MineToon

User avatar
Gambit
Member
 
Posts: 453
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 19:31
Location: United States

by Gambit » Mon Jan 28, 2013 04:46

Jordach wrote:
Gambit wrote:While recovering my MineToons stuff, I've gotten to working on my other pack the other day to update it some more. Hope that gets done some day.

Image

I could probably convert this into a pack, however the colours might end up being dark. :P


That's rather unethical of you to do.
Current Projects: MineToon | PixelBOX
Gambit's Checkmate Server - 43.65.296.232 - port: 30001
 

User avatar
Jordach
Member
 
Posts: 4521
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
Location: Blender Scene
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach

by Jordach » Mon Jan 28, 2013 16:26

Gambit wrote:
Jordach wrote:
Gambit wrote:While recovering my MineToons stuff, I've gotten to working on my other pack the other day to update it some more. Hope that gets done some day.

Image

I could probably convert this into a pack, however the colours might end up being dark. :P


That's rather unethical of you to do.
It was a joke, but then again, I am probably the most grumpy here; and of course laziest.
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=19056 Solar Plains Dev Server
 

User avatar
Mito551
Member
 
Posts: 1271
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2012 15:03

by Mito551 » Mon Jan 28, 2013 16:36

Gambit wrote:While recovering my MineToons stuff, I've gotten to working on my other pack the other day to update it some more. Hope that gets done some day.

Image


is this blue-ish block near gold and silver mithril? if yes, then we have pretty much the same view on how should mithril look.
 

Cyberlaser12
New member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2013 13:40

by Cyberlaser12 » Mon Jan 28, 2013 19:03

Hi how do i install i have been through this topic and tried all solutions even ones that aren't for the version i have which is 0.4.4.
Sorry if i missed something.
 

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
 
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
Location: Germany
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam

by PilzAdam » Mon Jan 28, 2013 19:29

Cyberlaser12 wrote:Hi how do i install i have been through this topic and tried all solutions even ones that aren't for the version i have which is 0.4.4.
Sorry if i missed something.

Download the 0.4 version (see first post). Then copy all images of it into textures/all. Be sure to put them directly there (no subdirectories).
 

Cyberlaser12
New member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2013 13:40

by Cyberlaser12 » Mon Jan 28, 2013 19:53

PilzAdam wrote:
Cyberlaser12 wrote:Hi how do i install i have been through this topic and tried all solutions even ones that aren't for the version i have which is 0.4.4.
Sorry if i missed something.

Download the 0.4 version (see first post). Then copy all images of it into textures/all. Be sure to put them directly there (no subdirectories).


Thanks i did try that but i thought it didn't work.
Just found out it was running in the background so i shut it down and its working now.
Sorry. Thanks anyway.
 

zoot686
Member
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 22:37

by zoot686 » Wed Jan 30, 2013 08:30

After a few people suggested I use linux on my pc, my pc is now nonfunctional. It can't boot up any more and the other nonsense with that, my hard drive went dead with the installation. Now all my textures are gone. Sorry.

I saved most of it on my sd card. So we'll see once I get a new pc.


Hard disk went dead?.............that doesn't sound right.

You mighta' overwritten the master boot record with Grub or Lilo though.

If you didn't format the drive during the install, you might be able to get away with using a boot CD or thumb drive and recover all your textures from the hard drive, assuming you have something to store them to.
In fact, in if you didn't manage to get an install done, you might be able to just wipe the master boot record and get your old operating system to boot again.

What operating system "were" you running?
 

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
 
Posts: 3155
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
Location: Troyes, France
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou

by Calinou » Wed Jan 30, 2013 18:00

zoot686 wrote:What operating system "were" you running?


He was running Windows 7.
 

User avatar
Gambit
Member
 
Posts: 453
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 19:31
Location: United States

by Gambit » Fri Feb 01, 2013 05:47

zoot686 wrote:
After a few people suggested I use linux on my pc, my pc is now nonfunctional. It can't boot up any more and the other nonsense with that, my hard drive went dead with the installation. Now all my textures are gone. Sorry.

I saved most of it on my sd card. So we'll see once I get a new pc.


Hard disk went dead?.............that doesn't sound right.

You mighta' overwritten the master boot record with Grub or Lilo though.

If you didn't format the drive during the install, you might be able to get away with using a boot CD or thumb drive and recover all your textures from the hard drive, assuming you have something to store them to.
In fact, in if you didn't manage to get an install done, you might be able to just wipe the master boot record and get your old operating system to boot again.

What operating system "were" you running?


No, it's dead as in dead. The hard-drive won't spin anymore. It can't be read which ever way.
Current Projects: MineToon | PixelBOX
Gambit's Checkmate Server - 43.65.296.232 - port: 30001
 

User avatar
Mito551
Member
 
Posts: 1271
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2012 15:03
 

User avatar
Topywo
Member
 
Posts: 1721
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 20:27

by Topywo » Fri Feb 01, 2013 08:47

Fixing it might cost more than a brand new hard disk.

Gambit, are you sure it's your harddisk? Sometimes it's the CPU (no more cooling for example) or the power supply unit (cleaning it sometimes helps).

I read a bit about it when my desktop passed away. Luckily with not much personal stuff on it. It's still broken, but for now I lack the spare parts to try everything.

Edit: typo's
Last edited by Topywo on Fri Feb 01, 2013 08:48, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
 
Posts: 3155
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
Location: Troyes, France
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou

by Calinou » Fri Feb 01, 2013 10:13

Topywo wrote:Fixing it might cost more than a brand new hard disk.

Gambit, are you sure it's your harddisk? Sometimes it's the CPU (no more cooling for example) or the power supply unit (cleaning it sometimes helps).

I read a bit about it when my desktop passed away. Luckily with not much personal stuff on it. It's still broken, but for now I lack the spare parts to try everything.

Edit: typo's


We're in 2013, better buy SSDs. :P
 

User avatar
Mito551
Member
 
Posts: 1271
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2012 15:03

by Mito551 » Fri Feb 01, 2013 11:31

Calinou wrote:
Topywo wrote:Fixing it might cost more than a brand new hard disk.

Gambit, are you sure it's your harddisk? Sometimes it's the CPU (no more cooling for example) or the power supply unit (cleaning it sometimes helps).

I read a bit about it when my desktop passed away. Luckily with not much personal stuff on it. It's still broken, but for now I lack the spare parts to try everything.

Edit: typo's


We're in 2013, better buy SSDs. :P

+1 :D
 

User avatar
Topywo
Member
 
Posts: 1721
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 20:27

by Topywo » Fri Feb 01, 2013 12:01

Calinou wrote:We're in 2013, better buy SSDs. :P


Topywo's wallet starts crying :-/
 

User avatar
Gambit
Member
 
Posts: 453
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 19:31
Location: United States

by Gambit » Sat Feb 02, 2013 04:46

Back on topic please. ~ wiggle wiggle

I'm close to finishing the 16x16 texture. Still have to work out some of the colors of certain ores, because people keep making too many ores and I'm running out of color to tell the difference.

But what I do need is a proper name for the new 16x16 texture pack. NuDefault wasn't the real name, just a beta title. Plus NuDe-fault... nude

So I'm hoping for some ideas for names that aren't related to Tolkien books or any book for that matter.


The MineToon texture pack is slowly coming back into revision since the death of my hard-drive. (Yes, it's dead. You can hear it rattle if you shake it a bit. So quite asking me to update drivers that are unnecessary.)

However, I decided to put that aside until the 16x16 is well and good.























Also, stop asking how to install the texture pack on this thread. There's a sticky in the board about that. Look that up. This is no place for tech support.

The end. Thanks.
Last edited by Gambit on Sat Feb 02, 2013 04:47, edited 1 time in total.
Current Projects: MineToon | PixelBOX
Gambit's Checkmate Server - 43.65.296.232 - port: 30001
 

User avatar
Jordach
Member
 
Posts: 4521
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
Location: Blender Scene
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach

by Jordach » Sat Feb 02, 2013 11:03

Gambit wrote:Back on topic please. ~ wiggle wiggle

I'm close to finishing the 16x16 texture. Still have to work out some of the colors of certain ores, because people keep making too many ores and I'm running out of color to tell the difference.

But what I do need is a proper name for the new 16x16 texture pack. NuDefault wasn't the real name, just a beta title. Plus NuDe-fault... nude

So I'm hoping for some ideas for names that aren't related to Tolkien books or any book for that matter.


The MineToon texture pack is slowly coming back into revision since the death of my hard-drive. (Yes, it's dead. You can hear it rattle if you shake it a bit. So quite asking me to update drivers that are unnecessary.)

However, I decided to put that aside until the 16x16 is well and good.























Also, stop asking how to install the texture pack on this thread. There's a sticky in the board about that. Look that up. This is no place for tech support.

The end. Thanks.
At least there is light at the end of this tunnel. Also; be thankful that your new comp (might) be faster. And yes for the 16x pack I'd name it Pixelous.
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=19056 Solar Plains Dev Server
 

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
 
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
Location: Germany
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam

by PilzAdam » Sat Feb 02, 2013 11:26

Gambit wrote:Also, stop asking how to install the texture pack on this thread. There's a sticky in the board about that. Look that up. This is no place for tech support.

The end. Thanks.

The problem is, that the format of your texture pack is incorrect. One should override the default mod, but rather put all the textures in textures/all. So texture pack creators should offer just one folder with all the textures.
 

User avatar
Mito551
Member
 
Posts: 1271
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2012 15:03

by Mito551 » Sat Feb 02, 2013 11:35

PilzAdam wrote:
Gambit wrote:Also, stop asking how to install the texture pack on this thread. There's a sticky in the board about that. Look that up. This is no place for tech support.

The end. Thanks.

The problem is, that the format of your texture pack is incorrect. One should override the default mod, but rather put all the textures in textures/all. So texture pack creators should offer just one folder with all the textures.

That's true.

gambit, is this blue-ish block mithril?
http://screenshot.su/show.php?img=445583dd4dd749db26b50e99462d5f06.jpg
 

User avatar
Gambit
Member
 
Posts: 453
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 19:31
Location: United States

by Gambit » Sat Feb 02, 2013 23:46

Jordach wrote:At least there is light at the end of this tunnel. Also; be thankful that your new comp (might) be faster. And yes for the 16x pack I'd name it Pixelous.


It's not a new computer, it's a new hard-drive. Also, Pixelous sounds kinda neat, although I might only keep the "pixel" term, not the "lous".

Mito551 wrote:gambit, is this blue-ish block mithril?
http://screenshot.su/show.php?img=445583dd4dd749db26b50e99462d5f06.jpg


No, that's silver. The other is iron. I don't even know what mithril is. It doesn't even sound real.

PilzAdam wrote:The problem is, that the format of your texture pack is incorrect. One should override the default mod, but rather put all the textures in textures/all. So texture pack creators should offer just one folder with all the textures.


Remember the good 'ol days when minetest only had one folder for all textures... sigh... Now it's riddled with libraries of folders that require so much clicking... sigh... The path address gets very long... sigh... and while editing, I some times get confused because there are so many folders... sigh...

Hope you know how I feel... sigh...
Current Projects: MineToon | PixelBOX
Gambit's Checkmate Server - 43.65.296.232 - port: 30001
 

zoot686
Member
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 22:37

by zoot686 » Sun Feb 03, 2013 04:31

We're in 2013, better buy SSDs. :P


Howz the write life of those SSD's?

I figure they'd work great for "read only" boot partitions(like thumbdrives)

And no, I'm not trying to be argumentive, I'm asking, as I've seen an awful lot of them on sale, but really haven't seen any real info about them.
 

User avatar
Jordach
Member
 
Posts: 4521
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
Location: Blender Scene
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach

by Jordach » Sun Feb 03, 2013 11:15

Gambit, you do realize there is a folder within the Minetest Directory where Minetest-0.4.4-win32/textures/all is right? Place all of them there, then the blocks will run from there and not the default / installed mods unless you don't have the other textures made and ready.
Last edited by Jordach on Sun Feb 03, 2013 11:16, edited 1 time in total.
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=19056 Solar Plains Dev Server
 

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
 
Posts: 3155
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
Location: Troyes, France
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou

by Calinou » Sun Feb 03, 2013 11:53

zoot686 wrote:
We're in 2013, better buy SSDs. :P


Howz the write life of those SSD's?

I figure they'd work great for "read only" boot partitions(like thumbdrives)

And no, I'm not trying to be argumentive, I'm asking, as I've seen an awful lot of them on sale, but really haven't seen any real info about them.


The "life span of SSDs is so short" thing has been done to death. On most SSDs (those who use MLC, very few SSDs on the market use SLC as it is very expensive but lasts longer, and the Samsung 840s use TLC now, which has shorter life span), you can write 3000 times its capacitiy until it fails. This means a 128GB SSD will last 10,5 years on average if you write 10GB a day (and you probably write less than that). Just don't defrag them, though.
Last edited by Calinou on Sun Feb 03, 2013 11:54, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
VanessaE
Moderator
 
Posts: 4405
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
Location: Waynesville, NC
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaE

by VanessaE » Sun Feb 03, 2013 16:41

..and even then, that's 3000 times their capacity before a single flash block/cell/whatever fails and gets reallocated (like spinning rust, an SSD is over-provisioned to allow for this). They'll still keep running for a while longer after that before a hard failure.

"Enterprise" MLC-based SSD's can go way beyond this figure, at least another order of magnitude, but you'll definitely pay for it.
You might like some of my stuff: Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (16-512px)
 

User avatar
Gambit
Member
 
Posts: 453
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 19:31
Location: United States

by Gambit » Sun Feb 03, 2013 19:42

Jordach wrote:Gambit, you do realize there is a folder within the Minetest Directory where Minetest-0.4.4-win32/textures/all is right? Place all of them there, then the blocks will run from there and not the default / installed mods unless you don't have the other textures made and ready.


I can't use 0.4.4 remember? I be too unholy to be allowed.
Current Projects: MineToon | PixelBOX
Gambit's Checkmate Server - 43.65.296.232 - port: 30001
 

User avatar
Jordach
Member
 
Posts: 4521
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
Location: Blender Scene
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach

by Jordach » Sun Feb 03, 2013 20:01

Gambit wrote:
Jordach wrote:Gambit, you do realize there is a folder within the Minetest Directory where Minetest-0.4.4-win32/textures/all is right? Place all of them there, then the blocks will run from there and not the default / installed mods unless you don't have the other textures made and ready.


I can't use 0.4.4 remember? I be too unholy to be allowed.
All you have to do is open the minetest.conf and add the lines:

Code: Select all
video_driver = direct3d9
enable_texture_atlas = false
and you will be all set!

Note: This is assuming you are using Windows XP/Vista/7/8.
Last edited by Jordach on Sun Feb 03, 2013 20:02, edited 1 time in total.
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=19056 Solar Plains Dev Server
 

PreviousNext

Return to Texture Packs



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests