Page 1 of 6

[Windows] BlockMen's builds (32 & 64bit): LevelDB, DirectX

Posted: Sun Jul 28, 2013 16:02
by BlockMen
You can get here my lastest Windows builds, for 32Bit and 64Bit systems. The builds have GetText, cURL, TTF, LuaJIT, LevelDB and DirectX support.

Lastest Builds (2015-02-12):

32Bit:
Minetest 0.4.11-dev20150212

64Bit:
Minetest 0.4.11-x64-dev20150212

To use DirectX instead of OpenGL add

Code: Select all

video_driver = direct3d9
enable_shaders = false
to minetest.conf.

Please let me know if you notice any bugs or problems with these builds.

Posted: Mon Jul 29, 2013 08:46
by webdesigner97
Which advantages does DirectX have?

Posted: Mon Jul 29, 2013 09:54
by Calinou
webdesigner97 wrote:Which advantages does DirectX have?
You mean Direct3D and not DirectX here. It's usually slightly faster, but does not support GLSL shaders and is Windows-only.

Posted: Mon Jul 29, 2013 10:30
by webdesigner97
Calinou wrote:
webdesigner97 wrote:Which advantages does DirectX have?
You mean Direct3D and not DirectX here. It's usually slightly faster, but does not support GLSL shaders and is Windows-only.
Ok, thx for the explanation :) Oh and BlockMen said:
BlockMen wrote:(...) The builds have GetText, cURL, TTF, LuaJIT and DirectX support.(...)
That's why I also said Directx ;)

Posted: Mon Jul 29, 2013 11:00
by BlockMen
webdesigner97 wrote:
Calinou wrote:
webdesigner97 wrote:Which advantages does DirectX have?
You mean Direct3D and not DirectX here. It's usually slightly faster, but does not support GLSL shaders and is Windows-only.
Ok, thx for the explanation :) Oh and BlockMen said:
BlockMen wrote:(...) The builds have GetText, cURL, TTF, LuaJIT and DirectX support.(...)
That's why I also said Directx ;)
"Microsoft DirectX is a collection of APIs [...] on Microsoft platforms."
"Direct3D is part of Microsoft's DirectX API." -> so DirectX support is not wrong ;)

And yes, its faster and runs smoother. Unfortunately Minetest has currently only shaders for OpenGl, so when using Direct3D you have to disable shaders.

Posted: Mon Jul 29, 2013 11:31
by cHyper
How must the minetest.conf file look like?

Code: Select all

video_driver = direct3d9
is this correct?

Posted: Mon Jul 29, 2013 11:38
by PilzAdam
cHyper wrote:How must the minetest.conf file look like?

Code: Select all

video_driver = direct3d9
is this correct?
Yes. You should see the driver you use in the console when starting Minetest.

Posted: Mon Jul 29, 2013 16:56
by Inocudom
BlockMen wrote:
webdesigner97 wrote:
Calinou wrote:
You mean Direct3D and not DirectX here. It's usually slightly faster, but does not support GLSL shaders and is Windows-only.
Ok, thx for the explanation :) Oh and BlockMen said:
BlockMen wrote:(...) The builds have GetText, cURL, TTF, LuaJIT and DirectX support.(...)
That's why I also said Directx ;)
"Microsoft DirectX is a collection of APIs [...] on Microsoft platforms."
"Direct3D is part of Microsoft's DirectX API." -> so DirectX support is not wrong ;)

And yes, its faster and runs smoother. Unfortunately Minetest has currently only shaders for OpenGl, so when using Direct3D you have to disable shaders.
There are a few questions that would have to be asked concerning shaders for DirectX 9:
1-Does DirectX 9 even support shaders at all?
2-Is there anybody skilled enough and willing enough to write shaders for DirectX 9?
3-If shaders were successfully written for DirectX 9, would they ever be added to Minetest?

Posted: Tue Jul 30, 2013 19:22
by LionsDen
I noticed a couple of issues.

1. I use the technic mod and when I click the button to show the bags, none of the bags have a name on it's button. I was/am using PilzAdam's latest 7-24-2013 version and occasionally the button name would disappear but it was only on one or two of them and they would come back the next time I clicked the bags button. On yours, all of them were missing and never came back and I played for hours and even restarted the game once in that time.

2. After I was done testing, I copied the world back to PilzAdam's version and it wouldn't let me open the file. I don't remember the exact error but it wouldn't load the world. I don't know if it was a problem with your copy or PilzAdam's version that was causing this. Luckily, I had a backup from before I took the world over to yours and was able to restore my world.

Posted: Tue Jul 30, 2013 20:57
by BlockMen
LionsDen wrote:I noticed a couple of issues.

1. I use the technic mod and when I click the button to show the bags, none of the bags have a name on it's button. I was/am using PilzAdam's latest 7-24-2013 version and occasionally the button name would disappear but it was only on one or two of them and they would come back the next time I clicked the bags button. On yours, all of them were missing and never came back and I played for hours and even restarted the game once in that time.

2. After I was done testing, I copied the world back to PilzAdam's version and it wouldn't let me open the file. I don't remember the exact error but it wouldn't load the world. I don't know if it was a problem with your copy or PilzAdam's version that was causing this. Luckily, I had a backup from before I took the world over to yours and was able to restore my world.
Thanks for giving feedback.

First issue: I have tested and noticed, that labels in formspecs are not shown, so its not related to technic. It may be caused by TTF, i'm gonna check this.

2nd issue: This is caused by commits that have been merged into the game, which are already included in my build, but not in PilzAdam's last build. Because of that the game is not able to read the mapdata. You can ask PilzAdam to make a new build, then you can open the world you have used in my build.

Posted: Tue Jul 30, 2013 21:39
by PilzAdam
BlockMen wrote:
LionsDen wrote:I noticed a couple of issues.

1. I use the technic mod and when I click the button to show the bags, none of the bags have a name on it's button. I was/am using PilzAdam's latest 7-24-2013 version and occasionally the button name would disappear but it was only on one or two of them and they would come back the next time I clicked the bags button. On yours, all of them were missing and never came back and I played for hours and even restarted the game once in that time.

2. After I was done testing, I copied the world back to PilzAdam's version and it wouldn't let me open the file. I don't remember the exact error but it wouldn't load the world. I don't know if it was a problem with your copy or PilzAdam's version that was causing this. Luckily, I had a backup from before I took the world over to yours and was able to restore my world.
Thanks for giving feedback.

First issue: I have tested and noticed, that labels in formspecs are not shown, so its not related to technic. It may be caused by TTF, i'm gonna check this.

2nd issue: This is caused by commits that have been merged into the game, which are already included in my build, but not in PilzAdam's last build. Because of that the game is not able to read the mapdata. You can ask PilzAdam to make a new build, then you can open the world you have used in my build.
woowoowwow, hold on. Do you just said that we broke world format with a commit?

Posted: Tue Jul 30, 2013 21:51
by BlockMen
PilzAdam wrote: woowoowwow, hold on. Do you just said that we broke world format with a commit?
Yes. Error message:

Code: Select all

22:46:28: ERROR[main]: ServerError: World data version mismatch in MapBlock (-1,-2,1)
22:46:28: ERROR[main]: ----
22:46:28: ERROR[main]: "ERROR: MapBlock format not supported"
22:46:28: ERROR[main]: See debug.txt.
22:46:28: ERROR[main]: World probably saved by a newer version of Minetest.
and commit that is causing: https://github.com/minetest/minetest/co ... 527f22c08d

Posted: Wed Jul 31, 2013 07:28
by sfan5
Inocudom wrote:
BlockMen wrote:
webdesigner97 wrote: Ok, thx for the explanation :) Oh and BlockMen said:

That's why I also said Directx ;)
"Microsoft DirectX is a collection of APIs [...] on Microsoft platforms."
"Direct3D is part of Microsoft's DirectX API." -> so DirectX support is not wrong ;)

And yes, its faster and runs smoother. Unfortunately Minetest has currently only shaders for OpenGl, so when using Direct3D you have to disable shaders.
There are a few questions that would have to be asked concerning shaders for DirectX 9:
1-Does DirectX 9 even support shaders at all?
Yes, but it uses HLSL instead of GLSL
Inocudom wrote:2-Is there anybody skilled enough
Yes
Inocudom wrote: and willing enough to write shaders for DirectX 9?
Probably no
Inocudom wrote:3-If shaders were successfully written for DirectX 9, would they ever be added to Minetest?
Yeah, sure

Posted: Fri Aug 02, 2013 04:53
by BlockMen
New build: 0.4.7-dev01082013

https://www.dropbox.com/s/qn5l50o1dqeru ... 082013.zip


Includes last commits, that fix world breaking issue

PS: Every kind of labels in formspecs are still not shown, it seems to be an windows only issue related to the restructured menu

Posted: Sat Aug 03, 2013 15:05
by BlockMen
New build: 0.4.7-dev03082013

https://www.dropbox.com/s/59mr2f4uny9m1 ... 082013.zip


Fixes formspecs issue, labels are now displayed correct

Posted: Sat Aug 03, 2013 15:15
by PilzAdam
BlockMen wrote:Fixes formspecs issue, labels are now displayed correct
What was the problem?

Posted: Sat Aug 03, 2013 16:26
by BlockMen
PilzAdam wrote:
BlockMen wrote:Fixes formspecs issue, labels are now displayed correct
What was the problem?
Im not sure, it may be an incorrect conversion from wstring to wchar_t*, which is IMO unnecessary at all. so i changed the var declaration of all labels from wchar_t* to wstring...

Posted: Sun Aug 04, 2013 23:23
by BlockMen
New build: 0.4.7-dev04082013

https://www.dropbox.com/s/uz91hi7cv87fd ... 082013.zip


a lot new stuff, e.g.
- Texture Pack selection via main menu
- anticheat
- and many fixes

Posted: Tue Aug 06, 2013 22:02
by BlockMen
New build: 0.4.7-dev06082013

https://www.dropbox.com/s/gdyneo0u6d8zl ... 082013.zip


Commits since last build:
+ Spoiler

Posted: Sun Aug 18, 2013 16:06
by BlockMen
New build: 0.4.7-dev18082013

https://www.dropbox.com/s/b54no74izsyne ... 082013.zip
+ Spoiler

Posted: Sun Aug 25, 2013 17:41
by BlockMen
New build: 0.4.7-dev25082013

https://www.dropbox.com/s/fyqv8yslm9c6p ... 082013.zip
+ Spoiler

Posted: Mon Aug 26, 2013 02:34
by Inocudom
Add a setting for HighPrecisionFPU (fixes #763)... What effect does this have on DirectX 9? It sounds like it would make it smoother, but does it?

Posted: Mon Aug 26, 2013 08:08
by sfan5
Inocudom wrote:Add a setting for HighPrecisionFPU (fixes #763)... What effect does this have on DirectX 9? It sounds like it would make it smoother, but does it?
# Makes DirectX work with LuaJIT. Disable if it causes troubles.
https://github.com/minetest/minetest/co ... 2b1#L0R393

Posted: Wed Sep 04, 2013 15:52
by BlockMen
New build: 0.4.7-dev04092013

https://www.dropbox.com/s/gf6vecadz8com ... 092013.zip
+ Spoiler

Posted: Mon Sep 09, 2013 00:37
by BlockMen
New build: 0.4.7-dev09092013

https://www.dropbox.com/s/4jkbztbe4kzsz ... 092013.zip
+ Spoiler