[Windows] BlockMen's builds (32 & 64bit): LevelDB, DirectX

User avatar
Johnyknowhow
Member
Posts: 358
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2012 15:17
In-game: Minetestian
Location: Washington, USA

by Johnyknowhow » Post

Evergreen wrote:
Johnyknowhow wrote:hmmmmm....
it says that this is not commonly downloaded and it could be DANGEROUS.
hmmmm... uhhhhh....
Listen, we do not spread viruses. M'kay?
ok,
Last edited by Johnyknowhow on Thu Nov 21, 2013 20:47, edited 1 time in total.
I lost interest in Minetest for a couple of years and... I am still not really paying much attention. I rarely browse these forums anymore but it's nice to see old faces.

obligatory fancy signature goes here

User avatar
Krock
Developer
Posts: 4577
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
GitHub: SmallJoker
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

by Krock » Post

+ Spoiler
Last edited by Krock on Tue Nov 19, 2013 16:11, edited 1 time in total.
Look, I programmed a bug for you. >> Mod Search Engine << - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>

User avatar
DarinM1967
New member
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2013 18:39

by DarinM1967 » Post

BlockMen, I think both your "Wastland" mod and the lastest build "Minetest 0.4.7-dev17112013" are great! I'm quite impress with your work and look forward to see what else you come up with. Your doing a hell of a job for Minetest and please keep up the work!

There was one issue in the latest build that I ran into and wanted to let you know about so the next build will be better. It was a small issue that I'm sure most of the veterans here resolved in no time, but can create newbies like me a major headache. The problem was "no sound". It took me sometime to figure out that your lastest build (don't know if the previous one's had or have the same issue) was missing the "wrap_oal.dll" driver in the bin folder. I copied one from Minetest 0.4.7 (stable) and the sound works again. I've attached to this reply in case someone doesn't have the minetest stable build.

Anyway, I haven't had time to run into any other issues so far, but will let you know when I do. Also do you know whether or not your builds will have OpenAL64? Just wondering if it would be better or faster since Windows 7 and 8 emulate 32bit, which does cause a small slow down.

Well that's all I wanted to say and again Blockmen great job! Take care now!
Attachments

[The extension dll has been deactivated and can no longer be displayed.]


User avatar
Johnyknowhow
Member
Posts: 358
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2012 15:17
In-game: Minetestian
Location: Washington, USA

by Johnyknowhow » Post

Johnyknowhow wrote:
Evergreen wrote:
Johnyknowhow wrote:hmmmmm....
it says that this is not commonly downloaded and it could be DANGEROUS.
hmmmm... uhhhhh....
Listen, we do not spread viruses. M'kay?
ok,
NEW: I downloaded the one at the first post,
And it keeps going black,
And I downloaded mt+ game and it doesn't work,
:'(
I lost interest in Minetest for a couple of years and... I am still not really paying much attention. I rarely browse these forums anymore but it's nice to see old faces.

obligatory fancy signature goes here

User avatar
Johnyknowhow
Member
Posts: 358
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2012 15:17
In-game: Minetestian
Location: Washington, USA

by Johnyknowhow » Post

Johnyknowhow wrote:
Evergreen wrote:
Johnyknowhow wrote:hmmmmm....
it says that this is not commonly downloaded and it could be DANGEROUS.
hmmmm... uhhhhh....
Listen, we do not spread viruses. M'kay?
ok,
NEW: I downloaded the one at the first post,
And it keeps going black,
And I downloaded mt+ game and it doesn't work,
:'(
NEWER:im so dumb, i put mt+ in mods, lol
but it still crashes on my windows vista pc, (;_;)
and when i was playing on my windows 7 laptop, THE TEXTURES FOR DIRT AND TREE AND WOOD ARE GONE!
FUUUUUUUUUUuuuuuuu.......
Last edited by Johnyknowhow on Sun Nov 24, 2013 21:15, edited 1 time in total.
I lost interest in Minetest for a couple of years and... I am still not really paying much attention. I rarely browse these forums anymore but it's nice to see old faces.

obligatory fancy signature goes here

User avatar
Krock
Developer
Posts: 4577
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
GitHub: SmallJoker
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

by Krock » Post

Johnyknowhow wrote: NEW: I downloaded the one at the first post,
And it keeps going black,
And I downloaded mt+ game and it doesn't work,
:'(
NEWER:im so dumb, i put mt+ in mods, lol
but it still crashes on my windows vista pc, (;_;)
and when i was playing on my windows 7 laptop, THE TEXTURES FOR DIRT AND TREE AND WOOD ARE GONE!
[color=FF0000]FUUUUUUUUUUuuuuuuu.......[/color]
1. "Doesn't work" tells everybody what the possible cause for it is (>.>)
2. "Access violation" and Direct3D9 crashes are very well known
3. We know about some crashes but none (I guess) had the texure problem yet, maybe try to override your texture pack again with the newet release
4. [color} tags with HEX numbers need a '#' before the HEX numbers, like {color=#FF0000]text[/color}
5. There is an edit 'link' under your post.

6. I know I'm really new here but I was on multiple other forums, so please don't think about my less posts: 'newbie, you can't say me anyting??? you know nothing!!!' :)


EDIT:

Code: Select all

Font size: 8 16
12:34:22: ERROR[main]: generateImage(): Could not load image "pe
hile building texture
12:34:22: ERROR[main]: generateImage(): Creating a dummy image f
png"
-----------------------------------------
13:36:44: Printing debug stacks:
-----------------------------------------
Debug stacks:
DEBUG STACK FOR THREAD 7a8:
#0  MeshUpdateThread::Thread
DEBUG STACK FOR THREAD e08:
#0  main
(Leftover data: #1  ClientMap::renderMap)
(Leftover data: #2  ClientEnvironment::step)
(Leftover data: #3  Client::Receive)
(Leftover data: #4  Client::ProcessData)
(Leftover data: #5  MeshUpdateQueue::addBlock)
GUITextInputMenu: Not allowing focus change.
14:40:58: ERROR[main]: Some exception: "bad allocation"
Last edited by Krock on Sat Nov 23, 2013 13:42, edited 1 time in total.
Look, I programmed a bug for you. >> Mod Search Engine << - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>

User avatar
Johnyknowhow
Member
Posts: 358
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2012 15:17
In-game: Minetestian
Location: Washington, USA

by Johnyknowhow » Post

oops
i forgot to do that,
Last edited by Johnyknowhow on Sun Nov 24, 2013 21:16, edited 1 time in total.
I lost interest in Minetest for a couple of years and... I am still not really paying much attention. I rarely browse these forums anymore but it's nice to see old faces.

obligatory fancy signature goes here

User avatar
BlockMen
Developer
Posts: 768
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 17:24
GitHub: BlockMen
Location: Germany

by BlockMen » Post

DarinM1967 wrote: There was one issue in the latest build that I ran into and wanted to let you know about so the next build will be better. It was a small issue that I'm sure most of the veterans here resolved in no time, but can create newbies like me a major headache. The problem was "no sound". It took me sometime to figure out that your lastest build (don't know if the previous one's had or have the same issue) was missing the "wrap_oal.dll" driver in the bin folder. I copied one from Minetest 0.4.7 (stable) and the sound works again. I've attached to this reply in case someone doesn't have the minetest stable build.

Anyway, I haven't had time to run into any other issues so far, but will let you know when I do. Also do you know whether or not your builds will have OpenAL64? Just wondering if it would be better or faster since Windows 7 and 8 emulate 32bit, which does cause a small slow down.
Hmm..wasnt expecting that it would be needed if OpenAL is installed correct on pc. But thx, i will include the library in future releases. And i dont think they will have OpenAL64 ;)

User avatar
BlockMen
Developer
Posts: 768
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 17:24
GitHub: BlockMen
Location: Germany

by BlockMen » Post

New build: 0.4.8-dev06122013 (e15681080e)

https://www.dropbox.com/s/nywi43qwp1g5y ... 061213.zip
+ Spoiler

User avatar
BlockMen
Developer
Posts: 768
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 17:24
GitHub: BlockMen
Location: Germany

by BlockMen » Post

New build: 0.4.8-dev16122013 (3946d2a504)

https://www.dropbox.com/s/ifmltq050ahqu ... 161213.zip
+ Spoiler

User avatar
Krock
Developer
Posts: 4577
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
GitHub: SmallJoker
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

by Krock » Post

BlockMen wrote:New build: 0.4.8-dev16122013 (3946d2a504)

https://www.dropbox.com/s/ifmltq050ahqu ... 161213.zip
+ Spoiler
Thanks! Are there also some memory leaks fixed?
In the last time I noticed serval errors which only solved by restarting MT :/
Look, I programmed a bug for you. >> Mod Search Engine << - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>

User avatar
BlockMen
Developer
Posts: 768
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 17:24
GitHub: BlockMen
Location: Germany

by BlockMen » Post

New build: 0.4.9-dev20140115 (84bbe1ec6e)+#1102+patch

https://www.dropbox.com/s/a6bkd73l4etbk ... 140115.zip
+ Spoiler

User avatar
wtfsamcrap
Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2013 21:23
Location: Look behind you :)
Contact:

by wtfsamcrap » Post

webdesigner97 wrote:Which advantages does DirectX have?
well it is much better then LUA api it is C#'s Graphics side
meaning it is better
its powerr is kinda like openGL
or Direct3d
meaning if you need any thing like 2 things in 1 hand use DirectX
Mods

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
Posts: 3946
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5
Location: Germany

by sfan5 » Post

wtfsamcrap wrote:
webdesigner97 wrote:Which advantages does DirectX have?
well it is much better then LUA api it is C#'s Graphics side
meaning it is better
its powerr is kinda like openGL
or Direct3d
meaning if you need any thing like 2 things in 1 hand use DirectX
<semi-ironic>..And this, kids, is the result of Microsoft's propaganda that everyone should use DirectX and it is better.</semi-ironic>
Also Direct3D and DirectX are the same thing.
And "well it is much better then LUA api it is C#'s Graphics side" does not make any sense.
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)

User avatar
BlockMen
Developer
Posts: 768
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 17:24
GitHub: BlockMen
Location: Germany

by BlockMen » Post

sfan5 wrote:
wtfsamcrap wrote:
webdesigner97 wrote:Which advantages does DirectX have?
well it is much better then LUA api it is C#'s Graphics side
meaning it is better
its powerr is kinda like openGL
or Direct3d
meaning if you need any thing like 2 things in 1 hand use DirectX
<semi-ironic>..And this, kids, is the result of Microsoft's propaganda that everyone should use DirectX and it is better.</semi-ironic>
Also Direct3D and DirectX are the same thing.
And "well it is much better then LUA api it is C#'s Graphics side" does not make any sense.
For me following difference:
OpenGL: ~40 FPS
Direct3d9: ~65 FPS

How is that propaganda?

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
Posts: 3946
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5
Location: Germany

by sfan5 » Post

BlockMen wrote:
sfan5 wrote:
wtfsamcrap wrote: well it is much better then LUA api it is C#'s Graphics side
meaning it is better
its powerr is kinda like openGL
or Direct3d
meaning if you need any thing like 2 things in 1 hand use DirectX
<semi-ironic>..And this, kids, is the result of Microsoft's propaganda that everyone should use DirectX and it is better.</semi-ironic>
Also Direct3D and DirectX are the same thing.
And "well it is much better then LUA api it is C#'s Graphics side" does not make any sense.
For me following difference:
OpenGL: ~40 FPS
Direct3d9: ~65 FPS

How is that propaganda?
Microsoft relies on graphic card drivers to provide an OpenGL functionality, but they make sure DirectX works good themselves.
This way Microsoft makes sure their (own) Direct3D stack works fastest while OpenGL may be slower.
If one were to port Direct3D to Linux and compare it to OpenGL it would have the same performance.
-> Microsoft (kind of) forced OpenGL to be slower.
www.grokdoc.net/index.php/Dirty_Tricks_history#OpenGL (Snapshot 7. Oct 2013 on Wayback Machine)
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
Posts: 3098
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

by Inocudom » Post

Is there a way to restore OpenGL's speed?
You can now find my videos at BitChute: https://www.bitchute.com/channel/some_cheeky_jinuskian/

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
Posts: 3946
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5
Location: Germany

by sfan5 » Post

Inocudom wrote:Is there a way to restore OpenGL's speed?
Without switching to Linux or Max OS X, no.
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)

User avatar
BlockMen
Developer
Posts: 768
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 17:24
GitHub: BlockMen
Location: Germany

by BlockMen » Post

New build: 0.4.9-dev20140118 (66b24cc9ff)

https://www.dropbox.com/s/lh8nqpgjy26tp ... 140118.zip
+ Spoiler

User avatar
Krock
Developer
Posts: 4577
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
GitHub: SmallJoker
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

by Krock » Post

I've tested the new version and noticed one thing which made me thinking:

Code: Select all

Loaded mesh: mobs_stone_monster.x
Could not open file of texture: oerkki.png
Loaded mesh: mobs_oerkki.x
Loaded mesh: mobs_stone_monster.x
Could not open file of texture: oerkki.png
Loaded mesh: mobs_oerkki.x
Could not open file of texture: oerkki.png
Loaded mesh: mobs_oerkki.x
Loaded mesh: mobs_stone_monster.x
Loaded mesh: mobs_stone_monster.x
and this about 20x, played about an half hour.
The meshes load, even if they're already loaded.
Is this a bug or more like a feature for changing meshes, so it would be like an updating instead of a server spam?
Look, I programmed a bug for you. >> Mod Search Engine << - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>

User avatar
BlockMen
Developer
Posts: 768
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 17:24
GitHub: BlockMen
Location: Germany

by BlockMen » Post

New build: 0.4.9-dev20140131 (21f1bec724)

https://www.dropbox.com/s/gczow8b19eols ... 140131.zip
+ Spoiler
@Krock: It's no bug, it just appears now(that often) since the model lightning has been fixed. ;)

User avatar
BlockMen
Developer
Posts: 768
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 17:24
GitHub: BlockMen
Location: Germany

by BlockMen » Post

New build: 0.4.9-dev20140206 (bc0bbffa14)

https://www.dropbox.com/s/9qsbb8mt9whde ... 140206.zip
+ Spoiler

User avatar
Krock
Developer
Posts: 4577
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
GitHub: SmallJoker
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

by Krock » Post

Code: Select all

[Plantlife Library] Loaded
Pipeworks loaded!
[BitChange] Loaded.
[moreblocks] loaded.
[Moretrees] Loaded (2013-02-11)
12:55:41: ACTION[main]: Loading Land Rush Land Claim
12:55:44: ERROR[ConnectionSend]: Bind failed: Socket and bind address families d
o not match
12:55:44: ACTION[ServerThread]: announcing to servers.minetest.net
12:55:44: ACTION[main]:         .__               __                   __
12:55:44: ACTION[main]:   _____ |__| ____   _____/  |_  ____   _______/  |_
12:55:44: ACTION[main]:  /     \|  |/    \_/ __ \   __\/ __ \ /  ___/\   __\
12:55:44: ACTION[main]: |  Y Y  \  |   |  \  ___/|  | \  ___/ \___ \  |  |
12:55:44: ACTION[main]: |__|_|  /__|___|  /\___  >__|  \___  >____  > |__|
12:55:44: ACTION[main]:       \/        \/     \/          \/     \/
12:55:44: ACTION[main]: World at [C:\Program Files\MT\bin\..\worlds\qpudblic]
12:55:44: ACTION[main]: Server for gameid="minetest" listening on fe80:0:0:0:882
4:16b0:5003:172d:30000.
Unified Inventory. inventory size: 364
12:55:46: ERROR[main]: ERROR: An unhandled exception occurred: Failed to bind so
cket (port already in use?)
Reproduceable with

Code: Select all

bin\minetest.exe --server --worldname "XYZ"
Look, I programmed a bug for you. >> Mod Search Engine << - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>

User avatar
Pitriss
Member
Posts: 254
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2013 17:09
GitHub: Pitriss
IRC: pitriss
In-game: pitriss
Location: Czech republic, Bohumin

by Pitriss » Post

You have probably server already running on this port..
I reject your reality and substitute my own. (A. Savage, Mythbusters)
I'm not modding and/or playing minetest anymore. All my mods were released under WTFPL. You can fix/modify them yourself. Don't ask me for support. Thanks.

User avatar
Krock
Developer
Posts: 4577
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
GitHub: SmallJoker
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

by Krock » Post

Pitriss wrote:You have probably server already running on this port..
Well, PC started up, I copied files and started it. Didn't work, so i restored revious build and it - wow, surprise - worked again.
Look, I programmed a bug for you. >> Mod Search Engine << - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests