(Poll) What needs improved in the Android port of Minetest?

What needs to be changed with the Android port of MT?

Poll ended at Tue Feb 28, 2017 19:00

Controls
10
83%
Performance
1
8%
Graphics
0
No votes
Other (please specify)
1
8%
 
Total votes : 12

User avatar
Laser0073
Member
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2016 01:26
GitHub: Laser0073
In-game: Laser0073

(Poll) What needs improved in the Android port of Minetest?

by Laser0073 » Sun Jan 29, 2017 19:00

Hey guys, I'm thinking of improving the android port of MT! Before I start, I wanted to see what people think needs changed/improved. I'm not great at programming, so I'm not sure how much i can do. Just curious what people want! :D
i5 6500 @3.2GHz, EVGA GTX 960 4GB ssc, 8GB DDR4, ASROCK Pro4S, 128GB.SSD, MT 0.4.15 dev, Ubuntu Studio 16.04LTS
 

helpless
Member
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 21:51
In-game: helpless

Re: (Poll) What needs improved in the Android port of Minete

by helpless » Thu Feb 16, 2017 06:13

It needs to lag and shut down less. I would also like the jump and sneak one above the other.
 

Vibrocil
Member
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2017 10:32
In-game: Michiel

Re: (Poll) What needs improved in the Android port of Minete

by Vibrocil » Thu Feb 16, 2017 21:20

Multiplayer performance if it's possible, just not able to connect to servers with too many mods on low-end devices > 1Gb Ram or less...
 

User avatar
Laser0073
Member
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2016 01:26
GitHub: Laser0073
In-game: Laser0073

Re: (Poll) What needs improved in the Android port of Minete

by Laser0073 » Fri Feb 17, 2017 03:16

Yeah, I agree. I have an older phone, it it does not work well with multiplayer. :(
i5 6500 @3.2GHz, EVGA GTX 960 4GB ssc, 8GB DDR4, ASROCK Pro4S, 128GB.SSD, MT 0.4.15 dev, Ubuntu Studio 16.04LTS
 

Vibrocil
Member
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2017 10:32
In-game: Michiel

Re: (Poll) What needs improved in the Android port of Minete

by Vibrocil » Mon Feb 20, 2017 10:06

My main thought with other phones is that it does not have enough memory to handle all the mods. Creating server without mods allows older devices to connect and play. What troubles me is that it just exits the game without any information in debug.txt. I've read around the forum (probably old post) that the android version used to download all the mods into a directory on the device itself. This would mean less RAM usage for the device itself as it does not need to keep all the mods in ram and it can let android choose when it needs wich file. If you would to implement this, you would need to check if player connects to same server again and if server has been rebooted since (hence no new mods installed or updated) I could also be completely wrong about this and I don't know enough "yet" about the source code to implement/try this out. Connecting with certain older clones also works sometime to get connected, it just does not update the map as you walk around and you're stuck in the first chunk of nodes it loaded while connecting...
 


Return to Builds

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests