Changing liquid block height

BrunoHP
New member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2017 21:23
In-game: BrunoHP

Changing liquid block height

by BrunoHP » Wed Oct 11, 2017 21:27

Where can I change liquid height? I can't find where are liquids defined in the code. I want to drop their height by 1px (1/16) because it's quite ugly when water is the same height as the shore.
 

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
 
Posts: 4763
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
Location: United Kingdom
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy

Re: Changing liquid block height

by rubenwardy » Wed Oct 11, 2017 21:49

BrunoHP wrote:it's quite ugly when water is the same height as the shore.


You can enable it using the following:

Image

Enable the water waving shader
 

User avatar
TumeniNodes
Member
 
Posts: 2121
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 19:49
Location: in the dark recesses of the mind
GitHub: TumeniNodes
IRC: tumeninodes
In-game: TumeniNodes

Re: Changing liquid block height

by TumeniNodes » Thu Oct 12, 2017 01:53

I have always felt the same about this. It would be nice to add a setting for this. (I would lower the liquid surface by 3 pixels, myself)
It is understood that the water/waving shader does this but, would be nice to be able to do without having the water actually waving. (or requiring turning a shader on)
But, this would require engine work, and not even sure if it is doable (but, since anything is considered to be "doable"), more importantly, what sort of issues could it cause down the line...
 

paramat
Developer
 
Posts: 2919
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
Location: UK
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat

Re: Changing liquid block height

by paramat » Thu Oct 12, 2017 03:09

As far as i know in settings there are parameters which allow you to disable any waving and just have a downwards offset created by the waving water shader.
We actually had something called 'new style water' which was slightly lower, but it was removed by RealBadAngel because it has issues and the waving water shader can create the same effect.
 

User avatar
TumeniNodes
Member
 
Posts: 2121
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 19:49
Location: in the dark recesses of the mind
GitHub: TumeniNodes
IRC: tumeninodes
In-game: TumeniNodes

Re: Changing liquid block height

by TumeniNodes » Thu Oct 12, 2017 04:06

I'll have to look again then, I don't recall seeing anything like that in advanced settings from the menu. Unless these are settings which need to be set via the config file?
 

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
 
Posts: 6336
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
Location: Inside the Box
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO

Re: Changing liquid block height

by azekill_DIABLO » Thu Oct 12, 2017 15:51

TumeniNodes wrote:I have always felt the same about this. It would be nice to add a setting for this. (I would lower the liquid surface by 3 pixels, myself)
It is understood that the water/waving shader does this but, would be nice to be able to do without having the water actually waving. (or requiring turning a shader on)
But, this would require engine work, and not even sure if it is doable (but, since anything is considered to be "doable"), more importantly, what sort of issues could it cause down the line...

just set the waving to zero. check for client-graphics and shaders... or water height
 

User avatar
TumeniNodes
Member
 
Posts: 2121
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 19:49
Location: in the dark recesses of the mind
GitHub: TumeniNodes
IRC: tumeninodes
In-game: TumeniNodes

Re: Changing liquid block height

by TumeniNodes » Thu Oct 12, 2017 16:18

azekill_DIABLO wrote:just set the waving to zero. check for client-graphics and shaders... or water height


Thank you azekill, yes I found it last night after looking through again, (I had missed it before).
set water wave length & speed to 0, height can be left at 1.0.
I'm happy. I've got sunshine in a bag.

SO the menu tree for those who like this look for water

+client
+graphics
+in game
+shaders
+waving nodes
:waving water = enabled
:waving water height = 1.0
:waving water length = 0
:waving water speed = 0
Last edited by TumeniNodes on Thu Oct 12, 2017 16:23, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
 
Posts: 6336
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
Location: Inside the Box
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO
 

User avatar
kingoscargames
Member
 
Posts: 211
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2017 12:06
Location: Netherlands
GitHub: kingoscargames
In-game: kingoscargames

Re: Changing liquid block height

by kingoscargames » Thu Oct 12, 2017 16:30

TumeniNodes wrote::waving water = enabled
:waving water height = 1.0
:waving water length = 0
:waving water speed = 0

it doesnt work for me :/
 

User avatar
TumeniNodes
Member
 
Posts: 2121
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 19:49
Location: in the dark recesses of the mind
GitHub: TumeniNodes
IRC: tumeninodes
In-game: TumeniNodes
 

User avatar
kingoscargames
Member
 
Posts: 211
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2017 12:06
Location: Netherlands
GitHub: kingoscargames
In-game: kingoscargames

Re: Changing liquid block height

by kingoscargames » Thu Oct 12, 2017 19:50

TumeniNodes wrote:do you have shaders on?

Yes, but when i change it to that all water and lava blocks become invisible. :(
 

User avatar
TumeniNodes
Member
 
Posts: 2121
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 19:49
Location: in the dark recesses of the mind
GitHub: TumeniNodes
IRC: tumeninodes
In-game: TumeniNodes

Re: Changing liquid block height

by TumeniNodes » Thu Oct 12, 2017 20:49

? 0_o hmm, that is odd. Obviously there is some other setting or aspect causing this.

can you set everything to default settings and then try it? (including the default textures)
(make a list of your preferred settings before you go to default settings)

If it works after that, then going back and making your preferred settings changes, one by one, and testing with each new change will hopefully show you what is causing this.
Sure, it's a pita but..., that's troubleshooting 101 :P

Unless someone comes along who already knows what may be causing it, this is the method I would suggest.
 

BrunoHP
New member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2017 21:23
In-game: BrunoHP

Re: Changing liquid block height

by BrunoHP » Fri Oct 13, 2017 13:51

TumeniNodes wrote:? 0_o hmm, that is odd. Obviously there is some other setting or aspect causing this.


Yup. I have the same problem and even fresh install of Minetest doesn't help.
 

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
 
Posts: 6336
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
Location: Inside the Box
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO
 

User avatar
TumeniNodes
Member
 
Posts: 2121
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 19:49
Location: in the dark recesses of the mind
GitHub: TumeniNodes
IRC: tumeninodes
In-game: TumeniNodes

Re: Changing liquid block height

by TumeniNodes » Fri Oct 13, 2017 22:47

if you're experiencing this issue, can you list which build you are using?
I am using 0.4.16 stable and have not had this problem
 

User avatar
kingoscargames
Member
 
Posts: 211
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2017 12:06
Location: Netherlands
GitHub: kingoscargames
In-game: kingoscargames

Re: Changing liquid block height

by kingoscargames » Sat Oct 14, 2017 09:37

TumeniNodes wrote:if you're experiencing this issue, can you list which build you are using?
I am using 0.4.16 stable and have not had this problem

I am using 0.4.16 stable too.
 

User avatar
TumeniNodes
Member
 
Posts: 2121
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 19:49
Location: in the dark recesses of the mind
GitHub: TumeniNodes
IRC: tumeninodes
In-game: TumeniNodes

Re: Changing liquid block height

by TumeniNodes » Sun Oct 15, 2017 04:21

It's difficult to know what the problem can be, without knowing what other settings, etc., might be associated.

If you set waving water length and speed back to default, and you enable shaders/waving water do you still have the same issues with water and lava going invisible? or is it only after setting length and speed to 0?

Best bet may be asking in #minetest or opening an issue about it
 

User avatar
kingoscargames
Member
 
Posts: 211
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2017 12:06
Location: Netherlands
GitHub: kingoscargames
In-game: kingoscargames

Re: Changing liquid block height

by kingoscargames » Sun Oct 15, 2017 20:02

TumeniNodes wrote:or is it only after setting length and speed to 0?

Only after that.
 

User avatar
TumeniNodes
Member
 
Posts: 2121
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 19:49
Location: in the dark recesses of the mind
GitHub: TumeniNodes
IRC: tumeninodes
In-game: TumeniNodes

Re: Changing liquid block height

by TumeniNodes » Sun Oct 15, 2017 21:15

Well, that gives a bit more to work with. It would be nice to know if this is the same for BrunoHP as well.

just list what you can, related to the basic setting in the main menu. Like, do you have opaque water on or off?
are you on Linux, Windows, Mac, Android?
Do you have any other shaders enabled?
The more info, the better. It is impossible to figure anything out when people simply say "It doesn't work for me"
 

User avatar
kingoscargames
Member
 
Posts: 211
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2017 12:06
Location: Netherlands
GitHub: kingoscargames
In-game: kingoscargames

Re: Changing liquid block height

by kingoscargames » Sun Oct 15, 2017 21:20

TumeniNodes wrote: do you have opaque water on or off?

Off.

are you on Linux, Windows, Mac, Android?

Im using windows 10.
 

User avatar
TumeniNodes
Member
 
Posts: 2121
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 19:49
Location: in the dark recesses of the mind
GitHub: TumeniNodes
IRC: tumeninodes
In-game: TumeniNodes

Re: Changing liquid block height

by TumeniNodes » Sun Oct 15, 2017 21:22

I'm going to open a thread for this in bugs and problems section.

edit: actually, this should be reported on Github. Can you open an issue there for this?
 


Return to Modding Discussion



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests