[Debian / Ubuntu] 1-line script: install Minetest Git

proller
Member
Posts: 222
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 15:22

by proller » Post

add for nef features:
for ubuntu precise - libcurl-dev libluajit-5.1-dev libleveldb-dev
for ubuntu raring - libcurl4-openssl-dev libluajit-5.1-dev libleveldb-dev
Last edited by proller on Tue Jan 14, 2014 12:12, edited 1 time in total.

leetelate
Member
Posts: 205
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2013 18:07
Location: 한인 타운, Huntsville,Alabama,USA

by leetelate » Post

nice! thanks!
MT IS MC'S SMARTER BROTHER
minetest 0.4.8 compiled from latest git on linux mint 15 with qjoypad and wired 360 controller
freeminer, pilztest, buildcraft and next are the idea factories
my minetest page is http://1337318.zymichost.com if zymic isn't down - meh, it is free...

leetelate
Member
Posts: 205
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2013 18:07
Location: 한인 타운, Huntsville,Alabama,USA

by leetelate » Post

my chain is:
git clone git://github.com/minetest/minetest.git
cd minetest
cd games
git clone git://github.com/minetest/minetest_game.git
git pull
cd ..
git pull
cmake . -DRUN_IN_PLACE=1
make -j2
cd bin
./minetest
#11 lines to happiness
MT IS MC'S SMARTER BROTHER
minetest 0.4.8 compiled from latest git on linux mint 15 with qjoypad and wired 360 controller
freeminer, pilztest, buildcraft and next are the idea factories
my minetest page is http://1337318.zymichost.com if zymic isn't down - meh, it is free...

thecole44
New member
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2014 20:28

by thecole44 » Post

going to try it out.

grey
Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2014 18:51
Contact:

by grey » Post

I am happy to say that this worked pefrectly in Elementary OS Linux as well! Fixing the problem of the repos always being terribly outdated.

Though I found that is did not work under Raspbian, it gave the following error:

Code: Select all

pi@groundbase ~/minetest-minetest-3da5669/bin $ ./minetest
Irrlicht Engine version 1.7.3
Linux 3.10.25+ #622 PREEMPT Fri Jan 3 18:41:00 GMT 2014 armv6l
No GLX support available. OpenGL driver will not work.
Fatal error, could not get visual.
Segmentation fault
pi@groundbase ~/minetest-minetest-3da5669/bin $ 



Normally the Raspberry Pi is more than capable of running 3D games, including Minecraft. Though I like Minetest a whole lot better than Minecraft. If anyone know's what I should do here, please tell me!
Last edited by grey on Fri Feb 21, 2014 01:14, edited 1 time in total.
Lay back and feel the wind on your skin ~ http://afternoon.heliohost.org

thetoon
Member
Posts: 106
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2012 12:55

by thetoon » Post

grey wrote: Normally the Raspberry Pi is more than capable of running 3D games, including Minecraft. Though I like Minetest a whole lot better than Minecraft. If anyone know's what I should do here, please tell me!
The Pi is rather capable, but as far as I know it doesn't speak OpenGL, but rather OpenGL ES. These are two related, but different, way of dealing with 3d things.

A way of making Minetest Pi-compatible would be to port it to OpenGL ES, or more precisely to lay upon Irrlicht ogl-es, as soon as it's working.

There's a branch here, if anyone feels like it : https://github.com/kizzx2/irrlicht-ogl-es

Please note that some people predict OpenGL will slowly die and ES will prevail. So it might be useful for normal desktops too, in the end.

sfan5
Moderator
Posts: 4094
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5
Location: Germany

by sfan5 » Post

thetoon wrote:
grey wrote: Normally the Raspberry Pi is more than capable of running 3D games, including Minecraft. Though I like Minetest a whole lot better than Minecraft. If anyone know's what I should do here, please tell me!
The Pi is rather capable, but as far as I know it doesn't speak OpenGL, but rather OpenGL ES. These are two related, but different, way of dealing with 3d things.

A way of making Minetest Pi-compatible would be to port it to OpenGL ES, or more precisely to lay upon Irrlicht ogl-es, as soon as it's working.

There's a branch here, if anyone feels like it : https://github.com/kizzx2/irrlicht-ogl-es

Please note that some people predict OpenGL will slowly die and ES will prevail. So it might be useful for normal desktops too, in the end.
There is a working irrlicht ogl-es listed here:
http://irrlicht.sourceforge.net/contributing/

I tried compiling Minetest on the Raspberry Pi and it resulted in tons of linking errors.
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)

Hiradur
Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Feb 22, 2014 17:44

by Hiradur » Post

Minetest 0.3.1 is in the Raspbian repository. So somebody was able to compile it. But it only uses the software renderer I think.

kaurdump
New member
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jul 02, 2013 20:36

by kaurdump » Post

thanks for this! could someone recommend a one-line script to update this method of install? i use the portable method.

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
Posts: 3169
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou
Location: Troyes, France
Contact:

by Calinou » Post

kaurdump wrote:thanks for this! could someone recommend a one-line script to update this method of install? i use the portable method.
Use this:

Code: Select all

cd ~/minetest; git pull; cd src; make -j4

kaurdump
New member
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jul 02, 2013 20:36

by kaurdump » Post

Calinou wrote:
kaurdump wrote:thanks for this! could someone recommend a one-line script to update this method of install? i use the portable method.
Use this:

Code: Select all

cd ~/minetest; git pull; cd src; make -j4
Merci!

testOmine
New member
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2014 19:10

by testOmine » Post

Thank You - I spend hours on 0.4.7.

. . . . . now I restart the PC . . . .

. . . .
Last edited by testOmine on Wed Mar 05, 2014 22:29, edited 1 time in total.

kaurdump
New member
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jul 02, 2013 20:36

by kaurdump » Post

where should the minetest config file be located in the portable install?

grey
Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2014 18:51
Contact:

by grey » Post

Calinou wrote:
kaurdump wrote:thanks for this! could someone recommend a one-line script to update this method of install? i use the portable method.
Use this:

Code: Select all

cd ~/minetest; git pull; cd src; make -j4
Would it be the same for a non-portable install? Or would just runing the whole script over again just work?
Lay back and feel the wind on your skin ~ http://afternoon.heliohost.org

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
Posts: 3169
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou
Location: Troyes, France
Contact:

by Calinou » Post

It's the same, regardless of portable or not, since the game data is located in ~/minetest.

grey
Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2014 18:51
Contact:

by grey » Post

If one wanted to update Minetest, would we just run the same command again?
Lay back and feel the wind on your skin ~ http://afternoon.heliohost.org

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam
Location: Germany

by PilzAdam » Post

grey wrote:If one wanted to update Minetest, would we just run the same command again?
No, you dont have to install the dependencies again and you dont have to clone again. Just git pull in the repo of the engine and minetest_game and run cmake and make again.

sfan5
Moderator
Posts: 4094
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5
Location: Germany

by sfan5 » Post

PilzAdam wrote:
grey wrote:If one wanted to update Minetest, would we just run the same command again?
No, you dont have to install the dependencies again and you dont have to clone again. Just git pull in the repo of the engine and minetest_game and run cmake and make again.
You only need to run make, if the build files are changed CMake is automatically run again.
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)

Hiradur
Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Feb 22, 2014 17:44

Re: One-line script for installing Minetest Git, Debian-base

by Hiradur » Post

One can slightly improve performane by adding

Code: Select all

-DCMAKE_CXX_FLAGS="-march=native -O3 -pipe"
to cmake arguments. This should especially increase performance on AMD bulldozer based systems.

Note that -pipe only increases compile speed but does not optimize anything. If your compiler goes out of memory then remove -pipe. If your game runs unstable then try -O2 instead of -O3. From my testing -O3 seems to be stable though.

User avatar
lightonflux
Member
Posts: 384
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 07:22
In-game: lof
Location: Germany

Re: 1-line script for installing Minetest Git, Debian-based

by lightonflux » Post

If you need to update several git repo (mods and games etc.), then you can use this line:

Code: Select all

alias rgit='find . -type d -name .git -exec sh -c "cd \"{}\"/../ && pwd && git pull" \;'
to register the rgit alias which will search recursive for git repos and "update" them.



And also the following alias to update and compile minetest.

Code: Select all

minetest-dev-update='cd ~/.minetest-dev && pwd && time rgit && time cmake . -DRUN_IN_PLACE=1 -DENABLE_GETTEXT=1 && time make -j2 && echo Done'
Last edited by lightonflux on Tue Jul 22, 2014 13:28, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
philipbenr
Member
Posts: 1897
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 01:56
GitHub: philipbenr
IRC: philipbenr
In-game: robinspi
Location: United States

Re: 1-line script for installing Minetest Git, Debian-based

by philipbenr » Post

I have a script that is really nice to use. (I use Slackware 14.0, not Ubuntu or anything like that...Anyhow, here :)

Code: Select all

cd minetest
start=`pwd`
for path in `find -name ".git"`; do
  cd $path/..
  echo "updating " $(basename `pwd`)
  git pull
done

echo "building updates"
cd $start
make -j4
This script automatically updates anything you used the git http clone for:
Spoiler
Image
Put this in a .sh file and run chmod +x filenameyoucalledit.sh
Have it outside your minetest dir and try it; if you met the requirements...

Edit:

Requirements:
Used the git clone function
Compiled MT from source
All mods you want auto updated were downloaded using git clone.
Have this file executable
Outside main minetest dir
You use linux...(Don't know which distro)

That should do it.

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
Posts: 3121
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

Re: 1-line script for installing Minetest Git, Debian-based

by Inocudom » Post

The master server list does not show up, but everthing else is fine.

User avatar
Krock
Developer
Posts: 4649
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
GitHub: SmallJoker
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: 1-line script for installing Minetest Git, Debian-based

by Krock » Post

Inocudom wrote:The master server list does not show up, but everthing else is fine.
Seems like someone forgot the curl library.
Look, I programmed a bug for you. >> Mod Search Engine << - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
Posts: 3169
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou
Location: Troyes, France
Contact:

Re: [Debian/Ubuntu] 1-line script: install Minetest Git

by Calinou » Post

Builds now support LevelDB.

User avatar
Gael de Sailly
Member
Posts: 845
Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2014 17:01
GitHub: gaelysam
IRC: Gael-de-Sailly
In-game: Gael-de-Sailly gaelysam
Location: Voiron, France

Re: [Debian / Ubuntu] 1-line script: install Minetest Git

by Gael de Sailly » Post

I think this topic should be always at the head of the list.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests