? Where is your world saved at?
You can now find my videos at BitChute: https://www.bitchute.com/channel/some_cheeky_jinuskian/
 

User avatar
Minetestforfun
Member
 
Posts: 936
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 14:09
Location: On earth
GitHub: Darcidride
IRC: Darcidride + MinetestForFun
In-game: Darcidride + MinetestForFun
 

Dragonop
Member
 
Posts: 1178
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2012 12:59
Location: Argentina
GitHub: Dragonop
IRC: Dragonop
In-game: Dragonop

Re: I'm new... very new...

by Dragonop » Wed Aug 20, 2014 02:45

Note: Only download MT from minetest.net ; or the Cleron55 Github or a build fund in this forums!
Note 2: Read THIS wiki http://wiki.minetest.net/ (NOT THIS: wiki.minetest.com)
 

User avatar
Evergreen
Member
 
Posts: 2135
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 01:22
Location: A forest in the midwest
GitHub: 4Evergreen4
IRC: EvergreenTree
In-game: Evergreen

Re: I'm new... very new...

by Evergreen » Wed Aug 20, 2014 12:01

Dragonop wrote:Note: Only download MT from minetest.net ; or the Cleron55 Github or a build fund in this forums!
Note 2: Read THIS wiki http://wiki.minetest.net/ (NOT THIS: wiki.minetest.com)

Eh , not the celeron55 github, but this: https://github.com/minetest/minetest
 

huasonshine
Member
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2014 22:32

Re: I'm new... very new...

by huasonshine » Wed Aug 20, 2014 13:26

Inocudom wrote:More information is needed first. What version of Minetest are you using? What is your operating system? Where is your world saved at?


Ooops sorry :) Minetest-0.4.10-win64
I'm using windows 7 on my old toshiba laptop which may need a wipe if I can find my disk...
at the moment my world is saved its folder on my desktop, should I have saved it elsewhere??

I did get my minetest from minetest.net, perhaps I should download it again, is the Cleron 55 better in my case?
 

User avatar
Evergreen
Member
 
Posts: 2135
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 01:22
Location: A forest in the midwest
GitHub: 4Evergreen4
IRC: EvergreenTree
In-game: Evergreen

Re: I'm new... very new...

by Evergreen » Wed Aug 20, 2014 15:15

huasonshine wrote:
Inocudom wrote:More information is needed first. What version of Minetest are you using? What is your operating system? Where is your world saved at?


Ooops sorry :) Minetest-0.4.10-win64
I'm using windows 7 on my old toshiba laptop which may need a wipe if I can find my disk...
at the moment my world is saved its folder on my desktop, should I have saved it elsewhere??

I did get my minetest from minetest.net, perhaps I should download it again, is the Cleron 55 better in my case?

Celeron55 is the original creator of minetest. His fork of minetest is outdated, so don't use it. Also, github isn't going to be much help if you are on windows. Just use sfan5's or BlockMen's windows builds.
 

huasonshine
Member
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2014 22:32

Re: I'm new... very new...

by huasonshine » Wed Aug 20, 2014 17:02

Thanks Evergreen :)
"sfan5's or BlockMen's windows builds" that would be their mods and texture packs? That may be how i messed up my game, I downloaded a couple mods, I deleted them but my world was already lost. Learning curves, a necessary evil....

So is minetest better for linux or windows? I am going to set up my desktop with linux, probably Ubuntu...

I love pixel painting so eventually I would like to try my hand at making graphics for the mods
 

User avatar
cHyper
Member
 
Posts: 842
Joined: Fri May 06, 2011 08:49
Location: Austria
GitHub: cHyper-0815OL
IRC: cHyper
In-game: cHyper cHyper_0815
 

User avatar
Evergreen
Member
 
Posts: 2135
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 01:22
Location: A forest in the midwest
GitHub: 4Evergreen4
IRC: EvergreenTree
In-game: Evergreen

Re: I'm new... very new...

by Evergreen » Wed Aug 20, 2014 17:24

huasonshine wrote:Thanks Evergreen :)
"sfan5's or BlockMen's windows builds" that would be their mods and texture packs? That may be how i messed up my game, I downloaded a couple mods, I deleted them but my world was already lost. Learning curves, a necessary evil....

So is minetest better for linux or windows? I am going to set up my desktop with linux, probably Ubuntu...

I love pixel painting so eventually I would like to try my hand at making graphics for the mods

Well, I don't think it's better for linux necessarily, it's just easier to develop if you're using linux.
 

huasonshine
Member
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2014 22:32

Re: I'm new... very new...

by huasonshine » Thu Aug 21, 2014 02:19

Thanks for the welcome cHyper, I like it here, I've only been playing for a few days, my boys live minecraft on their xbox so I was glad to find a similar open source. At least now I can get a clue of what they are talking about :) They both have a minetest game open on my laptop now and seem to be very happy with it as well...

Thanks for all your help Evergreen , I have visited both sfan and BlockMen to browse for mods :), now the fun part load them up and try them out :)
 

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
 
Posts: 5961
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
Location: United Kingdom
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy

Re: I'm new... very new...

by rubenwardy » Thu Aug 21, 2014 10:53

With Linux it is a few commands. With Windows it is spending a lot of time configuring tools and downloading packages.
 

Sokomine
Member
 
Posts: 3952
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine

Re: I'm new... very new...

by Sokomine » Thu Aug 21, 2014 13:06

huasonshine wrote:I deleted them but my world was already lost.

It doesn't have to be lost. Make sure to make a backup of your world! Then take a look at which error messages you get. Take a look at the file debug.txt and post its last lines here.
A list of my mods can be found here.
 

huasonshine
Member
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2014 22:32

Re: I'm new... very new...

by huasonshine » Fri Aug 22, 2014 00:38

Sokomine wrote:
huasonshine wrote:I deleted them but my world was already lost.

It doesn't have to be lost. Make sure to make a backup of your world! Then take a look at which error messages you get. Take a look at the file debug.txt and post its last lines here.


Yes I think I will be sure to save my progress regularly from now on!!

rubenwardy wrote:With Linux it is a few commands. With Windows it is spending a lot of time configuring tools and downloading packages.


Nice!! can't wait to get it set up, there are probably alot of great mods for Linux!
 

Dragonop
Member
 
Posts: 1178
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2012 12:59
Location: Argentina
GitHub: Dragonop
IRC: Dragonop
In-game: Dragonop

Re: I'm new... very new...

by Dragonop » Fri Aug 22, 2014 02:00

huasonshine wrote:Nice!! can't wait to get it set up, there are probably alot of great mods for Linux!


The Windows and the Linux mods are the same, they are (almost all) developed in the both operative sistems. The difference is that for Windows you need to Unpack a lot of things, but almost all the mods are the same.
 

User avatar
Evergreen
Member
 
Posts: 2135
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 01:22
Location: A forest in the midwest
GitHub: 4Evergreen4
IRC: EvergreenTree
In-game: Evergreen

Re: I'm new... very new...

by Evergreen » Fri Aug 22, 2014 11:54

huasonshine wrote:
Sokomine wrote:
huasonshine wrote:I deleted them but my world was already lost.

It doesn't have to be lost. Make sure to make a backup of your world! Then take a look at which error messages you get. Take a look at the file debug.txt and post its last lines here.


Yes I think I will be sure to save my progress regularly from now on!!

rubenwardy wrote:With Linux it is a few commands. With Windows it is spending a lot of time configuring tools and downloading packages.


Nice!! can't wait to get it set up, there are probably alot of great mods for Linux!

All mods work no matter what platform you are on.
 

huasonshine
Member
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2014 22:32

Re: I'm new... very new...

by huasonshine » Fri Aug 22, 2014 12:56

ahh, gotcha... so my problems are all user issues :) ..
 

huasonshine
Member
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2014 22:32

Re: I'm new... very new...

by huasonshine » Fri Aug 22, 2014 13:16

So I had tried a couple of the top ten minetest mods, animals by sapier, and some house decor by VanessaE...
my world had gotten stuck, I got an error that said it could not find the mods so I tried to ESC to the menu and my world would not close after about 10 minutes or so I X'd out and ended up having to force it closed and restarted when I comeback my world was startdust... anywhooo what could I have done differently to leave it in a better situation?

I had found out how to end the session in the env_meta when my game had gotten stuck before... maybe I just really need to wipe this goofy toshiba and start from scratch... It has other issues as well... most annoying is the connector adaptor issue... but that is a story for a different forum..
 

huasonshine
Member
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2014 22:32

Re: I'm new... very new...

by huasonshine » Fri Aug 22, 2014 15:21

Ok I did it again, now I locked up a test world ~

10:13:29: ERROR[main]: ModError: ModError: Failed to load and run C:\Users\Sonuahua\Desktop\minetest-0.4.10-win64\bin\..\builtin\init.lua

I may have deleted a mod that was installed on it, I tried to reconfigure but it is still not loading...

Sorry I am just trying to figure out what I am doing wrong so I can stop doing it :)
 

User avatar
Krock
Developer
 
Posts: 4469
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
Location: Switzerland
GitHub: SmallJoker

Re: I'm new... very new...

by Krock » Fri Aug 22, 2014 16:25

huasonshine wrote:10:13:29: ERROR[main]: ModError: ModError: Failed to load and run C:\Users\Sonuahua\Desktop\minetest-0.4.10-win64\bin\..\builtin\init.lua

You need the complete "builtin" folder in your minetest folder. Copypasta.
Look, I programmed a bug for you. >> Mod Search Engine << - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>
 

User avatar
philipbenr
Member
 
Posts: 1688
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 01:56
Location: United States
GitHub: philipbenr
IRC: philipbenr
In-game: robinspi

Re: I'm new... very new...

by philipbenr » Fri Aug 22, 2014 17:38

All mods work no matter what platform you are on.


That is not quite true. I know of one map mod that works only on linux. It said so, but anyhow, that mod is too outdated (I think.)
 

User avatar
Evergreen
Member
 
Posts: 2135
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 01:22
Location: A forest in the midwest
GitHub: 4Evergreen4
IRC: EvergreenTree
In-game: Evergreen

Re: I'm new... very new...

by Evergreen » Fri Aug 22, 2014 17:54

philipbenr wrote:
All mods work no matter what platform you are on.


That is not quite true. I know of one map mod that works only on linux. It said so, but anyhow, that mod is too outdated (I think.)

Well, the mod has to do something outside of the modding api to be incompatible with windows.
 

huasonshine
Member
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2014 22:32

Re: I'm new... very new...

by huasonshine » Fri Aug 22, 2014 18:05

Krock wrote:
huasonshine wrote:10:13:29: ERROR[main]: ModError: ModError: Failed to load and run C:\Users\Sonuahua\Desktop\minetest-0.4.10-win64\bin\..\builtin\init.lua

You need the complete "builtin" folder in your minetest folder. Copypasta.


What? Who?? Where?? :)


I had copied and pasted the mods into the mods folder per the instructions. Was I supposed to paste something into the built-ins folder as well??
 

User avatar
srifqi
Member
 
Posts: 557
Joined: Sat Jun 28, 2014 04:31
Location: Indonesia
GitHub: srifqi
IRC: srifqi
In-game: srifqi

Re: I'm new... very new...

by srifqi » Fri Aug 22, 2014 21:20

huasonshine wrote:
Krock wrote:
huasonshine wrote:10:13:29: ERROR[main]: ModError: ModError: Failed to load and run C:\Users\Sonuahua\Desktop\minetest-0.4.10-win64\bin\..\builtin\init.lua

You need the complete "builtin" folder in your minetest folder. Copypasta.


What? Who?? Where?? :)


I had copied and pasted the mods into the mods folder per the instructions. Was I supposed to paste something into the built-ins folder as well??


Copy this folder to C:\Users\Sonuahua\Desktop\minetest-0.4.10-win64\bin\
Saya dari Indonesia! · Terjemahkan Minetest! · my mods · My nickname in IPA: /es.rif.qi/
 

huasonshine
Member
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2014 22:32

Re: I'm new... very new...

by huasonshine » Fri Aug 22, 2014 23:39

"Copy this folder to C:\Users\Sonuahua\Desktop\minetest-0.4.10-win64\bin\[/quote]"

these folders already appear in that designated folder, should I replace them?
 

Next

Return to General Discussion



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CBugDCoder, Extex, zing269 and 3 guests