[Debian / Ubuntu] 1-line script: install Minetest Git

proller
Member
 
Posts: 186
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 15:22

by proller » Tue Sep 17, 2013 12:17

add for nef features:
for ubuntu precise - libcurl-dev libluajit-5.1-dev libleveldb-dev
for ubuntu raring - libcurl4-openssl-dev libluajit-5.1-dev libleveldb-dev
Last edited by proller on Tue Jan 14, 2014 12:12, edited 1 time in total.
 

leetelate
Member
 
Posts: 205
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2013 18:07
Location: 한인 타운, Huntsville,Alabama,USA

by leetelate » Thu Sep 19, 2013 14:13

nice! thanks!
MT IS MC'S SMARTER BROTHER
minetest 0.4.8 compiled from latest git on linux mint 15 with qjoypad and wired 360 controller
freeminer, pilztest, buildcraft and next are the idea factories
my minetest page is http://1337318.zymichost.com if zymic isn't down - meh, it is free...
 

leetelate
Member
 
Posts: 205
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2013 18:07
Location: 한인 타운, Huntsville,Alabama,USA

by leetelate » Fri Nov 01, 2013 02:35

my chain is:
git clone git://github.com/minetest/minetest.git
cd minetest
cd games
git clone git://github.com/minetest/minetest_game.git
git pull
cd ..
git pull
cmake . -DRUN_IN_PLACE=1
make -j2
cd bin
./minetest
#11 lines to happiness
MT IS MC'S SMARTER BROTHER
minetest 0.4.8 compiled from latest git on linux mint 15 with qjoypad and wired 360 controller
freeminer, pilztest, buildcraft and next are the idea factories
my minetest page is http://1337318.zymichost.com if zymic isn't down - meh, it is free...
 

thecole44
New member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2014 20:28
 

grey
Member
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2014 18:51

by grey » Fri Feb 21, 2014 01:12

I am happy to say that this worked pefrectly in Elementary OS Linux as well! Fixing the problem of the repos always being terribly outdated.

Though I found that is did not work under Raspbian, it gave the following error:

Code: Select all
pi@groundbase ~/minetest-minetest-3da5669/bin $ ./minetest
Irrlicht Engine version 1.7.3
Linux 3.10.25+ #622 PREEMPT Fri Jan 3 18:41:00 GMT 2014 armv6l
No GLX support available. OpenGL driver will not work.
Fatal error, could not get visual.
Segmentation fault
pi@groundbase ~/minetest-minetest-3da5669/bin $





Normally the Raspberry Pi is more than capable of running 3D games, including Minecraft. Though I like Minetest a whole lot better than Minecraft. If anyone know's what I should do here, please tell me!
Last edited by grey on Fri Feb 21, 2014 01:14, edited 1 time in total.
Lay back and feel the wind on your skin ~ http://afternoon.heliohost.org
 

thetoon
Member
 
Posts: 106
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2012 12:55

by thetoon » Fri Feb 21, 2014 09:38

grey wrote:Normally the Raspberry Pi is more than capable of running 3D games, including Minecraft. Though I like Minetest a whole lot better than Minecraft. If anyone know's what I should do here, please tell me!


The Pi is rather capable, but as far as I know it doesn't speak OpenGL, but rather OpenGL ES. These are two related, but different, way of dealing with 3d things.

A way of making Minetest Pi-compatible would be to port it to OpenGL ES, or more precisely to lay upon Irrlicht ogl-es, as soon as it's working.

There's a branch here, if anyone feels like it : https://github.com/kizzx2/irrlicht-ogl-es

Please note that some people predict OpenGL will slowly die and ES will prevail. So it might be useful for normal desktops too, in the end.
 

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
 
Posts: 3816
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
Location: Germany
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5

by sfan5 » Fri Feb 21, 2014 13:18

thetoon wrote:
grey wrote:Normally the Raspberry Pi is more than capable of running 3D games, including Minecraft. Though I like Minetest a whole lot better than Minecraft. If anyone know's what I should do here, please tell me!


The Pi is rather capable, but as far as I know it doesn't speak OpenGL, but rather OpenGL ES. These are two related, but different, way of dealing with 3d things.

A way of making Minetest Pi-compatible would be to port it to OpenGL ES, or more precisely to lay upon Irrlicht ogl-es, as soon as it's working.

There's a branch here, if anyone feels like it : https://github.com/kizzx2/irrlicht-ogl-es

Please note that some people predict OpenGL will slowly die and ES will prevail. So it might be useful for normal desktops too, in the end.

There is a working irrlicht ogl-es listed here:
http://irrlicht.sourceforge.net/contributing/

I tried compiling Minetest on the Raspberry Pi and it resulted in tons of linking errors.
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)
 

Hiradur
Member
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Feb 22, 2014 17:44

by Hiradur » Sun Mar 02, 2014 17:10

Minetest 0.3.1 is in the Raspbian repository. So somebody was able to compile it. But it only uses the software renderer I think.
 

kaurdump
New member
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jul 02, 2013 20:36

by kaurdump » Mon Mar 03, 2014 14:49

thanks for this! could someone recommend a one-line script to update this method of install? i use the portable method.
 

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
 
Posts: 3156
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
Location: Troyes, France
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou

by Calinou » Mon Mar 03, 2014 16:17

kaurdump wrote:thanks for this! could someone recommend a one-line script to update this method of install? i use the portable method.


Use this:
Code: Select all
cd ~/minetest; git pull; cd src; make -j4
 

kaurdump
New member
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jul 02, 2013 20:36

by kaurdump » Tue Mar 04, 2014 00:30

Calinou wrote:
kaurdump wrote:thanks for this! could someone recommend a one-line script to update this method of install? i use the portable method.


Use this:
Code: Select all
cd ~/minetest; git pull; cd src; make -j4


Merci!
 

testOmine
New member
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2014 19:10

by testOmine » Wed Mar 05, 2014 22:07

Thank You - I spend hours on 0.4.7.

. . . . . now I restart the PC . . . .

. . . .
Last edited by testOmine on Wed Mar 05, 2014 22:29, edited 1 time in total.
 

kaurdump
New member
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jul 02, 2013 20:36

by kaurdump » Mon Mar 10, 2014 16:27

where should the minetest config file be located in the portable install?
 

grey
Member
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2014 18:51

by grey » Wed Apr 02, 2014 13:01

Calinou wrote:
kaurdump wrote:thanks for this! could someone recommend a one-line script to update this method of install? i use the portable method.


Use this:
Code: Select all
cd ~/minetest; git pull; cd src; make -j4


Would it be the same for a non-portable install? Or would just runing the whole script over again just work?
Lay back and feel the wind on your skin ~ http://afternoon.heliohost.org
 

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
 
Posts: 3156
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
Location: Troyes, France
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou

by Calinou » Thu Apr 03, 2014 08:32

It's the same, regardless of portable or not, since the game data is located in ~/minetest.
 

grey
Member
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2014 18:51

by grey » Thu Apr 17, 2014 16:42

If one wanted to update Minetest, would we just run the same command again?
Lay back and feel the wind on your skin ~ http://afternoon.heliohost.org
 

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
 
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
Location: Germany
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam

by PilzAdam » Thu Apr 17, 2014 17:03

grey wrote:If one wanted to update Minetest, would we just run the same command again?

No, you dont have to install the dependencies again and you dont have to clone again. Just git pull in the repo of the engine and minetest_game and run cmake and make again.
 

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
 
Posts: 3816
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
Location: Germany
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5

by sfan5 » Thu Apr 17, 2014 17:43

PilzAdam wrote:
grey wrote:If one wanted to update Minetest, would we just run the same command again?

No, you dont have to install the dependencies again and you dont have to clone again. Just git pull in the repo of the engine and minetest_game and run cmake and make again.

You only need to run make, if the build files are changed CMake is automatically run again.
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)
 

Hiradur
Member
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Feb 22, 2014 17:44

Re: One-line script for installing Minetest Git, Debian-base

by Hiradur » Wed Jun 11, 2014 15:59

One can slightly improve performane by adding
Code: Select all
-DCMAKE_CXX_FLAGS="-march=native -O3 -pipe"

to cmake arguments. This should especially increase performance on AMD bulldozer based systems.

Note that -pipe only increases compile speed but does not optimize anything. If your compiler goes out of memory then remove -pipe. If your game runs unstable then try -O2 instead of -O3. From my testing -O3 seems to be stable though.
 

User avatar
lightonflux
Member
 
Posts: 384
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 07:22
Location: Germany
In-game: lof

Re: 1-line script for installing Minetest Git, Debian-based

by lightonflux » Mon Jul 21, 2014 03:16

If you need to update several git repo (mods and games etc.), then you can use this line:

Code: Select all
alias rgit='find . -type d -name .git -exec sh -c "cd \"{}\"/../ && pwd && git pull" \;'
to register the rgit alias which will search recursive for git repos and "update" them.



And also the following alias to update and compile minetest.


Code: Select all
minetest-dev-update='cd ~/.minetest-dev && pwd && time rgit && time cmake . -DRUN_IN_PLACE=1 -DENABLE_GETTEXT=1 && time make -j2 && echo Done'
Last edited by lightonflux on Tue Jul 22, 2014 13:28, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
philipbenr
Member
 
Posts: 1688
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 01:56
Location: United States
GitHub: philipbenr
IRC: philipbenr
In-game: robinspi

Re: 1-line script for installing Minetest Git, Debian-based

by philipbenr » Tue Jul 22, 2014 00:02

I have a script that is really nice to use. (I use Slackware 14.0, not Ubuntu or anything like that...Anyhow, here :)

Code: Select all
cd minetest
start=`pwd`
for path in `find -name ".git"`; do
  cd $path/..
  echo "updating " $(basename `pwd`)
  git pull
done

echo "building updates"
cd $start
make -j4


This script automatically updates anything you used the git http clone for:
+ "Have to use this: (very big; on accident)"

Put this in a .sh file and run chmod +x filenameyoucalledit.sh
Have it outside your minetest dir and try it; if you met the requirements...

Edit:

Requirements:
Used the git clone function
Compiled MT from source
All mods you want auto updated were downloaded using git clone.
Have this file executable
Outside main minetest dir
You use linux...(Don't know which distro)

That should do it.
 

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
 
Posts: 3071
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

Re: 1-line script for installing Minetest Git, Debian-based

by Inocudom » Tue Jul 29, 2014 03:38

The master server list does not show up, but everthing else is fine.
The comedic value of my videos is how abysmal they are: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC5cyeM ... YTfYFlih_A
 

User avatar
Krock
Developer
 
Posts: 4393
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
Location: Switzerland
GitHub: SmallJoker

Re: 1-line script for installing Minetest Git, Debian-based

by Krock » Tue Jul 29, 2014 07:55

Inocudom wrote:The master server list does not show up, but everthing else is fine.

Seems like someone forgot the curl library.
Look, I programmed a bug for you. >> Mod Search Engine << - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>
 

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
 
Posts: 3156
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
Location: Troyes, France
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou
 

User avatar
Gael de Sailly
Member
 
Posts: 733
Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2014 17:01
Location: Lyon, France
GitHub: Gael-de-Sailly
IRC: Gael-de-Sailly
In-game: Gael-de-Sailly Ginkgoo
 

PreviousNext

Return to Builds



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests